DETAILED ACTION
3. Claims 1 and 5-27 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 1/23/26.
Claims 1 and 5-27 are under consideration in the instant application.
4. Applicant’s IDS filed on 1/23/26 has been acknowledged.
5. The oath filed on 12/22/25 has been entered.
6. IN light of Applicant’s amendment and response filed on 1/23/26, the rejections of record have been withdrawn.
7. The following new ground of rejections are set forth.
10. Claims 1 and 5-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2017/009312 (IDS reference, of record) in view of WO2018/178950 (of record) and Zhang et al (BMC Medicine, vol. 20:446, p. 1-9. 2022, newly cited).
The ‘312 publication teaches methods of treating synucleinopathy in a human patient comprising intravenous administration of alpha synuclein antibody set forth in the SEQ ID NO:17-18 including the CDR set forth in SEQ ID NO:1, 34, 3-6 ([143-146, claims 34-37, 46-49). The synucleionopathy includes Parkinson’s disease, Dementia with Lewy Bodies or Multiple System Atrophy (MSA) (claims, [0102]). Given that the ‘312 publication teaches the antibody that binds to the same epitope as evidenced by the prior art SEQ ID NO:9 that is identical to the claimed SEQ ID NO:9, the claimed and prior antibody is deemed identical and readable upon Amlenetug of claim 8 of the instant application.
Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.
Where the Patent Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may be an inherent characteristic of the prior art, it has the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristics relied on. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The claiming of a new use, new function of unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claims patentable. See In re Best, 194 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA) and In re Crish 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir 2004). Also see MPEP 2112. Claims 8 and 13 are included in this rejection.
The ‘312 publication further teaches that the KD is near 0.5-10nM and the enhancement is expected to be about 65fold and the chronic treatment of at least 2 weeks, 1 month, 6 months or year is included ([0167]).
The disclosure of the ‘312 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of a dose between 1000-4500mg as in claims 11-12 and use of UMSARS score of below 40 for initiation of treatment as in claim 1 of the instant application, respectively.
The ‘950 publication teaches treatment of synucleinopathy comprising administration of alpha synuclein antibody at dose including 1050mg, 1125mg, 1250mg, 3150mg, 3375 mg or 3500mg (p. 26) especially in treatment of Parkinsons’ Disease at extended doses of at least 2 doses.
Further, Zhang et al teach uses UMSARS as diagnosis of early stage of MSA and follow up for 2 years and uses UMSARS total score of 28 (Table 1, p. 4) and assess progression of disease. The sensitivity to change progression raises the score to 48 over two-year period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize known regimen taught by the ‘950 publication and diagnosis of early stage of MSA with UMSARS score at 28 into the synucleinopathy treatment method taught by the ‘312 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known dosage of the similar antibody for the same treatment may facilitate the therapeutic efficacy.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
12. Claims 1 and 5-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Pat. 10,647,764 in view of WO2018/178950 and Zhang et al (BMC Medicine, vol. 20:446, p. 1-9. 2022, newly cited).
.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘764 patent recites a method of treating Parkinson’s Disease comprising administering synuclein antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:1, 3-6, 34.
The claims of the ‘764 patent differ from the claimed invention in that they do not recite dose between 1000-4500mg of antibody.
The ‘950 publication teaches treatment of synucleinopathy comprising administration of alpha synuclein antibody at dose including 1050mg, 1125mg, 1250mg, 3150mg, 3375 mg or 3500mg (p. 26) especially in treatment of Parkinsons’ Disease at extended doses of at least 2 doses.
Further, Zhang et al teach uses UMSARS as diagnosis of early stage of MSA and follow up for 2 years and uses UMSARS total score of 28 (Table 1, p. 4) and assess progression of disease. The sensitivity to change progression raises the score to 48 over two-year period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize known regimen taught by the ‘950 publication and diagnosis of early stage of MSA with UMSARS score at 28 into the synucleinopathy treatment method taught by the ‘764 patent
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known dosage of the similar antibody for the same treatment may facilitate the therapeutic efficacy.
13. Claims 1 and 5-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Pat. 11,542,323 in view of WO2018/178950 and Zhang et al (BMC Medicine, vol. 20:446, p. 1-9. 2022, newly cited).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘323 patent recites a method of treating Parkinson’s Disease comprising administering synuclein antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:1, 3-6, 34.
The claims of the ‘323 patent differ from the claimed invention in that they do not recite dose between 1000-4500mg of antibody.
The ‘950 publication teaches treatment of synucleinopathy comprising administration of alpha synuclein antibody at dose including 1050mg, 1125mg, 1250mg, 3150mg, 3375 mg or 3500mg (p. 26) especially in treatment of Parkinsons’ Disease at extended doses of at least 2 doses.
Further, Zhang et al teach uses UMSARS as diagnosis of early stage of MSA and follow up for 2 years and uses UMSARS total score of 28 (Table 1, p. 4) and assess progression of disease. The sensitivity to change progression raises the score to 48 over two-year period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize known regimen taught by the ‘950 publication and diagnosis of early stage of MSA with UMSARS score at 28 into the synucleinopathy treatment method taught by the ‘323 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known dosage of the similar antibody for the same treatment may facilitate the therapeutic efficacy.
14. Claims 1 and 5-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 68-72 of U.S. Application 17/992,403 in view of WO2018/178950 Zhang et al (BMC Medicine, vol. 20:446, p. 1-9. 2022, newly cited).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘403 application recites a method of treating Parkinson’s Disease comprising administering synuclein antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:1, 3-6, 34.
The claims of the ‘403 publication differ from the claimed invention in that they do not recite dose between 1000-4500mg of antibody.
