DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. See MPEP § 2181.I. Such claim limitation(s) are:
“transport device” in claims 1-2, 4-5, 15.
“cleaning robot” in claims 1, 5, 7-8, 10-12.
“sensor” in claims 1, 6, 11-12.
“transport device” is interpreted as requiring the structure(s) of a truck or a semi-trailer (see Spec. at ¶¶ 0010, 0051), and equivalents thereof.
“cleaning robot” is interpreted as requiring the structure(s) of a fluid nozzle (see Spec. at ¶ 0077, Fig. 7), and equivalents thereof.
“sensor” is interpreted as requiring the structure(s) of an optical sensor such as a camera or LiDAR (see Spec. at ¶¶ 0012, 0019, 0024, 0026, 0038, 0065, 0072-73), and equivalents thereof.
Claim Objections
In Claim 9 line 2, “a contamination condition” should be “the contamination condition,” because “a contamination condition” is already recited in Claim 6 line 2.
In Claim 9 line 5, “a contamination condition” should be “the contamination condition,” because “a contamination condition” is already recited in Claim 6 line 2 and Claim 9 line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6, 8-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the sensor is formed by an optical sensor or by a camera” at line 1-2. It’s unclear whether “optical sensor” and “camera” are alternatives, or whether camera is a species of the genus “optical sensor.” Clarification is requested.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the optical sensor captures optical information in a form of individual still images or moving images” at line 2-3. As explained above, it’s unclear whether “optical sensor” and “camera” are alternatives. If they are alternatives, it’s unclear whether “optical sensor” is required and whether the phrase “the optical sensor captures optical information in a form of individual still images or moving images” is required.
Claim 4 is rejected because it depends on Claim 3.
Claim 5 recites “the database” at line 2-3. It’s unclear which database is being recited, because Claim 1 recites “a database” at line 6 and “a database” at line 11. It’s unclear whether the two instances of “database” in Claim 1 are the same database or different databases. If they are different databases, then it’s unclear which of the two databases is being recited in Claim 5. Clarification is requested.
Claim 6 recites “the information” at line 4. It’s unclear which information is being recited, because there are multiple prior recitations of “information”:
“information including an identification feature of the transport device” in Claim 1 line 3;
“information stored in a database relating to the transport device” in Claim 1 line 6;
“information regarding a contamination condition of the cargo space” in Claim 6 line 2-3.
Applicant should clarify which information is required by Claim 6 line 4.
Claim 8 recites “the operating parameter” at line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because there is no prior recitation of “an operating parameter.”
Claim 8 recites “the cleaning process” at line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because there is no prior recitation of “a cleaning process.”
Claim 9 recites “the cleaning process” at line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because there is no prior recitation of “a cleaning process.”
Claim 9 recites “the cleaning process” at line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because there is no prior recitation of “a cleaning process.”
Claim 10 recites “the operating parameter of the cleaning robot is formed by” a list of 9 items such as “an orientation…; a dispensing pressure…; a concentration of a cleaning agent in the cleaning fluid; and a distance of the cleaning robot from a wall of the cargo space.”
The metes and bounds of “operating parameter” is unclear because the meaning of “formed by” is unclear. Does Applicant mean that the operating parameter is “selected from” the list of 9 items (i.e., the operating parameter is any one of the 9 items)? Or is the operating parameter defined as the totality of all 9 items? Clarification is requested.
According to the specification, there are a plurality of operating parameters (Spec. at ¶¶ 0009, 0021, 0026-37, 0060, 0086), wherein terms like “orientation,” “pressure,” “temperature,” “concentration” refer to separate operating parameters. Therefore, for examination purpose, “formed by” is interpreted to mean “selected from,” i.e., the operating parameter is selected from a list of 9 items (e.g., orientation, dispensing pressure, etc.).
Claim 11 recites “the cleaning process” at line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because there is no prior recitation of “a cleaning process.”
Claim 11 recites “the cleaning process” at line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because there is no prior recitation of “a cleaning process.”
