DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words (applicant’s present abstract contains 215 words). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 14 and 18 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 14, “the activated carbon particles have a size of from about 0.01 to about 30 micrometers” should read “the activated carbon particles have a size of about 0.01 to about 30 micrometers”.
In claim 14, “the amount of pores having a size of from about 2 nanometers to about 50 nanometers” should read “the amount of pores having a size of about 2 nanometers to about 50 nanometers”.
In claim 18, “a melting point of from -50°C to 100°C.” should read “a melting point of -50°C to 100°C.”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the second sidewall inner surface", which is introduced in claim 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
A suggested amendment for overcoming this rejection is amending claim 4 to depend on claim 3
rather than claim 1. For purposes of examination, claim 4 will be read as
“The ultracapacitor of claim [[1]]3, wherein the lid contacts the first upper end, the first sidewall inner surface, and the second sidewall inner surface.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin US 2009/0103248 A1.
Figure 1: Examiner annotated fig. 7 of Lin ‘248.
Regarding claim 21, Lin ‘248 discloses
An ultracapacitor comprising: a package (11 – fig. 1) comprising a base (horizontal portion of 11 – fig. 1) having an inner base surface (fig. 1) and an outer base surface opposite the inner base surface (fig. 2), sidewalls (sidewalls – POA1) extending in a direction generally perpendicular to the base and defining a first upper end (first upper end – POA1), a second upper end (second upper end – POA1), a first sidewall inner surface (first sidewall inner surface – POA1), and a second sidewall inner surface (second sidewall inner surface – POA1), an interior cavity defined between the inner base surface and the first sidewall inner surface (13 – POA1; para. [0024]), wherein the first upper end and the first sidewall inner surface are positioned closer to the interior cavity than the second upper end and the second sidewall inner surface (POA1), and a lid enclosing the interior cavity and contacting the first upper end, the first sidewall inner surface, and the second sidewall inner surface end (12 – POA1; para. [0026]), a first conductive member and a second conductive member disposed in the interior cavity and extending from the base (first conductive member, second conductive member – POA1); an electrode assembly positioned within the interior cavity of the package, the electrode assembly comprising a first electrode (anode foil; para. [0025]) and a second electrode (cathode foil; para. [0025]) electrically connected to a first lead and a second lead, respectively, extending from the electrode assembly (portion of leads 22 contained inside of capacitor body 20 – POA1; para. [0025]), wherein the first lead and the second lead are electrically connected to the first conductive member and the second conductive member, respectively (POA1); and an electrolyte within the interior cavity of the package (para. [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin US 2009/0103248 A1 in view of Hamaguchi et al. US 2015/0038631 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lin ‘248 discloses
An ultracapacitor comprising: a package (11 – fig. 1) comprising a base (11 – fig. 1) having an inner base surface (fig. 1) and an outer base surface opposite the inner base surface (fig. 2), sidewalls (sidewalls – present office action figure 1, hereafter called POA1) extending in a direction generally perpendicular to the base and defining a first upper end (first upper end – POA1) and a first sidewall inner surface (first sidewall inner surface – POA1), an interior cavity defined between the inner base surface and the first sidewall inner surface (13 – POA1; para. [0024]), and a lid enclosing the interior cavity (12 – POA1; para. [0026]), a first conductive member and a second conductive member disposed in the interior cavity and extending from the base (first conductive member, second conductive member – POA7); an electrode assembly positioned within the interior cavity of the package, the electrode assembly comprising a first electrode (anode foil; para. [0025]) and a second electrode (cathode foil; para. [0025]) electrically connected to a first lead and a second lead, respectively, extending from the electrode assembly (portion of leads 22 contained inside of capacitor body 20 – POA1; para. [0025]), wherein the first lead and the second lead are electrically connected to the first conductive member and the second conductive member, respectively (POA1); and an electrolyte within the interior cavity of the package (para. [0025]). Sato ‘318 fails to disclose wherein the base and the sidewalls are formed from a liquid crystalline polymer.
