DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to the filing with the office dated 05/20/2026.
Claims 1, 6, 9 and 11 have been amended. Claims 2 and 5 have been cancelled. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-11 are presented in this office action.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of priority from Japanese application JP2024-105359, filed on June 28, 2024 is acknowledged by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to amendment/arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a)(i) and 103(a) have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments are directed towards amended claims, thus necessitated the new ground of rejection as presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
6. Claims 1, 3, 4 and 7, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKADA; Wataru (US 20180032254 A1) in view of SAKASHITA; Yuki (US 20210397485 A1) and in further view of Meiri; David (US 10025843 B1).
Regarding independent claim 1, OKADA; Wataru (US 20180032254 A1) teaches, an information processing system comprising: a first storage system including a node that provides a primary volume to a host; and a second storage system including a plurality of nodes that hold a secondary volume that is a replication of the primary volume (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0034] discloses, first storage system and second storage system including plurality of volumes and nodes), wherein a consistency holding group is formed which is defined such that a plurality of sets of the primary volume and the secondary volume are provided and data in a plurality of the primary volumes written to the plurality of primary volumes with consistency is replicated to a plurality of the secondary volumes with consistency ensured (Paragraph [0034]-[0037] discloses, consistency is ensured based on the order property of data updates between volumes when copying data from the primary storage apparatus 130 to the secondary storage apparatus 140 will be referred to as a volume group (Examiner interprets consistency group as the data writes written in an order of updates made)), the replication is performed by journal processing using a first journal volume provided in the same node as the primary volume and a second journal volume provided in the same node as the secondary volume (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0037], [0038] discloses, the replication is performed by journal processing), in the consistency holding group, a first journal group including the primary volume and the first journal volume and a second journal group including the secondary volume and the second journal volume are set, and the journal processing is performed while ensuring consistency of the replication between the first journal group and the second journal group, the second journal volume recording updates to the secondary volume (Paragraph [0035] When settings of the correspondence relationship (copy pairs) between the primary volumes and the secondary volumes, the volume groups 150, 160 to which each volume belongs, the journal volumes 170 used there, and the extended volume group 180 are defined, each storage node can perform remote copy control to guarantee the update order across the volume groups 1 and 2).
OKADA et al fails to explicitly teach, the secondary volume is arranged in each node of the second storage system based on a usage status of a resource of each node of the second storage system and the number of nodes in which the secondary volume in the consistency holding group is arranged, and the information processing system including one or more processors configured by an executable program to perform operations to reduce a number nodes of the second journal group, the operations comprising: based on determining that the consistency holding group has the second journal group distributed across a plurality of the nodes of the second storage system, selecting a secondary volume of the second journal group to move from a current node to a selected other node of the second storage system that already includes volumes of the second journal group, and based on determining that the selected other node is able to accommodate the selected secondary volume of the second journal group, reducing the number of the nodes across which of the second journal group is distributed and reducing a number of the second journal volumes by moving the selected secondary volume from the current node to the selected other node.
SAKASHITA; Yuki (US 20210397485 A1) discloses, and the secondary volume is arranged in each node of the second storage system based on a usage status of a resource of each node of the second storage system, and the number of nodes in which the secondary volume in the consistency holding group is arranged (Paragraphs [0103]-[0108] discloses, rebalancing the resources based on the usage status of each node to arrange the secondary volume in a time period/ consistency group. Also see [0134]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of OKADA et al by providing he secondary volume is arranged in each node of the second storage system based on a usage status of a resource of each node of the second storage system, as taught by SAKASHITA et al (Paragraphs [0103]-[0108]) .
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, by doing son can reduce the calculation amount of the combinatorial optimization calculation between the volumes by reducing the number of calculation target volumes in the rebalancing processing by the rebalancer 500, and thus perform the rebalancing processing in a shorter period than the conventional distributed storage system as taught by SAKASHITA et al (Paragraph [0136]).
