DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/05/2025 and 04/17/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,272,861. (see Table below).
Instant Application (19/070,932)
U.S. Patent No. 12,272,861
1. A moving robot comprising:
a main body;
a moving assembly configured to move the main body;
a communication device configured to perform wireless communication with an external device, the communication device including:
an antenna assembly arranged at an uppermost portion of an interior of the main body, and an ultra-wideband (UWB) communication module; and
at least one processor configured to control the moving assembly based on a signal received from the external device through the communication device so that the main body moves,
wherein the antenna assembly includes:
a substrate, a first antenna arranged on an upper surface of the substrate, and a plurality of second antennas arranged on the upper surface of the substrate, and each of the plurality of second antennas arranged at a same distance away from the first antenna, and wherein the UWB communication module is arranged under the substrate.
1. A moving robot comprising:
a main body;
a moving assembly configured to move the main body;
a communication device configured to perform wireless communication with an external device, the communication device including:
an antenna assembly arranged at an uppermost portion of an interior of the main body, and an ultra-wideband (UWB) communication module;
an outer case forming an exterior of the main body;
an inner case positioned at an interior of the outer case; and
at least one processor configured to control the moving assembly based on a signal received from the external device through the communication device so that the main body moves,
wherein the antenna assembly comprises:
a substrate between the outer case and the inner case, a first antenna arranged on an upper surface of the substrate, and
a plurality of second antennas arranged on the upper surface of the substrate, and each of the plurality of second antennas arranged at a same distance away from the first antenna, and the UWB communication module is arranged inside the inner case and under the antenna assembly.
2. The moving robot of claim 1,
wherein the moving robot further comprises: an outer case forming an exterior of the main body; and an inner case positioned at an interior of the outer case, and
wherein the antenna assembly is arranged between the inner case and the outer case.
1. A moving robot comprising: a main body; a moving assembly configured to move the main body; a communication device configured to perform wireless communication with an external device, the communication device including: an antenna assembly arranged at an uppermost portion of an interior of the main body, and an ultra-wideband (UWB) communication module; an outer case forming an exterior of the main body; an inner case positioned at an interior of the outer case; and at least one processor configured to control the moving assembly based on a signal received from the external device through the communication device so that the main body moves, wherein the antenna assembly comprises: a substrate between the outer case and the inner case, a first antenna arranged on an upper surface of the substrate, and a plurality of second antennas arranged on the upper surface of the substrate, and each of the plurality of second antennas arranged at a same distance away from the first antenna, and the UWB communication module is arranged inside the inner case and under the antenna assembly.
3. The moving robot of claim 2, wherein the substrate is positioned along a plane orthogonal to a vertical axis of the main body.
2. The moving robot of claim 1, wherein the substrate is positioned along a plane orthogonal to a vertical axis of the main body.
4. The moving robot of claim 3, wherein the first antenna and the plurality of second antennas are positioned between the outer case and the substrate and separated from outside of the main body only by the outer case with respect to the plane orthogonal to the vertical axis of the main body.
3. The moving robot of claim 2, wherein the first antenna and the plurality of second antennas are positioned between the outer case and the substrate and separated from outside of the main body only by the outer case with respect to the plane orthogonal to the vertical axis of the main body.
5. The moving robot of claim 2, wherein
the UWB communication module is located at an interior of the inner case and arranged under the antenna assembly, and
wherein the communication device includes:
a connector arranged between the antenna assembly and the UWB communication module, the connector electrically connecting the antenna assembly and the UWB communication module.
1. A moving robot comprising: a main body; a moving assembly configured to move the main body; a communication device configured to perform wireless communication with an external device, the communication device including: an antenna assembly arranged at an uppermost portion of an interior of the main body, and an ultra-wideband (UWB) communication module; an outer case forming an exterior of the main body; an inner case positioned at an interior of the outer case; and at least one processor configured to control the moving assembly based on a signal received from the external device through the communication device so that the main body moves, wherein the antenna assembly comprises: a substrate between the outer case and the inner case, a first antenna arranged on an upper surface of the substrate, and a plurality of second antennas arranged on the upper surface of the substrate, and each of the plurality of second antennas arranged at a same distance away from the first antenna, and
the UWB communication module is arranged inside the inner case and under the antenna assembly.
4. The moving robot of claim 1,
wherein the communication device comprises: a connector arranged between the antenna assembly and the UWB communication module, the connector electrically connecting the antenna assembly and the UWB communication module.
6. The moving robot of claim 5, wherein the moving robot further comprises: a radio frequency (RF) absorber configured to absorb RF signals, the radio frequency absorber arranged between the antenna assembly and the UWB communication module.
5. The moving robot of claim 4, wherein the moving robot further comprises: a radio frequency (RF) absorber configured to absorb RF signals, the radio frequency absorber arranged between the antenna assembly and the UWB communication module.
