DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/12/2025 has been entered. Claims 6 has been cancelled. Claims 1-4 and 7-19 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome the objection previously set forth.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections under prior art have been fully considered and are moot upon a new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment, as outlined below.
Prior Art
Listed herein below are the prior art references relied upon in this Office Action:
Hanes et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0036674), referred to as Hanes herein [previously cited].
Bruno et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0048772), referred to as Bruno herein [previously cited].
Swift et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0092272), referred to as Swift herein [previously cited].
Lyren (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0359439) – referred to as Lyren herein [previously cited].
Klein et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0237091) – referred to as Klein herein [previously cited].
Sachindran et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0094506) – referred to as Sachindran herein.
Examiner’s Note
Strikethrough notation in the pending claims has been added by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 12-13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanes in view of Sachindran.
Regarding claim 1, Hanes discloses a method for generating and presenting content based on determining attribute features, comprising (Hanes, Abstract – user attributes indicative of comprehension level. Responses are tailored to the user attributes):
receiving a query from a user (Hanes, Fig. 5 with ¶0035-¶0037 – user presents a query to an AI model);
determining one or more attribute features associated with the user by a computing device based on an interaction history between the user and the computing device, wherein the one or more attribute features indicate a preference of the user for a
determining first content to be presented in response to the query (Hanes. Figs. 3 and 7 with ¶0018, ¶0026-¶0030, ¶0046 – AI response to the query (first content) is received. If the content matches the user comprehension level, the content can be provided);
converting the first content to second content based on the one or more attribute features, wherein the second content is a assessed. ¶0026-¶0030 – AI response (first content) is adjusted (second content) based on user attributes until it matches the user comprehension, and then is delivered to the user. See also Figs. 5-6 with ¶0035-¶0036)
However, Hanes appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Sachindran discloses an LLM interface for displaying responses to user input queries (Sachindran, Abstract, ¶0065), including knowledge-seeking queries (Sachindran, ¶0049-¶0054), including
wherein the one or more attribute features indicate a preference of the user for a summary of content (Sachindran, ¶0021-0024, ¶0031-0032, ¶0034, ¶0059, ¶0092 – Summary of query results is generated based on user attributes and preferences including technical skill level).
presenting the summary of the first content in a designated area of an interface while the first content is presented in a different designated area of the interface (Sachindran, Figs. 1-3, 8 with Abstract with ¶0020-¶0022, ¶0036-¶0037, ¶0075, and ¶0174 – the summary and at least one summarized query result are displayed simultaneously in different display areas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the responses of Hanes to include displaying summaries together with query results based on the teachings of Sachindran. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a quick resource for understanding query results (Sachindran, ¶0025, ¶0042), while providing detailed access to individual results and references, thereby enabling the user access to source material if desired for verification or additional detail (Sachindran, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 2, Hanes as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the one or more attribute features comprise a plurality of attribute features, and the plurality of attribute features comprise at least one of: a language type that the user desires to use, an understanding degree of the user for a domain to which the first content belongs, a focus of the user on the first content, and a presentation format that the user desires to use (Hanes, ¶0017 -¶0025 – user comprehension level is assessed. ¶0026-¶0030 – AI response (first content) is adjusted (second content) based on user attributes until it matches the user comprehension, and then is delivered to the user).
Regarding claim 3, Hanes as modified discloses the limitations of claim 2 above, and further discloses determining a set of target attribute features from the plurality of attribute features; and converting the first content to the second content based on the set of target attribute features (Hanes, ¶0017 -¶0025 – user comprehension level is assessed. ¶0026-¶0030 – AI response (first content) is adjusted (second content) based on user attributes until it matches the user comprehension, and then is delivered to the user).
Regarding claim 4, Hanes as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the designated area comprising at least a portion of a display area of the interface or a floating layer area superimposed over the display area of the interface (Hanes, Figs. 5-6 with ¶0035-¶0036 – response is displayed in the response area under the query. Sachindran, Figs. 1-3, 8 with Abstract with ¶0020-¶0022, ¶0075, and ¶0174 – the summary is displayed adjacent to at least one summarized query result).
Regarding claim 12, Hanes as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein updating the one or more attribute features based on the update request in response to receiving an update request (Hanes, Figs. 5-6 with ¶0035-¶0036 – first and second prompts can generate first and second content. The second prompt is generated based on additional user context being injected into the query, resulting in the second content being presented in the designated area below the second query).
Regarding claim 13, Hanes as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein presenting the summary of the first content comprises presenting the second content in response to determining that the one or more attribute features are activated (Hanes, Figs. 5-6 with ¶0035-¶0036 – first and second prompts can generate first and second content. The second prompt is generated based on additional user context being injected into the query, resulting in the second content being presented in the designated area below the second query).
