DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments directed to the patentability of the newly amended language are addressed by the updated reasons for rejection below.
Applicant further argues: “Sun, however, does not disclose or suggest, "computing a crosstalk quantity for the subset as an estimate of a dependency of the first unmixed signal on the at least one further signal by computing a covariance tensor, wherein the crosstalk quantity is computed from an off-diagonal element of the covariance tensor," as recited in amended claim 1.”
Examiner notes that Sun clearly describes that crosstalk quantities are off-diagonal elements of the covariance matrix. This is the same mathematical properties of the covariance matrix that are used in the Specification. See updated reasons for rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. These claims are omnibus type claims.
Claim 14 is directed to “The optical observation device according to claim 13, wherein the data processing device is in a form of an embedded system of the optical observation device.” The claim language does not appear to further limit the claimed device to comprising any particular structure. It is not clear what structural limitations are to be attributed to or excluded by the “in a form of” language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190271592 to Gray (“Gray”) in view of T. Zimmermann, “Spectral Imaging and Linear Unmixing in Light Microscopy,” Adv Biochem Engin/Biotechol, Springer-Verlag (2005) 95: 245-265 (“Zimmermann”) provided in an IDS, and in view of US 20040086174 to Sun (“Sun”).
Regarding Claim 1: “A computer-implemented method for computing an estimate of a first signal of a plurality of signals, the plurality of signals being contained in a digital color input image, each signal of the plurality of signals having a different ground truth spectrum, the digital color input image comprising a plurality of pixels; the computer-implemented method comprising: (Note that prior art applies its methodology in a similar digital imaging context and in imaging similar fluorescence subject matter having an expected “ground truth” spectrum. See Gray, Paragraphs 3-5, 81)
extracting a subset from the plurality of pixels; (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and ordinary skill in the art, a subset can be a region of one or more pixels and/or a color or spectrum range. Prior art teaches an example separated spectral subsets: “separated in emission wavelength by 50-100 nm are chosen so that their signals can be cleanly separated with emission filters.” Gray, Paragraph 4. Also note that separation can be both by pixel and color because “each color arrives at a slightly different pixel on the detector.” Gray, Paragraph 45.)
extracting from the subset by spectral unmixing: … a preliminary estimate of the first signal as a first unmixed signal, and … a preliminary estimate of at least one further signal of the plurality of signals as at least one further unmixed signal; (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and ordinary skill in the art, the preliminary estimate of an unmixed signal can be a signal having a particular color such as a recorded color, an expected color, or an expected spectrum range. According to Specification, Page 28, an estimate may be a simple spatial or spectral partition of an image signal into pixels and/or colors.
Prior art indicates that during recording pixels can be separated by pixel color as in Gray, Paragraphs 45, 47, 38, which is similar to the examples in Specification, Paragraphs 19 and 28. Also note that colors can be spatially or spectrally separated based on known properties of the target, such as known properties of fluorophores. See Gray, Paragraph 47.
While Gray does not describe this method as spectral unmixing, Zimmer confirms that this function is known in the art as spectral unmixing. See in Zimmermann, Page 253, Paragraphs 2-4 and Figs. 1 and 2. Where necessary, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to supplement the teachings of Gray to separate color pixels as part of spectral unmixing as taught in Zimmermann, in order to produce component color images that accurately represent the spectra of the target (i.e. a fluorophore) that have very little spectral crosstalk. See Gray, Paragraph 38 and Zimmermann, Page 251, last paragraph.)
computing a crosstalk quantity for the subset as an estimate of a dependency of the first unmixed signal on the at least one further signal (“To reduce spectral crosstalk, localization events associated with ssd values that fall in the border region between two adjacent peaks” corresponding to a crosstalk between two adjacent colors. Gray, Paragraphs 34, 62. Also see embodiments of more complex spatial and spectral overlap in Gray, Paragraphs 70-71 and Figs. 3A, 4A, 4C, 8.)
removing the crosstalk quantity from the first unmixed signal to obtain the estimate of the first signal for the subset.” (“To reduce spectral crosstalk, localization events associated with ssd values that fall in the border region between two adjacent peaks were discarded.” Gray, Paragraphs 34, 62 and Figs. 8-9.)
