DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A of Group I and Species A of Group II, readable on claims 1-11 and 13-20 in the reply filed on 9/30/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 19 recites the limitation “a second annular surface facing proximally and intersecting the longitudinal axis”, wherein it’s not clear to the examiner how the second annular surface intersects the longitudinal axis since the central area of the plate body defines an opening such that there would be no portion of the surface that would intersect the longitudinal axis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishijima (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0010457).
In regard to claim 1, Nishijima discloses an endoscope (2, Fig. 1) comprising:
a bending tube (8) extending along a longitudinal axis from a proximal end side to a distal end side (Fig. 1);
a wire (31) configured to bend the bending tube (Fig. 2);
a first sheath (32) through which the wire is passed (Fig. 2); and
a plate body (26) having an annular shape and disposed in the proximal end side of the bending tube (Fig. 2), wherein the plate body comprising:
a first annular surface facing distally (Fig. 2);
a second annular surface facing proximally and intersecting the longitudinal axis (Fig. 2, a plane of the second annular surface intersects the longitudinal axis); and
a hole (26b) penetrating the first annular surface and the second annular surface (Fig. 2), and through which the wire is passed (Fig. 2), and at least a portion of the first sheath is disposed proximally relative to the second annular surface (Fig. 2), and a distal end of at least the portion of the first sheath is configured to push a periphery of the hole on the second annular surface (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 2, Nishijima teaches wherein the first sheath has elasticity, and the distal end of at least the portion of the first sheath is configured to push the periphery of the hole on the second annular surface, by a restoring force produced by the first sheath compressed in a direction of the longitudinal axis (Fig. 2, Par. 37 via coil pips pressing against the second annular surface).
In regard to claim 3, Nishijima teaches wherein the first sheath is a coil sheath (Par. 37).
In regard to claim 8, Nishijima teaches wherein an entirety of the first sheath is disposed proximally relative to the plate body, and a distal end of the first sheath pushes the periphery of the hole on the second annular surface (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 9, Nishijima teaches wherein a width of the periphery of the hole on the second annular surface, is greater than or equal to a width of the distal end of the first sheath (the periphery of the hole is equal to a width of the first sheath), and an entire surface of the distal end of the first sheath abuts the second annular surface (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 10, Nishijima teaches wherein the bending tube includes a guide member (15) that holds the wire, and the hole is provided at a first radial position different from a second radial position where the guide member holds the wire (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 11, Nishijima teaches wherein the first radial position is closer to the longitudinal axis than the second radial position (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 19, Nishijima discloses an endoscope (2, Fig. 1) comprising:
a bending tube (8) extending along a longitudinal axis from a proximal end side to a distal end side (Figs. 1,2);
a wire (31) configured to bend the bending tube (Fig. 2);
a first sheath (32) through which the wire is passed (Fig. 2); and
a plate body (26) having an annular shape and disposed in the proximal end side of the bending tube (Fig. 2), wherein the plate body comprising:
a first annular surface facing distally (Fig. 2);
a second annular surface facing proximally and intersecting the longitudinal axis (Fig. 2, a plane of the second annular surface intersects the longitudinal axis); and
a hole (26b) penetrating the first annular surface and the second annular surface, and through which the wire is passed (Fig. 2), and
at least a portion of the first sheath is disposed proximally relative to second annular surface (Fig. 2), and a distal end of at least the portion of the first sheath is configured to produce a frictional force in a direction intersecting the longitudinal axis between the distal end of at least the portion and a periphery of the hole on the second annular surface (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishijima (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0010457) in view of Kakehashi (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0000312).
In regard to claim 4, Nishijima does not expressly teach further comprising: a second sheath passed through the first sheath, and through which the wire is passed, wherein the second sheath is passed through the hole, and a distal end of the second sheath extends distally relative to the hole.
Kakehashi teaches an analogous endoscope (1) comprising an operation portion (3) and insertion portion (2). The operation portion (2) formed of a flexible tube (2k), bending portion (2w) and distal tip (2s). First coil sheaths (40u, 40d, 40l, 40r) extend through the flexible tube (2k) and terminate at a coupling member (18) at a proximal end of the bending portion (2w). Second coil sheaths (20u, 20d, 20l, 20r) within and distally beyond the first coil sheaths and terminate at a connection cap (70) within an intermediate portion of the bending portion (2w). Control wires (10u, 10d, 10r, 10l) extend within the interior of the second coil sheaths and terminate adjacent a distal end of the bending portion. Providing the second coil sheaths enables the bending portion (2w) to have two independently bendable sections (2wa, 2wb).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the endoscope of Nishijima with the second coil sheath (20u,20d,20l,20r) of Kakehashi enabling the bending portion to have two independently controllable sections (2wa, 2wb) providing a surgeon with more control over the shape in which the bending portion can achieve. There being no unexpected results in modifying the endoscope of Nishijima with the second coil sheath of Kakehashi.
In regard to claim 5, Kakehashi teaches wherein a portion of the second sheath is bonded to the hole (the second sheath (20) extends through the hole).
In regard to claim 6, Kakehashi teaches wherein a first friction coefficient between the second sheath and the wire is less than a second friction coefficient between the first sheath and the wire (the second sheath provides a barrier between the wire and the first sheath and would therefore the friction between the second sheath and wire would be less than the friction between the first sheath and the wire).
In regard to claim 7, Kakehashi teaches wherein the second sheath is formed of resin, and the second annular surface extends orthogonal to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 6).
