DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadakuni et al. US 2018/0236785 A1 (hereinafter “Sadakuni”) in view of Sumii et al. US 2023/0226837 A1 (hereinafter “Sumii”).
Regarding claim 1, Sadakuni, with reference to FIGS. 4A and 4B, teaches a medium conveyance device comprising:
a conveyance unit (21) that includes a conveying belt that is configured to convey a target recording medium at an opposing position facing a recording unit (10) that is configured to perform recording; and
wherein the conveying belt is configured to be driven between the opposing position and a retracted position that is a position different from the opposing position, an angle change of the conveying belt between the opposing position and the retracted position is at least 45 degrees.
Sadakuni fails to teach a collection unit that is disposed vertically below the conveying belt at the opposing position and is configured to collect foreign matter that has fallen off the conveying belt, and
the collection unit moves in association with a movement of the conveying belt.
Sumii teaches a collection unit (48-FIGS. 10-11 or 71-FIG. 13) that is disposed vertically below a conveying belt (33) at the opposing position and is configured to collect foreign matter that has fallen off the conveying belt, and
the collection unit moves in association with a movement of the conveying belt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sadakuni’s device with a collection unit as taught by Sumii in order to facilitate collection and removal of paper dust/debris.
Regarding claim 3, Sadakuni teaches wherein the posture of the conveying belt at the opposing position is different from the posture of the conveying belt at the retracted position.
Regarding claim 5, both references of Sadakuni and Sumii teach further comprising a cleaning unit (29-Sadakuni, 46-Sumii) that is configured to come into contact with the conveying belt located at the opposing position to clean the conveying belt, wherein the collection unit (of Sumii) is disposed vertically below the cleaning unit.
Regarding claim 6, Sadakuni teaches the cleaning unit moves in association with the movement of the conveying belt.
Regarding claim 7, Sumii teaches wherein the collection unit is configured to be removable.
Regarding claim 9, Sadakuni teaches a recording device comprising: a recording unit (10) that is configured to perform recording on a target recording medium.
Regarding claim 11, Sadakuni teaches the angle change being approximately 90 degrees (90 degrees shown in FIG. 4B from first state in FIG. 4A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 8, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS A GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653