DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (Publication: US 2019/0196698 A1) in view of Aberman et al. (Publication: US 2023/0015117 A1 ).
Regarding claim 1, see rejection on claim 9.
Regarding claim 2, see rejection on claim 10.
Regarding claim 3, see rejection on claim 11.
Regarding claim 4, see rejection on claim 12.
Regarding claim 5, see rejection on claim 13.
Regarding claim 6, see rejection on claim 14.
Regarding claim 7, see rejection on claim 15.
Regarding claim 8, see rejection on claim 16.
Regarding claim 9, Cohen discloses a medium capable of being executed by a computer processor, the computer program instructions defining steps of ([0181] – Fig. 8, a system has a medium that stores program and executed by a processor to perform the following) :
identifying, by a processor, an image ([0005], [0117], [0182] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”, executed by a processor.);
receiving, by the processor, natural language instructions for editing the image, the natural language instructions including a location within the image and an editing instruction ([0005], [0117], [0182] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”, “natural language instructions”, instructions received by a processor .
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified and then replace the sky with different scene.
);
editing, by a machine learning model executed by the processor, the location within the image based on the natural language instructions by (
[0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified based on the text instruction and then replace the sky with different scene, “edit”.
):
identifying a region within the image that corresponds to the location in the natural language instructions (
[0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”, “location”.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified based on the text instruction and then replace the sky with different scene, “edit”.
); and
editing the identified region by applying the editing instruction to the identified region to generate an edited image (
[0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”, “identified sky region”.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified based on the text instruction and then replace the sky with different scene, “edit”.
); and
causing, by the processor, display of the edited image (
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, display 206 is edit image, the location of the sky is identified based on the text instruction and then replace the sky with different scene, “edit”.
).
Cohen does not disclose; however Aberman discloses
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for tangibly storing computer program instructions ([0064] - the model trainer 160 includes one or more sets of computer-executable instructions that are stored in a tangible computer-readable storage medium such as RAM hard disk or optical or magnetic media.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cohen with a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for tangibly storing computer program instructions as taught by Aberman. The motivation for doing is to have the implementations to be executed in different platforms thus enhance configuration flexibility [064], [0108] .
Regarding claim 10, Cohen in view of Aberman disclose all the limitations of claim 9.
Cohen discloses wherein identifying the region within the image that corresponds to the location in the natural language instructions comprises identifying a landmark location within the image that is described by the natural language instructions (
[0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified and then replace the sky with different scene.
).
Regarding claim 11, Cohen in view of Aberman disclose all the limitations of claim 9.
Cohen discloses identifying a set of objects of a similar type depicted within the image ([0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified and then replace the sky with different scene.
); and
identifying, based on the natural language instructions, a specific object within the set of objects referred to by the natural language instructions ( [0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified and then replace the sky with different scene.
).
Regarding claim 12, Cohen in view of Aberman disclose all the limitations of claim 9.
Cohen discloses identifying a type of object described by the natural language instructions ( [0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”, “type”.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified and then replace the sky with different scene.
);
and locating an object of the type within the image ( [0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified, located, and then replace the sky with different scene.
).
Regarding claim 13, Cohen in view of Aberman disclose all the limitations of claim 9.
Cohen discloses identifying a relative directional descriptor within the natural language instructions (
[0119] - vision module 146 has semantic understanding of an image to be edited, and thus is able to distinguish between similar objects in an image. For instance, for an image containing a plurality of bookshelves, vision module 146 is able to distinguish a corner bookshelf from an object description indicating “the bookshelf in the corner”, “direction”.
[0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified and then replace the sky with different scene.
); and
identifying the region at least in part based on the relative directional descriptor ( [0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified and then replace the sky with different scene.
).
Regarding claim 14, Cohen in view of Aberman disclose all the limitations of claim 9.
Cohen discloses identifying a set of triplets that each comprise ([0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”.
202 is an unmodified training image. Description of “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”, and 206 is a modified training image. “triplets”
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified and then replace the sky with different scene.
):
an unmodified version of a training image ([0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”.
202 is an unmodified training image.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified and then replace the sky with different scene.
);
text that comprises a description of a location within the unmodified version of the training image ([0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”, “text”.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified and then replace the sky with different scene.
); and
a modified version of the training image that comprises a modification to the location described within the text ([0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”.
206 is a modified of the training image.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified and then replace the sky with different scene.
).
Aberman discloses providing the data to the machine learning model as input data ([0037] The systems and methods of the present disclosure provide several technical effects and benefits. As one example, the machine learning system can aid in computing performance by refining parameters of the image editing operator for processing the raw image data into processed image data. Thus, the performed image editing can be higher quality (e.g., more accurate) than previous techniques, which represents an improvement in the performance of a computing system.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cohen in view of Aberman with providing the set to the machine learning model as input data as taught by Aberman. The motivation for doing is to have the implementations to be executed in different platforms thus enhance configuration flexibility [064], [0108] .
Regarding claim 15, Cohen in view of Aberman disclose all the limitations of claim 9.
Cohen discloses wherein the image comprises a frame of a video.([0039] – image storage service includes videos.)
Regarding claim 16, Cohen in view of Aberman disclose all the limitations of claim 15.
Cohen discloses the location within the image based on the natural language instructions comprises editing consecutive frames of the video (
[0039] – image storage service includes videos.
[0005], [0117] - a vision module specific to the object is used, such as using a sky vision module including a neural network trained to identify skies when satisfying the replace request “Replace the boring sky with a cloudy sky”.
[0093] to [0095], As showing Fig. 2, the location of the sky is identified and then replace the sky with different scene.
).
Regarding claim 17, see rejection on claim 9.
Regarding claim 18, see rejection on claim 10.
Regarding claim 19, see rejection on claim 11.
Regarding claim 20, see rejection on claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MING WU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618