DETAILED ACTION
The amendments overcome the 112(a) and 112(b) rejections of the previous office action. The 112(a) and 112(b) rejections are withdrawn. Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 2011/0085919) in view of Miskin (US 3,963,376).
Annotations on Williams fig. 2
Annotations on William fig. 3
Annotations on Williams fig. 1
Williams discloses a pump comprised of: a) a tee-shaped member (pump 10, the T made of inlet tube 70 entering inlet end 55, the discharge tube 78 exiting discharge end 60, and the suction pipe 80 extending from bottom end 50, par 0011-0012) comprising: an inlet branch (fig. 1, inlet tube 70) comprised of an inlet side wall (water inlet end 55, par 0011)… , an outlet branch (discharge tube 78) comprised of an outlet side wall (discharge end 60) …,; a central region between the inlet branch and the outlet branch (main body of housing 35) and including a central branch (suction pipe 80), the central branch comprised of a side wall (bottom end 50) …
a housing (housing 35, par 0011) containing the inlet branch and a portion of the outlet branch of the tee- shaped member (housing 35 is depicted with both inlet tube 70 and discharge tube 78 entering into the housing; fig. 1 shows inlet tube 70 entering the intake end 55, fig. 2 shows discharge tube 78 entering the discharge end 60) and comprising:
an upper portion (fig. 2, top 45 of housing 35 above the mid housing joining line) comprised of a first upper side wall (fig. 2 the first side of top 45 with indentations for fixing screws); a second upper side wall opposed to the first upper side wall (fig. 2, the second side of top 45 with indentations for fixing screws), a rearward upper end wall (fig. 2 shows side of 45 at inlet end 55) joined to the first upper side wall and the second upper side wall; a forward upper end wall (fig. 2 shows side of 45 at discharge end 60) joined to the first upper side wall and the second upper side wall and opposed to the rearward upper end wall; a top wall (fig. 2 shows the flat top of 45) joined to the first upper side wall, the second upper side wall, the rearward upper end wall, and the forward upper end wall; and
a bottom flange (fig. 2, upper part of bottom 50 of housing 35 which meets the mid housing joining line) joined to respective lower portions of the first upper side wall (fig. 2 shows the bottom 50 and top 45 joined with screws to make the housing 35, par 0011), the second upper side wall, the forward upper end wall, and the rearward upper end wall; and
a lower portion (bottom 50 of housing 35) joined to the upper portion (bottom 50 and top 45 are joined with screws in fig. 2 at the midline) and comprised of a first lower side wall (longer side of bottom 50); a second lower side wall (opposite side of bottom 50) opposed to the first lower side wall; a rearward lower end wall (bottom 50 at inlet end 55) joined to the first lower side wall and the second lower side wall; a forward lower end wall (bottom 50 at discharge end 60) joined to the first lower side wall and the second lower side wall and opposed to the rearward lower end wall; a bottom wall (the flat bottom of 50 from which tube 80 extends) joined to the first lower side wall, the second lower side wall, the rearward lower end wall, and the forward lower end wall; and a top edge (the connecting edge at the bottom of top 45 of housing 35) formed by respective top edge portions of the first lower side wall, the second lower side wall, the rearward lower end wall and the forward lower end wall;
a first arcuate recess formed in the first upper side wall (fig. 3, the upper half of the pipe bracket attached to the top 45 of housing 35) … a third arcuate recess formed in the first lower side wall (fig. 3 the lower half of the pipe bracket attached to the bottom 50 of housing 35),… wherein the top edge of the lower portion of the housing is contained in the bottom flange of the upper portion of the housing (fig. 2 shows bottom housing 50 within the footprint of top housing 45; under a BRI since there are no portions of 55 significantly outside of the footprint of 45, under a BRI of the broad term “within” bottom housing 50 is within the footprint top housing 45; examiner notes that applicant has not claimed any structure that defines a stricter interpretation of the term “within”); and wherein the bottom flange of the upper portion of the housing defines a bottom plane of the upper portion of the housing (fig. 2 depicts the bottom edge of top 45 as a plane), the top edge of the lower portion of the housing defines a top plane of the lower portion of the housing (fig. 2 depicts the top edge of bottom 50 as a plane), and the bottom plane of the upper portion of the housing is coplanar with the top plane of the lower portion of the housing (fig. 2 shows the two edges joining at a straight edge).
