Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 7, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites “a calibration of a Digital to Analog Voltage ADJ device” in ll. 3-4, recommend rephrasing to read “a calibration of a Digital to Analog Voltage device”. Further, claim 17 recites “a Normal Signal Path connecting a High Voltage Pulsed DC source to a Signal Conditioner & Analog/Digital Converter via a Peak Voltage Sample Hold; a Reference Standard DC Voltage Source comporting with a National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Standard; and a Switch Position Selected configured to iteratively disconnect a switch from the Normal Signal Path and connect the switch to the Reference Standard DC Voltage Source…and connecting by the Switch Position Selector…” in ll. 7-14. Recommend rephrasing to read “a normal signal path connecting a high voltage pulsed DC source to a signal conditioner & Analog/Digital converter via a peak voltage sample hold; a reference standard DC voltage source comporting with a National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Standard; and a switch position selected configured to iteratively disconnect a switch from the normal signal path and connect the switch to the reference standard DC voltage source…and connecting by the switch position selector…”.
Claim 18 recites “wherein the Digital to Analog Voltage ADJ device…” in ll. 1-2, recommend rephrasing to read “wherein the digital to analog voltage device…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "Bluetooth®" in line 3. A trademark may not be used in a claim to identify or describe a particular material or product. In this instance Bluetooth® is being used to describe a particular type of transmitter.
Claim 17 recites the limitation ”National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Standard;” in ll. 9-10. A trademark/trade name cannot be used to properly identify any particular material or product. Claims 18-20 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 17, which do not rectify the defect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, & 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimpel, JR. et al. (US 2014/0260705 A1, Pub. Date Sep. 18, 2014, hereinafter, Kimpel), in view of Shen et al. (US 2024/0159798 A1, Fil. Date Jan. 22, 2024, hereinafter, Shen), and further in view of Fischer (US 2023/0341496 A1, Pub. Date Oct. 26, 2023, hereinafter, Fischer).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kimpel, teaches:
A method of remotely verifying calibration of a high voltage spark detector, comprising ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]: teaches an automated high-voltage spark detector (holiday detector) that utilizes wireless communication antennas to receive instructions, rendering remote verification capabilities possible):
Kimpel, is silent in regard to:
receiving a request for verification of the calibration of the high voltage spark detector from a remote site in which the high voltage spark detector is situated;
However, Shen, further teaches:
receiving a request for verification of the calibration of the high voltage spark detector from a remote site in which the high voltage spark detector is situated ([0085]-[0086]: teaches the architecture of a remote site (server 10) sending preset algorithms and requests to a local terminal to initiate sampling and calibration routines);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless computing device 26 of Kimpel’s holiday detector 102 to incorporate the remote server-driven request structure of Shen. Kimpel discloses an outer pipe surface inspection apparatus 10 having a coating holiday detector 102 and a mobile computing device 26 equipped with wireless antennas for receiving inspection instructions but does not teach receiving a request for verification of the calibration of the high voltage spark detector from a remote site in which the high voltage spark detector is situated. Shen teaches a client-server network architecture wherein a remote site, specifically a server 10, transmits requests and preset execution routines over a network to a terminal 20 situated in the field to trigger and govern voltage calibration and sampling across an apparatus 201. This combination represents a substitution of a known remote request-response network architecture into Kimpel’s wireless controller to achieve the predictable variation of triggering diagnostic routines from a central server 10. The primary benefit gained from this modification is improved operational efficiency and reduced downtime, as it eliminates the need to manually dispatch field technicians to hazardous or remote pipeline sites to initiate verification of the high voltage spark detector (KSR).
Kimpel, and Shen, are silent in regard to:
switching in the high voltage spark detector between a normal signal path and a pre-calibrated reference standard; and
comparing the normal signal path to the pre-calibrated reference standard to remotely verify the calibration.
However, Fischer, further teaches:
switching in the high voltage spark detector between a normal signal path and a pre-calibrated reference standard ([0042]-[0045]: teaches utilizing a switching unit to toggle an electrical testing circuit between its normal operational path and a pre-calibrated reference standard (CAL)); and
comparing the normal signal path to the pre-calibrated reference standard to remotely verify the calibration ([0045]: teaches the final step of verifying the calibration by directly comparing the signal from the normal path against the known value from the pre-calibrated reference standard).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate the switching unit SE and reference standard CAL of Fischer into the holiday detection processor 64 circuitry of Kimpel. Kimpel teaches that the holiday detector 102 operates via a holiday detection processor 64 and a conductive tongue 134 but lacks an internal mechanism for switching in the high voltage spark detector between a normal signal path and a pre-calibrated reference standard and comprising the normal signal path to the pre-calibrated reference standard to remotely verify the calibration. Fischer teaches a calibration arrangement for high-voltage electronics comprising a switching unit SE with connection switches S_cal1, S_cal2 and module switches S1-Sn configured for switching between a normal signal path and a pre-calibrated reference standard CAL, as well as comparing the measured voltage (U-m1) of the normal path to the pre-calibrated reference standard (U_m,cal) to verify calibration. Applying Fischer’s switching and comparing architecture to Kimpel’s high-voltage holiday detector constitutes the use of a known technique to improve similar devices, yielding the predictable variation of an automated self-verification capability. The problem being solved is the measurement drift and inaccuracy of high-voltage inspection electronics deployed in field environments, and the benefit gained is maintained measurement precision and increased equipment reliability without requiring manual bench calibration or expensive external high-voltage switches (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Kimpel, teaches:
The method of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]),
Kimpel, is silent in regard to:
wherein remotely verifying the calibration comprises confirming that not adjustment of the calibration is to be implemented.
