DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the in claim 7, wherein the load-handling device is mounted on a rotating device adapted to be rotated between a fixedly predetermined first rotational position in which a stored item is transferred to the load-handling device for storage or in which a stored item is discharged from the load-handling device for retrieval, in which a stored item is adapted to be transferred to the load- handling device for storage or in which a stored item is discharged from the load- handling device for retrieval, and a second rotational position corresponding to the angle (α), in which the load-handling device introduces a stored item into one of the storage locations or discharges the stored item from one of the storage locations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “102 in fig. 2” has been used to designate both a chassis and four wheels, “202 in fig.1” has been used to designate both a rack/racks and a shelf /shelves, “206 in fig.1” has been used to designate both a rack aisle and a shelf aisle. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 14-15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a conveying device comprising: a chassis with a drive unit that is set up to move the conveying device in and against a direction of travel along storage locations at least in sections substantially parallel to or along a horizontal plane; and at least one load-handling device, which is set up to bring a stored item into one of the storage locations or to remove the stored item from one of the storage locations, wherein the load-handling device is set up to introduce the stored goods…”
In claim 1, “the stored goods” should read as “the stored item” to maintain the consistency in language.
Claim 14 recites “wherein at least one transfer zone is provided, which extends through at least one of the shelves…”
Claim 15 recites “a receiving area serving for storage is provided on a side of a first shelf facing away from the shelf aisle, and wherein a dispensing area serving for retrieval is provided on a side of a second shelf facing away from the shelf aisle, and wherein the first shelf and the second shelf are arranged on both sides of the shelf aisle and form the shelf aisle between them.”
However, in claim 11 recites at least one rack that comprises at least two storage locations; and a rack aisle that extends at least in sections along the rack and in which at least one conveying device according to claim 1 is arranged and formed as a stacker crane. Applicant uses racks—shelves, and rack aisle—shelf aisle interchangeably, see above set forth objection to the drawings. This has been identified as an inconsistency in language.
In claim 14, “the shelves” should read as “the racks”, and in claim 15, ‘a first shelf” should read as “a first rack”, “a second shelf” should read as “a second rack”, and “the shelf aisle” should read as “the rack aisle” to maintain the consistency in language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3872004 A1 (hereinafter: Swelog).
Regarding claim 1, Swelog teaches a conveying device (20 in fig. 2) comprising: a chassis (26 in fig. 2) with a drive unit (55 in fig. 2, ¶0019) that is set up to move the conveying device in and against a direction of travel along storage locations at least in sections substantially parallel to or along a horizontal plane (it can be seen in fig. 2); and at least one load-handling device (34 in fig. 2), which is set up to bring a stored item into one of the storage locations or to remove the stored item from one of the storage locations (it can be seen in fig. 2, 7 and 9, ¶0014), wherein the load-handling device (34 and 42 in fig. 9) is set up to introduce the stored goods into one of the storage locations substantially parallel to or(it can be seen in fig. 9), and (The strikethrough limitations are written as an alternative with OR, which are not required to be taught by Swelog).
Regarding claim 11, Swelog teaches a rack storage system (Fig. 1, ¶0001) comprising: at least one rack (16 in fig. 1) that comprises at least two storage locations (14 in fig. 1); and a rack aisle (18 in fig.1) that extends at least in sections along the rack and in which at least one conveying device (20 in fig. 1) according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1) is arranged and formed as a stacker crane (it can be seen in fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3872004 A1 (hereinafter: Swelog) in view of another embodiment of US 20190210800 A1 (Holas et al., hereinafter: Holas).
Regarding claim 1, Swelog teaches a conveying device (20 in fig. 2) comprising: a chassis (26 in fig. 2) with a drive unit (55 in fig. 2, ¶0019) that is set up to move the conveying device in and against a direction of travel along storage locations at least in sections substantially parallel to or along a horizontal plane (it can be seen in fig. 2); and at least one load-handling device (34 in fig. 2), which is set up to bring a stored item into one of the storage locations or to remove the stored item from one of the storage locations (it can be seen in fig. 2, 7 and 9, ¶0014 wherein the load-handling device (34 and 42 in fig. 9) is set up to introduce the stored goods into one of the storage locations substantially parallel to or(it can be seen in fig. 9), and
Swelog does not explicitly teach or along the horizontal plane at an angle (α) with respect to the direction of travel or to discharge them from one of the storage locations, and wherein the angle (α) differs from a 90-degree angle.
