DETAILED ACTION
Application, filed on 03/04/2025, has been received, entered, and made of record. Currently, claims 1-19 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner as indicated. However, Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2-3, 6, 14-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. US 2022/0068130 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Brooks) in view of Fujise et al. US 2002/0111160 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Fujise).
Referring to claim 1, Brooks discloses a radio data receiving method comprising:
receiving radio data by a vehicle (figs.1-2 and [0027]) (Note: a vehicle 12 receives a wireless emergency alert (WEA)); and
displaying information related to the radio data (figs.4-5 and [0033]) (Note: the vehicle displays information related to the WEA),
wherein the radio data includes emergency information (figs.4-5) (Note: the WEA includes an emergency alert),
wherein the emergency information indicates an event about a location on a road (figs.4-5 and [0035]-[0036]) (Note: the emergency alert indicates the location of an event (tornado or fire) on a road); and
wherein the emergency information is received based on a receivable range (fig.1, alert area 18) of the emergency information ([0025]-[0026]) (Note: the emergency alert is received if the vehicle 12 is within the alert area(s) 18 or within a predetermined distance of the alert area(s) 18).
Brooks fails to explicitly disclose receiving radio data in a specific frequency band.
However, receiving radio data in a specific frequency band was well-known in the art at the time of the invention. This is evidenced by Fujise ([0024]-[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the radio data receiving method of Brooks with the concept of receiving radio data in a specific frequency band as taught by Fujise to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to optimize communication by reducing outside interference and noise.
Referring to claim 2, Brooks in view of Fujise disclose the radio data receiving method of claim 1. Brooks further discloses wherein the radio data is received from a base station ([0025]) (Note: The WEA may be broadcast over the air via the radio base stations 30 to the vehicles 12),
wherein the receivable range includes a first range and a second range generated based on a distance to the location, wherein the emergency information within the first range includes general status information about the event, and wherein the emergency information within the second range includes emergency status information about the event ([0026]-[0040] and figs.4-8) (Note: the vehicle receives the emergency alert based a distance to the location. That is, the emergency alert is received if the vehicle 12 is within the alert area(s) 18 or within a predetermined distance of the alert area(s) 18 and the vehicle 12 is notified when it moves away from the alert area(s) 18).
Referring to claim 3, Brooks in view of Fujise discloses the radio data receiving method of claim 1. Brooks discloses wherein the event about the location on the road changes over time, wherein the emergency information includes a required time of the event, and wherein the emergency information is received during the required time based on the receivable range ([0025]-[0026] and [0035]-[0036]) (Note: the emergency alert is received if the vehicle 12 is within the alert area(s) 18 or within a predetermined distance of the alert area(s) 18 during tornado and fire time (required time of the event). Thus, the event about the location on the road changes over time).
Referring to claim 6, Brooks in view of Fujise disclose the radio data receiving method of claim 2. Brooks discloses wherein the general status information includes at least one of description information or location information about the event (fig.8) (Note: location information about the event), and wherein the emergency status information includes emergency warning information about the event (figs.4-5) (Note: warning information about the event).
Referring to claim 14, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein. Brooks further discloses a radio data receiving apparatus (fig.3, computer system 34 of the vehicle 12) comprising: a memory (fig.3, Memory 76); and a processor (fig.3, Processor 74) operatively connected to the memory (fig.3) and configured to execute one or more instructions in the memory ([0032]).
Referring to claim 15, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 2 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 16, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 3 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 19, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 6 is applicable herein.
Claims 4 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Brooks in view of Fujise, and further in view of Yamanaka et al. US 2002/0008643 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Yamanaka).
Referring to claim 4, Brooks in view of Fujise discloses the radio data receiving method of claim 1, except wherein the radio data is received from an emergency vehicle, wherein the receivable range is generated based on a location of the emergency vehicle, and wherein the emergency information within the receivable range includes information about an event of the emergency vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor of radio data receiving method art, Yamanaka discloses a concept wherein the radio data is received from an emergency vehicle, wherein the receivable range is generated based on a location of the emergency vehicle, and wherein the emergency information within the receivable range includes information about an event of the emergency vehicle (fig.3 and [0037]-[0049]) (Note: the radio data is received from an urgent vehicle, wherein the receivable range is generated based on a location of the urgent vehicle, and wherein the emergency information within the receivable range includes approach of the urgent vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the radio data receiving method of Brooks in view of Fujise with the concept as taught by Yamanaka to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a mobile system and a mobile management system which can surely inform the driver of a mobile unit that an urgent mobile unit is approaching (see Yamanaka [0006]).
Referring to claim 17, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 4 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 18, Brooks in view of Fujise and Yamanaka disclose the radio data receiving apparatus of claim 17. Yamanaka discloses wherein the receivable range expands over time ([0054]-[0055]) (Note: the range to receive warning is determined based on time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the radio data receiving method of Brooks in view of Fujise with the concept as taught by Yamanaka to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve the notification system.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Brooks in view of Fujise, and further in view of Bates et al. US 2003/0016146 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Bates).
Referring to claim 5, Brooks in view of Fujise disclose the radio data receiving method of claim 1, except wherein the radio data is received from an accident vehicle, wherein the receivable range is generated based on a location of the accident vehicle, wherein the emergency information within the receivable range includes information about an event of the vehicle accident, and wherein the receivable range expands over time.
However, in the same field of endeavor of radio data receiving method art, Bates discloses a concept wherein the radio data is received from an accident vehicle, wherein the receivable range is generated based on a location of the accident vehicle, wherein the emergency information within the receivable range includes information about an event of the vehicle accident, and wherein the receivable range expands over time (figs.2-3 and [0021]-[0030]) (Note: the radio data is received from an accident (distressed) vehicle, wherein the receivable range is generated based on a location of the accident vehicle, wherein the emergency information within the receivable range includes information about an event of the vehicle accident, and wherein the receivable range expands over time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the radio data receiving method of Brooks in view of Fujise with the concept as taught by Yamanaka to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve a driver’s awareness.