However, Fischer, further teaches:
wherein remotely verifying the calibration comprises confirming that not adjustment of the calibration is to be implemented ([0021]-[0025], [0028]-[0029], [0031]-[0036], [0038]-[0040], [0043]-[0047], [0050], & [0052]-[0056]: teaches remotely verifying calibration by comparing the measured voltage against the calibration standard. When the comparison indicates the system is “well-calibrated” (i.e., the values match) the method inherently confirms that the current calibration is accurate and no further adjustment to the calibration is to be implemented).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Fischer’s verification of a well-calibrated state into the remote inspection system of Kimpel, representing a substitution of one known calibration verification protocol for another to achieve a predictable variation. Kimpel teaches a remote pipeline inspection apparatus that performs data collection but lacks a specific step wherein remotely verifying the calibration comprises confirming that no adjustment of the calibration is to be implemented. Fischer teaches a calibration arrangement that compares a normal signal path to a calibration standard CAL to verify if the component is already “well-calibrated” (e.g., U_m,cal = U_z1 = U_m1), which inherently confirms that the existing calibration is accurate and no adjustment is required. The problem being solved is avoiding unnecessary downtime or manual recalibration efforts for remote high-voltage field equipment. By integrating Fischer’s confirmation that the module is already well-calibrated, the combined system gains the benefit of improved operational efficiency by rapidly validating the equipment’s readiness for continued inspection without requiring corrective adjustments (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Kimpel, teaches:
The method of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]),
Kimpel, is silent in regard to:
wherein remotely verifying the calibration comprises adjusting the calibration until the calibration is within a specified acceptable tolerance.
However, Shen, further teaches:
wherein remotely verifying the calibration comprises adjusting the calibration until the calibration is within a specified acceptable tolerance ([0008], [0010], [0013]-[0016], [0037], [0039]-[0040], [0086], [0089]-[0091], [0093]-[0094], [0096]-[0098], [0110], [0116], [0118], [0120], [0131], [0133]-[0134], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 4], [Claim 11], [Claim 13], & [Claim 14]: teaches the specific step of adjusting the calibration by applying a calculated deviation (superimposing it) to mathematically correct the system so that the measurement paths become “equal” and deviations remain “within an expected range”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the remote calibration verification of Kimpel to include adjusting the calibration until it is within a specified acceptable tolerance as taught by Shen. Kimpel discloses an inspection apparatus 10 capable of remote inspection and calibration verification but fails to detail wherein remotely verifying the calibration comprises adjusting the calibration until the calibration is within a specified acceptable tolerance. Shen teaches a remote calibration system that determines a deviation error between measurement branches and adjusts the calibration by superimposing the deviation, so the capabilities become equal, thereby effectively eliminating error and keeping deviations within an expected range. This modification relies on a substitution of one known digital calibration adjustment technique for another to achieve the predictable variation of actively correcting detected sensor drift. The problem being solved is inaccurate field measurements caused by component degradation over time; by incorporating Shen’s automatic calibration adjustment step, the combined system gains the benefit of continuously maintaining high measurement precision without requiring manual hardware recalibration or physical technician intervention (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Kimpel, teaches:
The method of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]),
The Examiner is combining Kimpel in view of Shen, by implementing Shen’s teaching of conducting the calibration and voltage analysis periodically via a remote network architecture (between a server 10 and a local terminal 20) ([0086]).
wherein remotely verifying the calibration is performed without shipping the high voltage spark detector to an entity that performs the remote verifying of the calibration ([0003], [0023], & [0025]: established that the high voltage spark detector apparatus is deployed and operated “in the field” directly on the pipelines. If the calibration verification is executed remotely over a network while the device remains mounted in the field, it is inherently performed “without shipping” the detector to the entity (the server) performing the remote verification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field-deployed inspection apparatus of Kimpel to implement the remote network-based verification of Shen to successfully verify the calibration without shipping the high voltage spark detector to the remote verifying entity. Kimpel teaches a high voltage spark detector deployed directly in the field for pipeline inspection but does not detail that the remote calibration verification is performed without shipping the detector to the entity that performs the verification. Shen teaches a distributed network architecture wherein a remote entity, specifically a server 10, provides algorithms to a local terminal 20 for periodic, in-situ voltage sampling and analysis over a network. This combination constitutes the substitution of a networked remote verification protocol for manual lab verification, which is a known technique to improve similar devices and yields a predictable variation of remote diagnostics. The problem being solved is the costly downtime and logistical burden associated with physically transporting industrial equipment to a remote testing facility; by adopting Shen’s networked in-situ verification, the system gains the benefit of reduced maintenance costs and uninterrupted field operations (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Kimpel, teaches:
The method of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]), wherein the remote site comprises a work site comprising a conductive substrate to be tested by the high voltage spark detector ([0003], [0023], & [0036]: establishes that the high voltage spark detector (holiday detector 102) is deployed at a “field” location, which constitutes a remote work site where the detector is situated. The operation of the detector relies on the underlying pipe being a conductive substrate, as the device tests the integrity of the insulating coating by detecting when electrical current successfully arcs or “burn through” to the conductive pipe surface).