Williams is silent on the details of a jet pump
the inlet wall surrounding a cylindrical inlet cavity having a central axis
the outlet wall surrounding an outlet cavity having a central axis collinear with the central axis of the cylindrical inlet cavity; the outlet cavity expanding from a minor diameter at an inner cavity end to a major diameter at an outer cavity end
the central branch side wall surrounding an open cavity;
an inlet nozzle disposed in the cylindrical inlet cavity contiguously with the side wall of the inlet branch, the inlet nozzle having a passageway therethrough with a central axis collinear with the central axis of the cylindrical inlet cavity, and tapering from a major diameter at an outer passageway end to a minor diameter at an inner passageway end, the inner passageway end located at an inner end of the outlet branch; and
and a second arcuate recess formed in the second upper side wall and opposed to the first arcuate recess;
and a fourth arcuate recess formed in the second lower side wall and opposed to the third arcuate recess;
These missing elements are directed to (A) the details of a jet pump and (B) the arcuate recesses form the upper and lower half of a mounting bracket on the opposite side of the first bracket.
Regarding (B) the second arcuate recess and the fourth arcuate recess.
Williams shows in fig. 1 the first arcuate recess and third arcuate recess are mounts to a fixed discharge pipe (15); and Williams also discloses that any suitable means of clamping or attachment means may be used to mount to the discharge pipe (Williams, fig. 1, par 0010).
The second bracket constituting a second arcuate recess and a fourth arcuate recess is obvious as a duplication of parts. The rule is that a duplication of parts is obvious unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04, In re Harza). In this case, applicant discloses the second arcuate protrusion and fourth arcuate protrusion as mounts to the discharge pipe of the sump pump (See applicant’s disclosure par 0042); therefore, the duplication of the Williams’ first and third arcuate recess to provide the same mount to a discharge pipe provides the same function in the same way, and therefore applicant has not shown a new and unexpected result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the first arcuate and third arcuate recess of Williams to produce the claimed second arcuate and fourth arcuate recess as obvious mounting brackets to a discharge pipe, thereby providing an optional second mounting position for the housing (35) during the installation.
Furthermore, the placement of the second arcuate recess and the fourth arcuate recess is an obvious rearrangement of parts. A rearrangement of parts is obvious if the movement of position would not have modified the operation of the device (MPEP 2144.04, In re Japikse). In this case, the second and third arcuate recesses installed on the other side of the housing (35) opposite the first arcuate recess and the fourth arcuate recess are disclosed as additional mounting points. The operation of the jet pump would not be modified if it were oriented to mount on the opposite housing side because a jet pump is a symmetrical pump, there are no asymmetries that would need to be adjusted in the pump in order for the pump to operate when mounted on one side of the housing or the other. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that when duplicating the first and third arcuate recesses of Williams to place them on the opposite side of the housing from the first and third arcuate recesses.
Regarding (A) the details of the jet pump.
Miskin teaches a jet pump (first embodiment fig. 1, venturi 46 pump, c 7 ln 66 – c 8 ln 24; second embodiment, fig. 3, venturi pump 60, c 9 ln 40-53; suction force causes fluid flow, c 15 ln 28-40) comprised of:
a tee-shaped (fig. 1 and fig. 3 both show a tee-shaped “T” venturi pump) member comprising:
an inlet branch (fig. 3, inlet of chamber 79; in accord with applicant’s fig. 9 inlet branch 120, applicants par 0037) comprised of an inlet side wall surrounding a cylindrical inlet cavity having a central axis (sides of 79 around axis of 79),
an outlet branch (fig. 3, 87) comprised of an outlet side wall (wall of 87) surrounding an outlet cavity (cavity of 87) having a central axis collinear with the central axis of the cylindrical inlet cavity (fig. 3 shows outlet 87 axis collinear with inlet 79 axis), the outlet cavity expanding from a minor diameter (diameter of 87 at left) at an inner cavity end (left side 87 connecting to 85) to a major diameter at an outer cavity end (diameter of 87 at far right end expands to a larger diameter before the exit); and
a central region (fig. 3, 85/140) between the inlet branch and the outlet branch and including a central branch (140), the central branch comprised of a side wall (sidewall of 85/140) surrounding an open cavity (cavity 85/140);
an inlet nozzle (venturi 60, c 15 ln 3-40; applicant’s fig. 14, nozzle 150, par 0037) disposed in the cylindrical inlet cavity contiguously with the side wall of the inlet branch, the inlet nozzle having a passageway therethrough with a central axis collinear with the central axis of the cylindrical inlet cavity (fig. 3 shows the alignment of axis of venturi 60 and chamber 79), and tapering from a major diameter (fig. 3, diameter at 80) at an outer passageway end (fig. 3, the left side of 80) to a minor diameter (fig. 3 diameter at 60) at an inner passageway end (fig. 3, the right side of 60); the inner passageway end located at an inner end of the outlet branch (fig. 3 shows the inner passageway end of the inlet nozzle ending in central region 85 next to the inlet inner end of the outlet branch; “at” is interpreted under a BRI to mean within the same location).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the sewage pump of Williams with the details of the jet pump of Miskin in order to provide a sewage pump that is capable of pumping sewage particulate using the same fluid powered T configuration enclosed by Williams housing (35).
