DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings received on 03/04/25 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chisenga et al. (US 9,496,803 B2).
Chisenga et al. disclose a solar photovoltaic system with maximized ripple voltage on storage capacitor in Figures 1-19.
Regarding claim 1. A system comprising (Figures 1, 4, 6 and 7): a power regulator (1) configured to receive an input voltage generated by the set of solar substrings (2, 20); a modulation signal generator (33) configured to modulate a voltage gain (7) of the power regulator, the voltage gain (7) representing a ratio between the input voltage and an output voltage of the power regulator: a de-modulator (43) configured to: de-modulate a power signal representing a power output of the power regulator; and output a de-modulated power signal: and an integrator (34) configured to output a voltage gain step for the power regulator based on the de-modulated power signal the voltage-gain step configured to drive the input voltage generated by the set of solar substrings toward a target output voltage (see col. 12, line 4 to col. 13, line 59).
Regarding claim 11. The system of Claim 1, further comprising: a solar panel (2, 20): comprising the set of solar substrings (2, 20); and defining a front face and a rear face; and a housing (Figures 16a and 16b:1000): arranged on the rear face of the solar panel; and containing the power regulator (1), the modulation signal generator (33), the de- modulator (43), and the integrator (34).
Regarding claim 12. A system comprising (Figures 1, 4, 6 and 7) a first power regulator (1) coupled to a load and configured to: receive a first input voltage generated by a set of solar substrings (2, 20), comprising a first solar substring (2) and a second solar substring (20) connected in series, within a solar panel; modulate a first voltage gain (7), between the first input voltage and an output voltage to the load (1020), at a first frequency; detect a first direct-current component in a first power signal, demodulated (43) according to the first frequency, representing a power output of the first power regulator (1); and adjust the first voltage gain (7) to track the first input voltage to a first maximum power point voltage of the set of solar substrings (2, 20) based on the first direct- current component in the first power signal (see col. 12, line 4 to col. 13, line 59).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.12, 265, 413. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim anticipates the examined claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 and 21 are allowed over the cited prior art of record.
Claims 3-10 and 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 20 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest including the limitation “a second power regulator coupled to a midpoint tap between the first solar substring and the second solar substring, receiving the first input voltage generated by the set of solar substrings; modulating a second voltage gain, between the first input voltage and a midpoint voltage of the midpoint tap, at a second frequency different from the first frequency; detecting a second direct-current component in the first power signal, demodulated according to the second frequency, representing a power output of the first power regulator; and adjusting the second voltage gain to track the midpoint voltage to a second maximum power point voltage of the second solar substring based on the second direct-current component in the first power signal“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Dependent claim 21 is allowable by virtue of their dependency.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a system including the limitation “wherein the power regulator comprises a power supply; and * further comprising: a multiplier circuit configured to output the power signal, the power signal representing a combination of the output voltage and an output current of the power supply; and an adder configured to:- implement the voltage gain, set by the modulation signal generator, at the power supply; and- implement the voltage-gain step, set by the integrator, at the power supply to increase the input voltage generated by the set of solar substrings toward the target output voltage comprising a maximum power point voltage of the set of solar substrings“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Claim 4 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a system including the limitation “ wherein, during a power cycle: the modulation signal generator modulates the voltage gain of the power regulator by outputting a modulation signal, characterized by a first frequency, configured to induce oscillation in the power signal; the filter passes a direct-current component of the de-modulated power signal; the power regulator interprets a positive value of the direct-current component in the de-modulated power signal as the input voltage, generated by the set of solar substrings, falling below a maximum power point voltage of the set of solar substrings; and o the integrator sets the voltage-gain step comprising a positive voltage-gain step to increase the input voltage toward the maximum power point voltage in response to the input voltage falling below the maximum power point voltage of the set of solar substrings“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Dependent claims 5-8 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Claim 9 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a system including the limitation “ wherein, during a power cycle: the modulation signal generator modulates the voltage gain of the power regulator by outputting a modulation signal, characterized by a frequency, to induce oscillation in the power signal; the filter passes a direct-current component of the de-modulated power signal; the power regulator interprets a negative value of the direct-current component in the de-modulated power signal as the input voltage, generated by the set of solar substrings, exceeding a maximum power point voltage of the set of solar substrings; and the integrator sets the voltage-gain step comprising a negative voltage-gain step to decrease the input voltage toward the maximum power point voltage in response to the input voltage exceeding the maximum power point voltage of the set of solar substrings“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Claim 10 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a system including the limitation “ wherein, during a power cycle: the modulation signal generator modulates the voltage gain of the power regulator by outputting a modulation signal, characterized by a frequency, to induce oscillation in the power signal; the filter passes a direct-current component of the de-modulated power signal; the power regulator detects the input voltage, generated by the set of solar substrings, approximating a maximum power point voltage of the set of solar substrings in response to a value of the direct-current component in the de-modulated power signal falling below a threshold value; and the integrator sets the voltage-gain step comprising a null voltage-gain step to maintain the input voltage at the maximum power point voltage in response to the input voltage approximating the maximum power point voltage of the set of solar substrings“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Claim 13 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a system including the limitation “wherein the first power regulator is configured to, during a first power cycle: " modulate the first voltage gain at the first frequency to induce oscillation in the first power signal; " interpret a positive value of the first direct-current component in the first power signal as the first input voltage, generated by the set of solar substrings, falling below a first maximum power point voltage of the set of solar substrings; and " increase the first voltage gain to increase the first input voltage toward the first maximum power point voltage in response to the first input voltage falling below the first maximum power point voltage of the set of solar substrings. “ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Claim 14 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a system including the limitation “ wherein the first power regulator comprises: a first power supply; a first adder; a first modulation signal generator; a first multiplier circuit; a first de-modulator; a first integrator; and a first filter“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Claim 15 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a system including the limitation “ a second power regulator: " coupled to a midpoint tap between the first solar substring and the second solar substring; and e configured to: receive the first input voltage generated by the set of solar substrings; modulate a second voltage gain, between the first input voltage and a midpoint voltage of the midpoint tap, at a second frequency different from the first frequency; detect a second direct-current component in the first power signal, demodulated according to the second frequency, representing a power output of the first power regulator; and adjust the second voltage gain to track the midpoint voltage to a second maximum power point voltage of the second solar substring based on the second direct-current component in the first power signal“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Dependent claims 16-19 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Irish et al. (US 11,960,313 B2) disclose a system and method for regulating power output of multiple solar substrings.
Irish (US 11,728,656 B2) disclose a solar charge controller adaptable for multiple solar substring chemistries and configurations.
/ADOLF D BERHANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838