DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 3/05/25 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-4, 8-9, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2004/0243547 to Chhatrapati et al.
a. As per claim 1, Chahaptrapati et al teaches a method for providing a schedule notification using an instant messaging application (See paragraph [0158]), the method being performed by one or more processors of a user terminal and comprising: obtaining a schedule message generated based on schedule information registered in a schedule application (See paragraph [0112]); determining a notification date and time based on the schedule message (See paragraph [0181-0182 and fig. 9); and displaying the schedule message in a schedule notification area of the user terminal at a position in the instant message application corresponding to the determined notification date and time (See paragraph [0181-0182] and fig. 9).
b. As per claim 2, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chhatrapati et al teaches wherein the obtaining the schedule message comprises receiving the schedule message from an external device (See paragraph [0201]), the schedule message being generated by the external device by converting the schedule information registered in the schedule application into a format associated with the instant messaging application (See paragraph [0154-0155], Reminder templates provide the flexible base of the reminder service backend. They enable the packaging of reminder user data from My Calendar into various formats for delivery (email, IM, etc.) as well as to insert programming based on event type. Without a template system, each instance of a reminder per user would have to be stored inefficiently as an entire email).
c. As per claim 3, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chhatrapati et al teaches wherein the obtaining the schedule message comprises: obtaining the schedule information registered in the schedule application (See paragraph [0112]); and generating the schedule message by converting the obtained schedule information into a format associated with the instant messaging application (See paragraph [0154-0155], Reminder templates provide the flexible base of the reminder service backend. They enable the packaging of reminder user data from My Calendar into various formats for delivery (email, IM, etc.) as well as to insert programming based on event type. Without a template system, each instance of a reminder per user would have to be stored inefficiently as an entire email).
d. As per claim 4, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chhatrapati et al teaches wherein the displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area comprises: identifying a schedule type included in the schedule message (See paragraph [0138] and Table 1); and displaying, in the schedule notification area, graphic information associated with the identified schedule type together with at least a portion of the schedule message (See paragraph [0137 and fig. 4).
e. As per claim 8, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chhatrapati et al teaches further comprising, after displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area: receiving a second user input that selects the schedule message displayed in the schedule notification area (See paragraph [0370]); and based on receiving the second user input, removing the schedule message from the schedule notification area (See paragraph [0370] , users may subsequently change or cancel existing reminders).
f. As per claim 9, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chhatrapati et al teaches wherein the displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area comprises: determining a remaining time until a schedule start date and start time or a schedule end date and end time included in the schedule message; based on determining that the remaining time is within a first range, visualizing the schedule message using a first graphic element; and based on determining that the remaining time is within a second range, visualizing the schedule message using a second graphic element (See paragraph [0045-0050 and 0095-0097]).
g. As per claim 17, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chhatrapati et al teaches wherein the schedule notification area is included in at least one of a screen area where a chat list of the instant messaging application is displayed, a home screen area of the instant messaging application, and a screen area where a widget of the user terminal is displayed (See paragraph [0064-0066, 0137] and figure (4-9)).
h. As per claim 18, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chhatrapati et al teaches on the schedule message being obtained, displaying a schedule management message associated with a management of the schedule message in a chat list of the instant messaging application; and based on receiving a third user input that selects the schedule management message, outputting a user interface associated with editing the schedule message (See paragraph [0173, 0370, 0406 and 0446]).
i. As per claim 19, Chhatrapati et al teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a user terminal to: obtain a schedule message generated based on schedule information registered in a schedule application (See paragraph [0158]); determine a notification date and time based on the schedule message (See paragraph [0112]); and display the schedule message in a schedule notification area of the user terminal at a position in an instant message application corresponding to the determined notification date and time (See paragraph [0181-0182 and fig. 9).
j. As per claim 20, Chhatrapati et al teaches a user terminal, comprising: a display (See paragraph [0181] and fig 9); memory storing instructions ; and one or more processors, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the user terminal to: obtain a schedule message generated based on schedule information registered in a schedule application (See paragraph [0158]); determine a notification date and time based on the schedule message (See paragraph [0112]); and display, on the display, the schedule message in a schedule notification area at a position in an instant message application corresponding to the determined notification date and time (See paragraph [0181-0182 and fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2004/0243547 to Chhatrapati et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0135196 to Oh.
a. As per claim 5, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chhatrapati et al fails to teach after displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area: receiving a first user input that selects the schedule message displayed in the schedule notification area; based on receiving the first user input, executing an online meeting link included in the schedule message; and based on execution of the online meeting link, executing an online meeting application associated with the schedule message.
