DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in consideration of the Applicant’s response on August 10, 2026. Claims 3, 9, and 12 are amended by the Applicant. Claims 19 and 20 are added. Claims 1 – 20, where Claims 1, 12, and 17 are in independent form, are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued:
a) Regarding Claim 1, Soryal does not disclose or suggest of “analyzing…the performed action by the first, the second or any further user to identify a private or sensitive object.”
b) Regarding Claim 3, Soryal does not disclose or suggest the claimed limitation.
c) Regarding Claim 6, Soryal does not disclose or suggest the claimed limitation.
d) Regarding Claim 9, Soryal does not disclose or suggest the claimed limitation.
e) Regarding Claim 12, Soryal does not disclose or suggest of limitations similar to those of Claims 1 and 3.
f) Regarding Claim 17, Soryal does not disclose or suggest of limitations similar to those of Claim 1.
The Office respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertions.
1. With regards to a), the Applicant opines that Soryal only discloses of providing privacy settings for a particular user [See Remarks, Pg. 8]. The Applicant is oversimplifying the disclosure of Soryal and how not just one user interacts with the Metaverse, but all users within the Metaverse in relation with the privacy settings.
Soryal discloses that privacy setting can be modified “on the fly” in the Metaverse by a user, such as using voice commands [Para. 0011, 0013]. The Applicant appears to understand this can be interpreted as analyzing user actions in the Metaverse based on the amendment of Claim 3 to remove voice information, conversation, and sounds at certain thresholds.
Not only is the analyzing being performed on a first user, but also a second and/or any further user in the Metaverse [See Claim 1, lines 3-4]. Based on the perspective of other users in the Metaverse (each user’s perspective, via action, movement, etc.), a private or sensitive object that is detected may be obscured or blocked for one user and visible to another user [Fig. 1; Para. 0035-36, 0054, 0063-44]. Additionally, Soryal also discloses that the IVM may apply location-based, event-based, or other triggers for automatically changing privacy settings and can also learn user preferences over time to generate privacy settings and/or corresponding rules for automatically changing privacy settings [Para. 0054]. Therefore, not only is there analysis of a first user action in the Metaverse for event-based triggers to change a privacy setting for an object (e.g., saying that the user wants the ring to be private) [Para. 0011, 0013], there is also analysis of other users’ actions with respect to the private object based on their respective vantage points [Fig. 1; Para. 0027-28, 0033-35].
2. With regards to b), Soryal discloses the tracking of the head of the first, the second and/or any further user [Fig. 1; Para. 0064-65; head-on view perspective], body moving of the first, the second and/or any further user to each other [Fig. 1; Para. 0063-64] and spatial proximity of the first, the second and/or any further user to each other [Fig. 1; Para. 0018].
3. With regards to c), the Office reminds the Applicant that the pending claims must be "given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification" [In re Prater, 162 USPQ 541 (CCPA 1969)] and "consistent with the interpretation that those skilled in the art would reach" [In re Cortright, 49 USPQ2d 1464 (Fed. Cir. 1999)].
The claim recites of “sending…the rendered private or sensitive object to the Metaverse server and/or the device of the first, the second or any further user only that are part of the private conversation.” The claim does not require only certain users obtain the rendered private or sensitive object. The claim limitation is met if the Metaverse server receives it. Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive.
4. With regards to d), Soryal discloses of generating…one or more replicated objects, each of the one or more replicated objects being generated to replace the rendered private or sensitive object” [Fig. 1; Para. 0049; generic face/placeholder].
5. With regards to e), the Office reiterates the response in Sections 1 and 2 above. Analyzing a performed action in the Metaverse by users comprises the tracking of the head of the first, the second and/or any further user [Fig. 1; Para. 0064-65; head-on view perspective], body moving of the first, the second and/or any further user to each other [Fig. 1; Para. 0063-64] and spatial proximity of the first, the second and/or any further user to each other [Fig. 1; Para. 0018].
6. With regards to f), the Office reiterates the response in Section 1 above.
Claims 19 and 20 have similar limitations to Claims 3 and 9 and are also rebutted as in Sections 2 and 4 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PGPub. 2023/0376625 (hereinafter “Soryal”).
7. Regarding Claims 1 and 17, Soryal discloses a system for selective object rendering in Metaverse [Abstract; Para. 0009], the system comprising a Metaverse server having a processor connected to a non-transitory computer readable medium [Figs. 1 and 3; Para. 0079-82], wherein the system is configured to:
(detect an action performed by a first, a second or any further user in the Metaverse) [Para. 0011, 0013, 0034-35];
analyze a performed action by a first, a second or any further user to identify a
private or sensitive object [Para. 0013, 0034-35];
render the private or sensitive object [Para. 0011, 0013, 0034-35]; and
send the rendered private or sensitive object to the first, the second and/or any further user only in the case that the first, the second and/or any further user has access rights to view the rendered private or sensitive object [Para. 0010-11, 0034-35].
8. Regarding Claim 12, Soryal discloses a system for selective object rendering in Metaverse [Abstract; Para. 0009], the system comprising a Metaverse server having a processor connected to a non-transitory computer readable medium [Figs. 1 and 3; Para. 0079-82], wherein the system is configured to:
analyze a performed action by a first, a second or any further user to identify a
private or sensitive object [Para. 0013, 0034-35] in response to detecting a trigger event, the trigger event being one or more of: tracked movements of a head and eyes of the first, the second and/or any further user, tracked of pupil center corneal reflection (PCCR) of the first, the second and/or any further user, detection of body moving of the first, the second and/or any further user to each other, detection of a spatial proximity of the first, the second and/or any further user to each other, and/or a detection of any gesture of the first, the second and/or any further user which indicates that the performed action is private or sensitive [Fig. 1; Para. 0018, 0063-65; head-on view perspective, body moving of the first, the second and/or any further user to each other; and spatial proximity of the first, the second and/or any further user to each other];
render the private or sensitive object [Para. 0011, 0013, 0034-35]; and
send the rendered private or sensitive object to the first, the second and/or any further user only in the case that the first, the second and/or any further user has access rights to view the rendered private or sensitive object [Para. 0010-11, 0034-35].
