DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 3/5/2025. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the slot formed within said base portion (see claims 15 and 18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in order to improve the clarity of the claim(s), “projecting from said first and second ends are first and second biasing arms for integrally coupling said first member with said undulating surface and said second member to said undulating surface” in lines 5-7 of the claim should be amended to recite ---projecting from said first and second ends are first and second biasing arms for integrally coupling said first member with said undulating surface and said second member to said undulating surface, respectively---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3, 9 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: in order to maintain consistency and clarity throughout the claim(s), all recitations of “said assembly” should be amended to recite ---said protective mouth assembly---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6, 12 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: in order to maintain consistency and clarity throughout the claim(s), all recitations of “said inner portion” should be amended to recite ---said inner portion arrangement---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: in order to improve the clarity of the claim(s), “the biasing arm for integrally coupling said first member with said connecting portion surface and said second member to said connecting portion surface” in lines 6-7 of the claim should be amended to recite ---the biasing arms for integrally coupling said first member with said connecting portion surface and said second member to said connecting portion surface, respectively---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: in order to improve the clarity of the claim(s), “said biasing arm comprises” in line 1 of the claim should be amended to recite ---said biasing arms comprise---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 10, 12, 14 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: in order to maintain consistency and clarity throughout the claim(s), all recitations of “space from an inner portion arrangement” should be amended to recite ---spaced from an inner portion arrangement---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: in order to correct a grammatical/typographical error, “a slot in within” in line 2 of the claim should be amended to recite ---a slot within---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 20 is not structured as a sentence concluding with a period, as required. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 18 is identical to claim 15, upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dorfman et al. (US 2006/0069316 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Dorfman et al. teaches in Figures 1-7 and 9 a first member (side channel retainer 14) spaced from (as shown in Figures 5 and 9, the two side channel retainers 12, 14 are spaced apart from one another) a second member (side channel retainer 11), the first and second members (two side channel retainers 12, 14) being coupled and spaced by (as shown in Figure 5; [0073] teaches “a plurality of resilient members 20 are incorporated in the lip retracting device 10 to interconnect the four channel retainers 12, 14, 16, 18 together”) a connecting member (top two resilient members 20 and channel retainer 16); said connecting member (top two resilient members 20 and channel retainer 16) having a first end (left end of channel retainer 16) and a second end (right end of channel retainer 16) spaced by (as shown in Figures 1 and 3) an undulating surface (inside side wall 44a of right end of channel retainer 16; shown in Figures 1 and 3 to have an undulating surface at the frenum release 48), projecting from (as shown in Figure 3) said first (left end of channel retainer 16) and second (right end of channel retainer 16) ends are first and second biasing arms (top two resilient members 20; [0073] teaches that the plurality of resilient members 20 “function as biasing means”) for integrally coupling (as shown in Figure 3; Figure 3 teaches all parts of the lip retracting device 10 being connected to form a single, integral unit; [0080] teaches “a lip retracting device, such as presently shown as 10, may be made by injection molding or casting a thermoplastic material”) said first member (side channel retainer 14) with (as shown in Figure 3) said undulating surface (inside side wall 44a of right end of channel retainer 16; shown in Figures 1 and 3 to have an undulating surface at the frenum release 48) and said second member (side channel retainer 11) to (as shown in Figure 3) said undulating surface (inside side wall 44a of right end of channel retainer 16; shown in Figures 1 and 3 to have an undulating surface at the frenum release 48).
In regards to claim 2, Dorfman et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Dorfman et al. teaches in Figure 3 that said first and second biasing arms (top two resilient members 20) comprise a radial cross section (as shown in Figure 3, the top two resilient members 20 project radially outward such that they each have a radial cross section) and a plurality of curvatures (Figure 3 shows each of the top two resilient members 20 having an interior surface having a curvature and an exterior surface having another curvature).
