DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 04, 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 1, line 6, applicant claims for “initiating advertisement….”. It is unclear what intended for “advertisement”?
As per claim 9, line 4, applicant claims for “initiating advertisement….”. It is unclear what intended for “advertisement”?
As per claim 17, line 6, applicant claims for “initiating advertisement….”. It is unclear what intended for “advertisement”?
Claims 2-8, 10-16 and 18-20 should have been rejected for the same reason for their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guard et al. (US 2020/0253320) in view of Whitney et al. (US 2016/0093199).
As per claim 9, Guard et al. disclose am smart footwear article (insole, 100, figures 1- 2) comprises one or more sensors (118, 120, 122, 124, 126, 134, paragraphs 0150) and a processor (print circuit board, PCB 202, figures 2 and 5, paragraphs 0185 and 0218) method (figures 1-3) comprising,
the processor includes a Bluetooth module (paragraph 0179) configured to initiating advertisement for communication with a computing device (106, figure 1, paragraph 0149 and 0164) in response to the one or more sensors detect state and establishing a communication with the computing device after initiating the advertisement (paragraphs 0168, 0219-0220);
calibrating the one or more sensors in the insole after establishing the
communication (paragraphs 0180 and 0227, 0229, 0233); and
transmitting data from the one or more sensors to the computing device after
calibrating the one or more sensors (paragraphs 0143, 0219).
Guard et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for waking up, one or more sensors and a processor, from a lower power mode in response to detection that the insole is in use. Whitney et al. disclose a shoe-based wearable interaction system comprises a processor (104) embedded in a shoe (102) and a shoe interface (106) connected to the processor 0013), wherein the processor (104) being kept in a low-power state when not in use and being awoken by bringing shoe (102) into close proximity to a companion shoe (paragraphs 0036-0039). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the waking mode as taught by Whitney et al. in a system as disclosed by Guard et al. for the purpose of conserving power when the shoes are not in use.
As per claim 10, Whitney et al. disclose entering the low power mode if communication with the computing device is not established (the processor (104) being kept in a low-power state when not in use, paragraph 0036).
As per claim 11, Guard et al. disclose the one or more sensors comprise a pressure sensor (118, paragraph 0150) coupled to a flexible printed circuit board (340) and wherein the pressure sensor is to detect a point pressure on the insole (figure 5, paragraph 0189-0190).
As per claim 12, Guard et al. disclose the one or more sensors comprise a battery monitoring integrated circuit (power management unit, paragraphs 0018-0179), a wireless charging receiver (280, paragraph 0208), a changing circuit chip (230) and a wireless charging transmitter (260) and a changing LED state to provide a first data to calculate a charge level of a battery (paragraphs 0210).
As per claim 13, Guard et al. disclose the battery (290) being coupled to a relatively rigid printed circuit board, wherein the battery is used to power the one or more sensors and the processor (figure 2, paragraphs 0186).
As per claim 14, Guard et al. disclose the relatively rigid printed circuit board is coupled to the flexible printed circuit board (paragraph 0189-0190 and 0218).
As per claim 15, Guard et al. disclose the one or more sensors comprise an inertial measurement unit to provide a second data to calculate parameters related to time, speed, and angles of the insole (paragraphs 0173-0174, and 0231).
As per claim 16, Guard et al. disclose the one or more sensors comprise a barometric sensor (156, paragraph 0163) to provide a third data to calculate height of the insole above a ground.
As per claims 1-8 and 17-20, refer to claims 10-17 above.
Conclusion
/TAI T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 June 4, 2026