This is in response to the Amendment dated March 4, 2026. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office Action.
Response to Amendment
Specification
The disclosure has been objected to because of minor informalities.
The objection of the disclosure has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 3 have been objected to because of minor informalities.
The objection of claims 2 and 3 has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 has been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second
paragraph, has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP
2010189753 (‘753) in view of JP 2000328285 (‘285).
The rejection of claims 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP
2010189753 (‘753) in view of JP 2000328285 (‘285) has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Continued Response
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsumi et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0390357 A1) in view of WO 99/41433 (‘433) and JP 2010189753 (‘753).
Regarding claim 1, Tatsumi teaches a method for producing a tin alloy (= forming a tin alloy plating film by electroplating method) [page 1, [0001]] comprising:
• performing electroplating by using a tin alloy plating solution (= a tin alloy plating solution for forming a tin alloy plating film by electroplating method) [page 1, [0001]], wherein the tin alloy plating solution (= a tin alloy plating solution) [page 2, [0014]] comprises:
(A) a soluble salt or oxide including at least a stannous salt (= a soluble tin salt used in
the tin alloy plating solution is a salt that forms divalent tin ions by dissolving in water) [pages
2-3, [0031]];
(B) a soluble salt or oxide of a metal nobler than tin (= a soluble salt of a metal nobler than tin) [page 2, [0014]];
(C) a tin complexing agent (= the tin alloy plating solution further comprising a complexing agent for tin) [page 2, [0018]]; and
(D) a free acid (= the tin alloy plating solution of the present embodiment may further contain an additive such as an acid electrolyte (free acid), a surfactant, an antioxidant, a complexing agent for tin, a pH adjusting agent, a glossing agent and the like) [page 3, [0035]];
(E) an antioxidant (= the tin alloy plating solution of the present embodiment may further contain an additive such as an acid electrolyte (free acid), a surfactant, an antioxidant, a complexing agent for tin, a pH adjusting agent, a glossing agent and the like) [page 3, [0035]];
۰ a content of the tin complexing agent in the tin alloy plating solution is 0.1 g/L or more and 5 g/L or less (= an amount to be added of the complexing agent for tin in the tin alloy plating solution of the present embodiment is generally in the range of 0.001 mol or more and 10 mol or less) [page 4, [0045]], and
۰ a concentration of divalent tin ions (Sn2+) in the tin alloy plating solution (= a soluble tin salt used in the tin alloy plating solution of the present embodiment is a salt that forms divalent tin ions by dissolving in water) [pages 2-3, [0031]] is 30 g/L or more and 100 g/L or less (= a content of the soluble tin salt in the tin alloy plating solution of the present embodiment is preferably in the range of 5 g/L or more and 200 g/L or less) [page 3, [0032]],
۰ the antioxidant (E) is hydroqiuinone sulfonic acid or salts thereof (= examples of the antioxidant include ascorbic acid or a salt thereof, pyrogallol, hydroquinone, phloroglucinol,
trihydroxy-benzene, catechol, cresol sulfonic acid or a salt thereof, catechol sulfonic acid or a salt thereof, hydroquinone sulfonic acid or a salt thereof or the like) [page 4, [0041]],
۰ a content of the antioxidant (E) is 0.1 g/L to 5 g/L (= an amount to be added of the antioxidant in the tin alloy plating solution of the present embodiment is generally in the range of 0.01 g/L or more and 20 g/L or less)m [page 4, [0042]],
۰ a current density of the plating solution is in the range of 0.5 ASD or more and 20 ASD or less (= a current density at the time of forming a plating film by electroplating is in the range of 0.1 A/dm2 or more and 100 A/dm2 or less) [page 5, [0050]],
۰ a liquid temperature of the plating solution is in the range of 10oC or higher and 50oC or lower (= the liquid temperature is in the range of 10° C. or higher and 50° C. or lower) [page 5, [0050]].
Tatsumi does not explicitly teach the following:
a. Wherein the tin complexing agent is made of a sugar alcohol.
b. The sugar alcohol is L-threitol, meso-erythritol, L-(-)-arabinitol, D-(+)-arabinitol, DL-arabinitol, ribitol, xylitol, D-iditol, L-iditol, L-mannitol, D-mannitol, galactitol, or a mixture thereof.
