DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McArthur (2020/0019160).
With respect to claim 1, McArthur discloses a first sensor ([0125], lines 2-3) which, in operation, measures a distance to an object using an ultrasonic wave in a first period ([0125], lines 1-6), the first sensor being configured to be provided on a vehicle ([0045]); a second sensor ([0125], line 6) which, in operation, measures the distance to the object using the ultrasonic wave in a second period after the first period ([015], lines 6-8), the second sensor being configured to be provided on the vehicle ([0045]); and a control circuitry ([0082]) which, in operation, sets a noise monitoring period by the second sensor between the first period and the second period, and when noise is detected in the noise monitoring period, sets a next second period after a next noise monitoring period and a wait period ([0125]-[0126]).
With respect to claim 2, McArthur teaches the control circuitry which, in operation, sets another noise monitoring period before the first period ([0125], lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 4, McArthur teaches determination circuitry which, in operation, determines the same object as the object when the same object is detected a predetermined number of times by any of the first sensor and the second sensor ([0116]).
With respect to claim 7, McArthur discloses measuring a distance to an object using an ultrasonic wave in a first period ([0125], lines 1-6) by a first sensor ([0125], lines 2-3) configured to be provided on a vehicle ([0045]); performing noise monitoring using the ultrasonic wave in a noise monitoring period after the first period by a second sensor ([0125], line 6) configured to be provided on the vehicle ([0045]); measuring the distance to the object using the ultrasonic wave in a second period after the noise monitoring period ([015], lines 6-8) by the second sensor; and setting, when noise is detected in the noise monitoring period, a next second period after a next noise monitoring period and a wait period ([0125]-[0126]).
With respect to claim 8, McArthur teaches the control circuitry which, in operation, sets another noise monitoring period before the first period ([0125], lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 10, McArthur teaches determination circuitry which, in operation, determines the same object as the object when the same object is detected a predetermined number of times by any of the first sensor and the second sensor ([0116]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur in view of Luebbert (2015/0331098).
With respect to claim 5, McArthur teaches a first sensor ([0125], lines 2-3) which, in operation, measures a distance to an object using an ultrasonic wave in a first period ([0125], lines 1-6), the first sensor being configured to be provided on a vehicle ([0045]); a second sensor ([0125], line 6) which, in operation, measures the distance to the object using the ultrasonic wave in a second period after the first period ([015], lines 6-8), the second sensor being configured to be provided on the vehicle ([0045]); and a control circuitry ([0082]) which, in operation, sets a noise monitoring period by the second sensor between the first period and the second period ([0125]-[0126]). However, it does no teach when noise is detected in the noise monitoring period, sets a next monitoring period using a second threshold between the next first period and the next second period, the second threshold being larger than the first threshold.
Luebbert teaches adaptively setting detection thresholds for noise in wave based vehicle object detections ([0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of McArthur with the adjustable thresholds of Luebbert since such a modification would have allowed the method to be more adaptable to changing conditions.
With respect to claim 6, McArthur teaches determination circuitry which, in operation, determines the same object as the object when the same object is detected a predetermined number of times by any of the first sensor and the second sensor ([0116]).
With respect to claim 11, McArthur teaches measuring a distance to an object using an ultrasonic wave in a first period ([0125], lines 1-6) by a first sensor ([0125], lines 2-3) configured to be provided on a vehicle ([0045]); performing noise monitoring using the ultrasonic wave in a noise monitoring period after the first period by a second sensor ([0125], line 6) configured to be provided on the vehicle ([0045]); measuring the distance to the object using the ultrasonic wave in a second period after the noise monitoring period ([015], lines 6-8) by the second sensor. However, it does not teach setting, when noise is detected in the noise monitoring period, a next monitoring period using a second threshold between the next first period and the next second period, the second threshold being larger than the first threshold.
Luebbert teaches adaptively setting detection thresholds for noise in wave based vehicle object detections ([0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of McArthur with the adjustable thresholds of Luebbert since such a modification would have allowed the method to be more adaptable to changing conditions.
With respect to claim 12, McArthur teaches determination circuitry which, in operation, determines the same object as the object when the same object is detected a predetermined number of times by any of the first sensor and the second sensor ([0116]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art which is cited but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references made herein are done so for the convenience of the applicant. They are in no way intended to be limiting. The prior art should be considered in its entirety.
/KRYSTINE E BREIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645