Regarding independent claim 8, Kimpel, teaches:
A high voltage spark detector, comprising ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]: teaches the structural high voltage spark detector (the holiday detector 102)): a housing (Fig. 1; [0025]-[0026], [0034], & [0038]: teaches the structural high voltage spark detector (the holiday detector 102) protected and enclosed by a housing (the shroud 20 on the base or shroud 110 on the head)); and
electronics configured to remotely verify a calibration of the high voltage spark detector, wherein the electronics comprise: one or more processors ([0003], [0026], [0029], [0033]-[0034], & [0036]: teaches the internal hardware electronics used to manage the detector, identifying the inclusion of one or more microprocessors inside the mobile computing device 26 and the base controller 60);
Kimpel, is silent in regard to:
a normal signal path;
a pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source; and
a switch configured to disconnect from the normal signal path and connect to the pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source.
However, Shen, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Kimpel in view of Shen, by implementing Kimpel’s normal operation signal path running from the conductive tongue 134 to the processor 64 ([0029] & [0036]).
a normal signal path ([0017]-[0018], [0041], [0098], [0101], [0103], [0110], [0125], & [0135]: further disclose the internal circuit concept of a normal signal path operating through a differential circuit during a “voltage signal sampling stage” );
a pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source ([0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0028], [0044], [0106], [0108], [0110], [0125], [0138], & [0140]: teaches integrating a pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source inside the electronics in the form of a reference power supply 305 outputting a known, stable voltage signal); and
a switch configured to disconnect from the normal signal path and connect to the pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source ([0011]-[0012], [0019], [0021], [0023], [0027]-[0028], [0033]-[0034], [0038], [0042]-[0044], [0046], [0049], [0092], [0095], [0100], [0102]-[0103], [0106], [0108], [0112], [0132],[0136]-[0138], [0140], & [0143], [Claim 2], [Claim 6]-[Claim 8], [Claim 10], [Claim 12], [Claim 16]-[Claim 18], & [Claim 20]: teaches hardware switches (e.g., switch 303/304) configured to break the connection with the normal operational components and establish a direct connection to the known reference voltage source for calibration purposes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronics of Kimpel’s inspection apparatus 10 by incorporating the reference standard voltage sources 305 and the calibration switching mechanisms 304 taught by Shen. Kimpel teaches a high voltage spark detector comprising a housing 20, electronics 60, and microprocessor 26 but fails to detail a normal signal path, a pre-calibrated reference standard voltage, and a switch configured to disconnect from the normal signal path and connect to the pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source. Shen teaches electronics configured for remote calibration verification having a normal signal path through a differential circuit 301, a pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source 305, and a second calibration switch 304 configured to disconnect the normal signal path from the measurement cells and connect the circuit to the reference power supply 305. This combination represents a substitution of known internal calibration circuitry into an existing field-testing device to achieve the predictable variation of fully automating self-diagnostics at the hardware level. The problem being solved is the logistical difficulty of manually verifying the accuracy of field-deployed high voltage sensors. Incorporating internal reference voltage sources and hardware disconnecting switches provides the benefit of maintaining measurement precision and safety without requiring operators to attach external bench-calibration software (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Kimpel, teaches:
The high voltage spark detector of claim 8 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]), comprising a conductive probe ([0033], [0036], & [0038]: teaches high voltage spark detector (holiday inspection head 102) equipped with a conductive tongue 134. This conductive tongue physically sweeps along the substrate to deliver testing current, acting structurally and functionally as the conductive probe).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Kimpel, teaches:
The high voltage spark detector of claim 8 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]), wherein the high voltage spark detector is configured to couple to a conductive probe ([0033], [0036], & [0038]: teaches that the high voltage spark detector (comprising the holiday detection processor 64 on the base 12) is configured to couple to a conductive probe (conductive tongue 134) via cables 142 that supply the testing electrical current).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Kimpel, teaches:
The high voltage spark detector of claim 8 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]), wherein at least some of the electronics are disposed in the housing (Fig. 1; [0025], [0029], & [0034]: teaches that the high voltage spark detector comprises a housing (such as the base shroud 20 or the inspection head shroud 110) specifically designed for covering and enclosing the internal electronics (such as the integral controller 60 and other control components).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Kimpel, teaches:
The high voltage spark detector of claim 8 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]),
Kimpel, is silent in regard to:
wherein the electronics configured to remotely verify the calibration comprises the electronics configured to switch between the normal signal path and the pre-calibrated standard voltage source.
