Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the phrase “a plurality of blocking plates” is unclear whether “a plurality of blocking plates” in claim 2 includes “a blocking plate” of claim 1. In claim 3, the phrase “at least one blocking plate” is a double recitation and is inaccurate and indefinite because claim 1 recites “a blocking plate”. In claim 3, “a blocking plate” (two places) is a double recitation of claim 1. In claim 4, the phrase “thereby allowing individual fume removal and humidity control … regions” is vague, confusing and indefinite there are insufficient structures in claim to support such phrase. In claim 5, the phrase “the shelves and the blocking plate are repeatedly disposed in the vertical direction” is inaccurate and indefinite because claim 1 only recite a single blocking plate. So the phrase “repeatedly disposed” is inaccurate. In claim 7, the phrase “… so that the defect rate of the wafers can be reduced” is vague and indefinite because there are insufficient structures in the combination of claims 1 and 7 to support such phrase. In claim 8, the phrase “since the plurality of purging region is individually purged, … the wafers that have purged” is confusing and indefinite because there are insufficient structures in the combination of claims 1 and 8 to support “since …”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Woo (2023/0286742) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Woo.
As to claim 1, Woo discloses a wafer storage container (1”’; Figs. 8-10) comprising a storage chamber (10) configured to store a plurality of wafers therein through a front opening (110); a plurality of shelves (120) provided in a vertical direction inside the storage chamber to support the wafers; at least one blocking plate (30”’; 310”’; 320”’) disposed in the vertical direction inside the storage chamber and configured to block a vertical flow (Fig. 10) of the purge gas inside the storage chamber; and a plurality of purging regions (130) that are individually divided in the vertical direction inside the storage chamber by the blocking plate (specification).
As to claim 2, to the extent that the Examiner can determine the scope of the claim, Woo discloses the at least one blocking plate comprises a plurality of blocking plates (310”’, 320”’) are disposed in the vertical direction inside the storage chamber, each positioned between adjacent shelves to define individual purging regions (Fig. 9).
As to claim 3, Woo discloses the at least one blocking plate divides the inside of the storage chamber in the vertical direction to form a plurality of purging regions (Figs. 8-10), and the uppermost purging region is enclosed by an upper plate at the upper side (a top plate as shown in Fig. 9) and a blocking plate at the lower side (310”’) while the lowermost purging region is enclosed by a blocking plate (320”’) at the upper side and a lower plate (a bottom plate as shown in Fig. 9).
As to claim 4, the blocking plate of Woo is inherently capable to prevent the vertical flow of the purge gas and fumes inside the storage chamber (Fig. 10). The wafer storage chamber of Woo is capable for allowing individual fume removal and humidity control for each wafer located in a respective purging region among the plurality of purging regions.
As to claim 5, to the extent that Woo fails to disclose that inside the storage chamber, the shelves and the blocking plate are repeatedly disposed in the vertical direction as claimed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wafer storage container of Woo so the storage chamber is constructed with the shelves and the blocking plate are repeatedly disposed in the vertical direction for better protecting the wafers disposed within the storage chamber and because it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
As to claim 6, Woo discloses the plurality of purging regions (Fig. 3) is formed by dividing the inside of the storage chamber in the vertical direction by an upper plate, a lower plate, and the blocking plate (Fig. 10).
As to claim 7, to the extent that the Examiner can determine the scope of the claim, Woo discloses the vertical flow of the purge gas and fumes is blocked by the blocking plate (Fig. 10) such that when a large amount of fumes exists on one of the plurality of wafers, the wafers in other purging regions are not affected, so that the defect rate of the wafers can be reduces.
As to claim 8, the wafer storage container of Woo is inherently capable to provide storage chamber with the plurality of purging regions is individually purged, the same purging time can be set for the plurality of wafers, such that all the wafers can be purged for the same period of time by individually stopping purging of the wafers that have purged.
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736