In regards to claim 3, Dorfman et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Dorfman et al. teaches in Figure 3 and [0080] that said assembly (lip retracting device 10) is unitarily and integrally formed (Figure 3 teaches all parts of the lip retracting device 10 being connected to form a single, integral unit; [0080] teaches “a lip retracting device, such as presently shown as 10, may be made by injection molding or casting a thermoplastic material”) from a single polymeric material ([0080] teaches “a lip retracting device, such as presently shown as 10, may be made by injection molding or casting a thermoplastic material such as polypropylene, polyethylene, polystyrene, polyester, polycarbonate or the like”).
In regards to claim 4, Dorfman et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Dorfman et al. teaches in Figures 4 and 9 and [0076] that said first and second members (two side channel retainers 12, 14) comprise ([0076] teaches “the side channel retainers 12, 14 resemble a curvilinear c-channel in that they include an arcuate race 26 and two channel side walls 28a, 28b”) an outer portion arrangement (outside side surface 28b) coupled to and spaced from (as shown in Figure 4) an inner portion arrangement (inside side wall 28a) by a base portion (arcuate race 26) to form a cavity therein (as shown in Figure 4).
In regards to claim 5, Dorfman et al. teaches the apparatus of claims 1 and 4. Dorfman et al. teaches in Figure 4 that said cavity further comprises a converging diverging cavity that is formed by (as shown in Figure 4, the cavity formed between inside side wall 28a and outside side surface 28b narrows, or converges, in the direction toward arcuate race 26 and widens, or diverges, in the direction away from arcuate race 26) said inner portion arrangement (inside side wall 28a) and said outer portion arrangement (outside side surface 28b).
In regards to claim 7, Dorfman et al. teaches in Figures 1-7 and 9 a first member (side channel retainer 14) spaced from (as shown in Figures 5 and 9, the two side channel retainers 12, 14 are spaced apart from one another) a second member (side channel retainer 11), the first and second members (two side channel retainers 12, 14) being coupled and spaced by (as shown in Figure 5; [0073] teaches “a plurality of resilient members 20 are incorporated in the lip retracting device 10 to interconnect the four channel retainers 12, 14, 16, 18 together”) a connecting member (top two resilient members 20 and channel retainer 16); said connecting member (top two resilient members 20 and channel retainer 16) having a first end (left end of channel retainer 16) and a second end (right end of channel retainer 16) spaced by (as shown in Figures 1 and 3) a connecting portion surface (surface of length of channel retainer 16), projecting from (as shown in Figure 3) said first (left end of channel retainer 16) and second (right end of channel retainer 16) ends is a biasing arm (top two resilient members 20; [0073] teaches that the plurality of resilient members 20 “function as biasing means”) having a plurality of curvatures (Figure 3 shows each of the top two resilient members 20 having an interior surface having a curvature and an exterior surface having another curvature), the biasing arm (top two resilient members 20) for integrally coupling (as shown in Figure 3; Figure 3 teaches all parts of the lip retracting device 10 being connected to form a single, integral unit; [0080] teaches “a lip retracting device, such as presently shown as 10, may be made by injection molding or casting a thermoplastic material”) said first member (side channel retainer 14) with said connecting portion surface (surface of length of channel retainer 16) and said second member (side channel retainer 11) to said connecting portion surface (surface of length of channel retainer 16).
In regards to claim 8, Dorfman et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 7. Dorfman et al. teaches in Figure 3 that said biasing arm (top two resilient members 20) comprises a radial cross section (as shown in Figure 3, the top two resilient members 20 project radially outward such that they each have a radial cross section).
In regards to claim 9, Dorfman et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 7. Dorfman et al. teaches in Figure 3 and [0080] that said assembly (lip retracting device 10) is unitarily and integrally formed (Figure 3 teaches all parts of the lip retracting device 10 being connected to form a single, integral unit; [0080] teaches “a lip retracting device, such as presently shown as 10, may be made by injection molding or casting a thermoplastic material”) from a single polymeric material ([0080] teaches “a lip retracting device, such as presently shown as 10, may be made by injection molding or casting a thermoplastic material such as polypropylene, polyethylene, polystyrene, polyester, polycarbonate or the like”).