Claim 2, Williams in view of Miskin teaches the jet pump of claim 1, wherein the bottom wall of the lower portion of the housing includes a passageway (Miskin, fig. 3, vertical passage of 140; Williams suction pipe 80) therethrough surrounding a portion of the central branch (Miskin, vertical passage of central branch 140 surrounds the portion of the channel surrounding the axis of the central branch; this meets the plain meaning of portion under a BRI) of the central region of the jet pump (Miskin, central branch 140 connects to the central region 85 of the jet pump).
Claim 6, Williams in view of Miskin teaches the jet pump of claim 2, wherein the forward upper end wall of the upper portion of the housing includes an upper forward half opening therethrough (Williams, fig. 2, shows the outlet sidewall 60 of the top 45 providing the top half of the opening for the discharge tube 78) and the forward lower end wall of the lower portion of the housing includes a forward lower half opening therethrough contiguous with the forward upper half opening (Williams fig. 2, shows the outlet sidewall 60 of the bottom 50 providing the bottom half of the opening for discharge tube 78) to form a forward end opening in the housing surrounding a portion of the outlet branch of the jet pump (id.).
Claim 8, Williams in view of Miskin teaches the jet pump of claim 2, wherein the rearward upper end wall of the upper portion of the housing includes an upper rearward half opening therethrough and the rearward lower end wall of the lower portion of the housing includes a rearward lower half opening therethrough contiguous with the rearward upper half opening to form a rearward end opening in the housing (Williams, fig. 3, shows the inlet sidewall 55 of the top 45 providing the top half of the opening for the inlet tube 70, and inlet sidewall 55 of the bottom 50 providing the bottom half of the opening for the inlet tube 70).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Miskin in view of Cirino (US 6164604).
Examiner notes that applicant uses the terms “gap,” “outwardly” and “upwardly” unconventionally.
Applicant defines the term “gap” as the distance their protrusion extends inward from the arcuate recess (See applicants, gaps 221, 231, 281, 271, par 0041), this dimension is labelled in this manner in applicants fig 10A, 10B, 11A, 11B.
Based on the orientation of the housing, the term “upwardly” would align with the axial direction of the mounting pipe and the axis of the arcuate recess (See applicant’s fig 1, mounting pipe 22 and the “upwardly” direction).
The term “outwardly” reasonably refers to the circumferential direction of the arcuate recess surface because it is meant to conform to a cylindrical pipe.
Claim 3, Williams in view of Miskin teaches the jet pump of claim 2.
Williams is silent on further comprising: a) a first arcuate protrusion extending outwardly from and upwardly along the first upper side wall and separated from the first arcuate recess by a first gap; b) a second arcuate protrusion extending outwardly from and upwardly along the second upper side wall and separated from the second arcuate recess by a second gap; c) a third arcuate protrusion extending outwardly from and downwardly along the first lower side wall and separated from the third arcuate recess by a third gap; and d) a fourth arcuate protrusion extending outwardly from and downwardly along the second lower side wall and separated from the fourth arcuate recess by a fourth gap; and wherein the first arcuate protrusion is vertically aligned with the third arcuate protrusion, and the second arcuate protrusion is vertically aligned with the fourth arcuate protrusion.
The limitations are directed to arcuate protrusions which applicant’s discloses as aids in securing the housing to a cylindrical discharge pipe (See applicant’s Specification, par 0042).