7. The moving robot of claim 6, wherein the RF absorber is arranged at the interior of the inner case.
6. The moving robot of claim 5, wherein the RF absorber is arranged at the interior of the inner case.
8. The moving robot of claim 6, wherein the RF absorber is formed to have an area wider than the substrate of the antenna assembly.
7. The moving robot of claim 5, wherein the RF absorber is formed to have an area wider than the substrate of the antenna assembly.
9. The moving robot of claim 5, wherein the moving robot further comprises: a metal plate located under the UWB communication module to divide an inner space of the main body formed by the inner case to spatially separate the communication module from the at least one processor, and block a passage of RF signals.
8. The moving robot of claim 4, wherein the moving robot comprises: a metal plate located under the UWB communication module to divide an inner space of the main body formed by the inner case to spatially separate the communication module from the at least one processor, and block a passage of RF signals.
10. The moving robot of claim 9, wherein the moving assembly and the at least one processor are arranged under the metal plate.
9. The moving robot of claim 8, wherein the moving assembly and the at least one processor are arranged under the metal plate.
11. The moving robot of claim 5, wherein a distance between the first antenna and the second antenna is equal to or less than a half of a wavelength corresponding to a highest frequency for UWB communication.
10. The moving robot of claim 4, wherein a distance between the first antenna and the second antenna is equal to or less than a half of a wavelength corresponding to a highest frequency for UWB communication.
12. The moving robot of claim 1, wherein the first antenna and the plurality of second antennas are isotropic antennas.
11. The moving robot of claim 1, wherein the first antenna and the plurality of second antennas are isotropic antennas.
13. The moving robot of claim 1, wherein an array of the first antenna and the plurality of second antennas are arranged in a middle of a cross- section of the moving robot.
12. The moving robot of claim 1, wherein an array of the first antenna and the plurality of second antennas are arranged in a middle of a cross-section of the moving robot.
14. The moving robot of claim 1, wherein the plurality of second antennas are arranged so that a center axis thereof form a preset angle with a center axis of the first antenna.
13. The moving robot of claim 1, wherein the plurality of second antennas are arranged so that a center axis thereof form a preset angle with a center axis of the first antenna.
15. The moving robot of claim 1, wherein the first antenna and the plurality of second antennas are attached to the substrate along a horizontal axis or a vertical axis.
14. The moving robot of claim 1, wherein the first antenna and the plurality of second antennas are attached to the substrate along a horizontal axis or a vertical axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, 10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak (US 2022/0022719 A1) in view of Kim (US 2021/0331334 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kwak teaches a moving robot comprising:
a main body (Fig. 5A, 100b);
a moving assembly configured to move the main body (Fig. 4, traveling unit 1300);
a communication device configured to perform wireless communication with an external device (Fig. 4, 1100, [0222]), the communication device including:
an antenna assembly ([0230] at least one antenna and UWB sensor, Fig. 5A, communication network 50);
an ultra-wideband (UWB) communication module (Fig. 4, Communication Unit 1100, [0059] UWB; Fig. 7A, UWB anchor, [0228] transmit and receive UWB signals); and
at least one processor (Fig. 4, control unit 1800) configured to control the moving assembly (Fig. 4, Traveling unit 1300, [0109]) based on a signal received from the external device through the communication device so that the main body moves ([0162] recognize information related to a traveling state and positions of counterparts),
wherein the antenna assembly comprises
a first antenna (Fig. 7A, 710b-1, [0246]) arranged, and
a plurality of second antennas (Fig. 7A, 710b-2, 710b-3, [0246]), and each of the plurality of second antennas arranged at a same distance away from the first antenna ([0247], Fig. 6B, same distance A between 610b-1 and 610b-2/3).
However, Kwak does not explicitly teach the antenna assembly arranged at an uppermost portion of an interior of the main body and the antenna assembly comprises a substrate and the first and second antennas are arranged on an upper surface of the substrate, and wherein the UWB communication module is arranged under the substrate.
Kim teaches a robot comprising an antenna assemblyre54wtyuhgjbn h arranged at an uppermost portion of an interior of a main body (Figs. 8 and 9, [0206] interface module including an antenna 410) and an antenna assembly comprises a substrate and an antenna is arranged on an upper surface of the substrate (antenna 410 installed on the interface PCB 406).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim to the teachings of Kwak to dispose the antenna assembly at an uppermost portion of the interior of the main body in order to optimally communicating via external signals (Kim, [0206]).
Regarding claim 2, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim.
Kim further teaches the robot, further comprises:
an outer case forming an exterior of the main body (Fig. 8, [0228] a front cover 404); and
an inner case positioned at an interior of the outer case ([0197] an inner frame 330), and wherein the antenna assembly is arranged between the inner case and the outer case (Fig. 10, [0193] 406, 407, 330, 404).
Regarding claim 3, all the limitations of claim 2 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim.
Kwak in view of Kim further teaches the robot, wherein the substrate is positioned along a plane orthogonal to a vertical axis of the main body (Kwak, Fig. 6A, antennas 600b are located on top plane of the main body).
Regarding claim 4, all the limitations of claim 3 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim.