Regarding claim 15, Hanes discloses an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing instructions for execution by the at least one processor, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, causing the electronic device to perform acts comprising: receiving a query from a user (Hanes, Fig. 5 with ¶0035-¶0037 – user presents a query to an AI model. ¶0056-¶0057 – processor executing instructions stored in memory);
determining one or more attribute features associated with the user by a computing device based on an interaction history between the user and the computing device, wherein the one or more attribute features indicate a preference of the user for a ¶0034 – user comprehension can be from user-specified declarations or through behavioral profiling based on inputs);
determining first content to be presented in response to the query (Hanes. Figs. 3 and 7 with ¶0018, ¶0026-¶0030, ¶0046 – AI response to the query (first content) is received. If the content matches the user comprehension level, the content can be provided);
converting the first content to second content based on the one or more attribute features, wherein the second content is a
However, Hanes appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Sachindran discloses an LLM interface for displaying responses to user input queries (Sachindran, Abstract, ¶0065), including knowledge-seeking queries (Sachindran, ¶0049-¶0054), including
wherein the one or more attribute features indicate a preference of the user for a summary of content (Sachindran, ¶0021-0024, ¶0031-0032, ¶0034, ¶0059, ¶0092 – Summary of query results is generated based on user attributes and preferences including technical skill level).
presenting the summary of the first content in a designated area of an interface while the first content is presented in a different designated area of the interface (Sachindran, Figs. 1-3, 8 with Abstract with ¶0020-¶0022, ¶0036-¶0037, ¶0075, and ¶0174 – the summary and at least one summarized query result are displayed simultaneously in different display areas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the responses of Hanes to include displaying summaries together with query results based on the teachings of Sachindran. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a quick resource for understanding query results (Sachindran, ¶0025, ¶0042), while providing detailed access to individual results and references, thereby enabling the user access to source material if desired for verification or additional detail (Sachindran, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 16, Hanes discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program thereon, the computer program, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to perform acts comprising: receiving a query from a user (Hanes, Fig. 5 with ¶0035-¶0037 – user presents a query to an AI model. ¶0056-¶0057 – processor executing instructions stored in memory);
determining one or more attribute features associated with the user by a computing device based on an interaction history between the user and the computing device, wherein the one or more attribute features indicate a preference of the user for a
determining first content to be presented in response to the query (Hanes. Figs. 3 and 7 with ¶0018, ¶0026-¶0030, ¶0046 – AI response to the query (first content) is received. If the content matches the user comprehension level, the content can be provided);
converting the first content to second content based on the one or more attribute features, wherein the second content is a
However, Hanes appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Sachindran discloses an LLM interface for displaying responses to user input queries (Sachindran, Abstract, ¶0065), including knowledge-seeking queries (Sachindran, ¶0049-¶0054), including
wherein the one or more attribute features indicate a preference of the user for a summary of content (Sachindran, ¶0021-0024, ¶0031-0032, ¶0034, ¶0059, ¶0092 – Summary of query results is generated based on user attributes and preferences including technical skill level).
presenting the summary of the first content in a designated area of an interface while the first content is presented in a different designated area of the interface (Sachindran, Figs. 1-3, 8 with Abstract with ¶0020-¶0022, ¶0036-¶0037, ¶0075, and ¶0174 – the summary and at least one summarized query result are displayed simultaneously in different display areas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the responses of Hanes to include displaying summaries together with query results based on the teachings of Sachindran. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a quick resource for understanding query results (Sachindran, ¶0025, ¶0042), while providing detailed access to individual results and references, thereby enabling the user access to source material if desired for verification or additional detail (Sachindran, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 17, Hanes as modified discloses the limitations of claim 15 above, and further discloses wherein the one or more attribute features comprise a plurality of attribute features, and the plurality of attribute features comprise at least one of: a language type that the user desires to use, an understanding degree of the user for a domain to which the first content belongs, a focus of the user on the first content, and a presentation format that the user desires to use (Hanes, ¶0017 -¶0025 – user comprehension level is assessed. ¶0026-¶0030 – AI response (first content) is adjusted (second content) based on user attributes until it matches the user comprehension, and then is delivered to the user).
Regarding claim 18, Hanes as modified discloses the limitations of claim 17 above, and further discloses determining a set of target attribute features from the plurality of attribute features; and converting the first content to the second content based on the set of target attribute features (Hanes, ¶0017 -¶0025 – user comprehension level is assessed. ¶0026-¶0030 – AI response (first content) is adjusted (second content) based on user attributes until it matches the user comprehension, and then is delivered to the user).
Regarding claim 19, Hanes as modified discloses the limitations of claim 15 above, and further discloses wherein, the designated area comprises at least a portion of a display area of the interface or a floating layer area superimposed over the display area of the interface (Hanes, Figs. 5-6 with ¶0035-¶0036 – response is displayed in the response area under the query. Sachindran, Figs. 1-3, 8 with Abstract with ¶0020-¶0022, ¶0075, and ¶0174 – the summary is displayed adjacent to at least one summarized query result).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanes in view of Sachindran in further view of Bruno.