Oh teaches receiving a first user input that selects the schedule message displayed in the schedule notification area; based on receiving the first user input, executing an online meeting link included in the schedule message (See paragraph [0013 and 0108]), This may include generating and sending a link, e.g., a Uniform Resource Locator (“URL”), or file to the other participants, such as in a chat window. The participant(s) can click the URL (or open the file) to access a meeting invitation, which they can then add to their calendar); and based on execution of the online meeting link, executing an online meeting application associated with the schedule message (See paragraph [0108]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Oh in the claimed invention of Chhatrapati et al in order to facilitate connecting and accessing online and video conference meeting.
6. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2004/0243547 to Chhatrapati et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,128636 to Jorasch et al.
a. As per claim 6, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chhatrapati et al fails to teach wherein the executing the online meeting link included in the schedule message comprises: determining whether a plurality of meetings are available for participation at a current time, based on at least one stored schedule message; based on determining that the plurality of meetings are available for participation at the current time, displaying a list of meetings available for participation; obtaining a link to a meeting selected by a user from the displayed list of meetings; and executing the obtained link.
Jorasch et al teaches wherein the executing the online meeting link included in the schedule message comprises: determining whether a plurality of meetings are available for participation at a current time, based on at least one stored schedule message; based on determining that the plurality of meetings are available for participation at the current time, displaying a list of meetings available for participation (See col. 94, lines 37-50); obtaining a link to a meeting selected by a user from the displayed list of meetings; and executing the obtained link (See col. 193, lines 52-67 and 194, lines 30-53).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Jorasch et al in the claimed invention of Chharapati et al in order to facilitate multiple scheduling of meetings.
7. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2004/0243547 to Chhatrapati et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 11, 620041 to Boucheron et al.
a. As per claim 7, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chhatrapati et al teaches further comprising, after displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area: identifying a schedule end date and end time included in the schedule message; and based on determining that the schedule end date and end time has elapsed, removing the schedule message from the schedule notification area.
Boucheron et al teaches after displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area: identifying a schedule end date and end time included in the schedule message; and based on determining that the schedule end date and end time has elapsed, removing the schedule message from the schedule notification area (See col. 2, lines 19-38).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Boucheron et al in the claimed invention of Chhatrapati et al in order to provide a retention period indicating an amount of timed during which message can be stored (See col. 2, lines 19-38).
8. Claims 10-11 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2004/0243547 to Chhatrapati et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 9386113 to Goncharuk et al.
a. As per claim 10, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chhatrapati et al fails to teach wherein the displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area comprises: identifying a destination included in the schedule message; determining an estimated time of arrival to the destination based on a mode of transportation and/or a travel speed of a user, a current location of the user, and the destination; and displaying, in the schedule notification area, the determined estimated time of arrival together with at least a portion of the schedule message.
Goncharuk et al teaches wherein the displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area comprises: identifying a destination included in the schedule message; determining an estimated time of arrival to the destination based on a mode of transportation and/or a travel speed of a user, a current location of the user, and the destination; and displaying, in the schedule notification area, the determined estimated time of arrival together with at least a portion of the schedule message (See col. 5, lines 9-20, The system may use combined information retrieved from multiple external services and data from the portable electronic device (e.g., from device's GPS) to trigger notifications. For example, user's profile is connected to a calendaring system and the user has a meeting appointment at LOAM. Current time is 9.30 AM. Based on user's location (obtained from portable electronic device's location service) and traffic conditions, it will take the user an estimated 45 minutes to get from the current location to the meeting location).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Goncharuk et al in the claimed invention of Chhatrapati et al in order to support system initiated user interaction with chat information system working of portable electronic devices (See col. 1, lines 48-50)
b. As per claim 11, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chhatrapati et al fails to teach after displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area: determining whether the user has arrived at the destination; and based on determining that the user has arrived at the destination, removing the schedule message from the schedule notification area.
Goncharulk et al teaches after displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area: determining whether the user has arrived at the destination; and based on determining that the user has arrived at the destination, removing the schedule message from the schedule notification area (See col. 5, lines 20-27).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Goncharuk et al in the claimed invention of Chhatrapati et al in order to support system initiated user interaction with chat information system working of portable electronic devices (See col. 1, lines 48-50)
c. As per claim 15, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chhatrapati et al fails to teach further comprising: obtaining an event message that comprises an event area; determining whether a current location of a user is included in the event area; and based on determining that the current location of the user is included in the event area, displaying the event message in the schedule notification area.
Goncharulk et al teaches obtaining an event message that comprises an event area; determining whether a current location of a user is included in the event area; and based on determining that the current location of the user is included in the event area, displaying the event message in the schedule notification area (See col. 3, lines 15-35, The pushed information can include a daily brief (e.g., depending on the user's time zone), an agenda, news, local items of interest, itinerary, hotel data, restaurant data, and so on. The contents pushed to the mobile device can be based on the user's location (e.g., from a GPS chip), changes in the user's location, the user's profile, changes in the user's profile, the user's social network profile and changes in it.).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Goncharuk et al in the claimed invention of Chhatrapati et al in order to support system initiated user interaction with chat information system working of portable electronic devices (See col. 1, lines 48-50)
d. As per claim 16, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chhatrapati et al fails to teach after displaying the event message in the schedule notification area: determining whether the user has left the event area; and based on determining that the user has left the event area, removing the event message from the schedule notification area.
