DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title is objected to because it contains the typo, “WIHT”. It is believed this should be “WITH”.
Correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “adaptive quantization module” in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “adaptive quantization module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. While there appears to be adequate algorithmic support for the limitations associated with the module, there fails to be a specifically linked structural element that demonstrates the ability to carry out the claimed/disclosed functionality. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (U.S. Patent No. 6,546,049 B1) referred to as LEE hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, LEE shows a video encoder (Col. 5, lines 35-40 disclose the ability for the disclosed invention to be carried out on apparatuses etc.) for encoding video data for machines using adaptive quantization, the encoder including a quantization processor having a default quantization matrix (Col. 2, lines 11-15 disclose wherein the adaptation takes place on a matrix of a previously encoded frame of the same picture type.) and performing the steps comprising:
obtaining a machine model for the machine-based system receiving the video data (Col. 2, lines 5-8 describe the visual discrimination model, which is machine based and does not require on-line computation.);
generate a frequency importance map from the machine model (Col. 2, lines 15-25 discloses a DCT map, which inherently takes place in the frequency domain and is statistics-based, which leans on importance to make decisions.);
determine an adjustment matrix based on the frequency importance map (Col. 2, lines 30-40, generating shape parameters.);
adjust the default quantization matrix using the adjustment matrix (Col. 2, lines 30-40 generating updated Q matrix.); and
quantize the video data using the adjusted quantization matrix (Col. 2, lines 37-39)
Regarding claim 6, LEE shows an adaptive quantization module (Col. 5, lines 35-40 disclose the ability for the disclosed invention to be carried out on apparatuses etc.) for encoding or decoding video data, the adaptive quantization module having a processor programmed to perform an adaptive quantization method, comprising:
obtaining a machine model for the machine-based system receiving the video data (Col. 2, lines 5-8 describe the visual discrimination model, which is machine based and does not require on-line computation.);
generate a frequency importance map from the machine model (Col. 2, lines 15-25 discloses a DCT map, which inherently takes place in the frequency domain and is statistics-based, which leans on importance to make decisions.);
determine an adjustment matrix based on the frequency importance map (Col. 2, lines 30-40, generating shape parameters.);
adjust the default quantization matrix using the adjustment matrix (Col. 2, lines 30-40 generating updated Q matrix.); and
quantize the video data using the adjusted quantization matrix (Col. 2, lines 37-39).
Regarding claim 11, LEE shows a decoder for decoding a video bitstream for machine consumption (Col. 1, lines 19-20 make it clear this is for both compression and decompression.), the decoder having an adaptive quantization module programmed to perform inverse quantization of a bitstream encoded with an adaptive quantization method, the inverse quantization comprising:
obtaining a machine model for the machine-based system receiving the video data (Col. 2, lines 5-8 describe the visual discrimination model, which is machine based and does not require on-line computation.);
generate a frequency importance map from the machine model (Col. 2, lines 15-25 discloses a DCT map, which inherently takes place in the frequency domain and is statistics-based, which leans on importance to make decisions.);
determine an adjustment matrix based on the frequency importance map (Col. 2, lines 30-40, generating shape parameters.);
adjust the default quantization matrix using the adjustment matrix (Col. 2, lines 30-40 generating updated Q matrix.); and
Inverse quantize the video data using the adjusted quantization matrix (Col. 2, lines 37-39)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of Watson, Andrew B. “DCTune: A TECHNIQUE FOR VISUAL OPTIMIZATION OF DCT QUANTIZATION MATRICES FOR INDIVIDUAL IMAGES.” (1993), referred to as WATSON hereinafter.
Regarding claims 5, 10 and 15, LEE shows the limitations of claims 1, 6 and 11, respectively, as applied above, however failing to but WATSON further shows wherein adjusting the default quantization matrix comprises calculating a Hadamard product of the default matrix and the adjustment matrix (Pages 3-4, Optimization Method describes component-by-component multiplication of both the base matrix and the optimization matrix.).
Both LEE and WATSON are analogous art to that of the claimed invention as they all seek to optimize a ‘default’ quantization matrix.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of LEE in the spirit of WATSON because, “custom matrices for a number of images show clear improvement over image-independent matrices.” (WATSON, Abstract)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JUSTIN W. RIDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/Justin W Rider/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486