Regarding claim 7, Hanes as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above. However, Hanes appears not to expressly disclose wherein the interaction history comprises at least one of: a historical processing request submitted by the user, and an access history of the user for a historical processing result of the historical processing request.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bruno discloses tailored response generation (Bruno, Abstract), including
wherein the interaction history comprises at least one of: a historical processing request submitted by the user, and an access history of the user for a historical processing result of the historical processing request (Bruno, ¶0088-¶0092 – expertise level of the user is determined according to input history of the user, including previous questions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the user comprehension of Hanes as modified to include determination based on input history based on the teachings of Bruno. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve user satisfaction, learning gains, task success, engagement, and overall benefit (Bruno, ¶0024).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanes in view of Sachindran in further view of Swift.
Regarding claim 8, Hanes as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above. However, Hanes appears not to expressly disclose wherein determining the one or more attribute features based on the interaction history comprises: determining a language type that the user desires to use based on a language used in the interaction history.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Swift discloses a chatbot for assisting a user in response to queries (Swift, Abstract with ¶0008-¶0009)
determining the one or more attribute features based on the interaction history comprises: determining a language type that the user desires to use based on a language used in the interaction history (Swift, Fig. 2 with Abstract and ¶0023-¶0026, ¶0032 – user/chatbot language is determined according to preferences, previous correspondence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the response tailoring of Hanes as modified to include language determination based on input history based on the teachings of Swift. The motivation for doing so would have been to communication efficacy and support users the speak different languages are have widely different fluency levels in languages (Swift, ¶0003, ¶0008).
Regarding claim 9, Hanes as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein determining the one or more attribute features based on the interaction history comprises: determining, based on the interaction history, an understanding degree of the user for a domain to which the first content belongs, a focus of the user on the first content, ¶0026-¶0030 – AI response is adjusted until it matches the user comprehension, and then is delivered to the user).
However, Hanes appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Swift discloses a chatbot for assisting a user in response to queries (Swift, Abstract with ¶0008-¶0009)
determining, based on the interaction history, a presentation format that the user desires to use (Swift, Fig. 2 with Abstract and ¶0023-¶0026, ¶0032 – user/chatbot language is determined according to preferences, previous correspondence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the response tailoring of Hanes as modified to include language determination based on input history based on the teachings of Swift. The motivation for doing so would have been to communication efficacy and support users the speak different languages are have widely different fluency levels in languages (Swift, ¶0003, ¶0008).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanes in view of Sachindran in further view of Lyren.
Regarding claim 10, Hanes as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein one or more attribute features comprise a plurality of attribute features for a instructions stored in memory. ¶0013 – AI model providing responses to user queries. ¶0045 – AI model generates responses according to training on the topic).
However, Hanes appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Lyren discloses intelligent software agents responding to user queries (Lyren, Abstract with ¶0001), Including
the processing system comprises a plurality of digital assistants, and the one or more attribute features comprise a plurality of attribute features for the plurality of digital assistants, respectively, and the method further comprises: selecting a first digital assistant from the plurality of digital assistants in response to receiving a processing request to obtain the first content; and obtaining the first content according to a first attribute feature of the first digital assistant (Lyren, Fig. 10 with ¶0160-¶0172 – selecting a particular use agent based on the task or action to be performed. Fig. 4 with ¶0095-¶0104 – actions are performed according to the personality of the agent. Fig. 15 with ¶0209-¶0212 – agents have particular specialties).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the chat bot of Hanes as modified to include a plurality of digital assistant based on the teachings of Lyren. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve user engagement (Lyren, ¶0242) and to more effectively adapt to user preferences and task parameters (Lyren, ¶0129).
Regarding claim 11, Hanes as modified discloses the elements of claim 10 above, and further discloses wherein the first attribute feature of the first digital assistant is different from a second attribute feature of a second digital assistant of the plurality of digital assistants (Lyren, Fig. 10 with ¶0160-¶0172 – selecting a particular use agent based on the task or action to be performed. Fig. 4 with ¶0095-¶0104 – actions are performed according to the personality of the agent. Fig. 15 with ¶0209-¶0212 – agents have particular specialties).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanes in view of Sachindran in further view of Klein.
Regarding claim 14, Hanes as modified discloses the elements of claim 7 above. However, Hanes appears not to expressly disclose wherein the historical processing comprises at least one of: a request to search for a media item; a request to process a remote media item; a request to process a local media item; and a request to generate a media item.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Klein discloses a digital assistant (Klein, Abstract), including
wherein the historical processing comprises at least one of: a request to search for a media item; a request to process a remote media item; a request to process a local media item; and a request to generate a media item (Klein, Abstract, ¶0011, ¶0015-¶0021, ¶0033, ¶0044, ¶0053, and Fig. 2C-2D with ¶0057-¶0061 – querying image contents. ¶0038-¶0039 – smartphone camera).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the queries of Hanes as modified to include media items based on the teachings of Klein. The motivation for doing so would have been to more effectively assist users by enabling users to present visual queries pertaining to visual features captured in media (Klein, ¶0031-¶0032).
Conclusion
/DANIEL W PARCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174