DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 26 and 27 are not clearly understood because “the holding step” lacks a clear antecedent basis. This term is not defined in the specification or the claim so it cannot be evaluated.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 23 be found allowable, claim 26 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 23, 24, 26-32, 34-36, 39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pattabhiraman et al. (US 2021/0155086).
Pattabhiraman et al. discloses a method of operating a tonneau cover (110) comprising transmitting one or more signals to a control module to cause the tonneau cover (110) to move from an open position towards a closed position, detecting a presence of an object that is located in between an end of the tonneau cover (110) and a tailgate (108) of a vehicle (100) and that interferes with further moving the tonneau cover (110) into the closed position, and then stopping movement of the tonneau cover (110) after the end of the tonneau cover (110) makes contact with the object, as disclosed in paragraph [0039]. The use of a cell phone app and/or an integrated display screen having a user interface with a programmed button to control the tonneau cover are two control modules that inherently have one or more processors and one or more memories, as disclosed in paragraph [0039].
In reference to claim 23, the method comprises moving the tonneau cover (110) towards the open position after the stopping step so that the tonneau cover (110) is moved back away from the object, as disclosed in paragraph [0039], with respect to the auto-reversing capability.
In reference to claim 24, the method comprises moving the tonneau cover (110) towards the closed position after the step of moving the tonneau cover (110) towards the open position. This can be done manually after the object is moved.
In reference to claim 26, the method comprises causing the tonneau cover (110) to revert back towards the open position, as disclosed in paragraph [0039], with respect to the auto-reversing capability.
In reference to claim 27, the method comprises causing the tonneau cover (110) to move towards the closed position, as disclosed in paragraph [0039]. The tonneau cover (110) stays in the closed position until the operator activates the opening step. This is considered to be initiating the holding step, as best understood.
In reference to 28, the detecting step includes using one or more switches, computers, processors, force, or resistance gauges, or a combination thereof, as disclosed in paragraphs [0039] and [0048].
In reference to claims 29 and 30, the method comprises monitoring a voltage or power draw of a motor associated with moving the tonneau cover. Voltage = current x resistance so monitoring current indirectly monitors voltage. Current is monitored, as disclosed in paragraph [0039].
In reference to claim 31, the system comprises a tonneau cover (110) movable relative to a vehicle (100) between an open position, as shown in Figure 1B, and a closed position, as shown in Figure 1A. The system comprises one or more control modules in communication with the tonneau cover (110). The control modules include one or more processors and one or more memories. The use of a cell phone app and/or an integrated display screen having a user interface with a programmed button to control the tonneau cover are two control modules that inherently have one or more processors and one or more memories, as disclosed in paragraph [0039]. The control modules are programmed to follow the claimed steps. These steps are discussed in detail with respect to claim 21.
In reference to claim 32, the tonneau cover (110) is a rolling tonneau cover, as shown in Figures 2 and 3 and disclosed in paragraph [0020].
In reference to claim 34, the one or more control modules are programmed to receive the signal from a touch pad or key pad, as disclosed in paragraph [0039].
In reference to claim 35, the keypad is located on a bed cap attached to one or more walls defining the cargo area of the vehicle or on a pillar of a cab of the vehicle, as shown in Figures 1A and 1B and disclosed in paragraph [0039]. Specifically, an activation button is provided on top of one of the channels (150A,150B), as disclosed in paragraph [0039]. The channels run along the walls of the cargo area and a pillar of the cab.
In reference to claim 36, the one or more control modules are programmed to receive the signal from a capacitive touch device, as disclosed in paragraph [0039].
In reference to claim 39, the control module is programmed to monitor a voltage or power draw of a motor associated with moving the tonneau cover to detect the presence of the object that is located in between the end of the tonneau cover and the tailgate and that interferes with further moving the tonneau cover into the closed position, as disclosed in paragraph [0039]. Voltage = current x resistance so monitoring current indirectly monitors voltage. Current is monitored, as disclosed in paragraph [0039].
In reference to claim 41, the method of operating the tonneau cover (110) comprises receiving, by one or more control modules, one or more control signals to cause the tonneau cover (110) to move from an open position, as shown in Figure 1B, towards a closed position, as shown in Figure 1A. The one or more control modules detects a presence of an object that is located in between an end of the tonneau cover (110) and a tailgate (108) of the vehicle (100) and that interferes with further moving the tonneau cover into the closed position, as disclosed in paragraph [0039]. In response to detecting the presence of the object that is located in between the end of the tonneau cover and the tailgate of the vehicle and that interferes with further moving the tonneau cover into the closed position, causing, by the one or more control modules, the tonneau cover (110) to stop moving after the end of the tonneau cover (110) makes contact with the object, as disclosed in paragraph [0039].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pattabhiraman et al. (US 2021/0155086) in view of Massie et al. (6,727,806).
Pattabhiraman et al. does not disclose the use of an indicator light.
Massie et al. teaches using an indicator light and a buzzer to indicate a condition of a truck closure, as shown in Figure 1 and disclosed on lines 12-22.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an indicator light and buzzer to vehicle of Pattabhiraman et al., as taught by Massie et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to turn on after detecting the presence of the object and after stopping movement of the tonneau cover to notify the operator action needs to be taken before driving the vehicle or leaving the vehicle unattended to prevent damage and/or theft of the object.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pattabhiraman et al. (US 2021/0155086) in view of Petrucci et al. (11,648,867).
Pattabhiraman et al. does not disclose the checking the position of the tonneau cover after a transmission gear is changed.
Petrucci et al. teaches checking a position of a vehicle closure after a transmission gear of the vehicle is changed, as disclosed on lines 28-47 of column 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to check the position of the tonneau cover after the transmission gear of the vehicle of Pattabhiraman et al. is changed, as taught by Petrucci et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to ensure the tonneau cover is in the closed position before driving to prevent loss of stored objects.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pattabhiraman et al. (US 2021/0155086) in view of Vickery (US 2020/0130483).
Pattabhiraman et al. does not disclose the use of a key fob.
Vickery teaches using a key fob to send a signal to operate a tonneau cover instead of or in addition to a smart phone app or buttons in/on a vehicle, as disclosed in paragraph [0077].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a key fob that can control the tonneau cover of Pattabhiraman et al., as taught by Vickery, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide an additional controller to allow a user to control the tonneau cover remotely from the vehicle without requiring internet service.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Himmatramka et al. (US 2024/0217321) discloses another method of operating a tonneau cover that involves detecting an object while moving the tonneau cover and notifying the user through audible and visual alerts.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 September 25, 2026