DETAILED ACTION
1.This action is responsive to the communication filed on March 05, 2025. At this time, claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: As to claims 3, 4, 9, 10, 12, 13 and 14; these claims recite “… the instructions”. Examiner suggests “ .. the computer readable instructions” as recited in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
A nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998}; in re Goodman. 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); in re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1885): In re Van Qmum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982): In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970): and in re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Effective January 1, 1984, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1- 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of US patent number 11871235. The conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application contains claims that are broader in scope than the claims of the patent number 11871235 and are anticipated by the claim 1-17.
This is a non- provisional double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have in fact been patented.
Claims Comparison Table
Application Number 19/070,825
Patent Number US 11871235 B2
1. A message security system comprising: one or more processors; a communication interface; and memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the message security system to: detect a uniform resource locator (URL) within a character-limited message; generate a random token based on the URL, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in the character-limited message; generate a shortened URL comprising the random token; modify the character-limited message by replacing the URL with the shortened URL; cause transmission of the modified character-limited message to a user device; receive, via the communication interface, from the user device, a request to access the shortened URL; and redirect the user device to the URL.
1. A message security system comprising: one or more processors; a communication interface; and memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the message security system to: receive, via the communication interface, one or more character-limited messages sent to a user device; detect a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) within the one or more character-limited messages for replacement; generate a shortened URL corresponding to the detected URL, wherein a domain of the shortened URL is hosted by the message security system, and wherein generating the shortened URL includes: generating a random token based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in at least one of the one or more character-limited messages; and generating a shortened URL comprising the domain and the generated random token, and modify the one or more character-limited messages by replacing the URL with the shortened URL; cause transmission of the modified one or more character-limited messages to the user device; receive, via the communication interface, from the user device, a request to access the shortened URL; redirect the user device to the detected URL corresponding to the shortened URL; and determine an expiration of the shortened URL based on the length of the random token.
2. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the character-limited message comprises at least one of: a short message service (SMS) message and a multimedia messaging service (MMS) message.
2. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the one or more character-limited messages comprise at least one of short message service (SMS) messages and multimedia messaging service (MMS) messages.
3. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to identify that the URL is not trusted, wherein replacing the URL with the shortened URL comprises replacing the URL in response to identifying that the URL is not trusted.
3. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the detection of the URL for replacement comprises: detecting a URL within the one or more character-limited messages; and identifying that the URL is not trusted, wherein replacing the URL with the shortened URL comprises replacing the URL in response to identifying that the URL is not trusted.
4. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: assign an expiration to the shortened URL; and store an association between the shortened URL and the URL until at least the expiration.
4. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the generation of the shortened URL comprises: assigning an expiration to the shortened URL; and storing an association between the shortened URL and the URL until at least the expiration.
5. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the character-limited message comprises multiple character-limited messages, and wherein the modifying the character-limited message further comprises combining non-URL content of the multiple character-limited messages into a single character-limited message comprising the non-URL content and the shortened URL.
5. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the one or more character-limited messages comprise multiple character-limited messages, and wherein the modification of the one or more character-limited messages further comprises combining non-URL content of the multiple character-limited messages into a single character-limited message comprising the non-URL content and the shortened URL.
6. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the modifying the character-limited message further comprises re-arranging non-URL content of the character-limited message.
6. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the modification of the one or more character-limited messages further comprises re-arranging non-URL content of the one or more character-limited messages.
7. The message security system of claim 6, wherein the re-arranging of the non-URL content is based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message.
7. The message security system of claim 6, wherein the re-arranging of the non-URL content is based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message.
8. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the modifying the character-limited message further comprises adding content describing the shortened URL to the character-limited message.
8. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the modification of the one or more character-limited messages further comprises adding content describing the shortened URL to the one or more character-limited messages.
9. The message security system of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to generate the added content based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message.
9. The message security system of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to generate the added content based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message.
10. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: after the detecting the URL, transmit an instruction, to a messaging service center, that causes the messaging service center to replace the character-limited message with the modified character-limited message for transmission to the user device.
10. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: after the detection of the URL for replacement, transmit an instruction, to a messaging service center, that causes the messaging service center to drop the one or more character-limited messages, wherein the causing of transmission comprises transmitting, to the messaging service center, the modified one or more character-limited messages for transmission to the user device.
11. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the character-limited message is received from a first messaging service center, wherein the modified character-limited message is transmitted to a second messaging service center.
11. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the one or more character-limited messages are received from a first messaging service center, wherein the causing of transmission comprises transmitting the modified one or more character-limited messages to a second messaging service center.
12. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: prior to redirecting the user device to the URL, scan content hosted at the URL for malicious content; and redirect the user device to the URL when it is determined that the content hosted at the URL does not contain malicious content.
12. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: prior to the redirection of the user device to the detected URL, scan content hosted at the detected URL for malicious content; and after detecting that the content hosted at the detected URL does not contain malicious content, redirect the user device to the detected URL.
13. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: detect a potentially malicious phone number in the character-limited message; replace the potentially malicious phone number with a phone number assigned to the message security system; receive a call on the phone number assigned to the message security system; and redirect the call to the potentially malicious phone number.
13. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: detect a potentially malicious phone number in the one or more character-limited messages; replace the potentially malicious phone number with a phone number assigned to the message security system; receive a call on the phone number assigned to the message security system; and redirect the call to the potentially malicious phone number.
14. The message security system of claim 13, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: prior to the redirecting the call, inform a caller that the detected potentially malicious phone number is a potentially malicious phone number.
14. The message security system of claim 13, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: prior to the redirection of the call, inform a caller that the detected potentially malicious phone number is a potentially malicious phone number.
15. A method comprising: at a message security system comprising one or more processors, a communication interface, and memory storing computer-readable instructions: detecting a uniform resource locator (URL) within a character-limited message; generating a random token based on the URL, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in the character-limited message; generating a shortened URL comprising the random token; modifying the character-limited message by replacing the URL with the shortened URL; causing transmission of the modified character-limited message to a user device; receiving, via the communication interface, from the user device, a request to access the shortened URL; and redirecting the user device to the URL.
15. A method comprising: at a message security system comprising one or more processors, a communication interface, and memory storing computer-readable instructions: receiving, via the communication interface, one or more character-limited messages sent to a user device; detecting a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) within the one or more character-limited messages for replacement; generating a shortened URL corresponding to the detected URL, wherein a domain of the shortened URL is hosted by the message security system, and wherein generating the shortened URL includes: generating a random token based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in at least one of the one or more character-limited messages; and generating a shortened URL comprising the domain and the generated random token, and modifying the one or more character-limited messages by replacing the URL with the shortened URL; causing transmission of the modified one or more character-limited messages to the user device; receiving, via the communication interface, from the user device, a request to access the shortened URL; redirecting the user device to the detected URL corresponding to the shortened URL; and determine an expiration of the shortened URL based on the length of the random token.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein the character-limited message comprises at least one of: a short message service (SMS) message and a multimedia messaging service (MMS) message.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein the one or more character-limited messages comprise at least one of short message service (SMS) messages and multimedia messaging service (MMS) messages.
17. The method of claim 15, wherein the character-limited message comprises multiple character-limited messages, and wherein the modifying the character-limited message further comprises combining non-URL content of the multiple character-limited messages into a single character-limited message comprising the non-URL content and the shortened URL.
6. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the modification of the one or more character-limited messages further comprises re-arranging non-URL content of the one or more character-limited messages.
18. The method of claim 15, wherein the modifying the character-limited message further comprises re-arranging non-URL content of the character-limited messages.
7. The message security system of claim 6, wherein the re-arranging of the non-URL content is based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message.
19. The method of claim 15, further including: prior to redirecting the user device to the URL, scanning content hosted at the URL for malicious content; and redirecting the user device to the URL when it is determined that the content hosted at the URL does not contain malicious content.
12. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: prior to the redirection of the user device to the detected URL, scan content hosted at the detected URL for malicious content; and after detecting that the content hosted at the detected URL does not contain malicious content, redirect the user device to the detected URL.
20. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed by an apparatus comprising one or more processors and a communication interface, cause the apparatus to: detect a uniform resource locator (URL) within a character-limited message; generate a random token based on the URL, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in the character-limited message; generate a shortened URL comprising the random token; modify the character-limited message by replacing the URL with the shortened URL; cause transmission of the modified character-limited message to a user device; receive, via the communication interface, from the user device, a request to access the shortened URL; and redirect the user device to the URL.
17. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed by an apparatus comprising one or more processors and a communication interface, cause the apparatus to: receive, via the communication interface, one or more character-limited messages sent to a user device; detect a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) within the one or more character-limited messages for replacement; generate a shortened URL corresponding to the detected URL, wherein a domain of the shortened URL is hosted by a message security system, and wherein generating the shortened URL includes: generating a random token based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in at least one of the one or more character-limited messages; and generating a shortened URL comprising the domain and the generated random token, and modify the one or more character-limited messages by replacing the URL with the shortened URL; cause transmission of the modified one or more character-limited messages to the user device; receive, via the communication interface, from the user device, a request to access the shortened URL; redirect the user device to the detected URL corresponding to the shortened URL; and determine an expiration of the shortened URL based on the length of the random token.
Claims 1- 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US patent number US 12273719 B2. The conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application contains claims that are broader in scope than the claims of the patent number 12273719 and are anticipated by the claim 1-20.
This is a non- provisional double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have in fact been patented.
Claims Comparison Table
Application Number 19/070,825
Patent Number US 12273719 B2
1. A message security system comprising: one or more processors; a communication interface; and memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the message security system to: detect a uniform resource locator (URL) within a character-limited message; generate a random token based on the URL, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in the character-limited message; generate a shortened URL comprising the random token; modify the character-limited message by replacing the URL with the shortened URL; cause transmission of the modified character-limited message to a user device; receive, via the communication interface, from the user device, a request to access the shortened URL; and redirect the user device to the URL.
1. A message security system comprising: one or more processors; a communication interface; and memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the message security system to: receive, via the communication interface, one or more character-limited messages sent to a user device; detect a uniform resource locator (URL) within the one or more character-limited messages for replacement; generate a shortened URL corresponding to the detected URL, wherein generating the shortened URL includes: generating a random token based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in at least one of the one or more character-limited messages; and generating the shortened URL comprising a domain of the shortened URL and the generated random token; modify the one or more character-limited messages by replacing the URL with the shortened URL; cause transmission of the modified one or more character-limited messages to the user device; receive, via the communication interface, from the user device, a request to access the shortened URL; and redirect the user device to the detected URL corresponding to the shortened URL.
2. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the character-limited message comprises at least one of: a short message service (SMS) message and a multimedia messaging service (MMS) message.
2. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the one or more character-limited messages comprise at least one of short message service (SMS) messages and multimedia messaging service (MMS) messages.
3. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to identify that the URL is not trusted, wherein replacing the URL with the shortened URL comprises replacing the URL in response to identifying that the URL is not trusted.
3. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the detection of the URL for replacement comprises: detecting a URL within the one or more character-limited messages; and identifying that the URL is not trusted, wherein replacing the URL with the shortened URL comprises replacing the URL in response to identifying that the URL is not trusted.
4. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: assign an expiration to the shortened URL; and store an association between the shortened URL and the URL until at least the expiration.
4. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the generating the shortened URL further comprises: assigning an expiration to the shortened URL; and storing an association between the shortened URL and the URL until at least the expiration.
5. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the character-limited message comprises multiple character-limited messages, and wherein the modifying the character-limited message further comprises combining non-URL content of the multiple character-limited messages into a single character-limited message comprising the non-URL content and the shortened URL.
5. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the one or more character-limited messages comprise multiple character-limited messages, and wherein the modifying the one or more character-limited messages further comprises combining non-URL content of the multiple character-limited messages into a single character-limited message comprising the non-URL content and the shortened URL.
6. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the modifying the character-limited message further comprises re-arranging non-URL content of the character-limited message.
6. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the modifying the one or more character-limited messages further comprises re-arranging non-URL content of the one or more character-limited messages.
7. The message security system of claim 6, wherein the re-arranging of the non-URL content is based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message.
7. The message security system of claim 6, wherein the re-arranging of the non-URL content is based on the maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message.
8. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the modifying the character-limited message further comprises adding content describing the shortened URL to the character-limited message.
8. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the modifying the one or more character-limited messages further comprises adding content describing the shortened URL to the one or more character-limited messages.
9. The message security system of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to generate the added content based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message.
9. The message security system of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to generate the added content based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message.
10. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: after the detecting the URL, transmit an instruction, to a messaging service center, that causes the messaging service center to replace the character-limited message with the modified character-limited message for transmission to the user device.
10. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: after the detecting the URL for replacement, transmit an instruction, to a messaging service center, that causes the messaging service center to drop the one or more character-limited messages, wherein the causing of transmission comprises transmitting, to the messaging service center, the modified one or more character-limited messages for transmission to the user device.
11. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the character-limited message is received from a first messaging service center, wherein the modified character-limited message is transmitted to a second messaging service center.
11. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the one or more character-limited messages are received from a first messaging service center, wherein the causing of transmission comprises transmitting the modified one or more character-limited messages to a second messaging service center.
12. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: prior to redirecting the user device to the URL, scan content hosted at the URL for malicious content; and redirect the user device to the URL when it is determined that the content hosted at the URL does not contain malicious content.
12. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: prior to the redirecting the user device to the detected URL, scan content hosted at the detected URL for malicious content; and after detecting that the content hosted at the detected URL does not contain malicious content, redirect the user device to the detected URL.
13. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: detect a potentially malicious phone number in the character-limited message; replace the potentially malicious phone number with a phone number assigned to the message security system; receive a call on the phone number assigned to the message security system; and redirect the call to the potentially malicious phone number.
13. The message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: detect a potentially malicious phone number in the one or more character-limited messages; replace the potentially malicious phone number with a phone number assigned to the message security system; receive a call on the phone number assigned to the message security system; and redirect the call to the potentially malicious phone number.
14. The message security system of claim 13, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: prior to the redirecting the call, inform a caller that the detected potentially malicious phone number is a potentially malicious phone number.
14. The message security system of claim 13, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: prior to the redirecting the call, inform a caller that the detected potentially malicious phone number is a potentially malicious phone number.
15. A method comprising: at a message security system comprising one or more processors, a communication interface, and memory storing computer-readable instructions: detecting a uniform resource locator (URL) within a character-limited message; generating a random token based on the URL, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in the character-limited message; generating a shortened URL comprising the random token; modifying the character-limited message by replacing the URL with the shortened URL; causing transmission of the modified character-limited message to a user device; receiving, via the communication interface, from the user device, a request to access the shortened URL; and redirecting the user device to the URL.
15. A method comprising: at a message security system comprising one or more processors, a communication interface, and memory storing computer-readable instructions: receiving, via the communication interface, one or more character-limited messages sent to a user device; detecting a uniform resource locator (URL) within the one or more character-limited messages for replacement; generating a shortened URL corresponding to the detected URL, wherein generating the shortened URL includes: generating a random token based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in at least one of the one or more character-limited messages; and generating the shortened URL comprising a domain of the shortened URL and the generated random token; modifying the one or more character-limited messages by replacing the URL with the shortened URL; causing transmission of the modified one or more character-limited messages to the user device; receiving, via the communication interface, from the user device, a request to access the shortened URL; and redirecting the user device to the detected URL corresponding to the shortened URL.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein the character-limited message comprises at least one of: a short message service (SMS) message and a multimedia messaging service (MMS) message.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein the one or more character-limited messages comprise at least one of short message service (SMS) messages and multimedia messaging service (MMS) messages.
17. The method of claim 15, wherein the character-limited message comprises multiple character-limited messages, and wherein the modifying the character-limited message further comprises combining non-URL content of the multiple character-limited messages into a single character-limited message comprising the non-URL content and the shortened URL.
17. The method of claim 15, wherein the one or more character-limited messages comprise multiple character-limited messages, and wherein the modifying the one or more character-limited messages further comprises combining non-URL content of the multiple character-limited messages into a single character-limited message comprising the non-URL content and the shortened URL.
18. The method of claim 15, wherein the modifying the character-limited message further comprises re-arranging non-URL content of the character-limited messages.
18. The method of claim 15, wherein the modifying the one or more character-limited messages further comprises re-arranging non-URL content of the one or more character-limited messages.
19. The method of claim 15, further including: prior to redirecting the user device to the URL, scanning content hosted at the URL for malicious content; and redirecting the user device to the URL when it is determined that the content hosted at the URL does not contain malicious content.
19. The method of claim 15, further including: prior to the redirecting the user device to the detected URL, scanning content hosted at the detected URL for malicious content; and after detecting that the content hosted at the detected URL does not contain malicious content, redirecting the user device to the detected URL.
20. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed by an apparatus comprising one or more processors and a communication interface, cause the apparatus to: detect a uniform resource locator (URL) within a character-limited message; generate a random token based on the URL, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in the character-limited message; generate a shortened URL comprising the random token; modify the character-limited message by replacing the URL with the shortened URL; cause transmission of the modified character-limited message to a user device; receive, via the communication interface, from the user device, a request to access the shortened URL; and redirect the user device to the URL.
20. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed by an apparatus comprising one or more processors and a communication interface, cause the apparatus to: receive, via the communication interface, one or more character-limited messages sent to a user device; detect a uniform resource locator (URL) within the one or more character-limited messages for replacement; generate a shortened URL corresponding to the detected URL, wherein generating the shortened URL includes: generating a random token based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in at least one of the one or more character-limited messages; and generating the shortened URL comprising a domain of the shortened URL and the generated random token; modify the one or more character-limited messages by replacing the URL with the shortened URL; cause transmission of the modified one or more character-limited messages to the user device; receive, via the communication interface, from the user device, a request to access the shortened URL; and redirect the user device to the detected URL corresponding to the shortened URL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 6-8, 9-11, 15-17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, KR 20110130866 (IDS submitted) in view of Vishria, US 20110264992 A1.
1. Kim discloses a message security system (See KIM, abstract; a system and a method for servicing a URL SMS are provided to transmit the changed internet address to a receiving terminal by changing an URL) comprising:
one or more processors; (See KIM, See Fig 1 Detail: transmitting terminal 110; inherently has a processor)
a communication interface; (See KIM, See Fig 1 Detail: The SMS server 120 receives the SMS message including the URL from the transmitting terminal 110) and memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, (See KIM, See Fig 1 Detail: The SMS server 120 receives the SMS message including the URL from the transmitting terminal 110… Inherently the server and terminal has computer-readable memory executed by a processor) cause the message security system to: detect a uniform resource locator (URL) within a character-limited message; (See KIM, See Fig 3 Detail: the SMS server determines to generate a shortened Internet address corresponding to the URL when the size of the SMS message is larger than the preset size, and not to generate a shortened Internet address corresponding to the URL when the SMS message is larger than the preset size.) modify the character-limited message by replacing the URL with the shortened URL; (See KIM, See Fig 1 Detail: When the SMS server 120 generates the shortened Internet address, the SMS server 120 registers the shortened Internet address corresponding to the URL in the DB 130. The SMS server 120 deletes the URL registered in the DB 130 and the shortened Internet address corresponding to the URL when a predetermined period (for example, one week) elapses. Through this, the SMS server 120 can be used later to reuse the shortened Internet address to save resources.) cause transmission of the modified character-limited message to a user device; (See KIM, See Fig 1 Detail: generates a shortened Internet address and transmits an SMS message including the shortened Internet address and text to the receiving terminal 140.) receive, via the communication interface, from the user device, a request to access the shortened URL; (See KIM, See Fig 1 Detail: When a connection request is input from a user, the reception terminal 140 requests a resource corresponding to a URL or a shortened Internet address to the SMS server 120 by driving a mobile browser.) and redirect the user device to the URL. (See KIM, See Fig 2, Detail: In this case, when the resource request manager 250 receives a resource request including the shortened Internet address from the receiving terminal 140, the resource request manager 250 detects a URL corresponding to the shortened Internet address by referring to the DB 130 and detects the detected URL)
Kim does not appear to explicitly disclose generate a random token based on the URL, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in the character-limited message; generate a shortened URL comprising the random token;
However, Vishria discloses generate a random token based on the URL, wherein a length of the random token is selected based on a number of available unused characters in the character-limited message; (See Vishria; [0026-0027] The URL selection list 229 in the particular example of FIG. 2B contains four shortened URL candidates: short.com/123, short.com/bignewspaper.com/856, short.com/bignewspaper.com/breaking-news, and http://www.bignewspaper.com/breaking-news/mainview/headlines.html. The four candidates are arranged in order from most to least shortened, each successively containing more information about the source and content of the shared web page to which the original URL corresponds. For example, the first candidate, short.com/123, conveys no information about the source or content of the page, instead just having the domain name of the URL shortening service (i.e., short.com) and an appended random identifier (i.e., 123). The second candidate, short.com/bignewspaper.com/856, additionally includes the source of the page (i.e., the domain bignewspaper.com) in the path portion of the URL. The third candidate, short.com/bignewspaper.com/breaking-news, additionally includes a portion of the path of the original URL (i.e.,/breaking-news). The fourth candidate is the original, unshortened URL. Although the example of FIG. 2B depicts four shortened URL candidates strictly ordered in increasing degrees of information conveyed, it is appreciated that any number of shortened URL candidates can presented to a user, and in any order. [0027] In one embodiment, the shortened URL candidates displayed in the selection list 229 also change dynamically based on changes to text within the text entry area 228. For example, the application 111 can determine