Kwak in view of Kim further teaches the robot, wherein the first antenna and the plurality of second antennas are positioned between the outer case and the substrate and separated from outside of the main body only by the outer case (Kim, Fig. 10, the main PCB 407 is between front cover 404 and back cover 405, [0192], [0193]) with respect to the plane orthogonal to the vertical axis of the main body (Kwak, Fig. 6A, antennas 600b are located on top plane of the main body).
Regarding claim 5, all the limitations of claim 2 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim.
Kwak further teaches the moving robot, wherein the communication device comprises:
an ultra-wideband (UWB) communication module located at an interior of the inner case and arranged under the antenna assembly (Fig. 7A, 700b); and
a connector arranged between the antenna assembly and the UWB communication module, the connector electrically connecting the antenna assembly and the UWB communication module (Fig. 7A, UWB 1 connects to the antenna).
Regarding claim 9, all the limitations of claim 5 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim.
Kim further teaches the moving robot, wherein the moving robot comprises: a metal plate located under the UWB communication module to divide an inner space of the main body formed by the inner case to spatially separate the communication module from the at least one processor, and block a passage of RF signals ([0206] metals around 406).
Regarding claim 10, all the limitations of claim 5 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim.
Kwak in view of Kim further teaches the moving robot, wherein the moving assembly and the at least one processor are arranged under the metal plate (Kwak, 6A, 6B, antennas are on top).
Regarding claim 13, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim.
Kwak further teaches the moving robot, wherein an array of the first antenna and the plurality of second antennas are arranged in the middle of a cross-section of the moving robot (Fig. 6B, 610b).
Regarding claim 14, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim.
Kwak further teaches the moving robot, wherein the plurality of second antennas are arranged so that a center axis thereof form a preset angle with a center axis of the first antenna (Fig. 6B, 610b).
Regarding claim 15, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim.
Kwak further teaches the moving robot, wherein the first antenna and the plurality of second antennas are attached along a horizontal axis or a vertical axis (Fig. 6B, 610b).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak (US 2022/0022719 A1) in view of Kim (US 2021/0331334 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Sudo (US 2023/0335888 A1).
Regarding claim 6, all the limitations of claim 5 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim.
Kwak in view of Kim does not explicitly teach the robot wherein the moving robot further comprises: a radio frequency (RF) absorber configured to absorb RF signals, the radio frequency absorber arranged between the antenna assembly and the UWB communication module.
Sudo teaches an antenna assembly comprising: an antenna (Fig. 3, [0068] antenna 130; Fig. 10B), a radio frequency (RF) absorber configured to absorb RF signals ([0075], Fig. 10B, 109), the radio frequency absorber arranged (Fig. 10B, 130, 109, 108) between the antenna and a communication module (Fig. 4, 120, [0068] the main body apparatus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the RF absorber of Sudo to the teachings of Kwak and Kim in order to prevent the deterioration of the communication quality (Sudo, [0075]).
Regarding claim 7, all the limitations of claim 6 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim and Sudo.
Kwak in view of Kim and Sudo further teaches the robot, wherein the RF absorber is arranged at the interior of the inner case (Kwak, Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 8, all the limitations of claim 6 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim and Sudo.
Kwak in view of Kim and Sudo further teaches the robot, wherein the RF absorber is formed to have an area wider than the substrate of the antenna assembly (Fig. 10B, 130, 109, 108).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak (US 2022/0022719 A1) in view of Kim (US 2021/0331334 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Ding (US 2019/0195981 A1).
Regarding claim 11, all the limitations of claim 5 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim.
Kwak in view of Kim does not explicitly teach the robot, wherein a distance between the first antenna and the second antenna is equal to or less than a half of a wavelength corresponding to a highest frequency for UWB communication.
Ding teaches a device, wherein a distance between a first antenna and a second antenna is equal to or less than a half of a wavelength corresponding to a frequency for UWB communication (Fig. 3, [0044], [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kwak in view of Kim such that the distance between the two antennas is equal to or less than a half of a wavelength of the highest frequency for the UWB as taught by Ding in order to determine and calculate the location of the device (Ding, Abstract, [0045]), operable over the frequency range of the UWB.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak (US 2022/0022719 A1) in view of Kim (US 2021/0331334 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2017/0212110 A1).
Regarding claim 12, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Kwak in view of Kim.
Kwak in view of Kim does not explicitly teach the robot wherein the first antenna and the plurality of second antennas are isotropic antennas.
Chen teaches a robot ([0158] autonomous robotic vacuum cleaner) wherein antennas are isotropic antennas ([0116] an isotropic radiator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the isotropic antenna of Chen to the teachings of Kwak in view of Kim as it is one of the commonly known and suitable antenna types for the application (Chen, [0116]).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwak (WO 2021137411 A1) see Figures 1 and 3, teaches a moving robot which appears identical to and shares the same assignee as the application, and was published less than 1 year of filing date of the application.
Conclusion
/SEOKJIN KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845