DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 10 – replace “with use of” with --utilizing--.
Correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1 – add --the-- between “by” and “one”.
Line 5 - replace “with the use of” with --utilizing--.
Correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1 - add --the-- between “wherein” and “one or more”.
Line 3 - add --the-- between “of” and “industry”.
Correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 - add --the-- between “receives” and “industry”.
Line 2 – replace “bolt” with --one or more fastening bolts--.
Correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 - replace “a” before “head” with --the--.
Line 2 – replace “fastening bolt” with --one or more fastening bolts--.
Correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 – replace “fastening bolt is” with --one or more fastening bolts are--.
Correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 – replace “fastening bolt provides” with --one or more fastening bolts provide--.
Correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1 – replace “fastening bolt is” with --one or more fastening bolts are--.
Line 3 – replace “fastening bolt is” with --one or more fastening bolts are--.
Correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 - add --the-- between “wherein” and “standard”.
Correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 needs to be re-written according to 37 CFR 1.75(i) - where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation.
Correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 6 – replace “with the use of” with --utilizing--.
Correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 - add --the-- between “receives” and “industry”.
Line 2 – replace “bolt” with --one or more fastening bolts--.
Correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 - replace “a” before “head” with --the--.
Line 2 – replace “fastening bolt” with --one or more fastening bolts--.
Correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 - add --the-- between “wherein” and “standard”.
Correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 5 - add --and-- after “flanges;”.
Line 7 - replace “using” with --utilizing--.
Correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 – replace “using” with --utilizing--.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “each of the one or more fastening bolts having a distinctive hexagonal head with an adjusted head height…” It is not clear how “distinctive” is being defined and what makes the hexagonal head “distinctive”. It is also unclear how to determine the metes and bounds of “distinctive”. Further, it is unclear how the hexagonal head has an “adjusted head height”. How is the head height adjusted and what is the adjustment being compared to or defined by? As it is not clear what is being claimed, and as best understood, Examiner’s understanding is that as long as the fastening bolt has a hexagonal head, then these limitations have been met.
Claim 7 recites “wherein actuating the bolt head results in a reduction in heat generation at a nut/bolt interface”. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of “a reduction in heat generation” would cover. How much would determine the amount of reduction for “a reduction in heat generation”? What is the basis against which “a reduction in heat generation” is being compared to? Also, is Applicant now reciting a nut/bolt interface? Claims 1, 3 and 6 from which claim 7 depends do not recite a nut or a nut/bolt interface. It is also not clear where the interface would be located on the pipe fitting. As it is not clear what Applicant is claiming, and as best understood, Examiner’s understanding is that as long as the bolt head can be configured to be actuated, then this claim limitation has been met.
Claims 4-6 and 8-12 are rejected herein due to their dependency on claim 3.
Claim 14 recites “the fastener comprising one or more fastening bolts having a distinctive hexagonal head with an adjusted head height…” It is not clear how “distinctive” is being defined and what makes the hexagonal head “distinctive”. It is also unclear how to determine the metes and bounds of “distinctive”. Further, it is unclear how the hexagonal head has an “adjusted head height”. How is the head height adjusted and what is the adjustment being compared to or defined by? As it is not clear what is being claimed, and as best understood, Examiner’s understanding is that as long as the fastening bolt has a hexagonal head, then these limitations have been met.
Claim 17 recites “wherein actuating the bolt head results in a reduction in heat generation at a nut/bolt interface”. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of “a reduction in heat generation” would cover. How much would determine the amount of reduction for “a reduction in heat generation”? What is the basis against which “a reduction in heat generation” is being compared to? Also, is Applicant now reciting a nut/bolt interface? Claims 14 and 16 from which claim 7 depends do not recite a nut or a nut/bolt interface. It is also not clear where the interface would be located on the pipe fitting. As it is not clear what Applicant is claiming, and as best understood, Examiner’s understanding is that as long as the bolt head can be configured to be actuated, then this claim limitation has been met.
Claims 15, 16 and 18 are rejected herein due to their dependency on claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Butler et al U.S. Patent No. 4,271,870.
As best understood by Examiner, and as shown in Figure 6, with regard to claim 14, Butler et al disclose a fastener for use with a pipe fitting, the fastener comprising one or more fastening bolts (at 30) having a distinctive hexagonal head (at 36) with an adjusted head height, the one or more fastening bolts coupling one or more flanges of the pipe fitting and extending generally tangential to a generally cylindrical body portion of a sleeve of the pipe fitting and through the one or more flanges that, when tightened, create a radially applied clamping force to tightened engagement with the use of industry standard equipment (where the fastening bolt of the fastener of Butler et al can be configured to be used in a pipe fitting and fastened utilizing industry standard equipment).