In regards to claim 10, Dorfman et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 7. Dorfman et al. teaches in Figures 4 and 9 and [0076] that said first and second members (two side channel retainers 12, 14) comprise ([0076] teaches “the side channel retainers 12, 14 resemble a curvilinear c-channel in that they include an arcuate race 26 and two channel side walls 28a, 28b”) an outer portion arrangement (outside side surface 28b) coupled to and spaced from (as shown in Figure 4) an inner portion arrangement (inside side wall 28a) by a base portion (arcuate race 26) to form a cavity therein (as shown in Figure 4).
In regards to claim 11, Dorfman et al. teaches the apparatus of claims 7 and 10. Dorfman et al. teaches in Figure 4 that said cavity further comprises a converging diverging cavity that is formed by (as shown in Figure 4, the cavity formed between inside side wall 28a and outside side surface 28b narrows, or converges, in the direction toward arcuate race 26 and widens, or diverges, in the direction away from arcuate race 26) said inner portion arrangement (inside side wall 28a) and said outer portion arrangement (outside side surface 28b).
In regards to claim 16, Dorfman et al. teaches in Figures 1-7 and 9 a polymeric member (side channel retainer 12; [0080] teaches “a lip retracting device, such as presently shown as 10 [which includes side channel retainer 12, as taught in [0071]], may be made by injection molding or casting a thermoplastic material such as polypropylene, polyethylene, polystyrene, polyester, polycarbonate or the like”) for straddling a lip surface of a patient during use (as shown in Figure 9; [0071] teaches “four spaced apart channel retainers 12, 14, 16, 18, also known as flanges, for retaining four corresponding portions of the lips”), the polymeric member (side channel retainer 12) comprising an outer portion arrangement (outside side surface 28b) coupled to and space from (as shown in Figure 4) an inner portion arrangement (inside side wall 28a) by a base portion (arcuate race 26) to form a cavity therein (as shown in Figure 4); a continuous surface forming (Figure 3 teaches the inside side wall 28a being structured as a continuous, unbroken surface) said inner portion arrangement (inside side wall 28a) such that upon engagement by a medical device during use results in a change of an inner angle of a channel formed by said cavity ([0143] teaches that the materials forming the lip retracting device are “flexible;” thus, the inside side wall 28a is capable of flexing upon engagement by a medical device during use such that the inner angle of a channel formed by said cavity is modified).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 12-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorfman et al. (US 2006/0069316 A1) in view of DIEZ (US 2025/0000503 A1).
In regards to claim 6, Dorfman et al. teaches the apparatus of claims 1 and 4. Dorfman et al. does not teach that said inner portion further comprises a slot to form two flexible flaps contiguous to said slot.
However, DIEZ teaches in Figure 1 and [00357] an analogous device wherein said portion (individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 and elongated band 44; [0037] teaches “the individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 each have an elongated band 44”) further comprises a slot (slot positioned between two adjacent humps 46, shown in Figure 1) to form two flexible ([0037] teaches “humps 46 are arranged directed outwardly along the bands 44 that can be bent in relation to the bands”) flaps (two adjacent humps 46, shown in Figure 1) contiguous to (as shown in Figure 1) said slot (slot positioned between two adjacent humps 46, shown in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the inner portion of Dorfman et al. to further comprise a slot to form two flexible flaps contiguous to said slot as taught by DIEZ because this element is known to enable the inner portion to “be bent” “in order to be brought into optimal engagement with the tissue,” as DIEZ teaches in [0037].
In regards to claim 12, Dorfman et al. teaches the apparatus of claims 7 and 10. Dorfman et al. does not teach that said inner portion further comprises a slot to form two flexible flaps contiguous to said slot.
