DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 9-13, and 17-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,272,153. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would not be possible to put the claimed invention into practice without infringing on the issued patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schmidt et al. (2020/0156630).
Regarding claim 1: Schmidt discloses a vehicle comprising:
a sensor (Paragraph 0047);
one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions executable by the one or more processors, wherein the instructions (Paragraph 0046), when executed, cause the vehicle to perform operations comprising:
determining, based at least in part on sensor data received from the sensor, that an object intersects a planned path of the vehicle (Fig. 2 and 3, Paragraph 0047-0058);
determining a distance of the object from a plane in an environment (Fig. 2 and 3, Paragraph 0047-0058);
determining, based at least in part on the distance of the object from the plane, a location at which a component on the vehicle is likely to contact the object (Fig. 2 and 3, Paragraph 0047-0058); and
controlling operations of the vehicle based at least in part on the location (Fig. 2 and 3, Paragraph 0047-0058).
Regarding claims 2 and 10: Schmidt discloses wherein the object comprises a dynamic object or a static object (Paragraph 0058).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 18: Schmidt discloses wherein the plane is a ground surface, and the distance of the object comprises a minimum distance of the object from the ground surface or a maximum distance of the object from the ground surface (Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 8 and 16: Schmidt discloses wherein the object comprises a pothole, a tree, a rock, a parked vehicle, or a pedestrian (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 9: Schmidt discloses a method comprising: determining, based at least in part on sensor data received from a sensor associated with a vehicle, that an object intersects a planned path of the vehicle; determining a distance of the object from a plane (Paragraph 0047-0058);
determining, based at least in part on the distance of the object from the plane, a location at which a component on the vehicle is likely to contact the object; and controlling operations of the vehicle based at least in part on the location (Paragraph 0047-0058, wherein the vehicle component is a load of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 17: Schmidt discloses one or more computer readable media storing executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform acts comprising: determining, based at least in part on sensor data received from a sensor associated with a vehicle, that an object intersects a planned path of the vehicle (Fig. 2 and 3, Paragraph 0047-0058);
determining a distance of the object from a plane; determining, based at least in part on the distance of the object from the plane, a location at which a component on the vehicle is likely to contact the object; and controlling operations of the vehicle based at least in part on the location (Fig. 2 and 3, Paragraph 0047-0058).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 14, 15, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D LANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667