Claims 7-10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Brooks in view of Fujise, and further in view of Jung et al. US 2013/0022018 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Jung).
Referring to claim 7, Brooks discloses a radio data receiving method comprising:
transmitting, by a base station, emergency information to vehicles within a receivable area range of emergency information of a radio broadcasting system, receiving radio data by the vehicles ([0025]-[0026]) (Note: The WEA may be broadcast over the air via the radio base stations 30 to the vehicles 12; wherein the emergency alert is received if the vehicle 12 is within the alert area(s) 18 or within a predetermined distance of the alert area(s) 18), and
displaying information related to the radio data(figs.4-5 and [0033]) (Note: the vehicle displays information related to the WEA).
Brooks fails to disclose receiving radio data in a specific frequency band and transmitting the emergency information between the vehicles.
However, receiving radio data in a specific frequency band was well-known in the art at the time of the invention. This is evidenced by Fujise ([0024]-[0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the radio data receiving method of Brooks with the concept of receiving radio data in a specific frequency band as taught by Fujise to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to optimize communication by reducing outside interference and noise.
Brooks in view of Fujise fails to disclose transmitting the emergency information between the vehicles.
However, in the same field of endeavor of radio data receiving method art, Jung discloses transmitting the emergency information between the vehicles (fig.1 and [0090]-[0097]) (Note: other vehicles receive the emergency information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the radio data receiving method of Brooks in view of Fujise with the concept of transmitting the emergency information between the vehicles as taught by Jung to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve emergency notification.
Referring to claim 8, Brooks in view of Fujise and Jung disclose the radio data receiving method of claim 7. Brooks discloses wherein the radio data includes the emergency information (figs.4-5) (Note: the WEA includes an emergency alert), wherein the emergency information indicates an event about a location on a road (figs.4-5 and [0035]-[0036]) (Note: the emergency alert indicates the location of an event (tornado or fire) on a road), and
wherein the emergency information is received based on a receivable range of the emergency information ([0025]-[0026]) (Note: the emergency alert is received if the vehicle 12 is within the alert area(s) 18 or within a predetermined distance of the alert area(s) 18).
Referring to claim 9, Brooks in view of Fujise and Jung disclose the radio data receiving method of claim 8. Brooks discloses wherein the receivable range includes a first range and a second range generated based on a distance to the location, wherein the emergency information within the first range includes general status information about the event, and wherein the emergency information within the second range includes emergency status information about the event ([0026]-[0040] and figs.4-8) (Note: the vehicle receives the emergency alert based a distance to the location. That is, the emergency alert is received if the vehicle 12 is within the alert area(s) 18 or within a predetermined distance of the alert area(s) 18 and the vehicle 12 is notified when it moves away from the alert area(s) 18).
Referring to claim 10, Brooks in view of Fujise and Jung disclose the radio data receiving method of claim 8, wherein the event about the location on the road changes over time, wherein the emergency information includes a required time of the event, and wherein the emergency information is received during the required time based on the receivable range ([0025]-[0026] and [0035]-[0036]) (Note: the emergency alert is received if the vehicle 12 is within the alert area(s) 18 or within a predetermined distance of the alert area(s) 18 during tornado and fire time (required time of the event). Thus, the event about the location on the road changes over time).
Referring to claim 12, Brooks in view of Fujise and Jung discloses the radio data receiving method of claim 8. Jung discloses wherein the radio data is received from an accident vehicle (fig.1, S201, accident), wherein the receivable range is generated based on a location of the accident vehicle, wherein the emergency information within the receivable range includes information about an event of the accident vehicle, and wherein the receivable range expands over time ([0095] and [0101]-[0104]) (Note: the radio data is received from an accident vehicle, wherein the receivable range is generated based on a location of the accident vehicle and the emergency information is received by vehicles within the range. The base station automatically cancels the event registration with the main mobile station after duration of the certain period of time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the radio data receiving method of Brooks in view of Fujise with the concept as taught by Jung to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve emergency notification.
Referring to claim 13, Brooks in view of Fujise and Jung disclose the radio data receiving method of claim 9. Brooks discloses wherein the general status information includes at least one of description information or location information about the event (fig.8) (Note: location information about the event), and wherein the emergency status information includes emergency warning information about the event (figs.4-5) (Note: warning information about the event).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Brooks in view of Fujise and Jung, and furthermore in view of Yamanaka et al. US 2002/0111160 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Yamanaka).
Referring to claim 11, Brooks in view of Fujise and Jung discloses the radio data receiving method of claim 8, except wherein the radio data is received from an emergency vehicle, wherein the receivable range is generated based on a location of the emergency vehicle, and wherein the emergency information within the receivable range includes information about an event of the emergency vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor of radio data receiving method art, Yamanaka discloses a concept wherein the radio data is received from an emergency vehicle, wherein the receivable range is generated based on a location of the emergency vehicle, and wherein the emergency information within the receivable range includes information about an event of the emergency vehicle (fig.3 and [0037]-[0049]) (Note: the radio data is received from an urgent vehicle, wherein the receivable range is generated based on a location of the urgent vehicle, and wherein the emergency information within the receivable range includes approach of the urgent vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the radio data receiving method of Brooks in view of Fujise and Jung with the concept as taught by Yamanaka to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a mobile system and a mobile management system which can surely inform the driver of a mobile unit that an urgent mobile unit is approaching (see Yamanaka [0006]).
Conclusion
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683