Note: the pipe fitting and the industry standard equipment are not a part of the claimed invention.
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 15, Butler et al disclose wherein the distinctive hexagonal head (at 36) further comprises a recessed portion (at 37) that receives industry standard equipment to tighten the bolt (where the recessed portion is capable of being configured to receive industry standard equipment.
Note: the industry standard equipment is not a part of the claimed invention.
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 16, Butler et al disclose wherein the one or more fastening bolts (at 30) are actuated from a head (at 36) of the fastening bolt (where the hexagonal head of the fastening bolt 30 can be actuated via a wrench).
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 17, Butler et al disclose wherein actuating the bolt head results in a reduction in heat generation at a nut/bolt interface (per Examiner’s understanding as the bolt head of the fastening bolt 30 can be actuated via a wrench, this limitation has been met).
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 18, Butler et al disclose wherein the fastener is capable of being configured to be utilized with standard industry equipment comprising industry-standard ratchets, torque wrenches and/or electric/pneumatic impact drivers.
Note: the industry standard equipment is not a part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 13, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bird U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0205909A1 in view of Krausz et al U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0145270A1.
With regard to claim 1, and as shown in Figure 3, Bird discloses a pipe fitting comprising:
a sleeve (at 12) having a generally cylindrical body portion with at least one open end (open end at 22) configured to receive at least one pipe (as shown in Fig 2);
a sealing gasket (at 18) operatively coupled with the sleeve for engaging at least one pipe end of the at least one pipe (as shown in Fig 6);
a clamping element (at 14) operatively coupled with the sleeve for compressing the sealing gasket into tightened engagement with the at least one of the pipe end (as shown in Fig 6), the clamping element including one or more flanges (at 26a, 26b); and
one or more fastening elements (at 48) that engages the one or more flanges to tighten the pipe fitting from an uncompressed position to a sealed engagement position (as shown in Fig 1).
However, Bird does not expressly disclose the use of industry standard equipment to engage the one or more fastening elements with the one or more flanges. Krausz et al teach that industry standard equipment such as a torque wrench can be utilized to tighten a fastening element such as a bolt to provide a more secure attachment between elements (paragraph 3, lines 2-5 and paragraph 4, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize industry standard equipment such as a torque wrench to engage one or more fastening elements with one or more flanges with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a more secure attachment between elements and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
With regard to claim 2, and as shown in Figure 3, Bird in view of Krausz et al disclose wherein the one or more flanges (at 26a, 26b) are coupled by one or more fastening elements (at 48), wherein the one or more fastening elements (at 48) extend generally tangential to the generally cylindrical body portion of the sleeve and through the one or more flanges (as shown in Fig 1) that, when tightened, creates radially applied clamping force to tightened engagement with the use of industry standard equipment.
With regard to claim 13, Bird in view of Krausz et al disclose wherein standard industry equipment comprises torque wrenches (paragraph 4, lines 1-3).
With regard to claim 19, and as shown in Figure 3, Bird discloses a method of fastening a pipe fitting having a sleeve (at 12), a sealing gasket (at 18) operatively coupled with the sleeve for engaging at least one pipe end of at least one pipe (as shown in Fig 6), a clamping element (at 14) operatively coupled with the sleeve for compressing the sealing gasket into tightened engagement with the at least one of the pipe end (as shown in Fig 6), the clamping element including one or more flanges (at 26a, 26b); one or more fastening elements (at 48), the method comprising:
activating the one or more fastening elements that engages the one or more flanges to tighten the pipe fitting from an uncompressed position to a sealed engagement position (tightening the fastening element 48 from an uncompressed position to a sealed engagement position as shown in Fig 1).
However, Bird does not expressly disclose the use of industry standard equipment to engage the one or more fastening elements with the one or more flanges. Krausz et al teach that industry standard equipment such as a torque wrench can be utilized to tighten a fastening element such as a bolt to provide a more secure attachment between elements (paragraph 3, lines 2-5 and paragraph 4, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize industry standard equipment such as a torque wrench to engage one or more fastening elements with one or more flanges with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a more secure attachment between elements and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
With regard to claim 20, Bird in view of Krausz et al disclose further comprising activating the one or more fastening elements using torque wrenches (paragraph 4, lines 1-3).
Claim(s) 3, 4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bird in view of Krausz et al and further in view of Butler et al.