However, Shen, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Kimpel in view of Shen and Fischer, by implementing Fischer’s SE switches S_cal1/S_cal2 and Si, that toggle the circuit path ([0041], [0043]-[0045], [0047],& [0052])
wherein the electronics configured to remotely verify the calibration comprises the electronics configured to switch between the normal signal path and the pre-calibrated standard voltage source ([0106]: details that the remote verification electronics are configured with switching units (303/304) that toggle the circuit path. By switching off the normal measurement path and switching on the path to the reference power supply 305 or CAL (Fischer)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronics of Kimpel to include the calibration circuitry of Shen and Fischer. Kimpel teaches the electronics of a high voltage spark detector but lacks the specific structural limitation wherein the electronics configured to remotely verify the calibration comprises the electronics configured to switch between the normal signal path and the pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source. Shen teaches calibration electronics comprising a normal signal path and calibration switches 303/304 configured to switch the circuit to a pre-calibrated reference standard voltage 305 to execute calibration verification. Fischer similarly teaches an automated sequence using a switching unit SE to switch the electronics between a normal path and a calibration standard CAL. The integration represents a substitution of known internal calibration switching electronics into a field-deployed inspection tool, yielding the predictable variation of fully automating self-diagnostics at the hardware level without external bench equipment. The problem being solved is the logistical difficulty of manually verifying the accuracy of field-deployed high-voltage sensors. Incorporating these internal switches to toggle the path to a reference voltage provides the benefit of maintaining measurement precision and operator safety remotely (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Kimpel, teaches:
The high voltage spark detector of claim 12 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]: establishes the circuit of the high voltage spark detector),
Kimpel, is silent in regard to:
wherein the electronics configured to remotely verify the calibration comprises the electronics configured to confirm as acceptable the calibration involving a circuit of the high voltage spark detector based at least in part on switching between the normal signal path and the pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source.
However, Fischer, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Kimpel in view of Shen and Fischer, by implementing Shen’s electronics that switch the circuit path to a pre-calibrated reference standard source ([0086]: reference power supply 305).
wherein the electronics configured to remotely verify the calibration comprises the electronics configured to confirm as acceptable the calibration involving a circuit of the high voltage spark detector based at least in part on switching between the normal signal path and the pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source ([Abstract], [0005]-[0007], [0017]-[0018], [0021]-[0025], [0028]-[0036], [0038]-[0040], [0043]-[0045], [0050], [0052], [0055]-[0056], [Claim 2], [Claim 4], [Claim 8], [Claim 9], [Claim 11], [Claim 12], [Claim 13], & [Claim 16]: Fischer teaches the electronics that switch the circuit path to a pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source and teaches using this switched connection to determine if the measured values match the reference standard to declare the circuit “well-calibrated”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reference switching and acceptable calibration confirmation electronics of Shen and Fischer into the spark detector circuit of Kimpel. Kimpel teaches a high voltage spark detector circuit but lacks electronics configured to confirm as acceptable the calibration involving the circuit based in part on switching between the normal signal path and the pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source. Shen teaches electronics that perform remote calibration by switching between normal circuits and reference supplies to verify measurement and keep deviations within an expected range. Fischer teaches confirming that a component’s calibration is acceptable, designated as “well-calibrated,” based on toggling module switches Si and S_cal1 to compare the normal signal against a pre-calibrated reference standard CAL. This modification represents a substitution of known internal calibration switching electronics into an existing testing device to yield predictable variation of an automated, self-verifying diagnostic system. The problem being solved is the uncertainty of field-deployed sensor accuracy over prolonged periods. Integrating the capability to internally switch paths and confirm the calibration is acceptable provides the benefit of ensuring reliable defect detection without relying on physical recalibration (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Kimpel, teaches:
The high voltage spark detector of claim 12 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]: establishes the circuit of the high voltage spark detector),
Kimpel, is silent in regard to:
wherein the electronics configured to remotely verify the calibration comprises the electronics configured to re-calibrate the calibration involving a circuit of the high voltage spark detector based at least in part on switching between the normal signal path and the pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source.
However, Shen, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Kimpel in view of Shen and Fischer, by implementing Fischer’s electronics configured to toggle the signal path from the normal active circuit to a pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source ([0041] & [0043]-[0045]).