OKADA et al and SAKASHITA et al fails to explicitly teach, and the information processing system including one or more processors configured by an executable program to perform operations to reduce a number nodes of the second journal group, the operations comprising: based on determining that the consistency holding group has the second journal group distributed across a plurality of the nodes of the second storage system, selecting a secondary volume of the second journal group to move from a current node to a selected other node of the second storage system that already includes volumes of the second journal group, and based on determining that the selected other node is able to accommodate the selected secondary volume of the second journal group, reducing the number of the nodes across which of the second journal group is distributed and reducing a number of the second journal volumes by moving the selected secondary volume from the current node to the selected other node.
Meiri; David (US 10025843 B1) teaches, and the information processing system including one or more processors configured by an executable program to perform operations to reduce a number nodes of the second journal group, the operations comprising: based on determining that the consistency holding group has the second journal group distributed across a plurality of the nodes of the second storage system, selecting a secondary volume of the second journal group to move from a current node to a selected other node of the second storage system that already includes volumes of the second journal group, and based on determining that the selected other node is able to accommodate the selected secondary volume of the second journal group, reducing the number of the nodes across which of the second journal group is distributed and reducing a number of the second journal volumes by moving the selected secondary volume from the current node to the selected other node (Col 16, Lines, 4-30 (153)-(155) discloses, a process to perform operations to reduce number nodes of the second journal group based identifying the replications pairs being merged (1102). For example, process 1100 identifies the primary and secondary replication pairs RP1, RP2, their respective consistency groups, CGS1, CGT1, CGS2, CGT2 and their respective volumes and verifies that the replication pairs being merged correlate to the same source storage and target storage and have compatible policies (e.g., both replication pairs correspond to asynchronous replication) (Examiner interprets secondary volume of the second journal group to move from a current node to a selected other node of the second storage system that already includes volumes of the second journal group as merging by moving the replication pair RP2 to RP1 CGS2 to CSG1, respective volumes from the source storage and replicating the primary replication pair RP1 And CSG1 to the target storage by reducing the number of journal volumes by merging the consistency groups and respective journal volumes based on the compatible policies)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of OKADA et al and SAKASHITA et al by providing the information processing system including one or more processors configured by an executable program to perform operations to reduce a number nodes of the second journal group, the operations comprising: based on determining that the consistency holding group has the second journal group distributed across a plurality of the nodes of the second storage system, selecting a secondary volume of the second journal group to move from a current node to a selected other node of the second storage system that already includes volumes of the second journal group, and based on determining that the selected other node is able to accommodate the selected secondary volume of the second journal group, reducing the number of the nodes across which of the second journal group is distributed and reducing a number of the second journal volumes by moving the selected secondary volume from the current node to the selected other node, as taught by Meiri et al (Col 16, Lines, 4-30 (153)-(155)).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, by doing son can reduce cost, space, and power consumption of the storage systems required to support ever increasing amounts of information as taught by Meiri et al (Col 1, Lines 33-35, 46-49 (3), (4)).
Regarding dependent claim 3, OKADA et al, SAKASHITA et al and Meiri et al teach, the information processing system according to claim 1.
OKADA et al further teaches, wherein the first journal group is provided corresponding to the second journal group, so that one or a plurality of the first journal groups are arranged in one node (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0035] When settings of the correspondence relationship (copy pairs) between the primary volumes and the secondary volumes, the volume groups 150, 160 to which each volume belongs, the journal volumes 170 used there, and the extended volume group 180 are defined, each storage node can perform remote copy control to guarantee the update order across the volume groups 1 and 2).
Regarding dependent claim 4, OKADA et al, SAKASHITA et al and Meiri et al teach, the information processing system according to claim 3.
OKADA et al further teaches, wherein the second journal volume is arranged for each node in which the secondary volume of the consistency holding group is arranged, and is used for the journal processing to one or a plurality of the secondary volumes arranged in the node, and the first journal volume is provided corresponding to the second journal volume, so that one or a plurality of the first journal volumes are arranged in one node (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0035] When settings of the correspondence relationship (copy pairs) between the primary volumes and the secondary volumes, the volume groups 150, 160 to which each volume belongs, the journal volumes 170 used there, and the extended volume group 180 are defined, each storage node can perform remote copy control to guarantee the update order across the volume groups 1 and 2).