Claim 12 recites “the cleaning process” at line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because there is no prior recitation of “a cleaning process.”
Claim 15 recites “telemetry data of the transport device or location data” at line 2. Location of what? This is unclear. Clarification is requested.
Claim 15 recites “telemetry data of the transport device or location data” at line 2. It’s unclear whether “telemetry data” and “location data” are alternatives, or whether “location data” is a species of the genus “telemetry data.” Clarification is requested. According to the specification, “location data” is a species of the genus “telemetry data” (Spec. at ¶ 0041).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHOLTENS (WIPO Publication WO2013048252A2), in view of VAN BREEN (US PGPUB 20230004899).
Regarding Claim 1, SCHOLTENS teaches a method for cleaning (see, e.g., abstract, pg. 1 line 6-7, pg. 1 line 28 to pg. 5 line 11, Figs. 1-4) a cargo space of a transport device (tank 2 of a truck, see Fig. 1, pg. 8 line 1-2, pg. 21 line 17-18).
SCHOLTENS teaches cleaning the cargo space through a cleaning robot (see Figs. 1-3, pg. 21 line 16 to pg. 22 line 5, cleaning the interior of tank 2 using a cleaning system comprising cleaning head 6).
SCHOLTENS teaches capturing information including an identification feature (e.g., tank identifier) of the transport device through a sensor (see pg. 13 line 20-25, pg. 14 line 16-18, pg. 21 line 19-20, reading a barcode or RFID, or taking an image) and transmitting the information to a data processing device (see, e.g., abstract, pg. 2 line 8-10, pg. 2 line 25-29, pg. 4 line 2-5, pg. 4 line 25-29, pg. 8 line 19-20, pg. 11 line 2-4, pg. 20 line 23-25).
SCHOLTENS teaches automatically (see pg. 19 line 28-29) generating a cleaning certificate (see pg. 2 line 13-14, pg. 3 line 1-2, pg. 7 line 24-26, pg. 9 line 3-4, pg. 15 line 30-32, pg. 16 line 20-25, pg. 18 line 8) after cleaning the cargo space of the transport device, wherein the cleaning certificate documents completing cleaning the cargo space (see id.).
SCHOLTENS teaches storing the cleaning certificate in a database (see pg. 16 line 19-22, pg. 18 line 8) so that the cleaning certificate is linked to the transport device (see id.).
SCHOLTENS does not explicitly teach that the cargo space is cleaned “automatically.” But such automation is still reasonably expected because SCHOLTENS teaches that: (1) its invention may be implemented by means of a suitably programmed computer (see pg. 19 line 22-23, pg. 19 line 28-29); (2) its invention monitors whether a specific cleaning action is performed according to specification (see pg. 7 line 6-10); (3) non-conformity to the defined cleaning process or recipe will generate real-time alerts (see pg. 18 line 2-3).
Alternatively, if the teachings of SCHOLTENS do not clearly envisage that the cargo space is cleaned “automatically,” it still would’ve been obvious to do so. First, automation is considered obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04.III. Second, a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily appreciate that automation can reduce human labor and/or human error (i.e., benefits that would’ve motivated one skilled in the art to adopt automation).
SCHOLTENS does not explicitly teach that “comparing the captured information through the data processing device with information stored in a database relating to the transport device so that the transport device is identified.”