the maximum message length (if any) associated with a particular sharing services chosen from the selection list 227, as well as the number of characters already present within the text entry area 228, and calculate how many characters remain available for shortened URLs. (In one embodiment, the application 111 has a priori knowledge of maximum message lengths of the various sharing techniques of the selection list 227.) Then, based on the number of available characters, the application 111 may display a different set of shortened URL candidates. For example, if the user reduces the number of characters present within the text entry area 228 (e.g., by deleting some text), then the application 111 could display additional, longer candidates. Similarly, if the user increased the number of characters present (e.g., by typing or pasting additional text), the application 111 could stop displaying candidates that now exceeded the remaining number of available characters, or could continue to display them but mark them as unselectable, such as by displaying them in pale grey text.) generate a shortened URL comprising the random token; (See Vishria; [0026]; [0026] The URL selection list 229 in the particular example of FIG. 2B contains four shortened URL candidates: short.com/123, short.com/bignewspaper.com/856, short.com/bignewspaper.com/breaking-news, and http://www.bignewspaper.com/breaking-news/mainview/headlines.html. The four candidates are arranged in order from most to least shortened, each successively containing more information about the source and content of the shared web page to which the original URL corresponds. For example, the first candidate, short.com/123, conveys no information about the source or content of the page, instead just having the domain name of the URL shortening service (i.e., short.com) and an appended random identifier (i.e., 123). see also [0034-0037]; the generation of a shortened URL has been described in the context of generating and presenting to a user a plurality of shortened URL candidates, the generation of a shortened URL using the above-described identification of information associated with the URL may be performed in other contexts, as well. the shortened URL candidates are generated 330 using the URL-shortening logic 112 of the client 110)
Kim and Vishria are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is Uniform resource locator. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the invention of Kim with the teaching of Vishria to include the random token because it would have allowed to generate a shortened version of the link that comprises meaningful information about the original link. (See Vishria, [0007] )
2.The combination of Kim and Vishria discloses the message security system of claim 1, wherein the character-limited message comprises at least one of: a short message service (SMS) message and a multimedia messaging service (MMS) message. (See Kim, Fig 1 Detail: The transmitting terminal 110 transmits an SMS message to the SMS server 120. Here, the SMS message includes a uniform resource locator (URL) and text corresponding to the content. Here, the URL is a URL corresponding to the content that the sender wants to provide to the receiver, and may include, for example, a URL of a blog, a homepage, a phone page, and a promotion page.)
3. The combination of Kim and Vishria discloses the message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to identify that the URL is not trusted, wherein replacing the URL with the shortened URL comprises replacing the URL in response to identifying that the URL is not trusted. (See KIM, See Fig 3 Detail: the SMS server determines to generate a shortened Internet address corresponding to the URL when the size of the SMS message is larger than the preset size, and not to generate a shortened Internet address corresponding to the URL when the SMS message is larger than the preset size.)
4. The combination of Kim and Vishria discloses the message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: assign an expiration to the shortened URL; (See Kim, fig 2 Detail: The URL registered in the DB 130 and the shortened Internet address corresponding to the URL may be automatically deleted after a predetermined period elapses.)
and store an association between the shortened URL and the URL until at least the expiration. (See Kim, fig 2 Detail: The URL registered in the DB 130 and the shortened Internet address corresponding to the URL may be automatically deleted after a predetermined period elapses.)
5. The combination of Kim and Vishria discloses the message security system of claim 1, wherein the character-limited message comprises multiple character-limited messages, and wherein the modifying the character-limited message further comprises combining non-URL content of the multiple character-limited messages into a single character-limited message comprising the non-URL content and the shortened URL. (See Kim, Fig 1 Detail: The transmitting terminal 110 transmits an SMS message to the SMS server 120. Here, the SMS message includes a uniform resource locator (URL) and text corresponding to the content. Here, the URL is a URL corresponding to the content that the sender wants to provide to the receiver, and may include, for example, a URL of a blog, a homepage, a phone page, and a promotion page.)
6. The combination of Kim and Vishria discloses the message security system of claim 1, wherein the modifying the character-limited message further comprises re-arranging non-URL content of the character-limited message. (See Kim, Fig 1 Detail: The transmitting terminal 110 transmits an SMS message to the SMS server 120. Here, the SMS message includes a uniform resource locator (URL) and text corresponding to the content. Here, the URL is a URL corresponding to the content that the sender wants to provide to the receiver, and may include, for example, a URL of a blog, a homepage, a phone page, and a promotion page.)
