DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 3/05/25 in which claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-2, 4, 7-10, 12, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2013/0086144 to Wu.
a. As per claim 1, Wu teaches an electronic device, comprising: memory storing one or more computer programs; at least one communication circuit; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one communication circuit (See paragraph [0044]), wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: control the at least one communication circuit to establish a connection with a server (See paragraph [0029], The server node 202 and client node 204 can be connected directly or through a network or multiple networks), identify whether at least one of a first condition or a second condition related to a reception delay in the connection is satisfied (See paragraph [0036, 0040], If the incoming delay value is greater than predefined threshold, next keep-alive reservation value is decremented by one predefined period of time from the value of the previous keep-alive reservation value. If the incoming delay value is less than predefined threshold, next keep-alive reservation value is incremented by one predefined period of time from the value of the previous keep-alive reservation value. If the incoming delay value is substantially the same as the predefined threshold, the next keep-alive reservation value is set to the same value as the previous keep-alive reservation value), and based on the at least one of the first condition or the second condition being satisfied, adjust a keep alive period for the connection, wherein the first condition includes a condition that a first reception delay time related to a keep alive message exceeds a threshold delay time, and wherein the second condition includes a condition that a second reception delay time related to a session layer message exceeds the threshold delay time (See paragraph [0016, 0036-0037], value is calculated such that the next keep-alive reservation value is incremented only if the ratio of the predefined threshold and the predefined maximum reservation value is greater than the pseudo-random number or the next keep-alive reservation value is decremented only if the ratio of the predefined threshold and the predefined minimum reservation value is greater than the pseudo-random number).
b. As per claim 9, Wu teaches a method performed by an electronic device, the method comprising: establishing, by the electronic device, a connection with a server (See paragraph [0029], The server node 202 and client node 204 can be connected directly or through a network or multiple networks); identifying, by the electronic device, whether at least one of a first condition or a second condition related to a reception delay in the connection is satisfied (See paragraph [0036-0037 and 0040], If the incoming delay value is greater than predefined threshold, next keep-alive reservation value is decremented by one predefined period of time from the value of the previous keep-alive reservation value. If the incoming delay value is less than predefined threshold, next keep-alive reservation value is incremented by one predefined period of time from the value of the previous keep-alive reservation value. If the incoming delay value is substantially the same as the predefined threshold, the next keep-alive reservation value is set to the same value as the previous keep-alive reservation value); and based on the at least one of the first condition or the second condition being satisfied, adjusting, by the electronic device, a keep alive period for the connection, wherein the first condition includes a condition that a first reception delay time related to a keep alive message exceeds a threshold delay time, and wherein the second condition includes a condition that a second reception delay timer related to a session layer message exceeds the threshold delay time (See paragraph [0016, 0036-0037], value is calculated such that the next keep-alive reservation value is incremented only if the ratio of the predefined threshold and the predefined maximum reservation value is greater than the pseudo-random number or the next keep-alive reservation value is decremented only if the ratio of the predefined threshold and the predefined minimum reservation value is greater than the pseudo-random number).
c. As per claim 17, Wu teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations, the operations comprising: establishing, by the electronic device, a connection with a server (See paragraph [0029], The server node 202 and client node 204 can be connected directly or through a network or multiple networks);
; identifying, by the electronic device, whether at least one of a first condition or a second condition related to a reception delay in the connection is satisfied (See paragraph [0036-0037 and 0040], If the incoming delay value is greater than predefined threshold, next keep-alive reservation value is decremented by one predefined period of time from the value of the previous keep-alive reservation value. If the incoming delay value is less than predefined threshold, next keep-alive reservation value is incremented by one predefined period of time from the value of the previous keep-alive reservation value. If the incoming delay value is substantially the same as the predefined threshold, the next keep-alive reservation value is set to the same value as the previous keep-alive reservation value); and based on the at least one of the first condition or the second condition being satisfied, adjusting, by the electronic device, a keep alive period for the connection, wherein the first condition includes a condition that a first reception delay time related to a keep alive message exceeds a threshold delay time, and wherein the second condition includes a condition that a second reception delay time related to a session layer message exceeds the threshold delay time (See paragraph [0016, 0036-0037], value is calculated such that the next keep-alive reservation value is incremented only if the ratio of the predefined threshold and the predefined maximum reservation value is greater than the pseudo-random number or the next keep-alive reservation value is decremented only if the ratio of the predefined threshold and the predefined minimum reservation value is greater than the pseudo-random number).
d. As per claims 2, 10 and 18, Wu teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Wu teaches wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: change the keep alive period to another keep alive period applied before the keep alive period (See paragraph [0036]).
e. As per claims 4 and 12, Wu teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Wu teaches wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify whether a set number of times is reached (See paragraph [0037-0038]); based on the set number of times not being reached, change the keep alive period to another keep alive period applied before the keep alive period; and based on the set number of times being reached, change the keep alive period to a default keep alive period (See paragraph [0037-0038]).
f. As per claims 7 and 15, Wu teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Wu teaches wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: control the at least one communication circuit to transmit, to the server, a first message including at least the adjusted keep alive period (See paragraph [0034, 0039], At step 306 client node 204 calculates a new keep-alive reservation value. At step 308, the client node 204 sends keep-alive reservation message 206 containing the new keep-alive reservation value to server node 202).
g. As per claims 8 and 16, Wu teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Wu teaches transmitting a first message including at least the adjusted keep alive period (See paragraph [0034, 0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 3, 5, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2013/0086144 to Wu in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0409335 to Zhu et al.
a. As per claims 3 and 11, Wu teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Wu fails to teach wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: change the keep alive period to a default keep alive period.
Zhu et al teaches wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: change the keep alive period to a default keep alive period (See paragraph [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Zhu et al in the claimed invention of Wu in order to manually diagnostic the transmission paths.
b. As per claims 5 and 13, Wu teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Wu fails to teach wherein the keep alive message includes at least one of a ping message or a pong message, and wherein the first reception delay time includes time from when the ping message is transmitted until when the pong message is received in response to the ping message.
Zhu et al teaches wherein the keep alive message includes at least one of a ping message or a pong message, and wherein the first reception delay time includes time from when the ping message is transmitted until when the pong message is received in response to the ping message (See paragraph [0151]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Zhu et al in the claimed invention of Wu in order to manually diagnostic the transmission paths.
6. Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2013/0086144 to Wu in view of KR 20140093060
a. As per claims 6 and 14, Wu teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Wu fails to explicitly teach wherein the second reception delay time includes a difference between a time point at which the session layer message is transmitted and a time point at which the session layer message is received.
KR 20140093060 teaches wherein the second reception delay time includes a difference between a time point at which the session layer message is transmitted and a time point at which the session layer message is received (See abstract).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of KR 20140093060 in the claimed invention of Wu in order to calculate delay.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2012/0170496 to Yang et al teaches a Keep-Alive Packet transmission method and apparatus of Mobile Terminal.
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444