DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valentyn Serdyuk U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0075539 A1 (Serdyuk) in view of Sadik Oz U.S. Patent Publication 2006/0116251 A1 (Oz).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Serdyuk discloses a lumbar support with armrests featuring a tightness adjustment function, comprising a lumbar support body, wherein the lumbar support body comprises a backrest area (Element 9), a lumbar support protrusion area, and a hip support (Element 5) area sequentially arranged from top to bottom; and armrests (Element 8) are provided on both sides of the lumbar support body, and a strap (Element 12) is connected between the two armrests, with a tightness adjustment mechanism capable of tightness adjustment provided on the strap (Figure 2). Serdyuk does not directly disclose the strap to be elastic. Oz discloses an elastic strap provided with a seat system to support a seated user (Element 2).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Serdyuk as taught by Oz to include Oz’ elastic strap material. Such a modification would provide a means to flexibly support the user secured by the strap.
Regarding claim 2, Serdyuk in view of Oz discloses the lumbar support with armrests featuring a tightness adjustment function wherein the armrests are provided with fixing looped belts (Figure 2, [0055], Serdyuk).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 8-13, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valentyn Serdyuk U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0075539 A1 (Serdyuk) in view of Sadik Oz U.S. Patent Publication 2006/0116251 A1 (Oz) further in view of Thomas Charles Baloga et al. U.S. Patent 6,209,957 B1 (Baloga).
Regarding claim 3, Serdyuk in view of Oz discloses the lumbar support with armrests featuring a tightness adjustment function. Serdyuk in view of Oz does not directly disclose two mounting buckles. Baloga discloses a support with an adjustment function wherein the tightness adjustment mechanism comprises a tightness adjustment buckle and two mounting buckles, with hooks provided on the mounting buckles for connecting to the fixing looped belts (Figure 4-5).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Serdyuk in view of Oz as taught by Baloga to include Baloga’s mounting buckles and hooks. Such a modification would provide a means to securely fasten the strap to the user.
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Serdyuk in view of Oz in view of Baloga discloses lumbar support with armrests featuring a tightness adjustment function wherein one end of the elastic strap passes through one of the mounting buckles, and the other end passes through the tightness adjustment buckle and the other mounting buckle before passing through the tightness adjustment buckle again (Figure 4-5 Element 34 and 38, Baloga teaching); wherein both ends of the elastic strap are respectively connected to mounting buckles, a middle part of the elastic strap is provided with a tightness adjustment buckle, and the hook is configured to hook into the fixing looped belt to achieve detachable connection with the fixing looped belt (shown in Figures 4-5, Baloga).
Regarding claim 9, Serdyuk in view of Oz discloses the lumbar support with armrests featuring a tightness adjustment function wherein the elastic strap component. Serdyuk in view of Oz does not directly disclose the elastic strap component to have a quick release element. Baloga discloses a system wherein the strap component comprises quick-release connectors installed on respective armrest components and an elastic strap connected to the quick-release connectors on both sides, with a tightness adjustment mechanism capable of tightness adjustment provided on the elastic strap (Element 32); wherein the quick-release connector comprises a fixing looped belt installed on each armrest component (in view of Serdyuk).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Serdyuk in view of Oz as taught by Baloga to include Baloga’s mounting buckles and hooks with a quick release. Such a modification would provide a means to securely fasten the strap to the user.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Serdyuk in view of Oz discloses the lumbar support with armrests featuring a tightness adjustment function. Serdyuk in view of Oz does not directly disclose the elastic strap component to have a quick release element. Baloga discloses a system wherein the strap component comprises quick-release connectors installed on respective armrest components and an elastic strap connected to the quick-release connectors on both sides, with a tightness adjustment mechanism capable of tightness adjustment provided on the elastic strap (Element 32); wherein the quick-release connector comprises a fixing looped belt installed on each armrest component (in view of Serdyuk).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Serdyuk in view of Oz as taught by Baloga to include Baloga’s mounting buckles and hooks with a quick release. Such a modification would provide a means to securely fasten the strap to the user.
Regarding claim 12, Serdyuk in view of Oz in view of Baloga discloses lumbar support with armrests featuring a tightness adjustment function discloses a support with an adjustment function wherein the tightness adjustment mechanism comprises a tightness adjustment buckle and two mounting buckles, with hooks provided on the mounting buckles for connecting to the fixing looped belts (Figure 4-5, Baloga).