7. The combination of Kim and Vishria discloses the message security system of claim 6, wherein the re-arranging of the non-URL content is based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message. (See Kim, Fig 1 Detail: The transmitting terminal 110 transmits an SMS message to the SMS server 120. Here, the SMS message includes a uniform resource locator (URL) and text corresponding to the content. Here, the URL is a URL corresponding to the content that the sender wants to provide to the receiver, and may include, for example, a URL of a blog, a homepage, a phone page, and a promotion page. generate a shortened Internet address corresponding to the URL based on the size of the SMS message.)
8. The combination of Kim and Vishria discloses the message security system of claim 1, wherein the modifying the character-limited message further comprises adding content describing the shortened URL to the character-limited message. (See Kim, Fig 1 Detail: The transmitting terminal 110 transmits an SMS message to the SMS server 120. Here, the SMS message includes a uniform resource locator (URL) and text corresponding to the content. Here, the URL is a URL corresponding to the content that the sender wants to provide to the receiver, and may include, for example, a URL of a blog, a homepage, a phone page, and a promotion page.)
9. The combination of Kim and Vishria discloses the message security system of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to generate the added content based on a maximum number of characters that can be transmitted in a single character-limited message. (See Kim, Fig 1 Detail: The transmitting terminal 110 transmits an SMS message to the SMS server 120. Here, the SMS message includes a uniform resource locator (URL) and text corresponding to the content. Here, the URL is a URL corresponding to the content that the sender wants to provide to the receiver, and may include, for example, a URL of a blog, a homepage, a phone page, and a promotion page.)
10. The combination of Kim and Vishria discloses the message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: after the detecting the URL, transmit an instruction, to a messaging service center, that causes the messaging service center to replace the character-limited message with the modified character-limited message for transmission to the user device. (See Kim, Fig 1 Detail)
11. The combination of Kim and Vishria discloses the message security system of claim 1, wherein the character-limited message is received from a first messaging service center, wherein the modified character-limited message is transmitted to a second messaging service center. (See Kim, fig 1 Detail: The transmitting terminal 110 transmits an SMS message to the SMS server 120. Here, the SMS message includes a uniform resource locator (URL) and text corresponding to the content. Here, the URL is a URL corresponding to the content that the sender wants to provide to the receiver, and may include, for example, a URL of a blog, a homepage, a phone page, and a promotion page.)
15. As to claim 15, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1. See the rejection of claim 1 above.
16. As to claim 16, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2. See the rejection of claim 2 above.
17. As to claim 17, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5. See the rejection of claim 5 above.
18. As to claim 18, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6. See the rejection of claim 6 above.
20. As to claim 20, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1. See the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, KR 20110130866 (IDS submitted) in view of Vishria, US 20110264992 A1 in further view of Cardinal, US pat. No 20200021606 (IDS submitted).
12. The combination of Kim and Vishria discloses the message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: and redirect the user device to the URL when it is determined that the content hosted at the URL does not contain malicious content. (See KIM, See Fig 2, Detail: In this case, when the resource request manager 250 receives a resource request including the shortened Internet address from the receiving terminal 140, the resource request manager 250 detects a URL corresponding to the shortened Internet address by referring to the DB 130 and detects the detected URL) The combination of Kim and Vishria does not appear to explicitly disclose prior to redirecting the user device to the URL, scan content hosted at the URL for malicious content; However, Cardinal discloses prior to redirecting the user device to the URL, scan content hosted at the URL for malicious content; (See Cardinal, [0051]; identify an unsecure portion of a malicious electronic communication.. Examples of types of unsecure portions may include malicious URLs, malicious attachments, unsolicited or spam electronic communications, URLs or attachments associated with spam, unsecure spoof reply addresses, and the like.)
Kim, Vishria and Cardinal are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is messaging system. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim and Vishria with the teaching of Cardinal to include the determination of malicious URL because it would have allowed to prevent unauthorized content from accessing the system.
19. As to claim 19, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 12. See the rejection of claim 12 above.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, KR 20110130866 (IDS submitted) in view of Vishria, US 20110264992 A1 in further view of Lai, US pat. No US 11196754 B1.