wherein the electronics configured to remotely verify the calibration comprises the electronics configured to re-calibrate the calibration involving a circuit of the high voltage spark detector based at least in part on switching between the normal signal path and the pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source ([0008], [0010], [0013]-[0016], [0025], [0029], [0037], [0039]-[0040], [0090]-[0091], [0093]-[0094], [0096]-[0098], [0106]-[0107], [0109]-[0110], [0116], [0118], [0120], [0131], [0133]-[0134], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 4], [Claim 9], [Claim 11], [Claim 13], & [Claim 14]: details that the electronics feature switches (303/304) configured to toggle the signal path from the normal active circuit to a pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source (305) and further teaches that by switching to this reference, a deviation or error is measured and subsequently used to “calibrate” or correct the circuit’s sampling values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reference switching and automated re-calibration electronics of Shen and Fischer into the spark detector circuit of Kimpel, utilizing a known technique to improve similar devices. Kimpel teaches the circuitry of a high voltage spark detector but lacks electronics configured to re-calibrate the calibration involving a circuit of the high voltage spark detector based at least in part on switching between the normal signal path and the pre-calibrated reference standard voltage source. Shen teaches remote calibration electronics that calculated a deviation error by switching a reference power supply 305 via calibration switches (303/304) and subsequently re-calibrate the circuit by applying this deviation to correct the functional sampling values. Fischer similarly teaches switching a normal signal path to a pre-calibrated reference standard CAL using a switching unit SE to execute an automated calibration sequence on the electronic circuit. The problem being solved is the loss of measurement accuracy due to component degradation over time. Configuring the electronics to actively re-calibrate the testing circuit using an internal reference standard provides the benefit of continuously maintaining precise fault detection without requiring manual hardware adjustments or external recalibration interventions (KSR).
Claims 2, 7, & 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimpel, in view of Shen, in view of Fischer, and further in view of Rule et al. (US 2022/0237609 A1, Pub. Date Jul. 28, 2022, hereinafter, Rule).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Kimpel, teaches:
The method of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]), comprising:
The Examiner is combining Kimpel in view of Fischer and rule by implementing Rule’s authentication gateway ([Abstract], [0003]-[0006], [0016], [0038]-[0039], [0046], [0067], [0070]-[0071], [0078], [0091]-[0092], [0108], [0113], & [0124]) and Kimpel’s ([0026]) and Fischer’s automated actuation of switches and voltage comparisons ([0024], [0050], & [0056])
wherein the switching and the comparing are performed in response to receiving the confirmation ([0026]: Kimpel and Fischer provide the automated actuation of switches and voltage comparisons. Integrating Rule’s authentication gateway, the local processor restricts the execution of these switching and comparing functions so they are only performed in response to receiving the valid token confirmation from the remote site).
Kimpel, is silent in regard to:
sending a code to the remote site in response to the request; and
receiving confirmation of the code from the remote site,
However, Rule, further teaches:
sending a code to the remote site in response to the request ([Abstract], [0004], [0034], [0042]-[0043], [0045], [0062], [0074]-[0077], [0083], [0090], [0111], & [0121]: teaches generating a cryptographic code (a cryptogram or challenge response) and transmitting it over a network to a remote application or server in response to an initial challenge or request); and
receiving confirmation of the code from the remote site ([Abstract], [0038]-[0039], [0004]-[0006], [0027], [0029], [0031], [0034], [0038]-[0039], [00042]-[0045], [0062], [0064], [0067]-[0071], [0074]-[0077], [0083]-[0084], [0086]-[0090], [0099]-[0100], [0106]-[0108], [0111]-[0112], [0114], [0118], [0120]-[0123], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], [Claim 11], [Claim 12], [Claim 18], [Claim 20], [Claim 22], & [Claim 25]: teaches that once the remote site validates the transmitted code, it returns an access token, which serves as the confirmation that the code was received and authenticated),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless instruction architecture of Kimpel by incorporating the cryptographic challenge-response confirmation protocol of Rule. The combination of Kimpel, Shen, and Fischer teaches a remotely instructed, automated switching and comparing calibration sequence for a high-voltage detector but lacks sending a code to a remote site and receiving confirmation of the code such that the switching and comparing are performed in response to receiving the confirmation. Rule teaches a secure authentication system where a device transmits a cryptogram or challenge response code to a remote application and receives an encrypted access token confirmation in return, wherein subsequent access to resources or execution of functions is conditioned upon the successful authentication outcome. This modification constitutes a substitution of an authenticated remote command sequence for an unauthenticated one, utilizing a known technique to improve similar devices. The problem being solved is the vulnerability of remote high-voltage testing equipment to unauthorized access or signal interference; requiring the system to send a code and receive confirmation before performing the switching and comparing yields the predictable variation of preventing accidental and malicious triggering of the calibration state (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Kimpel, teaches:
The method of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]),
Kimpel, is silent in regard to:
further comprising transmitting an encrypted key code to an owner or operator of the high voltage spark detector at the remote site, wherein remotely verifying comprises calibration performed autonomously by the high voltage spark detector in response to the owner or operator confirming the encrypted key code.
