Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 10 and 11 (FIGS. 9 and 10) in the reply filed on 25 November 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species 10 and 11 are not different Species. It is noted, since the Attorney’s arguments are correct, an interview was conducted with the new Species options that combines the Species 11 into Species 10, and the Attorney elected Species 10 without traverse.
During a telephone conversation with Michael Gagliano on 18 December 2025 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Species 10, claims 1-3, 7-14, and 17-20. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 4-6 and 15-16 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The Examiner notes, claims 4-6 and 15-16 are drawn to the embodiment(s) shown in FIG. 5A and/or 5B, having an undulating leading edge, while the embodiment in Species 10, (FIG. 10-11) comprises a straight leading edge.
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication(s) mailed on 25 November 2025.
Claims 4-6 and 15-16 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-3, 7-14, and 17-20 are being considered.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: the following 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office:
A. "embedded elements," first introduced in claim 1:
the embedded elements provide structural support to the cavity walls of the airfoil and provide a means to frequency tune the airfoil and comprises cylinders connecting the cavity walls, or an equivalent thereof (see [0089-90]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9-14, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aguilera et al. (US 20210003074), hereafter referred to as Aguilera.
Regarding Claim 1, Aguilera discloses the following:
An airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) defining a spanwise direction, a chordwise direction, a root end, a tip end, a leading edge (164) end, and a trailing edge end, the airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) comprising:
a leading edge (164) extending from the leading edge (164) end;
a body (62; FIG. 10) extending along the spanwise direction between the root end and the tip end, the body (62; FIG. 10) comprising a plurality of cavity walls (walls of body portion surrounding 52; FIG. 10) defining a plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10),
each of the plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10) having an inlet (leading edge portion of 52; FIG. 10, 13) located at the leading edge (164);
a porous face sheet (66; FIG. 13) positioned on at least one inlet (leading edge portion of 52; FIG. 10, 13) of the plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10); and
a plurality of embedded elements (porous foam 54; FIG. 13) contained within each of the plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10).
Regarding Claim 2, Aguilera discloses the following:
The airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of cavity walls (walls of body portion surrounding 52; FIG. 10) include a first cavity wall and a second cavity wall that respectively define one of the plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10), and wherein the plurality of embedded elements (porous foam 54; FIG. 13) include a first embedded element (foam 54) that extends continuously from a first cavity wall to a second cavity wall (the foam 54 is shown to fill the space between the walls; FIG. 10) within each of the plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10).
Regarding Claim 3, Aguilera discloses the following:
The airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) of claim 2,
wherein an angle is formed between the first embedded element (foam 54) and a plane defined by the chordwise direction, and wherein the angle is between thirty-five degrees and fifty-five degrees (at least a portion of the foam is formed within the space that would fall within the claimed angle range).
Regarding Claim 7, Aguilera discloses the following:
The airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) of claim 1,
wherein the airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) defines a pressure side and a suction side, wherein each of the porous face sheets (66; FIG. 13) of the plurality of porous face sheets (66; FIG. 13) are positioned on one of the suction side or the pressure side (as seen FIG. 13 both the pressure and suction sides have face sheets).
Regarding Claim 9, Aguilera discloses the following:
The airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) of claim 1,
wherein a cavity wall (circular wall of body portion surrounding 52; FIG. 10 of the plurality of cavity walls (walls of body portion surrounding 52; FIG. 10) is oriented obliquely relative to the spanwise direction and the chordwise direction (the circular shape provides the oblique orientation).
Regarding Claim 10, Aguilera discloses the following:
The airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) of claim 1,
wherein the porous face sheet (66; FIG. 13) is a plurality of porous face sheets (66; FIG. 13) and the airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) comprises a plurality of impermeable portions, wherein at least one impermeable portion is positioned between two porous face sheets (66; FIG. 13) of the plurality of porous face sheets (66; FIG. 13) along the spanwise direction (as seen in FIG. 10).
Regarding Claim 11, Aguilera discloses the following:
The airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) of claim 1,
wherein the airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) is an outlet guide vane for a propulsion system, wherein the propulsion system is a turbofan engine, a hybrid electric propulsion system, or an electric propulsion system, and wherein the propulsion system comprises a fan section (14, FIG. 1) having a fan, and wherein the outlet guide vane is positioned downstream of the fan.
