DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for priority to provisional application no. 63/566,053 filed 15 March 2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
“a connection” in claim 1.
“wherein the connection includes a strap, a clip, a clasp, a snap, a detect, a buckle, or a removable fastener” in claim 6.
“a protrusion” and “a recess that mates with the protrusion” in claim 8.
“an electrical connection” that is “a removable connection” and is “incorporated with the connection” in claim 9.
“a removable connection,” “a key” and “keyway,” and “a quick release connection” in claim 13.
“a pad” in claim 18.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an isolation element configured to reduce vibrations between the deck base and the at least one upright” in claim 14 is interpreted as “a structure comprised of a vibration-reducing material,” “may be made of rubber, plastic, a polymer, an elastic material, leather, foam, or any other material that reduces vibrations,” “a mechanical device, structure or component for reducing vibrations,” “may be a piston, damper, spring, compliant mechanism, or any other mechanical device,” or “a pad or mat” as described in paragraphs [0064] and [0065] of the specification. The limitation meets the three-prong test as follows:
the generic place holder is “element;”
the functional language is “to reduce vibrations between the deck base and the at least one upright;” and
the generic place holder of “element” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a belt” in line 2. It is unclear if this is referring to the “continuous belt” recited previously in line 1 or to another, separate structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stauffer et al. (US 7,892,148).
Regarding claim 1, Stauffer teaches an exercise device, comprising:
an upright base (table assembly 22);
at least one upright (legs 30a, 30b) connected to the upright base;
a deck base (treadmill assembly 24) configured to detachably connect to the upright base with a connection (port 163 and cable 160) (The electrical connection between the port 163 and cable 160 is a detachable connection.); and
an exercise deck connected to the deck base (Fig. 10. The treadmill assembly 24 comprises a treadmill belt which is considered an exercise deck.).
Regarding claim 2, Stauffer teaches the exercise device of claim 1, wherein the exercise deck is configured to be operational when the deck base is not connected to the upright base (Col. 10, lines 36-41: “As seen in FIGS. 1 and 2, a connecter cable 160 connects control assembly 56 to treadmill assembly 24 to facilitate control and feedback activities. The present disclosure also contemplates control assembly 56 capable of wirelessly communicating with the controller for the treadmill assembly 24.” The treadmill assembly 24 is capable of wirelessly communicating with the controller such that it does not have to be connected to the upright base in order to be operational.).
Regarding claim 3, Stauffer teaches the exercise device of claim 1, wherein the exercise deck is configured to operate with an operation when the deck base is connected to the upright base, and is configured to operate with a limited exercise operation when the deck base is not connected to the upright base (Col. 11, lines 54-67: “as a workstation user starts and stops the tread and increases and decreases the tread speed via assembly 56, the control processor would control tread 170 accordingly and provide feedback to the user. In at least some embodiments tread speed is limited to within a range having a relatively low maximum speed.” Stauffer teaches wherein the treadmill operates when it is directly connected to and indirectly connected to the upright base/desk and also teaches a limited operation when the treadmill is directly or indirectly connected to the upright base/desk. The claim does not require that the limited exercise operation is different from the typical operation.).
Regarding claim 4, Stauffer teaches the exercise device of claim 3, wherein the limited exercise operation is a limited tread operation, a limited incline operation, or a limited decline operation (Col. 11, lines 63-67: “In at least some embodiments tread speed is limited to within a range having a relatively low maximum speed.”).
Regarding claim 5, Stauffer teaches the exercise device of claim 1, further comprising a detector for identifying when the deck base is connected to the upright base (Col. 12, lines 46-52: “Assembly 24 is coupled to table assembly 22 via wheels 180 received in openings 39 (see FIG. 10) and cable 160 is used to link assembly 24 to interface device 56. After assembly, a station user can place work items on surface 70, can use keyboard 69 and mouse 73 to run programs and has easy access to interface assembly 56 for controlling treadmill 24 and receiving workout feedback.” The cable 160 acts as a detector in that when it is connected to the treadmill 24, the interface 56 detects that the treadmill has been connected and can be controlled.).
Regarding claim 6, Stauffer teaches the exercise device of claim 1, wherein the connection includes a strap, a clip, a clasp, a snap, a detent, a buckle, or a removable fastener (Fig. 10: The connection between the cable 160 and the port 163 is a removable fastener.).
Regarding claim 7, Stauffer teaches the exercise device of claim 1, wherein the deck base rests at least partially on a ground surface, and the connection aligns a resting position of the deck base with respect to the at least one upright (Figs. 1, 10: The treadmill 24 rests on the ground and the connection between the cable 160 and the port 163 can be connected when the treadmill is in a resting position with the table assembly 22.).