But these features are already known in the prior art. VAN BREEN teaches capturing information including an identification feature of a transport device through a sensor (see ¶ 0051, Fig. 1) and transmitting the information to a data processing device (see ¶¶ 0110, 0114, Fig. 29); comparing the captured information through the data processing device with information stored in a database (database 126, see Fig. 1, ¶ 0051) relating to the transport device so that the transport device is identified (see ¶ 0051).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would’ve been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify SCHOLTENS to incorporate comparing the captured information through the data processing device with information stored in a database relating to the transport device so that the transport device is identified, with reasonable expectation of identifying the transport device. It’s already known in the prior art to compare captured information with information stored in a database to identify a transport device (see VAN BREEN). All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could've combined the elements by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421 (2007); MPEP § 2143, A.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN teaches the method of claim 1. The combination teaches or reasonably suggests that the cleaning certificate is associated with a user account (see SCHOLTENS at pg. 15 line 29 to pg. 16 line 12, involved parties like the cargo owner and the transporter are linked to incoming data; see id. at pg. 22 line 26-28, the cargo owner is notified of the cleaning results; see id. at pg. 7 line 24-26, the certificate is required by the transporter to prove his tank is cleaned; see id. at pg. 17 line 9, the transporter sees all data), wherein the transport device is associated with the user account (the truck is associated with the cargo owner and/or the transporter).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN teaches the method of claim 1. The combination teaches wherein the sensor is formed by an optical sensor or by a camera, wherein the optical sensor captures optical information in a form of individual still images (see SCHOLTENS at pg. 13 line 20-22, pg. 14 line 16-18, pg. 21 line 18-20, taking pictures of the tank or tanker, which means there is a camera or optical sensor).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN teaches the method of claim 3. The combination teaches a RFID chip and/or a bar code is captured as the identification feature (see SCHOLTENS at pg. 13 line 22-25, pg. 17 line 1-2).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN teaches the method of claim 1. The combination teaches wherein information regarding the identified transport device and stored in the database is retrieved (see SCHOLTENS at pg. 7 line 21-23, the cleaner performs tank cleaning according to a predefined cleaning recipe; see id. at pg. 17 line 20, cleaning recipes are stored remotely in a database, which means the recipes need to be retrieved). The combination teaches wherein an operating parameter of the cleaning robot is automatically adjusted (as explained above, the tank is cleaned according to the cleaning recipe) as a function of the retrieved information for performing the cleaning (see SCHOLTENS at pg. 5 line 9-11, pg. 10 line 29-31, claim 27, the cleaning recipe defines operating parameters such as cleaning time, fluid pressure, fluid temperature, fluid composition).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN teaches the method of claim 5. As explained above, the term “formed by” is interpreted to mean “selected from.” The combination teaches wherein the operating parameter of the cleaning robot is selected from: a dispensing pressure of a cleaning fluid (see SCHOLTENS at pg. 5 line 9-11, pg. 10 line 29-31, claim 27) at the cleaning nozzle (e.g., cleaning head 6 of SCHOLTENS); a temperature of the cleaning fluid (see SCHOLTENS at pg. 5 line 9-11, pg. 10 line 29-31, claim 27). The combination also teaches using detergent for cleaning (see SCHOLTENS at pg. 15 line 21-22, pg. 8 line 16-18), which means the combination reasonably suggests that “a concentration of a cleaning agent in the cleaning fluid” may be an operating parameter.
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN (as applied to Claim 1), in view of DESORMEAUX (US PGPUB 20180339318).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN teaches the method of claim 1. As explained above, the combination teaches: the cleaning robot (see SCHOLTENS at Figs. 1-3, pg. 21 line 16 to pg. 22 line 5), the sensor (e.g., camera or optical sensor, see id. at pg. 13 line 20-22, pg. 14 line 16-18, pg. 21 line 18-20), and the data processing device (see id. at pg. 2 line 8-10, pg. 2 line 25-29, pg. 4 line 2-5, pg. 4 line 25-29, pg. 8 line 19-20, pg. 11 line 2-4, pg. 20 line 23-25).
The combination does not explicitly teach: wherein the sensor captures information regarding a contamination condition of the cargo space, wherein the information is transmitted to the data processing device and processed by the data processing device.