However, Rule, further teaches:
further comprising transmitting an encrypted key code to an owner or operator of the high voltage spark detector at the remote site (Fig. 4; [0005], [0064], [0083]-[0084], & [0118]: teaches transmitting an encrypted token (which serves as an encrypted key code) directly to an application on a user’s device (the owner or operator situated at the remote site) for secure storage),
The Examiner is combining Kimpel in view of Rule, Shen, and Fischer by implementing Fischer’s ([0024], [0031], [0050], & [0056]) and Shen’s ([Abstract], [0008], [0010]-[0016], [0019]-[0021], [0023]-[0034], [0037]-[0040], [0042]-[0049], [0051], [0086], [0088]-[0097], [0100], [0102]-[0103], [0106]-[0112], [0114]-[0115], [0123]-[0125], [0127]-[0128], [0131]-[0134], [0136]-0143], [0146], & [0156]-[0157]) teaching that the calibration sequences are executed “autonomously” (automated via software algorithms) without manual manipulation of the internal paths.
wherein remotely verifying comprises calibration performed autonomously by the high voltage spark detector in response to the owner or operator confirming the encrypted key code ([Abstract], [0004]-[0006], [0020], [0046], [0067], [0078], [0084], [0087]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0124], [Claim 1], [Claim 11], & [Claim 20]: teaches the requirement for the operator to present the stored token to the system reader and complete a challenge-response authentication handshake, and upon this successful confirmation, the system grants access to execute resources. Combining these teachings means the autonomous software calibration sequence is executed strictly in response to the operator authenticating (confirming) the encrypted code).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the encrypted code key code transmission and operator confirmation protocol of Rule into the automated calibration architecture of Kimpel, Shen, and Fischer. Kimpel, Shen, and Fischer teach an inspection apparatus capable of automated, remote calibration verification but lack transmitting an encrypted key code to an owner or operator at the remote site, wherein calibration is performed autonomously in response to the owner or operator confirming the encrypted key code. Rule teaches a secure authentication system that transmits an encrypted access token to a user device application, where the user device confirms the token via a challenge-response handshake to trigger access to protected system resources. Furthermore, Fischer teaches that the calibration switching steps form an “automated calibration sequence” realized autonomously via software without manual actuation. This combination is a substitution of verified user-authorization protocol for an unverified one, representing a known technique to improve similar devices. The problem being solved is the risk of unauthorized or unsafe initiation of high-voltage testing sequences; integrated Rule’s encrypted key code confirmation provides the benefit of ensuring that only authorized on-site operators can perform the autonomous calibration process, improving both site safety and operational security (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Kimpel, teaches:
The high voltage spark detector of claim 12 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0029], [0033], & [0036]: establishes the high voltage spark detector is equipped with one or more microprocessors and communication interfaces designed for remote data transmission (wireless antennas, modems, wired ports)),
Kimpel, is silent in regard to:
wherein the high voltage spark detector is configured to couple the one or more microprocessors to a network.
However, Rule, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Kimpel in view of Shen and Rule, by implementing Shen’s operational network environment ([0085]).
wherein the high voltage spark detector is configured to couple the one or more microprocessors to a network ([Abstract], [0004], [0017]-[0020], [0025], [0027], [0031]-[0032], [0034]-[0035], [0044], [0054], [0057], [0061]-[0070], [0074]-[0076], [0083]-[0084], [0086]-[0090], [0097], [0099]-[0101], [0104], [0106]-[0108], [0111]-[0112], [0118]-[0122], & [0128]: provides the operational network environment, detailing how devices equipped with such processors and communication interfaces are configured to couple to a network (such as network 120) to communicate with remote servers and terminals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the microprocessor of Kimpel’s inspection apparatus to couple to a network as taught by the networked processor architecture of Rule. Kimpel teaches a high voltage spark detector having an integral controller 60 including a microprocessor and communication interfaces but lacks describing configuring the detector to couple the one or more microprocessors to a network. Rule teaches a remote device 105 comprising one or more processors 102 and a communication interface 107 configured to couple to and transmit data via a network 120 to a remote server 125. This combination represents the substitution of a known network-coupled processor architecture into an existing field-deployed testing device to achieve the predictable variation of facilitating remote server communications. The problem being solved is the isolation of field-collected inspected data. Configuring the microprocessors to couple to a network provides the benefit of improved efficiency by enabling the seamless automated transmission of remote verification requests and calibration data (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Kimpel, teaches:
The high voltage spark detector of claim 8 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0029], [0033], & [0036]: establishes the high voltage spark detector utilizes microprocessors coupled to communication interfaces (wireless antennas, modems, wired ports)),
Kimpel, is silent in regard to:
wherein the high voltage spark detector is configured to couple the one or more processors to a network via at least one of Bluetooth®, wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi), or universal service bus (USB).