Hamaguchi ‘631 discloses wherein packaging for electronic components (including capacitors) are formed using a liquid crystalline polymer (paras. [0001-0002] and [0082-0084]) and specifically a liquid crystalline polyester.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the base and sidewalls of Lin ‘248 using the liquid crystalline polyester as taught by Hamaguchi ‘631 in order to form a package which can be molded and has low warpage, high strength and high toughness such as flexural strain at break and impact strength (para. [0001] and [0147] of Hamaguchi ‘631).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lin ‘248 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 1, wherein the lid contacts the first upper end and the first sidewall inner surface (POA1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lin ‘248 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 1, wherein the sidewalls further define a second upper end (second upper end – POA1) and a second sidewall inner surface (second sidewall inner surface – POA1), the first upper end and the first sidewall inner surface positioned closer to the interior cavity than the second upper end and the second sidewall inner surface, respectively (POA1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lin ‘248 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 1, wherein the lid contacts the first upper end, the first sidewall inner surface, and the second sidewall inner surface (POA1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lin ‘248 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 1, wherein the lid comprises a lid cavity adjacent to the interior cavity (Fig. 2 of Lin ‘248 clearly shows a lid cavity which an upper portion of capacitor body 20 fits into).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lin ‘248 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 1, wherein the sidewalls and the base are integrally formed (figs. 1, 2 and 7 clearly show the base and the sidewalls formed integrally, or as one piece).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lin ‘248 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 1, wherein the first conductive member and the second conductive member extend through the base to a plane generally parallel to the outer base surface (221 – POA1; para. [0025] of Lin ‘248).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lin ‘248 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 1, wherein the liquid crystalline polymer comprises a liquid crystalline polyester (The liquid crystalline polymer taught by Hamaguchi ‘631 is a liquid crystalline polyester. See para. [0001] of Hamaguchi ‘631).
Regarding claim 9, modified Lin ‘248 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 1, wherein the liquid crystalline polymer is formed from one or more aromatic dihydroxy compounds, one or more aromatic dicarboxylic acids, one or more aromatic hydroxycarboxylic acids, or a mixture thereof (The liquid crystalline polymer taught by Hamaguchi ‘631 contains an aromatic hydroxycarboxylic acid and an aromatic diol. See para. [0045] of Hamaguchi ‘631).
Regarding claim 10, modified Lin ‘248 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 1, wherein the liquid crystalline polymer is formed from at least two of one or more aromatic dihydroxy compounds, one or more aromatic dicarboxylic acids, and one or more aromatic hydroxycarboxylic acids (The liquid crystalline polymer taught by Hamaguchi ‘631 contains an aromatic hydroxycarboxylic acid and an aromatic diol. See para. [0045] of Hamaguchi ‘631).
Regarding claim 11, modified Lin ‘248 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 1, wherein the liquid crystalline polymer has a melting temperature of about 250 °C or more to about 400 °C or less as determined using differential scanning calorimetry. (The liquid crystalline polymer taught by Hamaguchi ‘631 has a preferable melting point of 300 °C to 350 °C (determined using differential scanning calorimetry) to balance workability and heat resistance. See paras. [0035] and [0040] of Hamaguchi ‘631. See para. [0098] of Hamaguchi ‘631 for a specific example of a melting point of 330 °C).
Regarding claim 19, modified Lin ‘248 discloses
A circuit board including the ultracapacitor of claim 1 (Paras. [0024] and [0028] of Lin ‘248 discloses the component mounted to a printed circuit board).
Claim(s) 1, 12-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Desclos US 2022/0130623 A1 in view of Hamaguchi et al. US 2015/0038631 A1.
Figure 2: Examiner annotated fig. 3C of Desclos ‘623.
Regarding claim 1, Desclos ‘623 discloses
An ultracapacitor comprising: a package (50 – fig. 3C; para. [0021]) comprising a base (56 – fig. 3C; para. [0021]) having an inner base surface (56a – fig. 3C; para. [0040]) and an outer base surface (56b – fig. 3C; para. [0040]) opposite the inner base surface (fig. 3C), sidewalls (52 – fig. 3C; para. [0021]) extending in a direction generally perpendicular to the base (fig. 3C) and defining a first upper end (54 – fig. 3C; para. [0033]) and a first sidewall inner surface (inner surface of 52), an interior cavity defined between the inner base surface and the first sidewall inner surface (58 – fig. 3C; para. [0021]), and a lid enclosing the interior cavity (82 – fig. 3C; para. [0021]), a first conductive member and a second conductive member disposed in the interior cavity and extending from the base (left and right conductive member (vertical portion of 74 and 76) – present office action figure 2, hereafter called POA2; para. [0021]); an electrode assembly positioned within the interior cavity of the package (fig. 3C), the electrode assembly comprising a first electrode and a second electrode (para. [0021]) electrically connected to a first lead and a second lead, respectively, extending from the electrode assembly (left and right lead (horizontal portion of 74 and 76) –POA2; para. [0021]), wherein the first lead and the second lead are electrically connected to the first conductive member and the second conductive member, respectively (fig. 3C; must be electrically connected for the device to function); and an electrolyte within the interior cavity of the package (para. [0021]). Desclos ‘623 fails to disclose wherein the base and the sidewalls are formed from a liquid crystalline polymer.
Hamaguchi ‘631 discloses wherein packaging for electronic components (including capacitors) are formed using a liquid crystalline polymer (paras. [0001-0002] and [0082-0084]) and specifically a liquid crystalline polyester.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the base and sidewalls of Lin ‘248 using a liquid crystalline polyester as taught by Hamaguchi ‘631 in order to form a package which can be molded and has low warpage, high strength and high toughness such as flexural strain at break and impact strength (para. [0001] and [0147] of Hamaguchi ‘631).