SAKASHITA et al also teaches, wherein the second journal volume is arranged for each node in which the secondary volume of the consistency holding group is arranged, and is used for the journal processing to one or a plurality of the secondary volumes arranged in the node, and the first journal volume is provided corresponding to the second journal volume, so that one or a plurality of the first journal volumes are arranged in one node (Fig. 9 Paragraph [0064] discloses, for each Node ID plurality of volumes are arranged and is used for journal/ log/ IO (input/ output) processing/ group ID (Examiner interprets journal/ IO processing is based on group ID/ task).
Meiri et al also teaches, wherein the second journal volume is arranged for each node in which the secondary volume of the consistency holding group is arranged, and is used for the journal processing to one or a plurality of the secondary volumes arranged in the node, and the first journal volume is provided corresponding to the second journal volume, so that one or a plurality of the first journal volumes are arranged in one node (Fig. 10, Col 15, Lines 22-32) (148] discloses, plurality of volumes in a consistency holding group and is used for journal processing).
Regarding dependent claim 6, OKADA et al, SAKASHITA et al and Meiri et al teach, the information processing system according to claim 4.
Meiri et al further teaches, wherein the number of the second journal groups and the number of the second journal volumes are reduced by moving the selected secondary volume between the current node and the selected other node, and the number of the corresponding first journal groups and the number of the corresponding first journal volumes are reduced by reducing the number of the second journal groups and the number of the second journal volumes (Paragraphs (152)-(155) discloses, reducing the number of the second journal groups and the number of the second journal volumes by merging the consistency groups).
OKADA et al further teaches, and the number of the corresponding first journal groups and the number of the corresponding first journal volumes are reduced by reducing the number of the second journal groups and the number of the second journal volumes (Paragraph [0037] discloses, upon failure/ disaster recovery of the primary site, locating second volumes which form the remote copy pair and copying the volumes based on journal processing. Also see [0010]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, OKADA et al, SAKASHITA et al and Meiri et al teach, the information processing system according to claim 3.
SAKASHITA et al further teaches, comprising: a plurality of the consistency holding groups, wherein a plurality of the secondary volumes of the plurality of consistency holding groups are arranged in a plurality of nodes of the second storage system based on resources of nodes of the second storage system (Fig. 9, Paragraphs, [0064], [0113] discloses, plurality of volumes in the consistency group/ same time stamp are arranged in plurality of nodes based on the resources. Also see [0094], [0098]).
OKADA et al also teaches, comprising: a plurality of the consistency holding groups, wherein a plurality of the secondary volumes of the plurality of consistency holding groups are arranged in a plurality of nodes of the second storage system (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0038] Regarding write data from a host computer, time when data is written is managed by the primary storage node 1. The data-written time is transferred to a secondary storage node 3 and stored in the JNL volume 170 of the secondary storage apparatus. Subsequently, the secondary storage node stores the write data in the JNL volume into the secondary volumes in the order of the associated data-written time by referring to the time when the data is written. This configuration provides the order guarantee between volumes in the secondary volume group to store the data).
Regarding dependent claim 8, OKADA et al, SAKASHITA et al and Meiri et al teach, the information processing system according to claim 7.
Meiri et al further teaches, wherein the number of the journal groups and the number of the journal volumes are reduced by moving the plurality of secondary volumes to be aggregated to the same node for each of the plurality of consistency holding groups (Col 16, Lines, 4-30 (153)-(155)).discloses, reducing the number of the second journal groups and the number of the second journal volumes by aggregating/ merging the consistency groups).
Regarding dependent claim 9, OKADA et al, SAKASHITA et al and Meiri et al teach, the information processing system according to claim 7.
SAKASHITA et al further teaches, wherein whether the secondary volume is movable to a node, in which another secondary volume of the same consistency holding group is arranged, is determined based on the resource of the node, and the secondary volume is moved based on determining that the secondary volume is movable (Paragraph [0114] When an affirmative result is obtained in step S43 (YES in step S43), it means that a resource imbalance has occurred between nodes. In this case, the rebalancer 500 proceeds to step S44, where the rebalancer 500 performs volume migration (transfer) between nodes and thus adjusts resource assignment by calling and performing volume rearrangement processing. Also see [0051]).