9. Regarding Claims 2 and 18, Soryal discloses the limitation of Claims 1 and 17. Soryal further discloses that the step of analyzing the performed action of the first, the second or any further user is performed by a device of the first, the second or any further user locally, and rendering by the device of the first, the second or any further user the private or sensitive object locally if it does not exist on the Metaverse or retrieving by the device of the first, the second or any further user the private or sensitive object from a data structure, a map or a database of the Metaverse [Para. 0023, 0025, 0027-28, 0034-35, 0055].
10. Regarding Claims 3 and 19, Soryal discloses the limitation of Claims 1 and 17. Soryal further discloses that the step of analyzing the performed action of the first, the second or any further user is triggered by tracking movements of a head and eyes of the first, the second and/or any further user, by tracking of pupil center corneal reflection (PCCR) of the first, the second and/or any further user, by body moving of the first, the second and/or any further user to each other, by spatial proximity of the first, the second and/or any further user to each other, or upon detection of any gesture of the first, the second and/or any further user which indicates that the performed action is private or sensitive [Fig. 1; Para. 0018, 0063-65; head-on view perspective, body moving of the first, the second and/or any further user to each other; and spatial proximity of the first, the second and/or any further user to each other].
11. Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Soryal discloses the limitation of Claims 1 and 12. Soryal further discloses that the step of analyzing the performed action of the first, the second and/or any further user further comprises using a machine learning (ML) module and/or an artificial intelligence (AI) module [Para. 0042-44].
12. Regarding Claim 5, Soryal discloses the limitation of Claim 1. Soryal further discloses that before the step of sending the rendered private or sensitive object, the method further comprises separately setting, by the first, the second and/or any further user, the access rights to view the rendered private or sensitive object [Para. 0034-35].
13. Regarding Claim 6, Soryal discloses the limitation of Claim 1. Soryal further discloses that the step of analyzing the performed action of the first user further comprises identifying, by the metaverse server or the device of the first, the second or any further user, a private conversation between the first user, the second user and/or any further user [Para. 0018-19], and wherein the method further comprises:
rendering, by the device of the first, the second or any further user, the private
or sensitive object locally [Para. 0018-19];
sending, by the device of the first, the second and/or any further user, the rendered private or sensitive object to the Metaverse server and/or the device of the first, the second or any further user only that are part of the private conversation [Para. 0018-19].
14. Regarding Claim 7, Soryal discloses the limitation of Claim 1. Soryal further discloses that if the private or sensitive object has been partly or fully changed, the method further comprises re-rendering, by the Metaverse server or locally by the device of the first, the second or any further user the complete or selective parts of the private or sensitive object [Para. 0050-52].
15. Regarding Claim 8, Soryal discloses the limitation of Claim 1. Soryal further discloses that the step of analyzing the performed action of the first, the second or any further user comprises associating and/or predicting, by the Metaverse server or by the device of the first, the second or any further user of private or sensitive objects in a predetermined time period after the first, the second and/or any further user performed an action [Para. 0046, 0051, 0065].
16. Regarding Claims 9 and 20, Soryal discloses the limitation of Claims 1 and 17. Soryal further discloses that the method further comprises:
generating, by the Metaverse server and/or the device of the first, of the
second or of any further user one or more replicated objects [Para. 0036-38], each of the one or more replicated objects being generated to replace the rendered private or sensitive object [Fig. 1; Para. 0036-38, 0049; generic face/placeholder]; and
disseminating, by the Metaverse server and/or the device of the first, of the
second or of any further user, the one or more replicated object to users having no access rights to view the rendered private or sensitive object [Fig. 1; Para. 0036-38, 0049; generic face/placeholder].
17. Regarding Claim 10, Soryal discloses the limitation of Claim 1. Soryal further discloses that the method further comprises altering, by the Metaverse server and/or the device of the first, of the second or of any further user the audio stream of the first, the second or any further user having access rights to view the rendered private or sensitive object and/or altering the audio stream of users having no access rights to view the rendered private or sensitive object [Para. 0018-19, 0036-38].
18. Regarding Claim 11, Soryal discloses the limitation of Claim 1. Soryal further discloses that the step of analyzing the performed action of the first, the second or any further user further comprises deep learning and/or image similarity methodologies [Para. 0042-44].
19. Regarding Claim 13, Soryal discloses the limitation of Claim 12. Soryal further discloses that the system also comprises: a first, a second and/or any further user device of the first, the second or any further user [Fig. 1].
20. Regarding Claim 15, Soryal discloses the limitation of Claim 14. Soryal further discloses that the ML module and/or the AI module is an internal component of the Metaverse server, an external component communicatively connectable to the Metaverse server, a cloud module communicatively connectable to the Metaverse server, or a software as a service (SAAS) communicatively connectable to the Metaverse server [Para. 0043-44].
21. Regarding Claim 16, Soryal discloses the limitation of Claim 12. Soryal further discloses that the system further comprises a rendering server or application to render the private or sensitive object and/or wherein the rendering server or application is part of the Metaverse server or is part of the first, the second and/or any further user device or is a Software as a Service (SaaS) or a cloud server [Para. 0014-18].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contacts
/TAE K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496