Tatsumi teaches that:
The tin alloy plating solution of the present embodiment can be applied to a tin alloy plating bath in an optional pH range such as acidic, weakly acidic, neutral, and the like. Sn2+ ions are stable at strong acidity (pH: <1), but tend to form white precipitates from acidity to near neutrality (pH: 1 to 7). For this reason, when the tin alloy plating solution of the present embodiment is
applied to the tin plating bath near neutrality, it is preferable to add a complexing agent for tin for
the purpose of stabilizing the Sn2+ ions (page 4, [0043]).
WO ‘433 teaches that the pH of the electrolyte ranges from about 6 to 11 (page 6, line 27).
Suitable chelating agents for tin ions include polyhydroxy compounds such as polyhydroxy
alcohols, polyhydric acids or the alkali or ammonium salts of those acids. Preferred chelating agents have the general formula:
R-(CHOH)x-R
where each R is the same or different and each is -H, -(CH2)y OZ, -(CH2)yC(O)OZ, -(CH2)yCHO, or -CH2)y-CH3 where x is 1 to 6, y is 0 to 4 and Z is -H, -NH4 or an alkali or alkaline earth metal. Advantageously, these agents have at least four carbon atoms and at least two hydroxy groups. Preferred agents include polyhydric alcohols such as threitol, xylitol, and sorbitol; aldonic acid salts such as gluconates, glucoheptonates, xylonates, and threonates; aldaric acids salts such as galacarates, glucurate and tartrates; and uronic acids such as glucuronic acid. Any ammonium, alkali metal or alkaline earth metal salt of these acids can be used (page 5, lines 10-29).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tin complexing agent taught by with wherein the tin complexing agent is made of a sugar alcohol. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Tatsumi that Sn2+ ions form white precipitates from acidity to near neutrality (pH: 1 to 7), and for this reason, it is preferable to add a complexing agent for tin for the purpose of stabilizing the Sn2+ ions in [0043] where compounds such threitol and xylitol are chelating agents for tin ions as taught by WO ‘433 on page 5, lines 23-24, and thus, adding them to a tin alloy plating solution having a pH of 1 to 7 would have improved the solution stability.
Furthermore, WO ‘433 teaches that preferred agents include polyhydric alcohols such as
threitol (C4), xylitol (C5), and sorbitol (C6) (page 5, lines 23-24).
JP ‘753 teaches that:
Furthermore, in yet another embodiment, the plating bath according to the present invention further contains (E) one or more compounds selected from saturated aliphatic alcohols having 10 or fewer carbon atoms and a hydroxyl group as a substituent, and aliphatic ketones having 6 or fewer carbon atoms, selected from the following chemical formulas (5), (6), and (7):
Chemical formula (5)
CnH2n+2-m(X)m
In formula (5), n is an integer greater than m and less than or equal to 10, and m represents an integer from 1 to 6. X are hydrogen atoms or hydroxyl groups, and may all be the same or different from one another, with at least one being a hydroxyl group. The position of the carbon atom to which X is bonded is irrelevant, and the carbon chain may be branched.
A chain-like saturated aliphatic alcohol represented by chemical formula (6)
CnH2n-m(X)m
In formula (6), n is an integer greater than m and less than or equal to 10, and m is an integer from 1 to 6. X are hydrogen atoms or hydroxyl groups, and may all be the same or different from each other, with at least one being a hydroxyl group. The position of the carbon atom to which X is bonded is irrelevant, and the carbon chain may be branched.
A cyclic saturated aliphatic alcohol represented by chemical formula (7)
CnH2n+2-mOl
In formula (7), n is an integer greater than m and less than or equal to 10, and m is an integer from 1 to 6. l represents an integer less than or equal to n-2. X are hydrogen atoms or hydroxyl groups, and may all be the same or different from each other, with at least one being a hydroxyl group. The position of the carbon atom to which X is bonded is irrelevant, and the carbon chain may be branched. O represents etheric oxygen, located between two carbon atoms, but its exact position is not important (ρ [0031]).