But these features area already known in the prior art. DESORMEAUX teaches using a cleaning robot (cleaning apparatus 102) to clean a cargo space (environment 112) of a transport device (e.g., tanker trailer, see ¶ 0024). DESORMEAUX teaches using a sensor (sensor 108, which may be an optical sensor, see ¶¶ 0029, 0054) to capture information regarding a contamination condition of the cargo space (see abstract, ¶¶ 0007-09, 0029, measuring depth of a target material 118 to be removed), wherein the information is transmitted to a data processing device (sent to controller 104, see ¶¶ 0007-09, 0035, 0055) and processed by the data processing device (see ¶¶ 0007-09, 0032-33, 0036, 0058, 0061, the depth measurements are analyzed). By using the sensor to capture information regarding a contamination condition of the cargo space, it’s possible to tailor a cleaning profile/recipe according to such contamination condition (see abstract, ¶¶ 0007-09, 0032, 0036, 0061).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would’ve been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN to incorporate using the sensor to capture information regarding a contamination condition of the cargo space, wherein the information is transmitted to the data processing device and processed by the data processing device, with reasonably expectation of cleaning the cargo space. First, by using the sensor to capture information regarding the contamination condition of the cargo space, it’s possible to tailor the cleaning profile/recipe according to such contamination condition. Given this benefit, a person of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated to adopt the abovementioned steps (e.g., capturing, transmitting, processing). Second, it’s already known in the prior art to capture (via an optical sensor) information regarding a contamination condition of the cargo space (see DESORMEAUX), and the information is transmitted to a data processing device and processed by the data processing device (see id.). All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could've combined the elements by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421 (2007); MPEP § 2143, A.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of SCHOLTENS, VAN BREEN, and DESORMEAUX teaches the method of claim 6. The combination teaches wherein an operating parameter of the cleaning robot is automatically adjusted as a function of the processed information (see DESORMEAUX at abstract, ¶¶ 0007-09, 0032, 0036, 0038, 0061, the controller analyzes the depth measurements and then determines a cleaning protocol/recipe that controls the parameters for operating the cleaning robot).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of SCHOLTENS, VAN BREEN, and DESORMEAUX teaches the method of claim 6. The combination teaches wherein the operating parameter of the cleaning robot is adjusted as a function of the processed information (see DESORMEAUX at abstract, ¶¶ 0007-09, 0032, 0036, 0038, 0061, the controller analyzes the depth measurements and then determines a cleaning protocol/recipe that controls the parameters for operating the cleaning robot).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of SCHOLTENS, VAN BREEN, and DESORMEAUX teaches the method of claim 6.
As explained above, the combination teaches “the sensor captures information regarding a contamination condition of the cargo space.” The information regarding the contamination condition is used to determine whether the cargo space is clean (see DESORMEAUX at ¶¶ 0065, 0078). Moreover, the step of capturing the information regarding a contamination condition of the cargo space may be repeated (see id.).
The combination teaches that, after completion of the cleaning process, the sensor is used to capture information regarding a condition of the cargo space (see DESORMEAUX at ¶¶ 0040, 0064, measuring dimension of the cargo space). And this information—captured after the completion of cleaning—may be used to start another cleaning process if the measured dimension deviates from a predefined dimension (see id. at ¶¶ 0040, 0064).
Therefore, given the above teachings, the combination teaches or at least reasonably suggests that the sensor is used to capture information regarding a contamination condition of the cargo space after completion of the cleaning process.
The combination also teaches that a cleaning success is documented when generating the cleaning certificate (see SCHOLTENS at pg. 2 line 13-14, pg. 3 line 1-2, pg. 7 line 24-26, pg. 9 line 3-4, pg. 15 line 30-32, pg. 16 line 20-25, pg. 18 line 8).
The combination does not explicitly teach: the cleaning success is documented “if a contamination condition of the cargo space complies with predetermined requirements after completion of the cleaning process.”