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 3, Bird in view of Krausz et al disclose wherein one or more fastening elements is one or more fastening bolts (at 48), but do not disclose each of the one or more fastening bolts having a distinctive hexagonal head with an adjusted head height that enables engagement of industry standard equipment. Butler et al teach that a fastening bolt (at 30) can have a hexagonal head (at 36, column 4, lines 50-52 and Fig 6) which would be engageable with a wrench for fastening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the fastening bolt have a hexagonal head with a reasonable expectation of success to be engageable with a wrench for fastening, because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice and, as both fastening bolts of Bird and Krausz et al are used with pipe fittings, it would have been obvious to substitute the fastening bolt of Bird with the fastening bolt of Krausz et al to achieve the predictable result of tightening flanges together on the pipe fitting.
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 4, Bird in view of Krausz et al and further in view of Butler et al disclose wherein the distinctive hexagonal head further comprises a recessed portion (at 37) that receives industry standard equipment to tighten the bolt.
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 6, Bird in view of Krausz et al and further in view of Butler et al disclose wherein the one or more fastening elements are actuated from a head of the fastening bolt (where the hexagonal head of the fastening bolt 30 can be actuated via a wrench).
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 7, Bird in view of Krausz et al and further in view of Butler et al disclose wherein actuating the bolt head results in a reduction in heat generation at a nut/bolt interface (per Examiner’s understanding as the bolt head of the fastening bolt 30 can be actuated via a wrench, this limitation has been met).
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 8, Bird in view of Krausz et al and further in view of Butler et al disclose wherein the fastening bolt is actuated by a standard socket (where a wrench can be utilized - paragraph 4, lines 1-3).
Claim(s) 5 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bird in view of Krausz et al and Butler et al U.S. Patent No. 4,271,870 and still further in view of Chiproot U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0299293A1.
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 5, Bird in view of Krausz et al and Butler et al disclose wherein the one or more flanges comprise first and second flanges (at 26a, 26b) and wherein the one or more fastening bolts (at 48/30) couple the first and second flanges at a first end but do not disclose that the clamping element further comprises a set of two or more small fasteners, and the set of two or more small fasteners couple the first and second flanges at a second end, opposite the first end. Chiproot teaches that the second end of a pipe fitting can have two small fasteners opposite a first end with a fastening bolt to aid in tightening the pipe fitting (paragraph 20, lines 4-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second end comprise a set of two or more small fasteners to couple the first and second flanges with a reasonable expectation of success to aid in tightening the pipe fitting as taught by Chiproot and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 9, Bird in view of Krausz et al, Butler et al and Chiproot disclose wherein tightening the fastening bolt (at 48/30) provides a force required to create a seal between the sealing gasket and the at least one pipe end (as shown in Fig 6 of Bird) and engage a grip ring (while the grip ring has not been positively recited, Chiproot shows at 44 where a grip ring can be added to a pipe fitting) by bending the first and second flanges inward.
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 10, Bird in view of Krausz et al, Butler et al and Chiproot disclose wherein when fully tightened, a gap is present between ends of the first and second flanges (as shown in Fig 1 of Bird).
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 11, Bird in view of Krausz et al, Butler et al and Chiproot disclose wherein the fastening bolt (at 48 of Bird) is paired with a washer and nut (at 58, 50 of Bird) that are mated by shape to flange pockets (at 52a, 52b of Bird) allowing the first and second flanges to articulate as the fastening bolt is tightened.
As best understood by Examiner, with regard to claim 12, Bird in view of Krausz et al, Butler et al and Chiproot disclose the claimed invention but do not expressly disclose that the washer is a swivel washer and the nut is a swivel nut.
The Examiner takes Official Notice wherein it is old and well known in the art to have the washer be a swivel washer and the nut be a swivel nut based on the type of pipe fitting required and based also on whether the washer and nut need to provide resistance to torque.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the washer be a swivel washer and the nut be a swivel nut with a reasonable expectation of success based on the type of pipe fitting required, based on whether the washer and nut need to provide resistance to torque and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 16 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,449,070. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader recitation of a pipe fitting with a sleeve, a sealing gasket, a clamping element including one or more flanges and one or more fastening elements as presently claimed in the current application along with the independently and dependently claimed limitations of claims 1 and2 are merely a broadened form of the limitations as disclosed in claims 1, 2, 16 and 18 of patent ‘070.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are examples of pipe fittings with a sleeve, a sealing gasket, a clamping element and one or more fastening elements or examples of bolts with a recess portion.
/F.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679