Regarding dependent claim 10, OKADA et al, SAKASHITA et al and Meiri et al teach, the information processing system according to claim 1.
OKADA et al further teaches, wherein when a primary volume and the secondary volume are created to belong to the consistency holding group, the secondary volume to be created is created in a node in which the secondary volume of the same consistency holding group is arranged (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0038] Regarding write data from a host computer, time when data is written is managed by the primary storage node 1. The data-written time is transferred to a secondary storage node 3 and stored in the JNL volume 170 of the secondary storage apparatus. Subsequently, the secondary storage node stores the write data in the JNL volume into the secondary volumes in the order of the associated data-written time by referring to the time when the data is written. This configuration provides the order guarantee between volumes in the secondary volume group to store the data).
Regarding independent claim 11, OKADA; Wataru (US 20180032254 A1) teaches, a method for controlling an information processing system, the information processing system including a first storage system including a node that provides a primary volume to a host and a second storage system including a plurality of nodes that hold a secondary volume that is a replication of the primary volume (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0034] discloses, first storage system and second storage system including plurality of volumes and nodes), the method comprising: forming a consistency holding group which is defined such that a plurality of sets of the primary volume and the secondary volume are provided and data in a plurality of the primary volumes written to the plurality of primary volumes with consistency is replicated to a plurality of the secondary volumes with consistency ensured (Paragraph [0034]-[0037] discloses, consistency is ensured based on the order property of data updates between volumes when copying data from the primary storage apparatus 130 to the secondary storage apparatus 140 will be referred to as a volume group), wherein the replication is performed by journal processing using a first journal volume provided in the same node as the primary volume and a second journal volume provided in the same node as the secondary volume, the second journal volume recording updates to the secondary volume (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0037], [0038] discloses, the replication is performed by journal processing), in the consistency holding group, a first journal group including the primary volume and the first journal volume and a second journal group including the secondary volume and the second journal volume are set, and the journal processing is performed while ensuring consistency of the replication between the first journal group and the second journal group, the second journal group is arranged for each node in which the secondary volume of the consistency holding group is arranged (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0038] Regarding write data from a host computer, time when data is written is managed by the primary storage node 1. The data-written time is transferred to a secondary storage node 3 and stored in the JNL volume 170 of the secondary storage apparatus. Subsequently, the secondary storage node stores the write data in the JNL volume into the secondary volumes in the order of the associated data-written time by referring to the time when the data is written. This configuration provides the order guarantee between volumes in the secondary volume group to store the data).
OKADA et al fails to explicitly teach, the secondary volume is arranged in each node of the second storage system based on a usage status of a resource of each node of the second storage system and the number of nodes in which the secondary volume is arranged in the consistency holding group, and the method further comprising: based on determining that the consistency holding group has the second journal group distributed across a plurality of the nodes of the second storage system, selecting a secondary volume of the second journal group to move from a current node to a selected other node of the second storage system that already includes volumes of the second journal group, and based on determining that the selected other node is able to accommodate the selected secondary volume of the second journal group, reducing the number of the nodes across which of the second journal group is distributed and reducing a number of the second journal volumes by moving the selected secondary volume from the current node to the selected other node.
SAKASHITA; Yuki (US 20210397485 A1) discloses, and the secondary volume is arranged in each node of the second storage system based on a usage status of a resource of each node of the second storage system, and the number of nodes in which the secondary volume in the consistency holding group is arranged (Paragraphs [0103]-[0108] discloses, rebalancing the resources based on the usage status of each node to arrange the secondary volume in a time period/ consistency group. Also see [0134]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of OKADA et al by providing he secondary volume is arranged in each node of the second storage system based on a usage status of a resource of each node of the second storage system, as taught by SAKASHITA et al (Paragraphs [0103]-[0108]) .
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, by doing son can reduce the calculation amount of the combinatorial optimization calculation between the volumes by reducing the number of calculation target volumes in the rebalancing processing by the rebalancer 500, and thus perform the rebalancing processing in a shorter period than the conventional distributed storage system as taught by SAKASHITA et al (Paragraph [0136]).