However, Rule, further teaches:
wherein the high voltage spark detector is configured to couple the one or more processors to a network via at least one of Bluetooth®, wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi), or universal service bus (USB) ([Abstract], [0004], [0017]-[0020], [0025], [0027], [0031]-[0032], [0034]-[0037], [0044], [0054], [0057], [0061]-[0070], [0074]-[0076], [0083]-[0084], [0086]-[0090], [0097]-[0102], [0104], [0106]-[0108], [0111]-[0112], [0118]-[0122], & [0128]: teaches applying standard communication protocols to such networked processor interfaces, expressly listing both “Bluetooth” and “Wi-Fi” as the means to transmit data and connect to the network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless interfaces of Kimpel’s inspection apparatus to couple the one or more microprocessors to a network via at least one of Bluetooth or Wi-Fi as taught by Rule. Kimpel teaches a high voltage spark detector configured to couple its microprocessors to a network via generic wired ports and wireless antennas but lacks detailing that it is configured to couple the one or more processors to a network via at least one of Bluetooth, wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi), or universal service bus (USB). Rule teaches a networked processor architecture that couples communication interfaces and transmits encrypted data over a network utilizing standard wireless protocols, explicitly including Bluetooth and Wi-Fi. This modification represents the substitution of well-known standard communication protocols into existing network-coupled hardware, utilizing a known technique to improve similar devices to achieve the predictable variation of facilitating seamless local and remote transmission. The problem solved is the difficulty and high cost of implementing proprietary wireless communication links in field-deployed equipment. Integrating standard protocols like Bluetooth or Wi-Fi provides the benefit of reduced manufacturing costs and improved interoperability with commercial mobile computing devices (KSR).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimpel, in view of Shen, in view of Youngblood, JR (US 2022/03090499 A1, Pub. Date Dec. 8, 2022, hereinafter, Youngblood), in view of Choi (US 2023/0314496 A1, Pub. Date Oct. 5, 2023, hereinafter, Choi), and further in view of Haulin (US 2004/0246022 A1, Pub. Date Dec. 9, 2004, hereinafter, Haulin).
Regarding independent claim 17, Kimpel, teaches:
A high voltage spark detector, comprising ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]: teaches an automated high-voltage spark detector (holiday detector) that utilizes wireless communication antennas to receive instructions, rendering remote verification capabilities possible):
a housing (Fig. 1; [0025]-[0026], [0034], & [0038]: teaches the structural high voltage spark detector (the holiday detector 102) protected and enclosed by a housing (the shroud 20 on the base or shroud 110 on the head)); and
Kimpel, is silent in regard to:
electronics configured to remotely verify a calibration of a Digital to Analog Voltage ADJ device of the high voltage spark detector, wherein the electronics comprise: one or more microprocessors configured connect to a computing device connected to a network;
a Reference Standard DC Voltage Source comporting with a National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Standard; and
a Switch Position Selector configured to iteratively disconnect a switch from the Normal Signal Path and connect the switch to the Reference Standard DC Voltage Source until the calibration is within an acceptable tolerance, wherein the disconnecting and connecting by the Switch Position Selector is controlled by the computing device over the network.
However, Shen, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Kimpel in view of Shen and Youngblood, by implementing Kimpel’s onboard microprocessor and modems ([0026] & [0029]) and Youngblood’s sensor (100) utilizing a high voltage pulse generator (110A) to repetitively discharge pulses for detecting faults ([0072]-[0076]).
electronics configured to remotely verify a calibration of a Digital to Analog Voltage ADJ device of the high voltage spark detector, wherein the electronics comprise: one or more microprocessors configured connect to a computing device connected to a network ([0054], [0085]-[0086], [0149], & [0157]: teaches connecting the local terminal apparatuses over a network to a remote computing device (server 10));
a Reference Standard DC Voltage Source comporting with a National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Standard ([0024], [0028], [0106], & [0108]: teaches the pre-calibrated reference standard DC voltage source (reference power supply 305); standard calibration reference voltage sources are known to comport with NIST standards for metrological traceability. See MPEP 2144.03); and
a Switch Position Selector configured to iteratively disconnect a switch from the Normal Signal Path and connect the switch to the Reference Standard DC Voltage Source until the calibration is within an acceptable tolerance ([0021]-[0024], [0027], [0043]-[0044], [0046], [0085]-[0086], [0103], [0106], [0108], [0137]-[0138], [0140], [Claim 7], [Claim 8], [Claim 10], [Claim 17], [Claim 18], & [0020]: teaches multiple switches (K1, K2, K16P, etc.) operating as a switch position selector that iteratively disconnects the normal measurement path and connects the reference power supply to calculate and adjust (analyze and manage) deviations until the error is eliminated and deviations remain within an expected range (acceptable tolerance)), wherein the disconnecting and connecting by the Switch Position Selector is controlled by the computing device over the network ([0085]-[0086]: establishes that the terminal apparatus executes the voltage sampling and calibration switching sequences automatically based on algorithms and control logic provided over the network by remote computing device (server 10)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kimpel’s detector to incorporate the pulsed DC source of Young alongside the network-controlled iterative calibration switch electronics of Shen and a NIST-compliant reference standard, representing the substitution of known internal calibration circuitry and certified pulsed power sources into a field-testing device to achieve the predictable variation of automated, accurate self-diagnostics. Kimpel teaches a housed pipeline spark detector with network-coupled processors but lacks a high voltage pulsed source and electronics configured to remotely verify calibration of an analog/digital converter by iteratively switching the circuit to a National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) comporting reference standard DC voltage source over a network until calibration is within an acceptable tolerance. Youngblood teaches a sensor 100 utilizing a high voltage pulse generator (110A) to repetitively discharge pulses for detecting faults. Shen teaches a remote calibration apparatus utilizing network-controlled calibration switches to iteratively disconnect a normal path and connect an analog-to-digital converter 306 to a pre-calibrated reference power supply 305 to calculate deviations until the sampling error is equalized within an expected range. Furthermore, taking Official Notice under MPEP 2144.03, it is notoriously old and well-known in the art of electrical metrology that pre-calibrated reference standard DC voltage sources inherently comport with NIST standards to ensure absolute measurement traceability. The problem being solved is the loss of measurement accuracy over time across different remote testing sites. Incorporating these internal iterative switches, pulsed power sources, and NIST-compliant references provides the benefit of continuously maintaining certified metrological precision without physical technician intervention (KSR).
