DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim 10,490,770.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a module (Abstract) comprising: a display (DP, Fig 3A) having a flat plate shape (as depicted Fig 3A); a circuit board (MCB and/or including FCB1, Fig 3A) disposed below the display (Fig 3B) to overlap the display (Figs 3A, 3B), and equipped with a shield member (FCB2, Fig 3B) that covers a circuit element (covering side of circuit element PCN, Fig 3B) on a surface facing the display (interior surface of FCB2 facing DP, Fig 3B); and a buffer member (SCF, Fig 3B) that is disposed on an upper surface of the shield member (SCF on upper surface of FCB2, Fig 3B) and abuts on a lower surface of the display (on lower surface where SCF contacts, Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the module according to claim 1, wherein the buffer member is disposed on an outer peripheral side of the display (Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the module according to claim 1, wherein the buffer member is in surface contact with the lower surface of the display and the upper surface of the shield member (as depicted in Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the module according to claim 1, wherein the shield member is held by a holder fixed onto the circuit board (indirectly via AM5, Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses an electronic device (Title) comprising: the module according to claim 1; and a device case (EDC/BZA, Fig 1B) that accommodates the display and the circuit board having the shield member (one assembled, Fig 1A).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses an electronic device (Title)comprising: the module according to claim 2; and a device case (EDC/BZA, Fig 1B) that accommodates the display and the circuit board having the shield member (once assembled, Fig 1A).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses an electronic device comprising: the module according to claim 3; and a device case (EDC/BZA, Fig 1B) that accommodates the display and the circuit board having the shield member (once assembled, Fig 1A).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses an electronic device comprising: the module according to claim 4; and a device case (EDC/BZA, Fig 1B) that accommodates the display and the circuit board having the shield member (once assembled, Fig 1A).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses an electronic device comprising: the module according to claim 5; and a device case (EDC/BZA, Fig 1B) that accommodates the display and the circuit board having the shield member (once assembled, Fig 1A).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses an electronic device comprising: the module according to claim 6; and a device case (EDC/BZA, Fig 1B) that accommodates the display and the circuit board having the shield member (once assembled, Fig 1A).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the electronic device according to claim 7, wherein the display and the buffer member are fixed by being sandwiched between the device case and the circuit board having the shield member (Figs 1A-3B).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the display and the buffer member are fixed by being sandwiched between the device case and the circuit board having the shield member (Figs 1A-3B).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the display and the buffer member are fixed by being sandwiched between the device case and the circuit board having the shield member (Figs 1A-3B).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the display and the buffer member are fixed by being sandwiched between the device case and the circuit board having the shield member (Figs 1A-3B).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the electronic device according to claim 7, wherein the buffer member is disposed between an inner peripheral surface of the device case (inner peripheral of EDC, Fig 1B) and an outer peripheral surface of the display in plan view (Figs 1B, 3B).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the buffer member is disposed between an inner peripheral surface of the device case (inner peripheral of EDC, Fig 1B) and an outer peripheral surface of the display in plan view (Figs 1B, 3B).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the buffer member is disposed between an inner peripheral surface of the device case (inner peripheral of EDC, Fig 1B) and an outer peripheral surface of the display in plan view (Figs 1B, 3B).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the buffer member is disposed between an inner peripheral surface of the device case (inner peripheral of EDC, Fig 1B) and an outer peripheral surface of the display in plan view (Figs 1B, 3B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim 10,490,770.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the module according to claim 1, except wherein a plurality of the buffer members is disposed at or near symmetrical positions while avoiding a central portion of the display.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the buffer of Kim to include more than one, at or near symmetrical positions while avoiding a central portion of the display, in order to help balance physical weight or pressure or stop display screen from bending while keeping the main viewing area clear and free of visual obstructions, thereby improving structural integrity of the display surface. And, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the module according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of the shield members is provided (see multiple section of shield member FCB2 in Fig 3A, for example), except and the buffer member is provided corresponding to each of the plurality of shield members.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the buffer of Kim to include more than one, corresponding to each of the plurality of shield members, in order to even out support by spreading physical push or weight so the display panel does not warp and to provide better balance by stopping the display structure from tilting or shaking by using equal side placement, thereby improving structural integrity of the display surface. And, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892.
/RASHEN E MORRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841