In regard to claim 20, Nishijima discloses an endoscope (2, Fig. 1) comprising:
a bending tube (8) extending along a longitudinal axis from a proximal end side to a distal end side (Figs. 1-2);
a wire (31) configured to bend the bending tube (Fig. 2);
a first sheath (32);
a plate body (26) having an annular shape and disposed in the proximal end side of the bending tube (Fig. 2), wherein the plate body includes:
a first annular surface facing distally (Fig. 2);
a second annular surface facing proximally (Fig. 2); and
a hole (26b) penetrating the first annular surface and the second annular surface (Fig. 2), and through which the wire is passed, at least a portion of the first sheath is disposed proximally relative to the second annular surface (Fig. 2), and a distal end of at least portion of the first sheath is configured to push a periphery of the hole on the second annular surface (Fig. 2), and the wire and the second sheath are passed through the hole (Fig. 2).
Nishijima does not expressly teach a second sheath passed through the first sheath, and through which the wire is passed and a distal end of the second sheath is disposed distally relative to the hole.
Kakehashi teaches an analogous endoscope (1) comprising an operation portion (3) and insertion portion (2). The operation portion (2) formed of a flexible tube (2k), bending portion (2w) and distal tip (2s). First coil sheaths (40u, 40d, 40l, 40r) extend through the flexible tube (2k) and terminate at a coupling member (18) at a proximal end of the bending portion (2w). Second coil sheaths (20u, 20d, 20l, 20r) within and distally beyond the first coil sheaths and terminate at a connection cap (70) within an intermediate portion of the bending portion (2w). Control wires (10u, 10d, 10r, 10l) extend within the interior of the second coil sheaths and terminate adjacent a distal end of the bending portion. Providing the second coil sheaths enables the bending portion (2w) to have two independently bendable sections (2wa, 2wb).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the endoscope of Nishijima with the second coil sheath (20u,20d,20l,20r) of Kakehashi enabling the bending portion to have two independently controllable sections (2wa, 2wb) providing a surgeon with more control over the shape in which the bending portion can achieve. There being no unexpected results in modifying the endoscope of Nishijima with the second coil sheath of Kakehashi.
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishijima (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0010457) in view of Fukuda (US Patent No. 4,905,666).
In regard to claim 13, Nishijima teaches further comprising:
a flexible tube (9) provided proximally relative to the bending tube (Fig. 1); and an operation portion (5) provided proximally relative to the flexible tube (Fig. 1).
Nishijima does not expressly teach wherein the operation portion includes a fixing body including a receiving surface orthogonal to the longitudinal axis, and at least the portion of the first sheath is disposed distally relative to the receiving surface, and a proximal end of at least the portion is configured to push the receiving surface.
Fukuda teaches an analogous endoscope (Fig. 6) in which the coil pipes (7,9) are mounted within coil lock members (10C, pressing structure). The coil lock members are mounted within horizontal slits (13B) of coil lock holders (12C, fixing body). Accordingly, no relative distortion involves between the coil end portions on the bendable and operating portion sides, so that the total length of the coil sheaths (7,9) is not reduced due to reduction of the total number of pitches as seen in the prior art device. As a result, even when an endoscope is used for a prolonged time, no relative losseness due to shrinkage of the coil sheath is caused between the coil sheath (7) and the operating wire (8).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the operation portion of Nishijima with the coil lock members (10C) and coil lock holder (12C) of Fukuda thereby fixing the proximal end of the coil sheaths to the operation portion and preventing the coil sheaths from rotating during operation of the operating wire for bending the bendable portion.
In regard to claim 14, Fukuda teaches wherein an entirety of the first sheath is disposed distally relative to the receiving surface, and a proximal end of the first sheath is configured to push the receiving surface (Fig. 6).
In regard to claim 15, Fukuda teaches wherein the fixing body includes a pressing structure (10C) arranged distally relative to the receiving surface, the pressing structure configured to abut a side surface of the first sheath to prevent buckling of the first sheath (Fig. 6).
In regard to claim 16, Fukuda teaches wherein the operation portion includes an operation mechanism (2) configured to receive an operation to pull or loosen the wire, and a proximal end side of the wire is fixed to the operation mechanism (Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 17, Fukuda teaches wherein the operation mechanism includes a pulley around which the wire is wound, and the proximal end side of the wire is fixed to the pulley by a knock pin (Fig. 2).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishijima (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0010457) in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0255410, hereinafter Lee).
In regard to claim 18, Nishijima does not expressly teach further comprising: a second plate body disposed on the distal end side of the bending tube, wherein the second plate body includes a first hole, a second hole, a third hole, and a fourth hole in order around the longitudinal axis, the first to fourth holes penetrating a distal-end-side surface and a proximal-end-side surface of the second plate body, and the wire is passed, in order, through the first hole from a proximal end side of the second plate body, through the second hole from a distal end side of the second plate body, through the third hole from the proximal end side of the second plate body, and through the fourth hole from the distal end side of the second plate body.
Lee teaches an analogous articulating medical device comprising a bending section with a plurality of link modules (510,520) through which control wires are routed for deflecting the bending section. The tip of the bending section is provided with a cap unit (400, second plate body) having a plurality of openings through which the control wires are looped through such that ends of the control wire extend to the operation portion as shown in Fig. 1.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the bending tube of Nishijima with the cap unit of Lee in order to reduce the force required to articulate the bending tube and to reliably bend the bending tube in a desired direction. There being no unexpected results in modifying the bending tube of Nishijima with the cap unit of Lee.
Conclusion
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 October 17, 2026