Regarding claim 12, modified Desclos ‘623 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly contains a first electrode that comprises a first current collector electrically coupled to a first carbonaceous coating, a second electrode that comprises a second current collector electrically coupled to a second carbonaceous coating (para. [0052] of Desclos ‘623) wherein the first current collector and the second current collector each contain a substrate that includes a conductive metal (para. [0055] of Desclos ‘623), and a separator positioned between the first electrode and the second electrode (paras. [0052] of Desclos ‘623).
Regarding claim 13, modified Desclos ‘623 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 12, wherein the conductive metal is aluminum or an alloy thereof (para. [0055] of Desclos ‘623) and/or wherein a plurality of fiber-like whiskers projects outwardly from the substrate of the first current collector, the substrate of the second current collector, or both (para. [0057] of Desclos ‘623).
Regarding claim 14, modified Desclos ‘623 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 12, wherein the carbonaceous coating of the first electrode, the second electrode, or a combination thereof contains activated carbon particles (para. [0052]) and (a) wherein at least 50% by volume of the activated carbon particles have a size of from about 0.01 to about 30 micrometers (para. [0060] of Desclos ‘623) and/or (b) wherein the activated carbon particles contain a plurality of pores, wherein the amount of pores having a size of about 2 nanometers or less is about 50 vol.% or less of the total pore volume, the amount of pores having a size of from about 2 nanometers to about 50 nanometers is about 20 vol.% to about 80 vol.% of the total pore volume, and the amount of pores having a size of about 50 nanometers or more is from about 1 vol.% to about 50 vol.% of the total pore volume (para. [0061] of Desclos ‘623).
Regarding claim 15, modified Desclos ‘623 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte includes a nonaqueous solvent (paras. [0069-0070] of Desclos ‘623) and an ionic liquid (para. [0071] of Desclos ‘623).
Regarding claim 16, modified Desclos ‘623 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 15, wherein the nonaqueous solvent includes a first sulfur-containing compound comprising sulfolane or derivative thereof (para. [0070] of Desclos ‘623) and a second sulfur-containing compound comprising a sulfone (paras. [0072-0073] of Desclos ‘623).
Regarding claim 20, modified Desclos ‘623 discloses
A communications device including the ultracapacitor of claim 1 (para. [0091] of Desclos ‘623).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Desclos US 2022/0130623 A1 in view of Hamaguchi et al. US 2015/0038631 A1 and further in view of Yu et al. US 2019/0165410 A1.
Regarding claim 17, modified Desclos ‘623 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 16 but fails to explicitly wherein the electrolyte further comprises a lithium metal salt.
Yu ‘410 discloses wherein the electrolyte further comprises a lithium metal salt (Paras. [0013-0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a lithium metal salt in the electrolyte of Desclos ‘623 as modified by Hamaguchi ‘631 in order to have an ultracapacitor having high voltage and high capacity (para. [0013] of Yu ‘410).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desclos US 2022/0130623 A1 in view of Hamaguchi et al. US 2015/0038631 A1 and further in view of Brandon et al. US 8081418 B2.
Regarding claim 18, modified Deslcos ‘623 discloses
The ultracapacitor of claim 16 but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the electrolyte has a melting point of -50°C to 100°C.
Brandon ‘418 teaches that a melting pointing of an electrolyte is a result effective variable, particularly for the operating range and ESR of the ultracapacitor (Col. 3 lines 1-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the electrolyte in the capacitor of Desclos ‘623 as modified by Hamaguchi ‘631 to have a melting point of -50°C to 100°C in order to achieve a wide operating range in which ESR does not negatively affect the performance. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20110170235 A1: Para. [0065] discloses LCP housing to protect an ultracapacitor during the temperature needed for mounting.
US 20110002084 A1: Fig. 2A and para. [0083] teaches an ultracapacitor and a housing made from LCP.
US 20060084747 A1: Aromatic LCP with melting points given in Table 1-1 and Table 1-2.
US 20110286149 A1: Fig. 1B shows a housing with step portion, which a lid fit into.
US 20110157774 A1: Fig. 27b includes first and second upper surfaces and inner sidewalls. Includes a LCP.
US 7326261 B2: Fig. 2A shows a lid in contact with a first upper surface and a first sidewall inner surface.
US 5110861 A: Teaches a liquid crystal polyester for electronic components.
KR 101682472 B1: See lid in fig. 3. Package is made of a LCP.
US 20150248971 A1: Particle sizes, sulfolane, sulfone
US 20170323735 A1: lithium-sulfur ultracapacitor
Communication
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847