Regarding claim 8, Stauffer teaches the exercise device of claim 1, wherein the upright base includes a protrusion (cable 160) and the deck base includes a recess (port 163) that mates with the protrusion (Fig. 10: The cable 160 protrudes from the table assembly 22 and the port 163 is a recess within the treadmill 24.).
Regarding claim 9, Stauffer teaches the exercise device of claim 1, further comprising an electrical connection between the deck base and the upright base, wherein the electrical connection is a removable connection and is incorporated with the connection, and wherein the electrical connection is a power connection between the deck base and the upright base or a data connection between the deck base and the upright base (Figs. 1, 10: The connection between the cable 160 and the port 163 is an electrical connection that is incorporated with the connection between the treadmill 24 and the table 22. The cable 160 connects control assembly 56 to treadmill assembly 24 such that data is passed between the control assembly 56 to the treadmill 24 for controlling operation of the treadmill.).
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 10, 13-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crafton (US 2012/0088633).
Regarding claim 1, Crafton teaches an exercise device, comprising:
an upright base (workstation 2);
at least one upright (support structure 18) connected to the upright base;
a deck base (exercise element 12) configured to detachably connect to the upright base with a connection (Fig. 2A shows a connection between the flat base 4 of the workstation 2 and the exercise element 12.); and
an exercise deck (base 16) connected to the deck base (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Crafton teaches the exercise device of claim 1, wherein the exercise deck is configured to be operational when the deck base is not connected to the upright base (Crafton teaches wherein the treadmill 12 is separate from and therefore operational separate from the workstation 2.).
Regarding claim 7, Crafton teaches the exercise device of claim 1, wherein the deck base rests at least partially on a ground surface, and the connection aligns a resting position of the deck base with respect to the at least one upright (Figs. 2A, 2B show the exercise element/treadmill 12 partially on a ground surface and connected to the workstation 2 in a resting position.).
Regarding claim 8, Crafton teaches the exercise device of claim 1, wherein the upright base includes a protrusion and the deck base includes a recess that mates with the protrusion (Fig. 2A shows wherein the flat base 4 has protrusions 6, 8, 10 that mate with a recess underneath the treadmill 12 formed by the plurality of support pads 34.).
Regarding claim 10, Crafton teaches a method of using an exercise device, comprising:
detaching a deck base (exercise element 12) from an upright base (workstation 2), the deck base including an exercise deck (frame 16) and configured for an exercise operation when the deck base is connected to the upright base, wherein at least one upright (support structure 18) is connected to the upright base (Fig. 1);
positioning the deck base apart from the upright base (Fig. 1 shows wherein the exercise element 12 is apart from the workstation 2.); and
after positioning the deck base, performing the exercise operation with the exercise deck (Para. [0025]: “An ergonomic workstation design is disclosed having a treadmill component or exercise element in combination with a working area where the two cooperatively interface but with have no significant physical connection between the exercise element and the working area.” The treadmill 12 is operational independent of its connection to the workstation 2.).
Regarding claim 13, Crafton teaches the method of claim 10, wherein detaching the deck base includes disengaging a removable connection, removing a key from a keyway, or disengaging a quick release connection (Fig. 2A shows wherein the flat base 4 of the workstation 2 and the recess formed by the support pads 34 of the exercise element 12 create a removable connection between the treadmill 12 and the workstation 2.).
Regarding claim 14, Crafton teaches an exercise device, comprising:
an upright base (workstation 2);
at least one upright (support structure 18) connected to the upright base;
a deck base (exercise element 12) connected to the upright base;
an exercise deck (base 16) connected to the deck base; and
an isolation element (damping material 30) configured to reduce vibrations between the deck base and the at least one upright (Fig. 1. Para. [0042]: “A damping material 30 may be placed between an upper surface of the support features 10 and the exercise element base 16. It is anticipated that vibration, oscillatory loads, and/or impulsive loads may be transferred from the exercise element 12 to the workstation and the damping material may reduce or minimize some of the load.”).
Regarding claim 15, Crafton teaches the exercise device of claim 14, wherein the isolation element is positioned between the deck base and the upright base to reduce vibrations between the deck base and the upright base (Fig. 1. Para. [0042]: “A damping material 30 may be placed between an upper surface of the support features 10 and the exercise element base 16. It is anticipated that vibration, oscillatory loads, and/or impulsive loads may be transferred from the exercise element 12 to the workstation and the damping material may reduce or minimize some of the load.”).
Regarding claim 17, Crafton teaches the exercise device of claim 14, wherein the isolation element includes a mechanical component for reducing vibrations (Para. [0042]: “A damping system may be used in addition to or instead of a damping material. The damping system may include shock absorbing elements to dissipate the load applied to the workstation 2 by the exercise element 12.”).