Therefore, reasonably pertinent analogous art would include art which is directed to aiding in securing an object to a cylindrical pipe.
Williams also teaches that suitable clamping or other attachment means may be used to attach the pump assembly 5 to the discharge pipe 15, (par 0010). This would provide motivation to find improved means of clamping.
Cirino teaches a pipe clamp with arcuate recesses (arcuate recess 8, abstract) and projections (rounded plastic ribs or projections 12, c 3 ln 20) along the inner wall to grip the exterior surface of a pipe (7, c 3 ln 21) inserted into the recess (title, fig. 1, abstract), where the protrusions aid in gripping an exterior surface of a pipe inserted into the recess (abstract), by the protrusions compressively gripping the pipe exterior surface (c 4 ln 5-10, 40-41);
where each protrusion is an arcuate protrusion (fig 1 shows several projections 12 arranged around the arcuate surface 8 of the clamp in an arc formation; their arcuate arrangement meets the plain meaning of arcuate under a BRI),
extending outwardly (fig 1 circumferential extension of protrusion 12 along the arcuate recess 8, for an arcuate length, fig 1 shows several protrusions arranged around the arc 8 of the clamp) from and
upwardly (fig 2, projections 12 extension along the axis of the arcuate recess and along the axis of any insert pipe 7) along the side wall (inner arcuate recess 8 of the clamp is the sidewall) and
separated from the arcuate recess by a first gap (the surface of the protrusion is separated from the arcuate recess by the height of the protrusion 12, this is in agreement with applicant’s disclosed gaps 221, 231, 271 and 281, See applicant’s specification, par 0041 and fig. 10A, 11A and the reasoning above).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arcuate recesses of Williams by adding the plastic projections on the interior of each of the four arcuate recesses as taught by Cirino in order to aid in gripping the exterior surface of the mounting pipe via compressive gripping with the protrusions (Cirino, c 4 ln 5-10).
Therefore the combination meets
a) a first arcuate protrusion extending outwardly from and upwardly (Cirino’s projections 12 along the arcuate surface 8 of the clamp; in the combination put on Williams arcuate surface; outwardly = circumferentially, upwardly = aligned with mounting pipe axis 7) along the first upper side wall and separated from the first arcuate recess (Williams, See annotated fig 3 at claim 1; analogous to Cirino arcuate recess 8, abstract) by a first gap
(Cirino’s projection 12 extends into the interior of the clamp from the inner wall of recess 8, creating a separation between the projection surface and the recess surface. The height of the projection defines this separation. This is structurally equivalent to applicant’s gaps 221, 231, 281, 271, par. 0041 as the distance the protrusion extends inward from the arcuate recess, and shown in Figs. 10A and 11A).
b) “a second arcuate protrusion extending outwardly from and upwardly along the second upper side wall and separated from the second arcuate recess (Williams, the obvious duplication of first arcuate recess was explained in claim 1) by a second gap”
(Cirino’s projections 12 can also be mounted to the second arcuate recess for the same reasons and the same way they are mounted to the first arcuate recess. The mapping is identical to (a) above, applied to the second arcuate recess.
c) “a third arcuate protrusion extending outwardly from and downwardly along the first lower side wall and separated from the third arcuate recess (Williams, See annotated fig 3) by a third gap”
(Cirino’s projections 12 can also be mounted to the third arcuate recess for the same reasons and the same way they are mounted to the first arcuate recess. The mapping is identical to (a) above, applied to the third arcuate recess.
d) “a fourth arcuate protrusion extending outwardly from and downwardly along the second lower side wall and separated from the fourth arcuate recess (Williams, the obvious duplication of the third arcuate recess was explained in claim 1) by a fourth gap”
(Cirino’s projections 12 can also be mounted to the fourth arcuate recess for the same reasons and the same way they are mounted to the first arcuate recess. The mapping is identical to (a) above, applied to the fourth arcuate recess.)
e) “wherein the first arcuate protrusion is vertically aligned with the third arcuate protrusion, and the second arcuate protrusion is vertically aligned with the fourth arcuate protrusion”
The vertically aligned arrangement results from projections 12 being mounted along the arcuate surfaces on Williams’ top 45 and bottom 50 of housing 35 in order to mount the top 45 and bottom 50 housing to a vertical straight cylindrical pipe in Williams. Furthermore, once the top and bottom arcuate surfaces are clamped to the pipe, those surfaces will be aligned by that pipe.