OKADA et al and SAKASHITA et al fails to explicitly teach, and the information processing system including one or more processors configured by an executable program to perform operations to reduce a number nodes of the second journal group, the operations comprising: based on determining that the consistency holding group has the second journal group distributed across a plurality of the nodes of the second storage system, selecting a secondary volume of the second journal group to move from a current node to a selected other node of the second storage system that already includes volumes of the second journal group, and based on determining that the selected other node is able to accommodate the selected secondary volume of the second journal group, reducing the number of the nodes across which of the second journal group is distributed and reducing a number of the second journal volumes by moving the selected secondary volume from the current node to the selected other node.
Meiri; David (US 10025843 B1) teaches, and the information processing system including one or more processors configured by an executable program to perform operations to reduce a number nodes of the second journal group, the operations comprising: based on determining that the consistency holding group has the second journal group distributed across a plurality of the nodes of the second storage system, selecting a secondary volume of the second journal group to move from a current node to a selected other node of the second storage system that already includes volumes of the second journal group, and based on determining that the selected other node is able to accommodate the selected secondary volume of the second journal group, reducing the number of the nodes across which of the second journal group is distributed and reducing a number of the second journal volumes by moving the selected secondary volume from the current node to the selected other node (Col 16, Lines, 4-30 (153)-(155) discloses, a process to perform operations to reduce number nodes of the second journal group based identifying the replications pairs being merged (1102). For example, process 1100 identifies the primary and secondary replication pairs RP1, RP2, their respective consistency groups, CGS1, CGT1, CGS2, CGT2 and their respective volumes and verifies that the replication pairs being merged correlate to the same source storage and target storage and have compatible policies (e.g., both replication pairs correspond to asynchronous replication) (Examiner interprets secondary volume of the second journal group to move from a current node to a selected other node of the second storage system that already includes volumes of the second journal group as merging by moving the replication pair RP2 to RP1 CGS2 to CSG1, respective volumes from the source storage and replicating the primary replication pair RP1 And CSG1 to the target storage by reducing the number of journal volumes by merging the consistency groups and respective journal volumes based on the compatible policies). Also see (11)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of OKADA et al and SAKASHITA et al by providing the information processing system including one or more processors configured by an executable program to perform operations to reduce a number nodes of the second journal group, the operations comprising: based on determining that the consistency holding group has the second journal group distributed across a plurality of the nodes of the second storage system, selecting a secondary volume of the second journal group to move from a current node to a selected other node of the second storage system that already includes volumes of the second journal group, and based on determining that the selected other node is able to accommodate the selected secondary volume of the second journal group, reducing the number of the nodes across which of the second journal group is distributed and reducing a number of the second journal volumes by moving the selected secondary volume from the current node to the selected other node, as taught by Meiri et al (Col 16, Lines, 4-30 (153)-(155)).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, by doing son can reduce cost, space, and power consumption of the storage systems required to support ever increasing amounts of information as taught by Meiri et al (Col 1, Lines 33-35, 46-49 (3), (4)).
Closest Prior Art
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
KAWAMURA; Shunji (US 20080104135 A1 ) teaches, In the primary site 100A, a journal group is formed by the PVOL 625 and the journal volume area 627A that is assigned to the PVOL 625, while in the secondary site 100B, a journal group is formed by the SVOL 626, and the journal volume area 627B that is assigned to the SVOL 626. An aggregate of a plurality of volumes can be assigned to a journal volume when the journal group is formed (Paragraph [0114]).
Kern; Robert Frederic (US 20070168713 A1) teaches, The master data set 20 includes a list of the sessions being managed and for each managed session, the time of the most recent update to a volume in such session. The master data set 20 may reside on volumes in the storages 6a . . . 6n, 12a . . . 12n. The journal data sets for a primary/secondary control pair may reside on any device. In FIG. 1, each SDM 8a . . . 8n is part of one session whose information is indicated in the master data set 20. Each session may be assigned one or more SDMs 8a . . . 8n (Paragraph [0031]).
8. Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior arts of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and Figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior arts or disclosed by the examiner. It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, figures, or lines in the prior art references any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331-33, 216 USPQ 1038-39 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968))).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendments/Arguments necessitated new grounds of rejection as presented in this office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S. R./
Examiner, Art Unit 2163
/ALEX GOFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163