Regarding claim 19, Crafton teaches the exercise device of claim 14, further comprising an additional isolation element between the upright base and the at least one upright configured to reduce vibrations between the upright base and the at least one upright (Claims 24-25: “wherein the support structure includes at least one vertical support member, and wherein struts or stabilizers or deployable struts or stabilizers are connected to any vertical support member… wherein the means of connection to or between any of the vertical support members employ any material known to absorb an impulsive force, vibratory motion, or oscillatory motion.”).
Regarding claim 20, Crafton teaches the exercise device of claim 14, wherein the deck base is removably connected to the upright base (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crafton (US 2012/0088633) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Stauffer (US 7,892,148).
Regarding claim 11, Crafton teaches the method of claim 10.
Crafton does not explicitly discuss the exercise operation of the treadmill and does not teach wherein the exercise operation includes inclining the exercise deck, declining the exercise deck, advancing a continuous belt of the exercise deck, or changing a speed of a belt of the exercise deck.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Stauffer teaches an exercise device comprising an upright base (table assembly 22) connected to a deck base (treadmill assembly 24) wherein the deck base has an exercise operation including inclining the exercise deck, declining the exercise deck, advancing a continuous belt of the exercise deck, or changing a speed of a belt of the exercise deck (Col. 11, lines 54-67: “as a workstation user starts and stops the tread and increases and decreases the tread speed via assembly 56, the control processor would control tread 170 accordingly and provide feedback to the user. In at least some embodiments tread speed is limited to within a range having a relatively low maximum speed.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treadmill of Crafton by including the exercise operation of Stauffer with the predicted result of providing a treadmill that can be adjusted for different user’s various workout needs (see MPEP 2141(III)).
Regarding claim 12, Crafton teaches the method of claim 10.
Crafton does not explicitly discuss the exercise operation of the treadmill and does not teach wherein the exercise operation is a limited exercise operation when the deck base is not connected to the upright base, wherein the limited exercise operation has a limited incline of the exercise deck, a limited decline of the exercise deck, or a limited speed of a belt of the exercise deck.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Stauffer teaches an exercise device comprising an upright base (table assembly 22) connected to a deck base (treadmill assembly 24) wherein the deck base has an exercise operation is a limited exercise operation when the deck base is not connected to the upright base, wherein the limited exercise operation has a limited incline of the exercise deck, a limited decline of the exercise deck, or a limited speed of a belt of the exercise deck (Col. 11, lines 54-67: “as a workstation user starts and stops the tread and increases and decreases the tread speed via assembly 56, the control processor would control tread 170 accordingly and provide feedback to the user. In at least some embodiments tread speed is limited to within a range having a relatively low maximum speed.” Stauffer teaches a limited speed operation when the treadmill is directly or indirectly connected to the upright base/desk. The claim does not require that the limited exercise operation is different from the typical operation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the treadmill of Crafton by including the exercise operation of Stauffer with the predicted result of providing a treadmill that can be adjusted for different user’s various workout needs (see MPEP 2141(III)).
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crafton (US 2012/0088633) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Watterson (US 2017/0326411).
Regarding claim 16, Crafton teaches the exercise device of claim 14.
Crafton does not explicitly teach wherein the isolation element includes a rubber, plastic, or polymer component for reducing vibrations.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Watterson teaches a treadmill comprising an isolation element (vibration isolators 634) configured to reduce vibrations between components of the treadmill, wherein the isolation element includes a rubber, plastic, or polymer component for reducing vibrations (Para. [0101]: “the isolators may include mechanical springs and/or spring-dampers. Pads or sheets of flexible materials such as elastomers, rubber, cork, dense foam, laminate materials, other types of material, or combinations thereof may also be used as vibration isolators.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damping material of Crafton by specifying it be made of rubber, as taught by Watterson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order “to cancel, reduce, and/or eliminate vibrations” between the deck base and the upright base, as suggested by Watterson (Para. [0098]).
Regarding claim 18, Crafton teaches the exercise device of claim 14.
Crafton does not teach wherein the isolation element is a pad on a top of the upright base and wherein the deck base rests on the pad when the deck base is connected to the upright base.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Watterson teaches a treadmill comprising an isolation element (vibration isolators 634) configured to reduce vibrations between components of the treadmill, wherein the isolation element is a pad (Para. [0101]: “Pads or sheets of flexible materials such as elastomers, rubber, cork, dense foam, laminate materials, other types of material, or combinations thereof may also be used as vibration isolators.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damping material of Crafton by specifying it be made of a rubber pad, as taught by Watterson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order “to cancel, reduce, and/or eliminate vibrations” between the deck base and the upright base, as suggested by Watterson (Para. [0098]).
The combination of Crafton and Watterson teaches wherein the isolation element is a pad on a top of the upright base and wherein the deck base rests on the pad when the deck base is connected to the upright base. That is, by modifying the damping material of Crafton with the pad of Watterson, the pad would be positioned between the upright base and the deck base such that the deck base rests on the pad.
Conclusion
/C.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3784
/Megan Anderson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784