Gray does not teach computation using a tensor as in the elements below. Zimmermann teaches that spectral unmixing can be performed using linear algebra (i.e. tensor algebra) on Page 253, Paragraphs 2-4, however Zimmermann does not provide the details of such computation.
Sun teaches the details of using a covariance tensor in the context of determining correlation between images or portions of images:
by computing a covariance tensor, (“Meanwhile, the input covariances 330 are derived in FIG. 3 for the point correspondence and trifocal tensor as measures of uncertainties. In general, the covariance of the input vector … is a 31x31 matrix” which is a two dimensional tensor. See Sun, Paragraph 46. Also see embodiments of a covariance tensor as a Fisher information matrix in Sun, Paragraphs 61-63 and Fig. 4.)
wherein the crosstalk quantity is computed from an off-diagonal element of the covariance tensor; and ( “In general, the covariance of the input vector r is a 31x31 matrix (2 for (x,y), 2 for (x',y') and 27 for T). When the cross correlation between point correspondence and trifocal tensor is ignored, r can be written as a block diagonal matrix r =dlag{r",r}” Sun, Paragraph 46. This means that off-diagonal elements of this matrix are the cross correlation / crosstalk quantities and Sun computes them as part of the covariance matrix. This is the same mathematical property and the method of computing crosstalk that is described in Specification, Paragraphs 55, 49-50. So, when cross correlation / crosstalk is not ignored, as in Gray above, computing the crosstalk quantities based on this matrix is performed by using these off-diagonal elements as crosstalk quantities.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to supplement the teachings of Gray wherein the crosstalk quantity is computed from an off-diagonal element of the covariance tensor in the manner taught in Sun, in order to determine cross correlation based on the mathematical properties of the covariance matrix. Sun, Paragraph 46.
Finally, in reviewing the present application, there does not seem to be objective evidence that the claim limitations are particularly directed to: addressing a particular problem which was recognized but unsolved in the art, producing unexpected results at the level of the ordinary skill in the art, or any other objective indicators of non-obviousness.
Regarding Claim 2: “The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the extracting by spectral unmixing from the subset the preliminary estimate of the at least one further signal of the plurality of signals as the at least one further unmixed signal comprises:
extracting by spectral unmixing from the subset a preliminary estimate of a second signal of the plurality of signals as a second unmixed signal; (Prior art indicates that multiple signals can be separated by pixel and by color, for example where “each color arrives at a slightly different pixel on the detector” with examples of using 4 separable colors, as in Gray, Paragraphs 45, 47, 38, which is similar to the example in Specification, Paragraph 19. Also note that colors can be spatially or spectrally separated based on known properties of the target, such as known properties of fluorophores. See Gray, Paragraph 47.)
wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises: … computing a second crosstalk quantity in the subset as an estimate of a dependency of the second unmixed signal on the first unmixed signal; and (See computing “ssd values that fall in the border region between two adjacent peaks” corresponding to a crosstalk between two adjacent colors. Gray, Paragraphs 34, 62 and Figs. 3A, 4A, 4C, 8. See computation for multiple signals above, see additional embodiments and methods of computing crosstalk in Claim 1.)
removing the second crosstalk quantity from the second unmixed signal to obtain the estimate of the second signal in the subset.” (“To reduce spectral crosstalk, localization events associated with ssd values that fall in the border region between two adjacent peaks were discarded.” Gray, Paragraphs 34, 62 and Figs. 8-9.)
Regarding Claim 3: “The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the extracting by spectral unmixing comprises one of:
extracting by linear spectral unmixing; and (For example see: “a corresponding 'center' position for each molecule in the spectral channel was computed based on a [linear] transformation matrix, which was determined by registering positional and spectral images of gold fiduciaries” Gray, Paragraph 84.)
extracting by non-negative tensor factorization.” (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and ordinary skill in the art, a non-negative tensor can be embodied as a matrix which is a “two-dimensional case of a tensor.” See Specification, Paragraph 44. Prior art teaches this, for example: “a corresponding 'center' position for each molecule in the spectral channel was computed based on a [linear] transformation matrix, which was determined by registering positional and spectral images of gold fiduciaries” Gray, Paragraph 84.)
