DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 posted on 03/05/2025 are presently pending in the application and have been examined below, of which claims 1, 12 and 19 are presented in independent form.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 03/05/2025. These drawings are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/05/2025 has been considered. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, initialed and dated copy of Applicant’s IDS form 1449 filed as stated above is attached to the instant Office Action.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a
patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed
published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names
another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Detwiler et al. (US 12495353) (hereafter Detwiler).
As per claim 1 Detwiler discloses: An electronic device, comprising: a communication interface; memory storing one or more computer programs; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the communication interface and the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, (Detwiler, in col.2, ll. 2-5, ll. 20-24 discloses: a wireless communication system including processor, memory, and other standard attributes of communication network) cause the electronic device to:
identify, based on a signal for a secure connection being received from an external device, a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value of the received signal, (Detwiler, in col.11, ll. 14-19 discloses receiving and processing a signal strength indicator value, i.e., the RSSI value)
transmit, based on a speaker being identified as comprised in the external device based on function information of the external device comprised in the received signal, feedback information to the external device through the communication interface based on the identified RSSI value (Detwiler, in col.11, ll. 14-19 discloses usage of speaker and other equipment of external devices, i.e., mobile devices, included into a communication interface) and
perform, based on an updated signal being received from the external device based on the feedback information, the secure connection with the external device based on the updated signal (Detwiler, in col.16, ll. 10-12 discloses device group profile update including signal related verifiable information, col. 16, ll.32-36).
As per claim 2 Detwiler discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a microphone, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
identify, based on an audio signal for the secure connection being received through the microphone and a wireless communication signal that comprises function information of the external device being received through the communication interface, a RSSI value of the received audio signal (Detwiler, in col.25, ll. 32-35 discloses an audio system 1926 comprising speaker and microphone processing an audio signal)
transmit, based on the speaker being identified as comprised in the external device based on function information of the external device, feedback information associated with a strength of the RSSI value to the external device through the communication interface based on the identified RSSI value (Detwiler, discloses receiving the RSSI signal strength values, in col. 21, ll.35-37 and further transmitting the processed respective information, i.e., feedback, in the network including external devices), and
perform, based on an audio signal of a strength changed based on the feedback information being received from the external device, a secure connection with the external device based on the audio signal of the changed strength (Detwiler, discloses media processing instructions 1966 to facilitate network communication, in col. 26, ll. 25-28, the 1966 instructions could be processed separately, i.e., divided into audio and video signals processing, col. 26, ll.39-44).
As per claim 3 Detwiler discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: perform, based on the speaker being identified as comprised in the external device based on function information of the external device comprised in a wireless communication signal received through the communication interface, a device-to- device (D2D) communication connection with the external device (Detwiler, in col. 6, ll. 20-25 discloses a locator service controlling communication between different mobile devices and third party devices, i.e., external devices, per wireless communication network;
transmit, based on the identified RSSI value being identified as exceeding a pre- set range, feedback information associated with the pre-set range to the external device through the D2D communication connection; and end, based on an audio signal of a strength changed based on the feedback information being received from the external device, the D2D communication connection and perform the secure connection (Detwiler, discloses a locator service controlling communication between different mobile devices in the network, in col. 6, ll. 20-25, the service includes scanning communication over the network and controlling connections based on the predetermined threshold distance. i.e., pre-set range, in col. 38, ll. 21-25).
As per claim 4 Detwiler discloses: The electronic device of claim 3, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: transmit, based on a RSSI value of the received signal being identified as steadily decreasing over time, feedback information for steadily increasing the RSSI value (Detwiler, in col. 11, ll. 14-24 discloses processing the RSSI data, i.e., signal strength values, in relationship to the device locator data, i.e., device ranges) to the external device through the communication interface based on the pre-set range (Detwiler, in col. 6, ll. 20-25 discloses a locator service controlling the signal strength and the location data, in. col. 21, 35-37, i.e., according to predetermined threshold distance, in col. 38, ll. 21-25).
As per claim 5 Detwiler discloses: The electronic device of claim 3, wherein the wireless communication signal comprises: at least one from among a minimum value or a maximum value of an RSSI value for the secure connection, and wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
transmit, based on the RSSI value identified based on at least one from among the minimum value or the maximum value being identified as exceeding the pre-set range, feedback information associated with the pre-set range to the external device through the D2D communication connection (Detwiler, discloses a locator service controlling communication between different mobile devices in the network, in col. 6, ll. 20-25, the service includes scanning communication over the network and controlling connections based on the signal strength, in col. 22, ll. 103, and on the predetermined threshold distance. i.e., pre-set range, in col. 38, ll. 21-25), and
end, based on an audio signal of a strength changed based on the feedback information being received from the external device, the D2D communication connection and perform the secure connection (Detwiler, in col. 35, ll.6-9 discloses termination of a connection according to a respective server commend).