Holas (another embodiment of ¶0025, ¶0026) teaches or along the horizontal plane at an angle (α) with respect to the direction of travel or to discharge them from one of the storage locations (¶0025, teaches the storage direction has an angle with regard to the travel direction of the load reception means other than 90 degrees), and wherein the angle (α) differs from a 90-degree angle (¶0025 teaches the storage bars or storage locations can, for example, be arranged at 75 degrees with regard to the travel direction. And ¶0026 teaches, the articles are stored in shelves directly on pallets or trays).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Swelog by incorporating or along the horizontal plane at an angle (α) with respect to the direction of travel or to discharge them from one of the storage locations, and wherein the angle (α) differs from a 90-degree angle in view of Holas in order to fit the longer items in narrow storage locations.
Regarding claim 2, a combination of Swelog and Holas teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Swelog does not explicitly teach wherein the angle is from 45 degrees to 80 degrees, from 60 degrees to 75 degrees, or about 70 degrees.
Holas (another embodiment of ¶0025, ¶0026) teaches wherein the angle is from 45 degrees to 80 degrees, from 60 degrees to 75 degrees, or about 70 degrees (¶0025 teaches the storage bars or storage locations can, for example, be arranged at 75 degrees with regard to the travel direction. And ¶0026 teaches, the articles are stored in shelves directly on pallets or trays. 75 degrees is about 70, see MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Swelog by incorporating wherein the angle is from 45 degrees to 80 degrees, from 60 degrees to 75 degrees, or about 70 degrees in view of Holas in order to fit the longer items in narrow storage locations.
Regarding claim 7, a combination of Swelog and Holas teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Swelog also teaches wherein the load-handling device (34 in Fig. 2) is mounted on a rotating device (42 in fig. 2) adapted to be rotated between a fixedly predetermined first rotational position (position shown in fig. 9) in which a stored item is transferred to the load-handling device for storage (¶0012, page 4, lines 7-9) or in which a stored item (14 in fig. 2) is discharged from the load-handling device for retrieval, in which a stored item is adapted to be transferred to the load- handling device for storage or in which a stored item is discharged from the load- handling device for retrieval (it can be seen in fig. 9 and 10 and see ¶0012, page 4, lines 7-9) and a second rotational position (position shown in fig. 10) corresponding to the angle (a) (see in fig. 10 it is in different angle), in which the load-handling device introduces a stored item into one of the storage locations or discharges the stored item from one of the storage locations (see ¶0033, page 11 lines 2-4).
Swelog teaches rotation angle is 90 degrees. Swelog’s storage and transfer locations are 90 degrees from each other (Since, claim 1 requires the angle (α) differs from a 90-degree angle).
However, Holas (another embodiment) teaches in ¶0025 the storage bars or storage locations can be arranged at 75 degrees (the angle differs from 90 degree) with regard to the travel direction. Furthermore, in ¶0026 the articles are stored in shelves directly on pallets or trays. This exemplary embodiment also comprises rotating the palette or tray during the transfer procedure.
For combining and motivational purpose see rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, a combination of Swelog and Holas teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Swelog does not explicitly teach wherein the load-handling device is mounted in a rotationally fixed manner at the angle (a) with respect to the direction of travel.
Holas teaches wherein the load-handling device is mounted in a rotationally fixed manner at the angle (α) with respect to the direction of travel (¶0025, the storage direction has an angle with regard to the travel direction of the load reception means can be arranged at 75 degrees and ¶0026 the articles are stored in shelves directly on pallets or trays which interests as the load handling device is mounted in a rotationally fixed at the angle (α), specially ¶0026 teaches also comprises rotating the palette or tray during the transfer procedure means not required to have rotational. It is obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art to modify storage location or shelves of Swelog at 75 degree and to modify the rail 52 of turn table 42 of the conveyance device to match the storage location in order to achieve transfer of the goods directly without requiring any kind of rotation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Swelog by incorporating wherein the load-handling device is mounted in a rotationally fixed manner at the angle (α) with respect to the direction of travel in view of Holas in order to fit the longer items in narrow storage locations.