Regarding Claim 4: “The computer-implemented according to claim 1, wherein the computing the crosstalk quantity comprises: computing a probability that the first unmixed signal corresponds to the first signal.” (For example, “Diffusion constants of state i may be labeled as D, probability of molecules the state is Pl” See Gray, Paragraph 30.)
Regarding Claim 5: “The computer-implemented according to claim 1, wherein the computing the crosstalk quantity comprises computing a correlation.” (“In addition to the linear unmixing method described above, alternative approaches for the spectral unmixing of microscopic data have also been implemented, especially for datasets consisting of only few spectral channels [14]. These approaches are based on the correlation of the intensity values of a pixel in different image channels” Zimmarman, Page 253, Paragraphs 3-4. See statement of motivation in Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 8: “The computer-implemented according to claim 1, wherein the removing the crosstalk quantity from the first unmixed signal comprises one of: … subtracting the crosstalk quantity from the first unmixed signal; … and multiplying the first unmixed signal by the crosstalk quantity.” (For example, “To reduce spectral crosstalk, localization events associated with ssd values that fall in the border region between two adjacent peaks were discarded,” that is subtracted from the signal. See Gray, Paragraph 34 and Fig. 8. More explicitly, “subtraction is an essential prerequisite for the linear unmixing analysis” in Zimmermann, Page 257, Second Paragraph. See statement of motivation in Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 9: “The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the subset corresponds to a single pixel of the plurality of pixels of the digital color input image.” (For example, “each color arrives at a slightly different pixel on the detector.” Gray, Paragraphs 45, 57, 68.)
Claim 10: “A non-transitory computer-readable medium having a computer program stored thereon, the computer program, when executed by a computer processor, causing performance of the method of claim 1.” This claim is rejected for reasons stated for Claim 1, and because prior art teaches: “the computer program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium” Sun, Paragraph 30. See similar uses of software and scripting in Gray, Paragraph 83. See statement of motivation in Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 11: “A method of using a medical optical observation device, the method comprising:
recording at least one color image and generating a color input image from the at least one color image; and (“a series of single-molecule positional and spectral images of CF680R recorded at 20 ms per frame and shown [generated] in 40 ms ( every 2 frames) intervals.” Gray, Paragraph 26.
executing the computer-implemented method according to claim 1.” (See reasons for rejection in Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 12: “A data processing device for computing an estimate of a first signal of a plurality of signals, the plurality of signals being contained in a digital color input image, each signal of the plurality of signals having a different ground truth spectrum, wherein the data processing device comprises one or more processors configured to: …” is rejected for reasons stated for Claim 1 and because prior art teaches: “a computer system 110 for implementing the present invention.” Sun, Paragraph 31 and Fig. 1. See statement of motivation in Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 13: “An optical observation device, being configured to record a digital color input image, the optical observation device comprising: the data processing device according to claim 12.” This claim is rejected for reasons stated for Claims 11 and 12.)
Regarding Claim 14: “The optical observation device according to claim 13, wherein the data processing device is in a form of an embedded system of the optical observation device.” This claim is rejected for reasons stated for Claim 13, because prior art teaches: “the present invention is not limited to the computer system 110 shown, but may be used on any electronic processing system such as found in home computers, kiosks, retail or wholesale photofinishing, or any other system for the processing of digital images,” thus indicating that this device can be embedded into a variety of applications. Sun, Paragraph 31.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20120038797 to Jang (“Jang”) relevant for teaching various tensor techniques used in image processing.
L. Sun, F. Wu, T. Zhan, W. Liu, J. Wang and B. Jeon, "Weighted Nonlocal Low-Rank Tensor Decomposition Method for Sparse Unmixing of Hyperspectral Images," in IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Applied Earth Observations and Remote Sensing, vol. 13, pp. 1174-1188, 2020. (“Sun2”) This reference explains use of tensor math in spectral unmixing similarly to Sun.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIKHAIL ITSKOVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483