However, DIEZ teaches in Figure 1 and [00357] an analogous device wherein said portion (individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 and elongated band 44; [0037] teaches “the individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 each have an elongated band 44”) further comprises a slot (slot positioned between two adjacent humps 46, shown in Figure 1) to form two flexible ([0037] teaches “humps 46 are arranged directed outwardly along the bands 44 that can be bent in relation to the bands”) flaps (two adjacent humps 46, shown in Figure 1) contiguous to (as shown in Figure 1) said slot (slot positioned between two adjacent humps 46, shown in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the inner portion of Dorfman et al. to further comprise a slot to form two flexible flaps contiguous to said slot as taught by DIEZ because this element is known to enable the inner portion to “be bent” “in order to be brought into optimal engagement with the tissue,” as DIEZ teaches in [0037].
In regards to claim 13, Dorfman et al. teaches in Figures 1-7 and 9 a polymeric member (side channel retainer 12; [0080] teaches “a lip retracting device, such as presently shown as 10 [which includes side channel retainer 12, as taught in [0071]], may be made by injection molding or casting a thermoplastic material such as polypropylene, polyethylene, polystyrene, polyester, polycarbonate or the like”) for straddling a lip surface of a patient during use (as shown in Figure 9; [0071] teaches “four spaced apart channel retainers 12, 14, 16, 18, also known as flanges, for retaining four corresponding portions of the lips”), the polymeric member (side channel retainer 12) comprising an outer portion arrangement (outside side surface 28b) coupled to and space from (as shown in Figure 4) an inner portion arrangement (inside side wall 28a) by a base portion (arcuate race 26) to form a cavity therein (as shown in Figure 4); wherein said cavity further comprises a converging diverging cavity that is formed by (as shown in Figure 4, the cavity formed between inside side wall 28a and outside side surface 28b narrows, or converges, in the direction toward arcuate race 26 and widens, or diverges, in the direction away from arcuate race 26) said inner portion arrangement (inside side wall 28a) and said outer portion arrangement (outside side surface 28b).
Dorfman et al. does not teach that a slot formed within the surface of said inner portion arrangement to form two flexible and independently movable flaps.
However, DIEZ teaches in Figure 1 and [00357] an analogous device with a slot (slot positioned between two adjacent humps 46, shown in Figure 1) formed within the surface of (as shown in Figure 1) said portion arrangement (individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 and elongated band 44; [0037] teaches “the individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 each have an elongated band 44”) to form two flexible and independently movable ([0037] teaches “humps 46 are arranged directed outwardly along the bands 44 that can be bent in relation to the bands”) flaps (two adjacent humps 46, shown in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the inner portion arrangement of Dorfman et al. to include a slot formed within the surface of said inner portion arrangement to form two flexible and independently movable flaps as taught by DIEZ because this element is known to enable the inner portion to “be bent” “in order to be brought into optimal engagement with the tissue,” as DIEZ teaches in [0037].
In regards to claim 14, Dorfman et al. teaches in Figures 1-7 and 9 a polymeric member (side channel retainer 12; [0080] teaches “a lip retracting device, such as presently shown as 10 [which includes side channel retainer 12, as taught in [0071]], may be made by injection molding or casting a thermoplastic material such as polypropylene, polyethylene, polystyrene, polyester, polycarbonate or the like”) for straddling a lip surface of a patient during use (as shown in Figure 9; [0071] teaches “four spaced apart channel retainers 12, 14, 16, 18, also known as flanges, for retaining four corresponding portions of the lips”), the polymeric member (side channel retainer 12) comprising an outer portion arrangement (outside side surface 28b) coupled to and space from (as shown in Figure 4) an inner portion arrangement (inside side wall 28a) by a base portion (arcuate race 26) to form a cavity therein (as shown in Figure 4).
Dorfman et al. does not teach that a slot formed within said inner portion arrangement forming two flexible and independently movable flaps.
