DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 3/5/2025, 6/24/2025, 10/2/2025 and 2/10/2026 have been received and made of record. Note the acknowledged form PTO-1449 enclosed herewith.
Claim Interpretation
Currently no claims are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2 (and thereby dependent claims 3-8), there is a minor instance of rough grammar in line 14 at “disposed over the conduit, sheath” (wherein a minor amendment such as “disposed over the conduit, the sheath” will moot this objection).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6-9, 13-16 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (US 2016/0331381) in view of Greene, Jr. et al. (US 2017/0367713).
Ma discloses (see Figs. 1-5) an implant delivery system with an electrolytic detachment comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 2) A treatment system (10, Fig. 1) comprising: a conduit comprising: an electrically conductive body (31/33, Fig. 5) comprising a proximal portion (at 31), a distal portion (at 33), and a detachment zone (30, Fig. 5) between the proximal portion (31) and the distal portion (33) (as shown in Fig. 5), wherein the detachment zone (30) is configured to be (i.e., capable of) severed in response to a flow of an electrical current therethrough, thereby causing separation of the proximal portion (31) and the distal portion (33) ([0046]; detachment via electrical current applied to exposed detachment zone 30); an expandable occlusive member (20, Fig. 1) having a proximal hub (50, Fig. 5) coupled to the conduit distal portion (33) (as expressly shown in Fig. 5), the occlusive member (20) configured to be (i.e., capable of) deployed within an aneurysm (2, Fig. 3) (as shown in Fig. 3; [0041]); and an electrically insulative sheath (32/34, Fig. 5) disposed over the conduit (31/33) (as shown in Fig. 5), the sheath comprising: a proximal portion (34) extending over the conduit proximal portion (31) (as shown in Fig. 5); a distal portion (32) extending over the conduit distal portion (33) (as shown in Fig. 5); and a gap (i.e., gap exposes outer surface of detachment zone 30) between the proximal and the distal portion (as shown in Fig. 5), wherein the gap is axially aligned with the conduit detachment zone (30) (as shown in Fig. 5);
(claims 6, 13 and 20) wherein the occlusive member (20) comprises an expandable mesh (as shown in Figs. 1-5; [0039]; [0042]; implant 20 expressly may comprise a braid/mesh ball or other shaped stent-like objects) having a constrained state for delivery to an aneurysm ([0041]; implant 20 can be delivered to an aneurysm 2 while compressed/disposed within a delivery system catheter) and an expanded state in which at least a portion of the mesh is configured to be (i.e., capable of) disposed across a neck (9) of the aneurysm (2) (as expressly shown in Fig. 3);
(claims 7, 14 and 21) wherein the occlusive member (20) is at least partially collapsible (i.e., capable of collapsing) when contacted by an embolic element ([0039]; [0041]; implant 20 expressly disclosed to be composed of a resilient/collapsible material such as Nitinol which is fully capable of collapse when contacted by an embolic material);
(claim 9) A treatment system (10, Fig. 1) comprising: an electrically conductive conduit (31/33, Fig. 5) comprising: a proximal portion (at 31), a distal portion (at 33), and a detachment zone (30, Fig. 5) between the proximal portion (31) and the distal portion (33) (as shown in Fig. 5); an expandable occlusive member (20, Fig. 1) having a proximal end portion (50, Fig. 5) coupled to the conduit distal portion (33) (as expressly shown in Fig. 5), the occlusive member (20) configured to be (i.e., capable of) deployed within an aneurysm (2) (as expressly shown in Fig. 3); a first electrically insulative material (34, Fig. 5) extending over the conduit proximal portion (31) (as shown in Fig. 5; [0045]-[0047]); and a second electrically insulative material (32, Fig. 5) extending over the conduit distal portion (33) (as shown in Fig. 5; [0045]-[0047]), wherein the detachment zone (30) of the conduit is uninsulated (as expressly shown in Fig. 5; [0044]; [0046]); and
(claim 16) A treatment system (10, Fig. 1) comprising: a conduit comprising: an electrically conductive body (31/33, Fig. 5) comprising a proximal portion (at 31), a distal portion (at 33), and a detachment zone (30, Fig. 5) between the proximal portion (31) and the distal portion (33) (as shown in Fig. 5), wherein the proximal portion (31) and the distal portion (33) are covered with electrically insulative material (34/32, Fig. 5) ([0045]-[0047]) and wherein the detachment zone (30) is uncovered by electrically insulative material (as shown in Fig. 5; [0044]; [0046]-[0048]); and an expandable occlusive member (20, Fig. 1) having a proximal end portion (50, Fig. 5) coupled to the conduit distal portion (33) (as expressly shown in Fig. 5).
Ma, as applied above, discloses an implant delivery system with an electrolytic detachment comprising all the limitations of the claim except for the conduit being tubular having a lumen, and a distal opening in communication with the lumen, wherein the conduit is configured to pass a liquid embolic distally through the lumen and out of the distal opening.
However, Greene teaches (see Figs. 17-18) a highly similar aneurysm occluder (210, Figs. 17-18) having an electrolytic detachment ([0097]; electrolytic detachment systems expressly disclosed) comprising a conduit (230, Figs. 17-18) being tubular having a lumen ([0096]-[0097]; liquid embolic expressly delivered through a lumen within conduit tube 230), and a distal opening in communication with the lumen (as shown in Figs. 17-18, wherein liquid embolic 234 is shown exiting a distal opening of conduit 230), wherein the conduit (230) is configured to (i.e., capable of) pass a liquid embolic (234, Figs. 17-18) distally through the lumen and out of the distal opening (as shown in Figs. 17-18; [0096]-[0097]) in order to beneficially improve and enhance occlusion within an aneurysm by delivering additional embolic agents, including liquid embolic and/or other agents including embolic coils or meshes ([0096]-[0097]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Ma to have the conduit being tubular having a lumen, and a distal opening in communication with the lumen, wherein the conduit is configured to pass a liquid embolic distally through the lumen and out of the distal opening in order to beneficially improve and enhance occlusion within an aneurysm by delivering additional embolic agents, including liquid embolic and/or other agents including embolic coils or meshes, as taught by Greene.
Claim(s) 3-5, 10-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Greene, as applied to claims 2, 9 and 16 above.
Ma in view of Greene, as applied above, discloses an implant delivery system with an electrolytic detachment comprising all the limitations of the claim except for the conduit having a wall thickness of between about 0.0005 inches and about 0.0015 inches, an outer diameter of less than about 0.027 inches, and an inner diameter of less than about 0.015 inches.
With regard to claims 3-5, 10-12 and 17-19, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the conduit of Ma in view of Greene (which teaches the claimed structures for performing the same function) to comprises a wall thickness of between about 0.0005 inches and about 0.0015 inches, an outer diameter of less than about 0.027 inches, and an inner diameter of less than about 0.015 inches, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, merely discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771