Regarding claim 9, a combination of Swelog and Holas teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Swelog also teaches wherein a lifting unit (36 in fig. 15) is provided, which is adjustable vertically with respect to the direction of travel in and against a lifting direction (¶0016, page 6 lines 17-18, the goods elevator 36 moves up and down in front of a row in the rack, and ¶0029, page 9 lines 40-43, The elevator endless belts 47 supports the lift cage 40 and the rotating support 42, and are operated to move the lift cage 40 and the rotating support 42 up and down to different vertical positions) wherein the load-handling device (34 and 42) is receivable by the lifting unit (it can be seen in fig. 15), and wherein the load-handling device (34) is set up to introduce stored goods (14) into one of the storage locations essentially vertically with respect to the lifting direction or to remove them from one of the storage locations (it can be seen in fig. 9 and 15 and see ¶0016).
Regarding claim 10, a combination of Swelog and Holas teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Swelog also teaches wherein the load-handling device (34 in fig. 9), formed as a vehicle (it can be seen in fig.9), which is set up to enter a storage channel (62 in fig. 9) of one of the storage locations (14) or to leave a storage channel (62) of one of the storage locations (it can be seen in fig. 9, ¶0020, page 7, lines 30-32).
Regarding claim 11, Swelog teaches a rack storage system (Fig. 1, ¶0001) comprising: at least one rack (16 in fig. 1) that comprises at least two storage locations (14 in fig. 1); and a rack aisle (18 in fig.1) that extends at least in sections along the rack and in which at least one conveying device (20 in fig. 1) according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1) is arranged and formed as a stacker crane (it can be seen in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, a combination of Swelog and Holas teaches all the limitations of claim 11. Swelog also teaches wherein the storage locations (14 in fig. 9) are designed such that a load-handling device (34 and 42 in fig. 9) enters them in alignment or leaves them in alignment (it can be seen in fig. 9).
Regarding claim 13, a combination of Swelog and Holas teaches all the limitations of claim 11. Swelog does not explicitly teach wherein the storage locations essentially span a parallelogram as seen in a direction of fall, which differs from a rectangle.
Holas teaches wherein the storage locations essentially span a parallelogram as seen in a direction of fall, which differs from a rectangle (see ¶0025, teaches the storage locations can be arranged at 75 degrees, that can span a parallelogram as seen in a direction of fall, which differs from a rectangle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Swelog by incorporating wherein the storage locations essentially span a parallelogram as seen in a direction of fall, which differs from a rectangle in view of another embodiment of Holas in order to fit the longer items in narrow storage locations.
Regarding claim 14, a combination of Swelog and Holas teaches all the limitations of claim 11. Swelog also teaches wherein at least one transfer zone (22 in fig. 1) is provided, which extends through at least one of the shelves (it can be seen in fig. 1) in order to transfer a stored item (14, in fig.1) to be stored to the conveying device (20 in fig. 1) for storage or to output a stored item to be retrieved from the conveying device for retrieval (it can be seen in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, a combination of Swelog and Holas teaches all the limitations of claim 11. Swelog also teaches wherein a receiving area serving for storage is provided on a side of a first shelf (see attached annotated fig.1) facing away from the shelf aisle (18), and wherein a dispensing area (86 in fig. 12) serving for retrieval is provided on a side of a second shelf facing (see attached annotated fig.1) away from the shelf aisle (18), and wherein the first shelf and the second shelf are arranged on both sides of the shelf aisle (it can be seen in fig. 1) and form the shelf aisle between them (it can be seen in fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other cited references show conveyance device and a rack storage system. Especially, US 20080075567 A1 (Rosa) teaches the claimed subject matter of claim 13 and 14 (see fig. 1 element 15). US 2598750 A (H.J. Bargehr) teaches claim subject matter of claim 13 and 7 (see, column 7 lines 46-75, and Fig. 14 top view shows the storage locations essentially span a parallelogram as seen in a direction of fall, which is not a rectangle).
/JAIMIN G PATEL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652