DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 – 13 and 18 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Schmidt et al. USP 6474432.
Claim 1, Schmidt discloses a bearing cassette assembly (Fig. 2), comprising: a cassette (axle carrier housing 42)(col. 2, ll. 52 – 53) securable to a chassis (via front monofork 12)(col. 2, ll. 31 – 32) of a vehicle (col. 2, l. 32: “motorcycle”); and a cam (axle carrier 16)(col. 2, ll. 32 – 33) securable within the cassette in one of a plurality of radial positions relative to the cassette, wherein the cam is configured to receive a first vehicle axle bearing assembly (axle 14)(col. 2, l. 32), wherein when the cam is moved into one of a plurality of radial positions (col. 3, ll. 14 – 16: “[t]he axle carrier 16 may be rotated to any desired position to adjust the relative vertical and horizontal (fore/aft) position of the axle 14”), the first vehicle axle bearing assembly is moved relative to a second vehicle axle bearing assembly (not shown, but inherent to the structure of a motorcycle) of the vehicle (col. 3, ll. 30 – 35: “movement of the axle 14 to the nine o'clock position will place the axle in the maximum rearward position, thereby shortening the wheelbase, while movement of the axle 14 to the three o'clock position will place the axle in the maximum forward position, thereby lengthening the wheelbase”).
Claim 11, Schmidt discloses an interface between the cam and the cassette being configured such that loads may be transferred from the cam to the cassette (as configured and arranged, loads transferred from the wheel 10 are transmitted through the bearing surfaces of axle carrier 16 and axial carrier housing 42 to monofork 12).
Claim 12, Schmidt discloses a cam body of the cam 16 being sized to rotate within a cassette 42 through-hole such that the cam may be moved radially into at least two different positions relative to the cassette (col. 3, ll. 14 – 16).
Claim 13, Schmidt discloses a method of adjusting a wheelbase for a vehicle (col. 2, l. 32) by moving a first vehicle axle bearing assembly relative to a second vehicle axle bearing assembly (not shown) of the vehicle (col. 3, ll. 30 – 35), the method comprising: moving a cam 16 into one of a plurality of radial positions relative to a cassette 42 secured to a chassis of a vehicle (col. 3, ll. 14 – 16), wherein the cam is secured on a first vehicle axle bearing assembly 14; effectuating a cam action against the first vehicle axle bearing assembly when a radial position of the cam is changed within the cassette (col. 3, ll. 14 – 16); and securing the cam relative to the cassette when the cam is in a preferred radial position relative to the cassette (col. 2, ll. 54 – 63: “the distal or lower end of the monofork 12 is a split axle carrier housing 42 that, upon loosening of its fasteners 44, may be spread apart to permit insertion of the axle carrier 16 and, by tightening the fasteners 44, may be clamped together to receive and frictionally retain the axle carrier 16 in a desirable fixed position”).
Claim 18, Schmidt discloses transferring loads from the cam body to the body of the cassette (as configured and arranged, loads transferred from the wheel 10 are transmitted through the bearing surfaces of axle carrier 16 and axial carrier housing 42 to monofork 12).
Claim 19, Schmidt discloses shifting a longitudinal or vertical position of the first vehicle axle bearing assembly at least one of forwardly or rearwardly and up or down relative to the second vehicle axle bearing assembly when moving the cam into one of a plurality of radial positions relative to the cassette (col. 3, ll. 14 – 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 – 10 and 14 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt et al. USP 6474432 in view of Choi KR 20190117311 (incl. machine translation).
Claim 2, Schmidt discloses all of the limitations of the invention of claim 2, including the cassette comprising: a body.
Schmidt does not expressly disclose a cassette through-hole passing through the body that is sized and configured to receive a first portion of the cam; and a counterbore surrounding the cassette through-hole configured to receive a second portion of the cam.
Schmidt discloses a prior art bearing cassette assembly upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement” (Schmidt discloses a flangeless cam or axle carrier 16 inserted into the through-hole of cassette or axle housing 42 that not include a surrounding counterbore.
Choi teaches a known technique that is applicable to bearing cassette assembly of Schmidt, namely, the technique of having through-hole 301 (see annotated Fig. 7) passing through a body (first eccentric annular spacer 300)([0028], l. 2) that is sized and configured to receive a first portion (401)(see annotated Fig. 9) of a cam (second eccentric annular spacer 400)([0028], l. 1); and a counterbore (340)(catch 340)([0027], l. 3) surrounding the through-hole configured to receive a second portion (locking projection 430)([0030], l. 1) of the cam.