Kimpel, and Shen, are silent in regard to:
a Normal Signal Path connecting a High Voltage Pulsed DC Source to a Signal Conditioner & Analog/Digital Converter via a Peak Voltage Sample Hold;
However, Youngblood, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Kimpel in view of Young, Choi, and Hauling by implementing Choi’s signal path: an input feeds into a variable amplifying unit (signal conditioner), which connects to a peak hold circuit (peak voltage sample hold) which subsequently feeds the ADC (Fig. 14; [0042], [0220], & [Claim 23]), and Haulin’s peak detectors paired with sample-and-hold circuits to capture transient max voltages ([0011], [0020], [0030], [0042], [0044], & [0048]).
a Normal Signal Path connecting a High Voltage Pulsed DC Source to a Signal Conditioner & Analog/Digital Converter via a Peak Voltage Sample Hold ([0072]-[0076]: provides the high-voltage pulsed DC source);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the detector’s signal path to incorporate the variable amplifying unit, peak hold circuit, and ADDC taught by Choi and Haulin. The combination of Kimpel, Shen, and Young teaches a high-voltage pulsed testing circuit but lacks a normal signal path connecting the source to a signal conditioner and analog/digital converter via a peak voltage sample hold. Choi teaches a partial discharge detection signal path that connects a variable amplifying unit, acting as a signal conditioner, to a peak hold circuit which stores a maximum transient value before feeding an analog-to-digital converter (ADC). Hauling further teaches utilizing peak detectors and sample-and-hold circuits to accurately store estimates of logic high voltage levels for digital interfaces. This modification represents a substitution of known digital signal acquisition components into a high-voltage detector to achieve the predictable variation of capturing transient spark events. The problem being solved is the difficulty of accurately digitizing short-duration high-voltage pulses. Integrating a peak voltage sample hold circuit provides the benefit of securely capturing the maximum transient voltage long enough for the ADC to process it accurately (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Kimpel, teaches:
The high voltage spark detector of claim 17 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]: establishes the baseline high voltage spark detector),
Kimpel, is silent in regard to:
wherein the Digital to Analog Voltage ADJ device allows for adjustable output voltage.
However, Choi, further teaches:
wherein the Digital to Analog Voltage ADJ device allows for adjustable output voltage (]Abstract], [0002], [0005]-[0007], [0010], [0011]-[0012], [0014]-[0015], [0020]-[0021], [0043], [0047], [0080]-[0081], [0092], [0096], [0221]-[0223], [0226], [0228], [0231], [0237], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 24]: teaches a Digital to Analog Voltage device (DAC 411) that outputs a controlled analog voltage waveform (Vpk). This DAC-generated voltage actively controls the amplification degree and works in tandem with an output level adjusting unit 416 to regulate the strength of the generated burst).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spark detector of Kimpel to incorporate the DAC 411 and adjustable output voltage architecture of Choi. Kimpel teaches a high voltage spark detector but lacks a Digital to Analog Voltage device that allows for adjustable output voltage. Choi teaches a partial discharge detection and signal generation system that utilizes a Digital to Analog Converter (DAC 411) to generate a control voltage (Vpk) that allows for an adjustable output via an output level adjusting unit 416. This modification represents a substitution of a known adjustable digital-to-analog signal generation module into a field-testing device, applying a known technique to improve similar devices to achieve the predictable variation of controlling the intensity of the testing current. The problem being solved is the inability to dynamically tune the high-voltage testing current to accommodate different substrate thicknesses or varying insulating coating materials. Integrating the DAC to allow for adjustable output voltages provides the benefit of safely and efficiently testing a wider variety of pipeline coatings without accidentally burning through and damaging sensitive underlying materials (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Kimpel, teaches:
The high voltage spark detector of claim 17 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]: establishes the baseline high voltage spark detector), wherein the high voltage spark detector is configured to couple to a conductive probe ([0033], [0036], & [0038]: teaches that the high voltage spark detector (comprising the holiday detection processor 64 on the base 12) is configured to couple to a conductive probe (conductive tongue 134) via cables 142 that supply the testing electrical current).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Kimpel, teaches:
The high voltage spark detector of claim 17 ([Abstract], [0005], [0026], [0033], & [0036]), wherein at least some of the electronics are situated in the housing (Fig. 1; [0025], [0029], & [0034]: teaches that the high voltage spark detector comprises a housing (such as the base shroud 20 or the inspection head shroud 110) specifically designed for covering and enclosing the internal electronics (such as the integral controller 60 and other control components)).
Conclusion
/HUGO NAVARRO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858 September 27, 2026
/SON T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858