Saturated aliphatic alcohols having 10 or fewer carbon atoms and a hydroxyl group as a substituent, and aliphatic ketones having 6 or fewer carbon atoms, specifically, methanol, ethanol, n-propanol, i-propanol, n-butanol, i-butanol, t-butanol, 1-pentanol, 2-pentanol, 3-pentanol, 1,6-hexanediol, 2,5-hexanediol, 1,2-ethanediol (ethylene glycol), 1,2-propanediol (propylene glycol), 1,3-propanediol (trimethylene glycol), 1,2,3-propanetriol (glycerol), and sorbitol are preferably used, and among these, methanol, ethanol, n-propanol, i-propanol, n-butanol, i-butanol, t-butanol, cyclohexyl alcohol, 1,2-ethanediol (ethylene glycol), 1,2-
propanediol (propylene glycol), acetone, and methyl ethyl ketone are more preferably used (ρ [0051]).
As for wherein the sugar alcohol is meso-erythritol, L-(-)-arabinitol, D-(+)-arabinitol, DL-
arabinitol, ribitol, D-iditol, L-iditol, L-mannitol, D-mannitol, galactitol, or a mixture thereof, JP ‘753 teaches that the saturated aliphatic alcohols having 10 or fewer carbon atoms and a hydroxyl group as a substituent of chemical formulas (5), (6) and (7) are suitable forms of compounds that are similar to the compound of sorbitol where a prima facie case of obviousness may be made to use the saturated aliphatic alcohols of chemical formulas (5), (6) and (7) because they have very close structural similarities and similar utilities that one having ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have been chelating agents for tin ions.
See MPEP § 2144.08 and § 2144.09.
Regarding claim 5, Tatsumi teaches wherein the content of the tin complexing agent (C) is 1 g/L to 2.5 g/L (= an amount to be added of the complexing agent for tin in the tin alloy plating solution of the present embodiment is generally in the range of 0.001 mol or more and 10 mol or less) [page 4, [0045]].
Regarding claim 6, Tatsumi teaches wherein concentration of divalent tin ions (Sn2+) in the tin alloy plating solution is 40 g/L or more (= a content of the soluble tin salt in the tin alloy plating solution of the present embodiment is preferably in the range of 5 g/L or more and 200 g/L or less) [page 3, [0032]].
Regarding claim 7, Tatsumi teaches wherein concentration of tetravalent tin ions (Sn4+) in the tin alloy plating solution is 5 g/L or less (= 0 g/L = a soluble tin salt used in the tin alloy plating solution of the present embodiment is a salt that forms divalent tin ions by dissolving in water) [pages 2-3, [0031]].
Regarding claim 8, Tatsumi teaches wherein concentration of tetravalent tin ions (Sn4+)
in the tin alloy plating solution is 2 g/L or less (= 0 g/L = a soluble tin salt used in the tin
alloy plating solution of the present embodiment is a salt that forms divalent tin ions by dissolving in water) [pages 2-3, [0031]].
Regarding 9, Tatsumi teaches wherein the metal nobler than tin is silver or copper (= examples of the metal nobler than tin include at least one kind or two or more kinds of metals selected from silver, copper, gold and bismuth) [page 3, [0033]].
Regarding claim 10, Tatsumi teaches wherein the free acid (D) comprises methane sulfonic acid (= methanesulfonic acid as a free acid) [page 5, [0052]].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of the claims have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejections of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Citations
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Woodrow, III et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0010774 A1) is cited to teach
Without being bound to a particular theory, it is believed that the d,l-tartaric acid serves to complex the germanium ions and probably the tin ions in solution. In theory, two metals
with different electromotive potentials cannot be practically plated at the same time. This limitation is usually overcome by chemically complexing one or both metals, which effectively brings their electromotive potentials closer together and allows them both to be plated/deposited at the same time. Other complexing agents that may work for the tin and germanium system include without limitation, citric acid, succinic acid, aspartic acid, EDTA, mannitol, or any organic compound with carboxylic acid groups, or other groups capable of complexing metal ions in solution, etc. (page 3, [0030]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this
Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is
reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/EDNA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795