DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (Virtual Workspace Positioning Techniques during Teleportation for Co-located Collaboration in Virtual Reality using HMDs) in view of Boyapalle et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20170326457) and further in view of Tilton et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20170326457).
In regards to claim 1, Zhang teaches an information processing apparatus [e.g. HTC Vive Pro Eye headset, see section titled “Experiment setup” on page 678] comprising one or more processors and/or circuitry [e.g. HMDs such as the HTC Vive Pro Eye headset inherently have at least one processor, see section titled “Experiment setup” on page 678] configured to:
execute determination processing of determining arrangement of a plurality of avatars in an unreal space respectively corresponding to a plurality of participants of a service that enables communication in the unreal space [e.g. Multiple users share the same physical tracked space while immersing in a collaborative virtual environment (CVE). We present the current group configuration by adding preview avatars [34,35] in the 3D volume to directly show how each user will be positioned after teleportation, see sections titled “Introduction” and “SPATIAL CONSISTENCY RECOVERY TECHNIQUES” on pages 674 and 676];
execute acquisition processing of acquiring information on a positional relationship of a first participant and a second participant in a real space [e.g. The outside-in tracking enables tracking of co-located users and the users’ tracking spaces are aligned to a common coordinate system, see section titled “Experiment setup” on page 678]; and
in the determination processing, arrangement of the plurality of avatars is determined based on the information [e.g. Based on this position and the actual spatial relationship between both users in the real world, the future position of the virtual workspace with the follower’s position inside is computed. The spatial consistency between users is thus restored, see section titled “Leader and Follower Technique” on page 676].
Zhang does not explicitly teach
in a case where it is detected that the second participant in the service exists near the first participant who newly participates in the service, in the real space; and
execute control processing of performing control to perform predetermined notification to the first participant based on the information in a case where the first participant gives instruction of movement of the avatar of the first participant.
However, Boyapalle teaches
in a case where it is detected that the second participant in the service exists near the first participant who newly participates in the service, in the real space [Fig. 5; e.g. User 101B may seek to join in an ongoing xR session in which user 101A is already participating via HMD 102A. An HMD detects neighboring HMDs and estimates its distance to them, 0086, also see 0079, 0084].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Zhang’s information processing apparatus with the features of in a case where it is detected that the second participant in the service exists near the first participant who newly participates in the service, in the real space in the same conventional manner as taught by Boyapalle because new users joining a virtual conference is well known and commonly used in the art of collaborative xR systems [0002-0006].
Zhang as modified by Boyapalle does not explicitly teach
execute control processing of performing control to perform predetermined notification to the first participant based on the information in a case where the first participant gives instruction of movement of the avatar of the first participant.
However, Tilton teaches
execute control processing of performing control to perform predetermined notification to the first participant based on the information in a case where the first participant gives instruction of movement of the avatar of the first participant [e.g. When user 130 controls VR user device 135 to move avatar 310, VR user device 135 can communicate user position data to co-presence manager 120. The co-presence virtual environment modification data can also include instructions to render one or more notification overlays providing information to the user that its avatar has moved into restricted space, 0066, 0086].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination of Zhang’s information processing apparatus and the teachings of Boyapalle with the features of execute control processing of performing control to perform predetermined notification to the first participant based on the information in a case where the first participant gives instruction of movement of the avatar of the first participant in the same conventional manner as taught by Tilton because Tilton provides a method for preventing some users, that present abnormal behavior, from interacting with other users [0029-0033].
In regards to claim 2, Zhang as modified by Boyapalle does not explicitly teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the information processing apparatus is a server device to which a plurality of client devices respectively used by the plurality of participants are connected.
However, Tilton teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the information processing apparatus is a server device to which a plurality of client devices respectively used by the plurality of participants are connected [Fig. 1; e.g. Virtual reality user device 135 and virtual reality user device 155 can communicate with virtual reality server 110 over network 180. More than two virtual-reality user devices can communicate with virtual-reality server 110 allowing more than two users to participate in a co-presence virtual environment, 0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination of Zhang’s information processing apparatus and the teachings of Boyapalle with the features of wherein the information processing apparatus is a server device to which a plurality of client devices respectively used by the plurality of participants are connected in the same conventional manner as taught by Tilton because servers are well known and commonly used in the art of collaborative virtual reality systems.
In regards to claim 3, Zhang as modified by Boyapalle does not explicitly teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the information processing apparatus is an information processing apparatus used by any of the plurality of participants.
However, Tilton teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the information processing apparatus is an information processing apparatus used by any of the plurality of participants [e.g. The logic and processing performed by the components of VR server 110 may be performed by one of VR user device 135 or VR user device 155, that is, one of VR user device 135 or VR user device 155 acts as a VR server, 0053].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination of Zhang’s information processing apparatus and the teachings of Boyapalle with the features of wherein the information processing apparatus is an information processing apparatus used by any of the plurality of participants in the same conventional manner as taught by Tilton because client devices such as information processing apparatuses are well known and commonly used in art of collaborative virtual reality systems.
In regards to claim 4, Zhang does not explicitly teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the one or more processors and/or circuitry further execute detection processing of detecting another participant in the service from surroundings of the participant who uses the information processing apparatus in the real space.