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the known technique taught by Choi to the bearing cassette assembly of Schmidt would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved cam positioning system, namely, cam positioning system in Schmidt that would position the cam axially, wherein the counterbore acts as an axial stop and provides precise positioning of the cam within the through-hole.
Claim 3, Schmidt as modified by Choi discloses the cam including a connecting flange extending circumferentially around a cam body, wherein the cam body defines the first portion of the cam and the connecting flange defines the second portion of the cam.
Claim 4, Schmidt discloses an outer diameter of the cam body being substantially a same shape and size as an inner diameter of the cassette through-hole.
Claim 5, Schmidt discloses an interface between the cam body and the body of the cassette being configured such that loads may be transferred from the cam body to the body of the cassette (as configured and arranged, loads transferred from the wheel 10 are transmitted through the bearing surfaces of axle carrier 16 and axial carrier housing 42 to monofork 12).
Claim 6, Schmidt discloses the cam body of the cam being sized to rotate within the cassette through-hole such that the cam may be moved radially into at least two different positions relative to the cassette (col. 3, ll. 14 – 16).
Claim 7, Schmidt as modified by Choi discloses the connecting flange being securable within the counterbore of the cassette when the cam is in a preferred radial position relative to the cassette (Schmidt, col. 2, ll. 54 – 63).
Claim 8, Schmidt discloses the cam body including an eccentric cam through-hole (axle opening 26)(col. 3, l. 12) that is located off-center within the cam body.
Claim 9, Schmidt discloses the cam body effectuating a cam action against the first vehicle axle bearing assembly when a radial position of the cam body is changed within the cassette (col. 3, ll. 14 – 16).
Claim 10, Schmidt discloses the cam action against the first vehicle axle bearing assembly causing at least one of a longitudinal and vertical position of the first vehicle axle bearing assembly to shift forwardly or rearwardly or up or down relative to the second vehicle axle bearing assembly (col. 3, ll. 14 – 16).
Claim 14, Schmidt discloses all of the limitations of the invention of claim 14, except for securing a first portion of the cam within a cassette through-hole passing through a body of the cassette; and securing a second portion of the cam within a counterbore surrounding the cassette through-hole.
Schmidt discloses a prior art bearing cassette assembly upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement” (Schmidt discloses a flangeless cam or axle carrier 16 inserted into the through-hole of cassette or axle housing 42 that not include a surrounding counterbore.
Choi teaches a known technique that is applicable to bearing cassette assembly of Schmidt, namely, the technique of securing a first portion 401 of a cam 400 within a through-hole 301 (see annotated Fig. 7) passing through a body 300; and securing a second portion 430 of the cam within a counterbore 340 surrounding the through-hole.
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the known technique taught by Choi to the bearing cassette assembly of Schmidt would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved cam positioning system, namely, cam positioning system in Schmidt that would position the cam axially, wherein the counterbore acts as an axial stop and provides precise positioning of the cam within the through-hole.
Claim 15, Schmidt disclose all of the limitations of the invention of claim 15, including securing a body of the cam within a cassette through-hole passing through a body of the cassette.
Schmidt does not expressly disclose securing a connecting flange of the cam within a counterbore surrounding the cassette through-hole, the connecting flange extending circumferentially around the cam body.
Schmidt discloses a prior art bearing cassette assembly upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement” (Schmidt discloses a flangeless cam or axle carrier 16 inserted into the through-hole of cassette or axle housing 42 that not include a surrounding counterbore.
Choi teaches a known technique that is applicable to bearing cassette assembly of Schmidt, namely, the technique of securing a connecting flange 430 of the cam within a counterbore surrounding a through-hole 301, wherein the connecting flange 430 extends circumferentially around the cam body.
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the known technique taught by Choi to the bearing cassette assembly of Schmidt would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved cam positioning system, namely, cam positioning system in Schmidt that would position the cam axially, wherein the counterbore acts as an axial stop and provides precise positioning of the cam within the through-hole.
Claim 16, Schmidt discloses rotating the cam body within the cassette through-hole such that the cam may be moved radially into at least two different positions relative to the cassette (col. 3, ll. 14 – 16).
Claim 17, Schmidt as modified by discloses securing the connecting flange within the counterbore of the cassette when the cam is in a preferred radial position relative to the cassette (Schmidt, col. 2, ll. 54 – 63).
Conclusion
/PHILLIP A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617