DETAILED ACTION
An application was filed by applicant on 03/04/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed feature limitations: “second configuration” and “vision system” must be shown as recited (it is suggested that such be shown with an appropriate reference characters corresponding to these feature(s) in the specification) or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Appropriate correction is required.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the above feature(s) (with appropriate reference characters corresponding to the feature(s) in the written description) consistent with the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informality:
The Specification does not refer to the drawings regarding the feature(s) indicated in paragraphs 4 and 5 of this Office Action.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claims 3 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor, regards as the invention.
11. The claimed feature “pick point” is unclear as to requisite material and/or structure in light of the Specification; the Specification does not disclose such requisite material/structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As best understood by the examiner, claims 1-4, 7, 10, 11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being -unpatentable over D1: US 6269763 B1 (Woodland), in view of D2: US 8882555 B2 (Mulligan et al.). Regarding claims 1-4, 7, 10, 11, 14 and 15, D1 discloses an autonomous maritime surface vehicle comprising a hull and a cap (cover) sealingly covering an interior of the hull (deck [3] covers hull [4]) and includes bulkheads or partitions separating internal compartments. The hull is considered a monohull. Any of a number of components attached to the cap are considered pick points, with any one of such considered a single pick point, since such can be used to grab on to and assist in picking up the vehicle, as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art; especially, since applicant has not in a material way specifically defined such features. Where the deck [3] joins the hull periphery [84], a sealing gasket [88], as shown in FIG. 1 makes a water-tight seal, thereby aiding in making the interior of the rigid hull [4] water-tight. See Figs. 1-36 and corresponding written description. D1 does not disclose that the cap is removably coupled to the hull and selectively reconfigurable as claimed. However, the cap is considered a separate component and as such is considered selectively removable and thus reconfigurable, as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art. Nevertheless, D2 discloses a removable cap (cover) [110] fastened to a hull [100] (also considered a monohull) of a maritime vehicle (motorized rescue buoy), and also includes pick points (considered pickup attachments) [140]. See Figs. 1-7 and corresponding written description. Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to provide such features to facilitate a removable cover and pickup for convenience as desired, as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art. In view of the foregoing, it would have been considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide such features to facilitate sealing and functionality of the device as desired with a reasonable expectation of success, as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art. The rejection combines known features to achieve expected results; no unknown features or unexpected results are achieved for the claimed subject matter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowable.
Claims 5, 6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12, 13 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
17. The prior art cited and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
The prior art reference cited by the examiner disclose autonomous maritime surface vehicles.
18. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL V VENNE whose telephone number is (571) 272-7947. The examiner can normally be reached between M-F, 7am-3:30pm Flex. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Marc Q Jimenez, who can be reached at phone number (571) 272-4530. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
19. If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Daniel V Venne/
Senior Examiner, Art Unit 3615
10/20/2026