DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10 line 4 the word “amorphas” should be spelled “amorphous.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0184100 to Matsushita et al. (hereinafter Matsushita; cited by Applicant on 3/5/2025) in view of Japanese Patent No. 2017-099208 to Ono et al. (hereinafter Ono; provided by Applicant on 3/5/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Matsushita teaches an electret (FIG. 1, 1) comprising:
a substrate (FIG. 1, 10); and
an electret layer (FIG. 1; 11, 2, 3) formed on a surface of the substrate, wherein
the electret layer is an inorganic dielectric layer (Paragraph [0027]) that has been electrically charged (Paragraph [0034]), the inorganic dielectric layer including an outer layer (FIG. 1, 2) and an inner layer (FIG. 1; 11, 3) that are stacked in a thickness direction of the substrate,
the outer layer contains a first inorganic dielectric material as a main component, the first inorganic dielectric material being a composite metal compound including different metal elements and having a bandgap energy of 3 eV or more, at least one of the different metal elements being a trivalent metal element (Paragraph [0025]), and
the inner layer contains a second inorganic dielectric material as a component (FIG. 1, 11; Paragraph [0039]), the second inorganic dielectric material being different from the first inorganic dielectric material (Paragraph [0025]; [0039]).
Matsushita does not teach a second inorganic dielectric material being a main component of the inner layer.
However, Ono teaches an inner layer (FIG. 1, 2) of an electret (FIG. 1, 100) being made primarily of an inorganic dielectric material (Paragraph [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electret of Matsushita with the teachings of Ono to compose the inner layer primarily of an inorganic dielectric material to make the electret simpler to fabricate and less costly to produce.
Regarding claim 2, Matsushita in view of Ono teaches the electret according to claim 1, wherein Matsushita further teaches the first inorganic dielectric material has a basic composition of a composite oxide (Paragraph [0025]) including a metal element A and a metal element B as the different metal elements (Paragraph [0025]), the metal element A is a divalent or trivalent metal element (Paragraph [0025]: La), and the metal element B being a trivalent metal element (Paragraph [0025]: Al).
Regarding claim 3, Matsushita in view of Ono teaches the electret according to claim 2, wherein Matsushita further teaches the composite oxide being: a first composite oxide having a basic composition represented by a composition formula of ABO3 (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 4, Matsushita in view of Ono teaches the electret according to claim 3, wherein Matsushita further teaches the metal element A of the first composite oxide being at least one element selected from a group consisting of rare earth elements (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Matsushita in view of Ono teaches the electret according to claim 4, wherein Matsushita further teaches the metal element B of the first composite oxide being aluminum (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 6, Matsushita in view of Ono teaches the electret according to claim 1, wherein Matsushita in view of Ono teaches the electret according to claim 1, wherein a relative permittivity of the first inorganic dielectric material is greater than a relative permittivity of the second inorganic dielectric material (Paragraph [0025]: RAlO3 has a relative permittivity of 100 or less and SiO2 which comprises the second inorganic dielectric material in view of Ono has a relative permittivity of about 4).
Regarding claim 7, Matsushita in view of Ono teaches the electret according to claim 6, wherein Matsushita further teaches the second inorganic dielectric material is one of a silicon compound and an aluminum compound (Paragraph [0033]; FIG. 1, 11: SiO2).
Regarding claim 10, Matsushita in view of Ono teaches the electret according to claim 1, wherein Matsushita further teaches the inner layer having a layered structure (Paragraph [0033]), and the outer layer being a layer of the composite metal compound having an amorphous structure (Paragraph [0023]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita in view of Ono and in further view of WIPO Publication No. 2015/111689 to Aoyagi et al. (hereinafter Aoyagi).
Regarding claim 8, Matsushita in view of Ono teaches the electret according to claim 1.
Matsushita in view of Ono does not teach a surface potential of the electret layer having a positive correlation with a thickness of the inner layer.
However, Aoyagi teaches a surface potential of an electret layer having a positive correlation with a thickness of a layer of inorganic dielectric material in the form of SiO2 (FIG. 7; Translation Page 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Matsushita in view of Ono with the teachings of Aoyagi to vary the thickness to produce a higher or lower surface potential depending on the application of the electret.
Regarding claim 9, Matsushita in view of Ono and Aoyagi teaches the electret according to claim 8, wherein Aoyagi further teaches the thickness of the inner layer being 0.1 µm or more (FIG. 4; FIG. 7).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834