DETAILED ACTION Claims Status Claims 1-20 are pending and have been rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolescu et al. (U.S. Publication 2010/0223341), hereinafter “Manolescu” in view of Golobokov et al (U.S. Publication 2022/0100534), hereinafter “Golobokov”.
As to claims 1 & 11, Manolescu discloses a method and a system comprising: capturing, at a computing device, a visual representation of an object (Manolescu, see [0023], electronic communication can be used to share data and media (e.g., photographs, videos, audio recordings, text, blogs) between network users using a communication device. See [0050], the video capture device can identify physical responses indicating physical or emotional experiences of a person); identifying a type of the object (Manolescu, see [0023], electronic communication can be used to share data and media (e.g., photographs, videos, audio recordings, text, blogs) between network users using a communication device.); accessing a respective messaging history for each contact of a plurality of contacts (Manolescu, see [0051], devices with personal context can include a scheduling component that determines workgroup, or activity the participant is involved with, a social network interface that can obtain or identify other persons associated with the participant and interests); identifying, for the type of the object, for each contact of the plurality of contacts a respective messaging frequency based on the respective messaging history (Manolescu, see [0042-0043], frequently talking to friends based on interest); identifying a particular contact of the plurality of contacts based on the respective messaging frequency for the particular contact being above a threshold (Manolescu, see [0042-0043], tracking component could infer that a device user has an interest in weather, at least when discussing social events, and particularly during the winter); Manolescu is silent to generating, for output a recommendation to transmit the visual representation of the object to the particular contact; receiving an input accepting the recommendation (Golobokov, see [0060], the preview personalization system generates a message from the client device, wherein a user of the client device (i.e., a first user) provides an input to generate a message to a second user); and transmitting the visual representation to the particular contact (Golobokov, see [0030-0031], particular messaging client can send messages via application servers from a particular messaging client to another messaging client, wherein aggregated content (e.g., textual and multimedia content) can be included in messages. See [0060], the preview personalization system generates a message from the client device, wherein a user of the client device (i.e., a first user) provides an input to generate a message to a second user). However, Golobokov discloses generating, for output a recommendation to transmit the visual representation of the object to the particular contact (Golobokov, [0068-0070], a user may provide an input to modify a display of the preview within the GUI. The input can selectively place the preview at a position within the GUI, or in some embodiments, can change or modify a size, alignment, or orientation of the preview); receiving an input accepting the recommendation (Golobokov, see [0060], the preview personalization system generates a message from the client device, wherein a user of the client device (i.e., a first user) provides an input to generate a message to a second user); and transmitting the visual representation to the particular contact (Golobokov, see [0030-0031], particular messaging client can send messages via application servers from a particular messaging client to another messaging client, wherein aggregated content (e.g., textual and multimedia content) can be included in messages. See [0060], the preview personalization system generates a message from the client device, wherein a user of the client device (i.e., a first user) provides an input to generate a message to a second user). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manolescu in view of Golobokov in order to further modify the method for providing for electronic messaging tailored to contexts or interests of one or more participants of electronic communication from the teachings of Manolescu with the method of generating and presenting previews of personalized media content at a client device from the teachings of Golobokov.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to generate a personalized media item (Golobokov – abstract).
As to claims 2 & 12, Manolescu in view of Golobokov discloses everything disclosed in claims 1 & 11. Manolescu further discloses wherein the visual representation is a first visual representation, the input is a first input and the method further comprises: identifying, based on the type of the object, a plurality of visual representations related to the first visual representation (Manolescu, see [0023], electronic communication can be used to share data and media (e.g., photographs, videos, audio recordings, text, blogs) between network users using a communication device. See [0050], the video capture device can identify physical responses indicating physical or emotional experiences of a person. 0032); Golobokov further discloses generating, for output, at least a subset of the plurality of visual representations related to the first visual representation (Golobokov, [0068-0070], a user may provide an input to modify a display of the preview within the GUI. The input can selectively place the preview at a position within the GUI, or in some embodiments, can change or modify a size, alignment, or orientation of the preview); receiving a second input associated with selecting a second visual representation from the at least the subset of the plurality of visual representations related to the first visual representation (Golobokov, see [0060], the preview personalization system generates a message from the client device, wherein a user of the client device (i.e., a first user) provides an input to generate a message to a second user); and transmitting the selected second visual representation to the particular contact (Golobokov, see [0030-0031], particular messaging client can send messages via application servers from a particular messaging client to another messaging client, wherein aggregated content (e.g., textual and multimedia content) can be included in messages. See [0060], the preview personalization system generates a message from the client device, wherein a user of the client device (i.e., a first user) provides an input to generate a message to a second user).
As to claims 3 & 13, Manolescu in view of Golobokov discloses everything disclosed in claims 2 & 12. Manolescu further discloses wherein the identifying the plurality of visual representations related to the visual representation of the object further comprises identifying the plurality of visual representations related to the visual representation of the object based on metadata associated with the plurality of visual representations related to the visual representation of the object (Manolescu, see [0023], electronic communication can be used to share data and media (e.g., photographs, videos, audio recordings, text, blogs) between network users using a communication device. See [0032], system can comprise a message customization system that outputs a modification to an electronic message based at least in part on a context of the message. Message context can be determined by an analysis component that evaluates content, style, format, language or logistics (e.g., best time to send a message, preferred recipient alias, address or device, etc.) pertaining to the message. To analyze words employed in a message (e.g., words providing an inference of emotion), punctuation (e.g., exclamation marks, emoticons, questions marks, or the like, employed in conveying emotion or sentiment) employed in the message, explicit user input (e.g., message rating, message feedback, sender rating, etc.) or other indicators of personal sentiment (e.g., slang language, curse words, and so forth)).