The ‘950 publication teaches treatment of synucleinopathy comprising administration of alpha synuclein antibody at dose including 1050mg, 1125mg, 1250mg, 3150mg, 3375 mg or 3500mg (p. 26) especially in treatment of Parkinsons’ Disease at extended doses of at least 2 doses.
Further, Zhang et al teach uses UMSARS as diagnosis of early stage of MSA and follow up for 2 years and uses UMSARS total score of 28 (Table 1, p. 4) and assess progression of disease. The sensitivity to change progression raises the score to 48 over two-year period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize known regimen taught by the ‘950 publication and diagnosis of early stage of MSA with UMSARS score at 28 into the synucleinopathy treatment method taught by the ‘403 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known dosage of the similar antibody for the same treatment may facilitate the therapeutic efficacy.
15. Claims 1 and 5-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Pat. 12,077,578 in view of WO2018/178950 and Zhang et al (BMC Medicine, vol. 20:446, p. 1-9. 2022, newly cited).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘578 patent recites a method of treating Parkinson’s Disease comprising administering synuclein antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:1, 3-6, 34.
The claims of the ‘578 patent differ from the claimed invention in that they do not recite dose between 1000-4500mg of antibody and UMSARS score below 40.
The ‘950 publication teaches treatment of synucleinopathy comprising administration of alpha synuclein antibody at dose including 1050mg, 1125mg, 1250mg, 3150mg, 3375 mg or 3500mg (p. 26) especially in treatment of Parkinsons’ Disease at extended doses of at least 2 doses.
Further, Zhang et al teach uses UMSARS as diagnosis of early stage of MSA and follow up for 2 years and uses UMSARS total score of 28 (Table 1, p. 4) and assess progression of disease. The sensitivity to change progression raises the score to 48 over two-year period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize known regimen taught by the ‘950 publication and diagnosis of early stage of MSA with UMSARS score at 28 into the synucleinopathy treatment method taught by the ‘578 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known dosage of the similar antibody for the same treatment may facilitate the therapeutic efficacy.
16. Claims 1 and 5-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US 18/774,608 (allowed) in view of WO2018/178950 and Zhang et al (BMC Medicine, vol. 20:446, p. 1-9. 2022, newly cited).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘608 application recites a method of treating Parkinson’s Disease comprising administering synuclein antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:1, 3-6, 34.
The claims of the ‘608 application differ from the claimed invention in that they do not recite dose between 1000-4500mg of antibody and UMSARS score below 40.
The ‘950 publication teaches treatment of synucleinopathy comprising administration of alpha synuclein antibody at dose including 1050mg, 1125mg, 1250mg, 3150mg, 3375 mg or 3500mg (p. 26) especially in treatment of Parkinsons’ Disease at extended doses of at least 2 doses.
Further, Zhang et al teach uses UMSARS as diagnosis of early stage of MSA and follow up for 2 years and uses UMSARS total score of 28 (Table 1, p. 4) and assess progression of disease. The sensitivity to change progression raises the score to 48 over two-year period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize known regimen taught by the ‘950 publication and diagnosis of early stage of MSA with UMSARS score at 28 into the synucleinopathy treatment method taught by the ‘608 application.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known dosage of the similar antibody for the same treatment may facilitate the therapeutic efficacy.
17. Claims 1 and 5-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US 18/774,629 (allowed) in view of WO2018/178950 and Zhang et al (BMC Medicine, vol. 20:446, p. 1-9. 2022, newly cited).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘629 application recites a method of treating Parkinson’s Disease comprising administering synuclein antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:1, 3-6, 34.
The ‘950 publication teaches treatment of synucleinopathy comprising administration of alpha synuclein antibody at dose including 1050mg, 1125mg, 1250mg, 3150mg, 3375 mg or 3500mg (p. 26) especially in treatment of Parkinsons’ Disease at extended doses of at least 2 doses.
Further, Zhang et al teach uses UMSARS as diagnosis of early stage of MSA and follow up for 2 years and uses UMSARS total score of 28 (Table 1, p. 4) and assess progression of disease. The sensitivity to change progression raises the score to 48 over two-year period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize known regimen taught by the ‘950 publication and diagnosis of early stage of MSA with UMSARS score at 28 into the synucleinopathy treatment method taught by the ‘629 application.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known dosage of the similar antibody for the same treatment may facilitate the therapeutic efficacy.
18. Claims 1 and 5-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US 18/774,646 (allowed) in view of WO2018/178950 and Zhang et al (BMC Medicine, vol. 20:446, p. 1-9. 2022, newly cited).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘646 application recites a method of treating Parkinson’s Disease comprising administering synuclein antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:1, 3-6, 34.
The ‘950 publication teaches treatment of synucleinopathy comprising administration of alpha synuclein antibody at dose including 1050mg, 1125mg, 1250mg, 3150mg, 3375 mg or 3500mg (p. 26) especially in treatment of Parkinsons’ Disease at extended doses of at least 2 doses.
Further, Zhang et al teach uses UMSARS as diagnosis of early stage of MSA and follow up for 2 years and uses UMSARS total score of 28 (Table 1, p. 4) and assess progression of disease. The sensitivity to change progression raises the score to 48 over two-year period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize known regimen taught by the ‘950 publication and diagnosis of early stage of MSA with UMSARS score at 28 into the synucleinopathy treatment method taught by the ‘646 application.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known dosage of the similar antibody for the same treatment may facilitate the therapeutic efficacy.
19. No claims are allowable.
20. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YUNSOO KIM whose telephone number is (571)272-3176. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Misook Yu can be reached on 571-272-0839. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Yunsoo Kim
Primary Examiner
Technology Center 1600
February 4, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641