However, DIEZ teaches in Figure 1 and [00357] an analogous device with a slot (slot positioned between two adjacent humps 46, shown in Figure 1) formed within (as shown in Figure 1) said portion arrangement (individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 and elongated band 44; [0037] teaches “the individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 each have an elongated band 44”) forming two flexible and independently movable ([0037] teaches “humps 46 are arranged directed outwardly along the bands 44 that can be bent in relation to the bands”) flaps (two adjacent humps 46, shown in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the inner portion arrangement of Dorfman et al. to include a slot formed within said inner portion arrangement forming two flexible and independently movable flaps as taught by DIEZ because this element is known to enable the inner portion to “be bent” “in order to be brought into optimal engagement with the tissue,” as DIEZ teaches in [0037].
In regards to claim 17, Dorfman et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Dorfman et al. does not teach that said continuous surface is discontinuous by an addition of a slot in within said inner portion forming first and second flexible flaps in the inner portion spaced by said slot.
However, DIEZ teaches in Figure 1 and [00357] an analogous device wherein said continuous surface (individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 and elongated band 44; [0037] teaches “the individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 each have an elongated band 44”) is discontinuous (as shown in Figure 1) by an addition of a slot (slot positioned between two adjacent humps 46, shown in Figure 1) in within (as shown in Figure 1) said inner portion (individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 and elongated band 44; [0037] teaches “the individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 each have an elongated band 44”) forming first and second flexible ([0037] teaches “humps 46 are arranged directed outwardly along the bands 44 that can be bent in relation to the bands”) flaps (two adjacent humps 46, shown in Figure 1) in the inner portion (individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 and elongated band 44; [0037] teaches “the individual segments 12, 14, 16, 18 each have an elongated band 44”) spaced by (as shown in Figure 1) said slot (slot positioned between two adjacent humps 46, shown in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the continuous surface of Dorfman et al. such that that said continuous surface is discontinuous by an addition of a slot in within said inner portion forming first and second flexible flaps in the inner portion spaced by said slot as taught by DIEZ because this element is known to enable the inner portion to “be bent” “in order to be brought into optimal engagement with the tissue,” as DIEZ teaches in [0037].
Claim(s) 15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorfman et al. (US 2006/0069316 A1), in view of DIEZ (US 2025/0000503 A1) and further in view of HOLTON (US 2022/0346764 A1).
In regards to claims 15 and 18, Dorfman et al. and DIEZ teach the apparatus of claim 14. Dorfman et al. and DIEZ do not teach that said slot is formed within said base portion.
However, HOLTON teaches in Figures 1-4A an analogous device wherein said slot (slot positioned between two adjacent finger hooks or prongs 120) is formed within (as shown in Figure 4A) said base portion (bend 122).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the slot of Dorfman et al. as modified by DIEZ to be formed within said base portion as taught by HOLTON because this element is known to “effectively grasp tissue within soft tissue space 124 while minimizing damage to the tissue contained therein,” as HOLTON teaches in [0037].
In regards to claim 19, Dorfman et al. and DIEZ teach the apparatus of claims 14 and 15. Dorfman et al. teaches in Figure 4 that said cavity further comprises a converging diverging cavity that is formed by (as shown in Figure 4, the cavity formed between inside side wall 28a and outside side surface 28b narrows, or converges, in the direction toward arcuate race 26 and widens, or diverges, in the direction away from arcuate race 26) said inner portion arrangement (inside side wall 28a) and said outer portion arrangement (outside side surface 28b).
In regards to claim 20, Dorfman et al. and DIEZ teach the apparatus of claims 14 and 15. Dorfman et al. teaches in Figure 3 and [0080] that said assembly (lip retracting device 10) is unitarily and integrally formed (Figure 3 teaches all parts of the lip retracting device 10 being connected to form a single, integral unit; [0080] teaches “a lip retracting device, such as presently shown as 10, may be made by injection molding or casting a thermoplastic material”) from a single polymeric material ([0080] teaches “a lip retracting device, such as presently shown as 10, may be made by injection molding or casting a thermoplastic material such as polypropylene, polyethylene, polystyrene, polyester, polycarbonate or the like”).
Conclusion
/VICTORIA HICKS FISHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 2/3/2026