As to claims 4 & 14, Manolescu in view of Golobokov discloses everything disclosed in claims 2 & 12. Golobokov further discloses wherein the method further comprises generating, for output, at least one indicator associated with the subset of the plurality of visual representations related to the visual representation of the object, wherein the each indicator of the at least one indicator comprises at least one low resolution version of the visual representation of the subset of the plurality of visual representations related to the visual representation of the object (Golobokov, [0068-0070], a user can provide an input to modify a display of the preview within the GUI. The input can selectively place the preview at a position within the GUI, or in some embodiments, can change or modify a size, alignment, or orientation of the preview).
As to claims 5 & 15, Manolescu in view of Golobokov discloses everything disclosed in claims 1 & 11. Manolescu discloses wherein the input is a first input and the method further comprises: generating a user interface configured to display historic visual representations shared with the particular contact, wherein the historic visual representations each comprise at least one object of the identified type (Manolescu, see [0042-0043], tracking component could infer that a device user has an interest in weather, at least when discussing social events, and particularly during the winter);
Golobokov further discloses receiving a second input associated with a user interface element of the user interface (Golobokov, see [0060], the preview personalization system generates a message from the client device, wherein a user of the client device (i.e., a first user) provides an input to generate a message to a second user); and generating, for output, at least a subset of the historic visual representations (Golobokov, [0068-0070], a user can provide an input to modify a display of the preview within the GUI. The input can selectively place the preview at a position within the GUI, or in some embodiments, can change or modify a size, alignment, or orientation of the preview).
As to claims 6 & 16, Manolescu in view of Golobokov discloses everything disclosed in claims 1 & 11. Manolescu further discloses wherein identifying the type of the object comprises identifying the type of the object via computer vision (Manolescu, see [0023], electronic communication can be used to share data and media (e.g., photographs, videos, audio recordings, text, blogs)).
As to claim 7 & 17, Manolescu in view of Golobokov discloses everything disclosed in claims 1 & 11. Manolescu further discloses wherein identifying the messaging frequency with each of the plurality of contacts further comprises: selecting a time period (Golobokov, see [0037], collection can be made available for a specified time period, such as the duration of an event to which the content relate); and identifying the messaging frequency over the selected time period (Golobokov, see [0036], the ephemeral timer system incorporates a number of timers that, based on duration and display parameters associated with a message, selectively enable access (e.g., for presentation and display) to messages and associated content via the messaging client).
As to claims 8 & 18, Manolescu in view of Golobokov discloses everything disclosed in claims 1 & 11. Manolescu further discloses the visual representation is a content item comprising a plurality of frames (Manolescu, see [0032], message context can be determined by an analysis component that evaluates content, style, format, language or logistics (e.g., best time to send a message, preferred recipient alias, address or device, etc.) pertaining to the message, or the like. Format of the message, including writing style or a sentiment of a participant compiling the message, can be evaluated to further characterize message content, for example a message length (e.g., number of words), detail (e.g., amount of descriptive or supportive data, including or excluding attachments, as suitable to participant preferences) and graphical illustrations, fonts, word styles, pictures, embedded video, audio or other media, links (e.g., hypertext transport mark-up language links), including link destination, destination content or chains of links among multiple messages or websites); and identifying the type of the object comprises identifying the type of the object that appears in at least a subset of the plurality of frames of the content item (Manolescu, see [0032], graphical illustrations, fonts, word styles, pictures, embedded video, audio or other media, links (e.g., hypertext links)).
As to claims 9 & 19, Manolescu in view of Golobokov discloses everything disclosed in claims 1 & 11. Manolescu further discloses wherein the visual representation of the object is an image and/or a video (Manolescu, see [0023], electronic communication can be used to share data and media (e.g., photographs, videos, audio recordings, text, blogs)).
As to claims 10 & 20, Manolescu in view of Golobokov discloses everything disclosed in claims 1 & 11. Manolescu discloses identifying the particular contact comprises identifying a subset of contacts of the plurality of contacts based on the respective messaging frequencies for the each contact of the subset of contacts of the plurality of contacts being above the threshold (Manolescu, see [0042-0043], tracking component could infer that a device user has an interest in weather, at least when discussing social events, and particularly during the winter); and Golobokov further discloses generating the recommendation comprises generating the recommendation to transmit the visual representation of the object to the subset of contacts (Golobokov, [0068-0070], a user may provide an input to modify a display of the preview within the GUI. The input can selectively place the preview at a position within the GUI, or in some embodiments, can change or modify a size, alignment, or orientation of the preview).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. This includes: U.S. Publication 2015/0379722, which describes intelligent image processing for enterprise applications.
U.S. Publication 2015/0293928, which describes generating personalized video. U.S. Publication 2016/0191448, which describes providing translations of electronic messages via social networking system.
/TANIA M PENA-SANTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443