Therefore, the combination makes obvious the limitations of claim 3.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Miskin in view of Neumann (US 2024/0295201).
Claim 5, Williams in view of Miskin teaches the jet pump of claim 1. Williams is silent on wherein the bottom flange of the upper portion of the housing is comprised of a plurality of engagement teeth, and the top edge of the lower portion of the housing is comprised of a plurality of engagement tabs, and wherein each engagement tooth is engaged with a corresponding engagement tab.
Neumann teaches an analogous jet pump with an external housing, wherein the bottom flange of the upper portion of the housing is comprised of a plurality of engagement teeth (fig. 5 shows upper housing 7 with two mounting elements 51, par 0053), and the top edge of the lower portion of the housing is comprised of a plurality of engagement tabs (fig. 5 shows two mounting elements 51 on lower housing 5, par 0053), and wherein each engagement tooth is engaged with a corresponding engagement tab (par 0053).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connecting flange between the top 45 and bottom 50 of housing 35 of Williams by adding the flange teeth of Neumann in order to ensure an aligned fit between the top 45 and the bottom 50 of the housing 35 which assists in maintaining the integrity and strength of the housing 35.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The nearest prior art is Williams in view of Miskin.
It is noted by the examiner, and stated here for the record of prosecution, that the aspect of the instant invention determined to be novel and patentably distinct from the prior art is: Claim 7, “the outlet branch of the jet pump is comprised of a plurality of protruding fins, and the forward end opening in the housing is shaped to correspond with the protruding fins.”
The limitations are directed to protruding fins on the outlet branch/discharge cone of the pump that align with corresponding slots in the housing forward end opening. See Applicant's Specification, FIG. 8 showing fins 137A-137D on outlet branch 130, and FIG. 13 showing cross-section at line 13-13 where fins pass through slots 203, 205, 207, 209 in the forward end opening (par. 0045).
These limitations provide an unexpected result because:
(1) The fins on the outlet branch serve a structural function beyond mere ornamentation - they provide alignment features that aid in correct assembly of the pump by the installer (See Applicant's par. 0047, which contrasts with conventional jet pumps that are "prone to assembly errors" when multiple parts must be glued together);
(2) The corresponding slots in the housing forward end opening create a keyed interface that ensures proper orientation during installation;
(3) This fin/slot combination eliminates assembly errors by providing a single-piece outlet branch structure (par. 0047-0048) that cannot be incorrectly assembled, unlike conventional multi-part jet pumps shown in FIG. 15.
Williams discloses a two-part housing with top 45 and bottom 50 joined at a midline (fig. 2, par. 0011), but Williams does not disclose any protruding fins on the outlet/discharge tube 78, nor does Williams disclose corresponding slots in the housing end walls shaped to receive such fins.
Miskin discloses internal jet pump components including an outlet branch 87 that expands from minor to major diameter (fig. 3, col. 15), but Miskin does not disclose protruding fins on the exterior of the outlet branch, nor does Miskin disclose corresponding slots in a housing end opening shaped to correspond with such fins.
To meet the Claim 7 limitation would require:
(1) A further modification of Miskin to add external protruding fins to the outlet branch 87; and
(2) A further modification of Williams to accommodate said fins by adding corresponding slots in the forward end opening of the housing.
There is no suggestion in either Williams or Miskin, nor in the general knowledge of the art, to modify the references in this manner. The fin/slot combination is not a matter of design choice, as it provides the specific functional benefit of preventing assembly errors and ensuring correct installation orientation (par. 0047).
The sum of these limitations - outlet branch with protruding fins AND forward end opening shaped to correspond with said fins - is not disclosed by the prior art, and it would not be obvious to combine references in an effort to meet all of the claimed elements. There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation in Williams, Miskin, or the general knowledge of the art to add protruding fins to the outlet branch and corresponding slots in the housing end opening. Therefore, the claim limitations are critical and do not amount to mere design choice. The fins provide a functional assembly benefit (preventing errors, ensuring orientation) that goes beyond conventional housing/outlet branch structures. The sum of these limitations is not disclosed by the prior art and it would not be obvious to combine references in an effort to meet all of the claimed elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746