Regarding claim 13, Serdyuk in view of Oz discloses the lumbar support with armrests featuring a tightness adjustment function wherein the armrest components are installed in the lumbar support area, which comprises a forward protruding curved protrusion, gradually transitioning side wing support surfaces, and a deformable internal cushion layer (Figure 2, Serdyuk).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Serdyuk discloses a lumbar support with armrests featuring a tightness adjustment function, comprising a lumbar support body, wherein the lumbar support body comprises a backrest area (Element 9), a lumbar support protrusion area, and a hip support (Element 5) area sequentially arranged from top to bottom; and armrests (Element 8) are provided on both sides of the lumbar support body, and a strap (Element 12) is connected between the two armrests, with a tightness adjustment mechanism capable of tightness adjustment provided on the strap (Figure 2). Serdyuk does not directly disclose the strap to be elastic. Oz discloses an elastic strap provided with a seat system to support a seated user (Element 2).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Serdyuk as taught by Oz to include Oz’ elastic strap material. Such a modification would provide a means to flexibly support the user secured by the strap.
Serdyuk in view of Oz does not directly disclose the elastic strap component to have a quick release element. Baloga discloses a system wherein the strap component comprises quick-release connectors installed on respective armrest components and an elastic strap connected to the quick-release connectors on both sides, with a tightness adjustment mechanism capable of tightness adjustment provided on the elastic strap (Element 32); wherein the quick-release connector comprises a fixing looped belt installed on each armrest component (in view of Serdyuk).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Serdyuk in view of Oz as taught by Baloga to include Baloga’s mounting buckles and hooks with a quick release. Such a modification would provide a means to securely fasten the strap to the user.
Regarding claim 19, Serdyuk in view of Oz in view of Baloga discloses the lumbar support with armrests featuring a tightness adjustment function wherein the armrest components are installed in the lumbar support area, which comprises a forward protruding curved protrusion, gradually transitioning side wing support surfaces, and a deformable internal cushion layer (Figure 2, Serdyuk).
Claim(s) 5-7, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valentyn Serdyuk U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0075539 A1 (Serdyuk) in view of Sadik Oz U.S. Patent Publication 2006/0116251 A1 (Oz) further in view of Willis R. Battles et al. U.S. Patent 2,567,048 (Battles).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Serdyuk in view of Oz discloses lumbar support with armrests featuring a tightness adjustment function. Serdyuk in view of Oz does not directly disclose built in cylinders. Battles discloses a support system wherein the bottom of the lumbar support body is embedded with built-in cylinders, in which lifting columns are mounted; and a bottom end of the lifting column is equipped with a support plate, and the built-in cylinders are disposed on both sides of the bottom of the lumbar support body, with two built-in cylinders on each side arranged in front and rear positions (Element 92, 94, 95, 96).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Serdyuk in view of Oz as taught by Battles to include Battles’ cylinders. Such a modification would provide a means to support the system on a support surface with support feet.
Regarding claims 6, 7, 15 and 16, Serdyuk in view of Oz in view of Battles discloses lumbar support with armrests featuring a tightness adjustment function wherein both the inside of the built-in cylinder and the outside of the lifting column are provided with threads, and the built-in cylinder and the lifting column are connected by the threads; wherein the bottom of the built-in cylinder is threadedly connected with a bolt, wherein a threaded section of the bolt constitutes the lifting column, and a head of the bolt constitutes the support plate (Element 92, 94, 95, 96, Battles).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valentyn Serdyuk U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0075539 A1 (Serdyuk) in view of Sadik Oz U.S. Patent Publication 2006/0116251 A1 (Oz) in view of Baloga further in view of Willis R. Battles et al. U.S. Patent 2,567,048 (Battles).
Regarding claim 20, Serdyuk in view of Oz discloses lumbar support with armrests featuring a tightness adjustment function. Serdyuk in view of Oz does not directly disclose built in cylinders. Battles discloses a support system wherein the bottom of the lumbar support body is embedded with built-in cylinders, in which lifting columns are mounted; and a bottom end of the lifting column is equipped with a support plate, and the built-in cylinders are disposed on both sides of the bottom of the lumbar support body, with two built-in cylinders on each side arranged in front and rear positions (Element 92, 94, 95, 96); wherein both the inside of the built-in cylinder and the outside of the lifting column are provided with threads, and the built-in cylinder and the lifting column are connected by the threads; wherein the bottom of the built-in cylinder is threadedly connected with a bolt, wherein a threaded section of the bolt constitutes the lifting column, and a head of the bolt constitutes the support plate (Element 92, 94, 95, 96, Battles).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Serdyuk in view of Oz as taught by Battles to include Battles’ cylinders. Such a modification would provide a means to support the system on a support surface with support feet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHIN H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636