As per claim 6 Detwiler discloses: The electronic device of claim 3, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: provide, based on the identified RSSI value being identified as exceeding the pre-set range, guide information that guides the electronic device to be positioned within a pre-set distance from the external device (Detwiler, discloses a locator service controlling communication between different mobile devices in the network, in col. 6, ll. 20-25, the service includes scanning communication over the network and controlling connections based on the signal strength, in col. 22, ll. 103, and on the predetermined threshold distance. i.e., pre-set range, in col. 38, ll. 21-25).
As per claim 7 Detwiler discloses: The electronic device of The electronic device of wherein the electronic device further comprises: a speaker, and wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify an RSSI value of the wireless communication signal when a wireless communication signal is received from the external device through the communication interface, and output, based on a microphone being identified as comprised in the external device (Detwiler, in col.25, ll. 32-35 discloses an audio system 1926 comprising speaker and microphone processing an audio signal) based on function information of the external device comprised in the wireless communication signal, an audio signal for the secure connection with the external device through a speaker of the electronic device based on the identified RSSI value of the wireless communication signal (Detwiler, discloses media processing instructions 1966 to facilitate network communication, in col. 26, ll. 25-28, the 1966 instructions could be processed separately, i.e., divided into audio and video signals processing, col. 26, ll.39-44).
As per claim 8 Detwiler discloses: The electronic device of claim 7, further comprising: memory stored with output size information of audio signals corresponding to each of a plurality of RSSI values (Detwiler, in col. 11, ll. 14-24 discloses processing the RSSI data, i.e., signal strength values, in relationship to the device locator data, i.e., device ranges), wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: control, based on an RSSI value of the wireless communication signal being less than a pre-set value (Detwiler, in col. 6, ll. 20-25 discloses a locator service controlling the signal strength and the location data), the speaker of the electronic device to output the audio signal by greater than or equal to a pre-set output strength based on information stored in the memory (Detwiler, in col. 16, ll. 18-23 discloses a comparison of the device connections related data sets to the stored respective values, in col. 16, ll. 22-27 further discloses a connectivity control based on the mismatch results between current and stored data).
As per claim 9 Detwiler discloses: The electronic device of claim 8, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: control, based on an RSSI value of the received signal (Detwiler, in col. 11, ll. 14-24 discloses processing the RSSI data, i.e., signal strength values, in relationship to the device locator data, i.e., device ranges), being identified as steadily decreasing over time, the speaker of the electronic device for the output strength of the audio signal to be steadily increased based on information stored in the memory (Detwiler, in col. 16, ll. 18-23 discloses a comparison of the device connections related data sets to the stored respective values, in col. 16, ll. 22-27 further discloses a connectivity control based on the mismatch results between current and stored data).
As per claim 10 Detwiler discloses: The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify, based on the speaker and a microphone being identified as comprised in the external device based on function information of the external device comprised in the received signal (Detwiler, in col.25, ll. 32-35 discloses an audio system 1926 comprising speaker and microphone processing an audio signal), a priority order of the speaker and the microphone; transmit, based on the priority order of the speaker being identified as high, feedback information to the external device through the communication interface based on the identified RSSI value; and output (Detwiler, in col.16, ll. 40-45 discloses analysis of the device pairing order for connectivity identification and verification), based on the priority order of the microphone being identified as high, an audio signal for secure connection with the external device through the speaker of the electronic device based on the identified RSSI value of the wireless communication signal (Detwiler, in col.7, ll. 54-57 discloses usage of the machine learning technology for signal strength and related trusted location analysis and processing).
As per claim 11 Detwiler discloses: The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the wireless communication signal is at least one from among a Wireless-Fidelity (Wi-Fi) signal type or a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) advertising signal type (Detwiler, in col.9, ll. 42-51 discloses wireless communication corresponding to Wi-Fi and Bluetooth standards).
As per claim 12, claim 12 encompasses same or similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected based on the same reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 1.
As per claims 13 – 18, claims 13 – 18 encompass same or similar scope as claims 2 – 7, respectively. Therefore, claims 13 – 18 are rejected based on the same reasons set forth above in rejecting claims 2 – 7.
As per claim 19, claim 19 encompasses same or similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected based on the same reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 1.
As per claim 20, claim 20 encompasses same or similar scope as claim 2. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected based on the same reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chen US_9894580, Demosthenous US_11064271, Ghosh US_20170195136, Palin US_20150373749, Paul US_20230126810, Shahamat US_11538317.
/VLADIMIR I GAVRILENKO/Examiner, Art Unit 2431