Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 4, and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,246,952 B2 (hereinafter ‘952) in view of Burgess (US9849981B1).
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18, claim 2 (which depends on claim 1) of patent ‘952 recites a dock and a suspended load control apparatus (“the deployable equipment comprises a suspended load control apparatus” claim 2 of patent ‘952) and method, comprising: a docking interface, an electrical interface, wherein a rechargeable battery of the suspended load control apparatus is to recharge through the electrical interface; wherein the suspended load control apparatus comprises: a thruster, a computer processor, a memory; wherein the memory comprises a load control module (“the deployable equipment module is a load control module” claim 2 of patent ‘952), but lacks wherein the docking interface is to releasably secure the suspended load control apparatus to the dock; the load control module which, when executed by the computer processor, is to control the thruster to influence a motion (“rotation or movement” claim 3 of patent ‘952) the suspended load control apparatus at least in part using an electrical power from the rechargeable battery. Burgess teaches a similar dock and suspending load control apparatus and further teaches wherein the docking interface (114; Figures 1A-1C) is to releasably secure the suspended load control apparatus (106) to the dock (100, 114); the load control module (124, 126; 556; Figures 1D and 5E) which, when executed by the computer processor (120), is to control the thruster (162; 164) to influence a motion the suspended load control apparatus (106; Figure 3B; column 15, line 35 – column 16, line 31; column 30, line 34 – column 31, line 14; control system controls thrusters based on a predetermined path of descent) at least in part using an electrical power from the rechargeable battery (134). It would have been obvious to modify claim 2 of patent ‘952 to include the docking interface as taught by Burgess in order to prevent movement of the suspended load control apparatus and load for better aircraft carrier flight stabilization and preventing impacts with each other; and include the load control module a taught by Burgess in order to stabilize and balance the swinging movement of the suspended load control apparatus and load.
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, patent ‘952 recites the above dock and suspending load control apparatus, but lacks wherein the dock is further to releasably secure the suspended load control apparatus to a carrier. Burgess teaches a similar dock and suspending load control apparatus and further teaches wherein the dock (100, 114) is further to releasably secure the suspended load control apparatus (106) to a carrier (100; Figure 1A-1B). It would have been obvious to modify patent ‘952 to include the dock and carrier as taught by Burgess in order to prevent movement of the suspended load control apparatus and load for better aircraft carrier flight stabilization and preventing impacts with each other.
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 20, claim 6 (which depends on claim 2) of patent ‘952 recites wherein the carrier comprises a hoist and a suspension cable, wherein the suspended load control apparatus is to be secured to the suspension cable.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, claim 6 (which depends on claim 2) of patent ‘952 recites wherein the suspended load control apparatus is to be secured to a load.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, patent ‘952 recites the above dock and suspending load control apparatus, but lacks wherein the load is to be releasable from the suspended load control apparatus. Burgess teaches a similar dock and suspending load control apparatus and further teaches wherein the load (108) is to be releasable from the suspended load control apparatus (106; Figures 1B-1C). It would have been obvious to modify patent ‘952 to include the releasable load as taught by Burgess in order to pick up and drop a load at specific targeted areas for quick transport.
Regarding claims 7, 15, and 21, claim 2 of patent ‘952 recites wherein the suspended load control apparatus further comprises a sensor suite and wherein the load control module, when executed by the computer processor, is to obtain a sensor data and estimate or predict a state of the suspended load control apparatus based on the sensor data.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, claim 4 (which depends on claim 2) of patent ‘952 recites wherein the state of the suspended load control apparatus comprises at least one of an orientation (“orientation mapping”).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, claim 4 (which depends on claim 2) of patent ‘952 recites wherein to control the thruster to influence the motion the suspended load control apparatus at least in part using an electrical power from the rechargeable battery comprises to control the thruster to influence a near-term future state of the suspended load control apparatus.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “Disclosed are” in line 1 should be removed. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 9, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 9 of claim 2, line 2 of claim 9, and line 2 of claim 17, “motion the” should read ---motion of the---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means to dock” in line 2 of claim 18.
“means to releasably secure” in line 3 of claim 18.
“means to recharge” in line 5 of claim 18.
“means to control” in line 7 of claim 18.
“means to releasably secure” in line 2 of claim 19.
“means to secure” in lines 2-3 of claim 20.
“means to obtain” in line 2 of claim 21.
“means to estimate” in line 3 of claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Burgess (US9849981B1).
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18, Burgess discloses a dock (100, 114; Figures 1A-1D) and a suspended load control apparatus (106), a method to influence a motion of a suspended load control apparatus (106), comprising: a docking interface (114), wherein the docking interface (114) is to releasably secure the suspended load control apparatus (106) to the dock (100, 114); an electrical interface (132, 135), wherein a rechargeable battery (134; column 9, lines 44-63; supplies power to components of the suspended load control apparatus, e.g. thrusters; Figure 1D) of the suspended load control apparatus (106) is to recharge through the electrical interface (132, 135; column 9, lines 44-63; charging terminals 135 may include conductive pads arranged to electrically couple to corresponding terminals on the UAV); wherein the suspended load control apparatus (106) comprises: a thruster (162; 164), a computer processor (120), a memory (122); wherein the memory (106) comprises a load control module (124, 126; 556; Figures 1D and 5E) which, when executed by the computer processor (120), is to control the thruster (162; 164) to influence a motion the suspended load control apparatus (106; Figure 3B; column 15, line 35 – column 16, line 31; column 30, line 34 – column 31, line 14; control system controls thrusters based on a predetermined path of descent) at least in part using an electrical power from the rechargeable battery (134).
Regarding claims 3-4, 11-12, and 19-20, Burgess discloses
wherein the dock (100, 114) is further to releasably secure the suspended load control apparatus (106) to a carrier (100; Figure 1A-1B);
wherein the carrier (100) comprises a hoist (104; Figure 1B) and a suspension cable (102), wherein the suspended load control apparatus (106) is to be secured to the suspension cable (102), wherein the suspension cable (102) is secured to a hoist (104), and the hoist (104) is secured to the carrier (100).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 13-14, Burgess discloses
wherein the suspended load control apparatus (106) is to be secured to a load (108; Figure 1B);
wherein the load (108) is to be releasable from the suspended load control apparatus (106; Figures 1B-1C).
Regarding claims 7-8, 15-16, and 21, Burgess discloses
wherein the suspended load control apparatus (106) further comprises a sensor suite (150; Figure 1D) and wherein the load control module (124, 126), when executed by the computer processor (120), is to obtain a sensor data (column 8, line 58 – column 9, line 14) and estimate or predict a state of the suspended load control apparatus (106) based on the sensor data (column 14, line 4 – column 16, line 31; control system monitors positioning information to detect a deviation from the predetermined path of descent);
wherein estimating or predicting the state of the suspended load control apparatus (106) based on the sensor data further comprises estimating or predicting at least one of a position, orientation, or motion of the suspended load control apparatus (106; column 14, line 4 – column 16, line 31; e.g. estimate current altitude of the payload release device; detect a collision event).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Burgess discloses
wherein to control the thruster (162; 164) to influence the motion the suspended load control apparatus (106) at least in part using an electrical power from the rechargeable battery (134) comprises to control the thruster (162; 164) to influence a near-term future state of the suspended load control apparatus (106; column 15, line 34 – column 16, line 31; Figures 3B and 5A-5B; the control system detects a deviation from the predetermined path of descent and causes the translational positioning system, thrusters, to direct the payload release device toward the predetermined path of descent).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/HENRIX SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3654