13. The combination of Kim and Vishria does not appear to explicitly disclose the message security system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: detect a potentially malicious phone number in the character-limited message; replace the potentially malicious phone number with a phone number assigned to the message security system; receive a call on the phone number assigned to the message security system; and redirect the call to the potentially malicious phone number.
However, Lai discloses detect a potentially malicious phone number in the character-limited message; (See Lai, Fig 4; if it were to be displayed. In some examples, all messages intended for messaging application 402 may be treated as having potentially malicious content. In other examples, the security application may inspect original message 404 to determine if original message 404 contains potentially malicious content. In some examples, the security application may inspect original message 404 and determine it is potentially malicious because it contains one or more of an attachment 406, an image 408, or a link 410 to a website, or original message 404 is potentially malicious because original message 404 is from an unknown sender, a suspicious sender, or other identification of the sender. In some examples, the security application may identify a sender based on a characteristic of the original message such as a telephone number 412, an email address, a name, a user name or other identifiers.) replace the potentially malicious phone number with a phone number assigned to the message security system; (See Lai, col 9, lines 49-60; In some examples, proxy server 120 may generate a proxy address (i.e., a form number as an address) for each sender of an original message 404 and forward subsequent replies to the original sender. For example, in embodiments having an original message 404 with a telephone number 412 as a source identifier, clean message 504 may have a different source phone number 512 corresponding to proxy server 120. A reply to clean message 504 is then routed to proxy server 120, which then forwards the replay to original message telephone number 412. In some examples, proxy server 120 may further spoof the source reply source address such that the reply message indicates messaging application 404 as its source.) receive a call on the phone number assigned to the message security system; ((See Lai, col 9, lines 49-60; In some examples, proxy server 120 may generate a proxy address (i.e., a form number as an address) for each sender of an original message 404 and forward subsequent replies to the original sender. For example, in embodiments having an original message 404 with a telephone number 412 as a source identifier, clean message 504 may have a different source phone number 512 corresponding to proxy server 120. A reply to clean message 504 is then routed to proxy server 120, which then forwards the replay to original message telephone number 412. In some examples, proxy server 120 may further spoof the source reply source address such that the reply message indicates messaging application 404 as its source.) ) and redirect the call to the potentially malicious phone number. (See Lai, (See Lai, col 9, lines 49-60; In some examples, proxy server 120 may generate a proxy address (i.e., a form number as an address) for each sender of an original message 404 and forward subsequent replies to the original sender. For example, in embodiments having an original message 404 with a telephone number 412 as a source identifier, clean message 504 may have a different source phone number 512 corresponding to proxy server 120. A reply to clean message 504 is then routed to proxy server 120, which then forwards the replay to original message telephone number 412. In some examples, proxy server 120 may further spoof the source reply source address such that the reply message indicates messaging application 404 as its source.) )
Kim, Vishria and Lai are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is messaging system. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim and Vishria with the teaching of Lai to include the determination of malicious URL because it would have allowed to thwart unauthorized origin of message.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, KR 20110130866 (IDS submitted) in view of Vishria, US 20110264992 A1 in further view of Lai, US pat. No US 11196754 B1 in further view of Smith, US 5960071 A.
14. The combination of Kim, Vishria and Lai does not appear to explicitly disclose the message security system of claim 13, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: prior to the redirecting the call, inform a caller that the detected potentially malicious phone number is a potentially malicious phone number.
However, Smith disclose wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the message security system to: prior to the redirecting the call, inform a caller that the detected potentially malicious phone number is a potentially malicious phone number. (See Smith, fig 1 (3) If the call is to a suspected number, then a voice message announcement is connected from an announcement system 7 to the caller to warn the caller. A dual tone multi-frequency (DTMF) and/or dial pulse detection circuit is then connected to the caller in order to detect the caller's confirmation that the call should go through. (If the caller does not want the call to go through the caller can simply hang up or, if preferred, dial or key some other number.) If the call is to be completed the call is routed through public switch telephone network 8 terminating switch 9 to terminating telephone 10 in the conventional manner. Various treatments are offered as described hereinafter.)
Kim, Vishria, Lai and SMITH are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is messaging system. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim, Vishria and Lai with the teaching of SMITH to include the warning because it would have allowed the receiver to accept or reject the call.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McIntosh, US9906602, title “ System and method for generating personalized short links and monitoring activity.”
Eckert, Toerless, US7761500, title “ URL based communication protocol from a client computer to a network device.”
Date: 07/19/2026
/JOSNEL JEUDY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438