Regarding Claim 12, Aguilera discloses the following:
A turbofan engine (FIG. 1) comprising:
a fan section (14, FIG. 1) that comprises a fan having a plurality of fan blades;
a turbomachine disposed downstream from the fan section (14, FIG. 1), the turbomachine comprising a compressor section, a combustion section, and a turbine section in serial flow arrangement (as seen in FIG. 1); and
a plurality of circumferentially-spaced outlet guide vanes (26; see [0070]) that are positioned downstream of the fan, wherein each of the outlet guide vanes define a spanwise direction, a chordwise direction, a root end, a tip end, a leading edge (164) end, and a trailing edge end, each of the outlet guide vanes comprising:
a leading edge (164) extending from the leading edge (164) end;
a body (62; FIG. 10) extending along the spanwise direction between the root end and the tip end, the body (62; FIG. 10) comprising a plurality of cavity walls (walls of body portion surrounding 52; FIG. 10) defining a plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10), each of the plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10) having an inlet (leading edge portion of 52; FIG. 10, 13) located at the leading edge (164);
a porous face sheet (66; FIG. 13) positioned on at least one inlet (leading edge portion of 52; FIG. 10, 13) of the plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10); and
a plurality of embedded elements (porous foam 54; FIG. 13) contained within each of the plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10).
Regarding Claim 13, Aguilera discloses the following:
The turbofan engine of claim 12,
wherein the plurality of cavity walls (walls of body portion surrounding 52; FIG. 10) include a first cavity wall and a second cavity wall that respectively define one of the plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10), wherein the plurality of embedded elements (porous foam 54; FIG. 13) include a first embedded element (foam 54) that extends continuously from a first cavity wall to a second cavity wall within each of the plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10), wherein an angle is formed between the first embedded element (foam 54) and a plane defined by the chordwise direction, and wherein the angle is between thirty-five degrees and fifty-five degrees (at least a portion of the foam is formed within the space that would fall within the claimed angle range).
Regarding Claim 14, Aguilera discloses the following:
The turbofan engine of claim 12,
wherein the plurality of embedded elements (porous foam 54; FIG. 13) include a second embedded element (central portion of the foam 54) contained within each of the plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10) and that does not contact any of the plurality of cavity walls (walls of body portion surrounding 52; FIG. 10). (It is noted, at least a central portion of the foam 54 is not in contact with the cavity.)
Regarding Claim 17, Aguilera discloses the following:
The turbofan engine of claim 12,
wherein the airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) defines a pressure side and a suction side, wherein each of the porous face sheets (66; FIG. 13) of the plurality of porous face sheets (66; FIG. 13) are positioned on one of the suction side or the pressure side (as seen FIG. 13 both the pressure and suction sides have face sheets).
Regarding Claim 19, Aguilera discloses the following:
The turbofan engine of claim 12,
wherein a cavity wall (circular wall of body portion surrounding 52; FIG. 10 of the plurality of cavity walls (walls of body portion surrounding 52; FIG. 10) is oriented obliquely relative to the spanwise direction and the chordwise direction (the circular shape provides the oblique orientation).
Regarding Claim 20, Aguilera discloses the following:
The turbofan engine of claim 12,
wherein the porous face sheet (66; FIG. 13) is a plurality of porous face sheets (66; FIG. 13) and the airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) comprises a plurality of impermeable portions, wherein at least one impermeable portion is positioned between two porous face sheets (66; FIG. 13) of the plurality of porous face sheets (66; FIG. 13) along the spanwise direction (as seen in FIG. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aguilera et al. (US 20210003074), hereafter referred to as Aguilera.
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Aguilera discloses the following:
The airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) of claim 1, and the turbofan engine of claim 12, (respectively)
wherein the airfoil (airfoil portion of outlet guide vane 26, FIG. 1; see [0070]) includes a cavity group that comprises the plurality of cavities (52; FIG. 10), wherein the cavity group comprises a first cavity (square shaped cavity) having a first depth and a second cavity (circular shaped cavity) having a second depth (FIG. 10 show first and second cavities having different depths),
Aguilera does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the first depth differs from the second depth by at least ten percent and up to two thousand percent.
However the Examiner notes the following:
MOTIVAITON STATEMENT
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depth of the first and second cavities, as disclosed by Aguilera, wherein the first depth differs from the second depth by at least ten percent and up to two thousand percent, with the reasonable expectation of successfully influencing the frequency noise range to be attenuated, as taught by Aguilera (see [0033]). Therein it is known that the size of the cavities (which includes the depth) is a result effective variable effecting the frequency noise range to be attenuated (see [0033]). Therein an optimization of the cavities size (including depth), could be undertaken following the extension of the same logic, as disclosed by Aguilera, under the same known conditions, and using the same result effective variable (see MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar vane arrangements see Pages 1-2.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745