However, Boyapalle teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the one or more processors and/or circuitry further execute detection processing of detecting another participant in the service from surroundings of the participant who uses the information processing apparatus in the real space [e.g. The HMD receives an indication of an HMD seeking to join the co-located xR session, such as described with regard to FIG. 5. The joining HMD may broadcast a discovery beacon indicating a request to join the co-located xR session. The location information provided within an xR profile may be utilized by an HMD to determine the proximity of neighboring HMDs. In certain embodiments, proximity information for neighboring HMDs may be further determined based on triangulation of the discovery beacons that are received from an HMD via each of the different transmission mechanisms used to broadcast a discovery beacons. In certain embodiments, proximity to neighboring HMDs may be measured based on the power of the received discovery beacon signal in order to generate a Received Signal Strength (RSS). Based on the measured RSS, the HMD may approximate a distance to the neighboring HMDs, 0084, also see 0079].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Zhang’s information processing apparatus with the features of wherein the one or more processors and/or circuitry further execute detection processing of detecting another participant in the service from surroundings of the participant who uses the information processing apparatus in the real space in the same conventional manner as taught by Boyapalle because discovery beacons are well known and commonly used in the art of networked systems.
In regards to claim 5, Zhang teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in the determination processing, the arrangement of the plurality of avatars is determined so that a direction in which the avatar of the second participant exists with respect to the avatar of the first participant in the unreal space substantially coincides with a direction in which the second participant exists with respect to the first participant in the real space [e.g. In many collaborative virtual reality (VR) applications, the users’ relative position in the virtual environment (VE) matches their position in the real world. Finally, under the spatial consistency condition, the users’ position in the real world is the same as in the VE, which helps to prevent possible collisions during real walking. Moreover, since the sound coming for the users matches with their virtual avatars’ location, there is no perceptual conflict regarding the 3D spatial sound and thus the spatial information can be implicitly communicated as if it was in the real world. The Applicant’s specification in paragraph 0071 defines relative position as both a direction and a distance, so Zhang’s relative position includes direction, see sections titled “Introduction” and “Related Work” on pages 674, 675].
In regards to claim 7, Zhang teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the unreal space is a virtual reality space [e.g. virtual environment, see section titled “Abstract” on page 674].
In regards to claim 11, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 1, but in method form. Therefore, the same rationale as claim 1 is applied.
In regards to claim 12, the claim recites similar limitations as claim 1 but in the form of a non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a program, wherein the program causes a computer to execute the steps of claim 1. Furthermore, Zhang does not explicitly teach a non-transitory computer readable medium. However, Boyapalle teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium [e.g. memory, 0007] that stores a program [e.g. program, 0007], wherein the program causes a computer [e.g. processor, 0007] to execute the steps of claim 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Zhang’s HMD with the features of a non-transitory computer readable medium because one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that at least one memory is inherently included in HMDs. Lastly, the same rationale as claim 1 is applied.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (Virtual Workspace Positioning Techniques during Teleportation for Co-located Collaboration in Virtual Reality using HMDs) in view of Boyapalle et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20170326457) and further in view of Tilton et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20170326457) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Barzuza et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20150213650).
In regards to claim 8, Zhang as modified by Boyapalle and Tilton does not explicitly teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein in the determination processing, the arrangement of the plurality of avatars is determined so that a method of determining arrangement of the plurality of avatars is different between a case where the unreal space is the virtual reality space and a case where the unreal space is the mixed reality space.
However, Barzuza teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein in the determination processing, the arrangement of the plurality of avatars is determined so that a method of determining arrangement of the plurality of avatars is different between a case where the unreal space is the virtual reality space and a case where the unreal space is the mixed reality space [e.g. Conferencing system 101 uses AR or VR depending on whether HMD 103 is configured to present augmented reality (AR) or virtual reality (VR) video. In an AR video example, location 131 is a meeting room having a conference table. If HMD 103 is configured for AR, the view information may include video captured outward in front of HMD 103 in location 131 since location 131 will be the meeting room for the purposes of presenting video of participant 123. Participant 123 will therefore be visually placed by HMD 103 at a position around the conference table that could otherwise have been occupied by a participant co-located with participant 122 at location 131. Alternatively, in a VR example, video of participant 123 may be overlaid onto the video of the meeting room scene or, if the meeting room is the location of participant 123, then the meeting room video and the video of participant 123 may be the same video. The meeting location may be a virtual location rendered by the conferencing system, 0029, 0033, 0034, 0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination of Zhang’s information processing apparatus and the teachings of Boyapalle and Tilton with the features of wherein in the determination processing, the arrangement of the plurality of avatars is determined so that a method of determining arrangement of the plurality of avatars is different between a case where the unreal space is the virtual reality space and a case where the unreal space is the mixed reality space in the same conventional manner as taught by Barzuza because Barzuza provides a method for a more productive conference as the participants can view each other's facial expressions, gestures, or other visual information while enhancing the video conference by making remote participants feel as though they are all in the same room [0002-0004].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9, 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 6, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the determination processing, arrangement of the plurality of avatars is determined so that a first direction in which the avatar of the second participant exists with respect to the avatar of the first participant in the unreal space substantially coincides with a second direction in which the second participant exists with respect to the first participant in the real space, and in the control processing, in a case where the first direction does not substantially coincide with the second direction by moving the avatar of the first participant according to the instruction of the first participant, control is performed to perform the predetermined notification to the first participant.
In regards to claim 9, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the information processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein in the determination processing, in a case where the unreal space is the virtual reality space, the arrangement of the plurality of avatars is determined based on a direction in which the second participant exists with respect to the first participant in the real space, and in a case where the unreal space is the mixed reality space, the arrangement of the plurality of avatars is determined based on a direction in which the second participant exists with respect to the first participant in the real space and a distance between the first participant and the second participant in the real space.
In regards to claim 10, the claim depends on at least claim 9. Therefore, claim 10 is allowable for at least the same reason as claim 9 if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANDREW SHIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612