Goncharulk et al teaches after displaying the event message in the schedule notification area: determining whether the user has left the event area; and based on determining that the user has left the event area, removing the event message from the schedule notification area (See col. 3, lines 15-35, The pushed information can include a daily brief (e.g., depending on the user's time zone), an agenda, news, local items of interest, itinerary, hotel data, restaurant data, and so on. The contents pushed to the mobile device can be based on the user's location (e.g., from a GPS chip), changes in the user's location, the user's profile, changes in the user's profile, the user's social network profile and changes in it.).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Goncharuk et al in the claimed invention of Chhatrapati et al in order to support system initiated user interaction with chat information system working of portable electronic devices (See col. 1, lines 48-50).
9. Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2004/0243547 to Chhatrapati et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0236554 to Hill.
a. As per claim 12, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chhatrapati et al fails to teach wherein the displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area comprises: identifying a destination and a participant included in the schedule message; obtaining a current location of a user and a current location of the participant; determining a first estimated time of arrival for the user to arrive at the destination based on a mode of transportation and/or a travel speed of the user, the current location of the user, and the destination; determining a second estimated time of arrival for the participant to arrive at the destination based on a mode of transportation and/or a travel speed of the participant, the current location of the participant, and the destination; and displaying, in the schedule notification area, the first estimated time of arrival and the second estimated time of arrival together with at least a portion of the schedule message
Hill teaches wherein the displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area comprises: identifying a destination and a participant included in the schedule message (See paragraph [0022-0023]); obtaining a current location of a user and a current location of the participant; determining a first estimated time of arrival for the user to arrive at the destination based on a mode of transportation and/or a travel speed of the user, the current location of the user, and the destination (See paragraph [0022-0023]); determining a second estimated time of arrival for the participant to arrive at the destination based on a mode of transportation and/or a travel speed of the participant, the current location of the participant, and the destination (See paragraph [0022-0023]); and displaying, in the schedule notification area, the first estimated time of arrival and the second estimated time of arrival together with at least a portion of the schedule message (See paragraph [0022-0023]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Hill in the claimed invention of Chhatrapati et al in order to coordinate and synchronize meetings among participants.
.
b. As per claim 13, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chhatrapati et al fails to teach wherein the displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area further comprises: displaying a third graphic element associated with the destination in the schedule notification area; displaying a fourth graphic element associated with the user in the schedule notification area based on the first estimated time of arrival; and displaying a fifth graphic element associated with the participant in the schedule notification area based on the second estimated time of arrival, and wherein the method further comprises: determining a distance between the third graphic element and the fourth graphic element based on the first estimated time of arrival, and determining a distance between the third graphic element and the fifth graphic element based on the second estimated time of arrival.
Hill teaches wherein the displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area further comprises: displaying a third graphic element associated with the destination in the schedule notification area; displaying a fourth graphic element associated with the user in the schedule notification area based on the first estimated time of arrival; and displaying a fifth graphic element associated with the participant in the schedule notification area based on the second estimated time of arrival, and wherein the method further comprises: determining a distance between the third graphic element and the fourth graphic element based on the first estimated time of arrival, and determining a distance between the third graphic element and the fifth graphic element based on the second estimated time of arrival (See paragraph [0048-0050]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Hill in the claimed invention of Chhatrapati et al in order to coordinate and synchronize meetings among participants.
c. AS per claim 14, Chhatrapati et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chhatrapati et al fails to teach after displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area: determining whether both the user and the participant have arrived at the destination; and based on determining that both the user and the participant have arrived at the destination, removing the schedule message from the schedule notification area.
Hill teaches after displaying the schedule message in the schedule notification area: determining whether both the user and the participant have arrived at the destination; and based on determining that both the user and the participant have arrived at the destination, removing the schedule message from the schedule notification area (See paragraph [0049], the MCU 302 may automatically send reminders to meeting invitees that have not yet joined the meeting (e.g., either physically or via conference call) K minutes after the meeting time (where K>0). For example, if a meeting is scheduled to start at 10:00 AM, then at 10:02 AM (K=2) the MCU 302 may send reminder messages to invitees that have not yet joined the meeting).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Hill in the claimed invention of Chhatrapati et al in order to coordinate and synchronize meetings among participants.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2008/0037446 to Zhou et al teaches facilating connection to a conference Call.
U.S. Publication No. 2009/0055482 to Zhang et al teaches system and method to promote calendar event awareness in instant messaging products.
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444