But these features are reasonably suggested by the combination. As explained above, the combination already teaches or suggests that, after completion of the cleaning process, the sensor captures information regarding a contamination condition of the cargo space in order to determine whether the cargo space is clean and whether another cleaning process is needed, i.e., “if a contamination condition of the cargo space complies with predetermined requirements.” Meeting such predetermined requirements would mean that the cleaning is successful.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN (as applied to Claim 1), in view of JOUAULT (French Publication FR3110469A1, as translated by Espacenet) and JIANG et al. (Chinese Publication CN114942644A, as translated by Espacenet).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN teaches the method of claim 1. As explained above, the combination teaches: the cleaning robot (see SCHOLTENS at Figs. 1-3, pg. 21 line 16 to pg. 22 line 5), the sensor (e.g., camera or optical sensor, see id. at pg. 13 line 20-22, pg. 14 line 16-18, pg. 21 line 18-20), and the data processing device (see id. at pg. 2 line 8-10, pg. 2 line 25-29, pg. 4 line 2-5, pg. 4 line 25-29, pg. 8 line 19-20, pg. 11 line 2-4, pg. 20 line 23-25).
The combination does not explicitly teach:
“wherein information regarding an obstacle arranged in the cargo space is captured by the sensor before the cleaning process begins”;
“wherein the information regarding the obstacle is transmitted to the data processing device and processed by the data processing device so that the obstacle is detected and the cleaning robot is controlled as a function of the information regarding the obstacle so that a beginning of the cleaning process is prevented until the obstacle is removed.”
JOUAULT teaches using a cleaning robot (mobile device 21) to clean a cargo space of a transport device (see ¶¶ 0001, 0030-34 Figs. 1-5). JOUAULT teaches using a sensor (e.g., camera or optical sensor, see ¶ 0115) to capture information regarding an obstacle arranged in the cargo space (see id.) before the cleaning process begins (see id., cleaning operations are determined after the sensor has scanned the cargo space). JOUAULT teaches wherein the information regarding the obstacle is transmitted to a data processing device and processed by the data processing device (see id., the data is transmitted for analysis) so that the obstacle is detected (see id.) and the cleaning robot is controlled as a function of the information regarding the obstacle (see id., cleaning operations are determined based on the obstacle).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would’ve been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN to incorporate using the sensor to capture information regarding an obstacle arranged in the cargo space before the cleaning process begins, wherein the information regarding the obstacle is transmitted to the data processing device and processed by the data processing device so that the obstacle is detected and the cleaning robot is controlled as a function of the information regarding the obstacle, with reasonable expectation of cleaning the cargo space. First, by using the sensor to detect an obstacle, it’s possible to tailor the cleaning recipe according to the obstacle. Given this benefit, a person of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated to adopt the abovementioned steps (e.g., capturing, transmitting, processing, controlling). Second, it’s already known in the prior art to use a sensor to capture information regarding an obstacle arranged in the cargo space before the cleaning process begins, wherein such information is transmitted to a data processing device and processed so that the obstacle is detected and the cleaning robot is controlled as a function of the information regarding the obstacle (see JOUAULT). All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could’ve combined the elements by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421; MPEP § 2143, A.
The combination of SCHOLTENS, VAN BREEN, and JOUAULT does not explicitly teach that the cleaning robot is controlled “so that a beginning of the cleaning process is prevented until the obstacle is removed.”
But this feature is still considered obvious for several reasons. First, because the obstacle can collide with the cleaning robot, thereby hindering and even stopping the cleaning robot from performing the cleaning process (see JOUAULT at ¶ 0114), the obstacle is undesirable and a person of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated to control the cleaning robot so that a beginning of the cleaning process is prevented until the obstacle is removed. Second, it’s already known in the prior art that when a sensor detects an obstacle, the cleaning robot is controlled to wait for the obstacle to be removed before starting or resuming a cleaning process (see JIANG at ¶ 0065). All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could’ve combined the elements by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421; MPEP § 2143, A.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN (as applied to Claim 1), in view of INGRAM et al. (US PGPUB 20240017305).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN teaches the method of claim 1. As explained above, the combination teaches: the cleaning robot (see SCHOLTENS at Figs. 1-3, pg. 21 line 16 to pg. 22 line 5), the sensor (e.g., camera or optical sensor, see id. at pg. 13 line 20-22, pg. 14 line 16-18, pg. 21 line 18-20), and the data processing device (see id. at pg. 2 line 8-10, pg. 2 line 25-29, pg. 4 line 2-5, pg. 4 line 25-29, pg. 8 line 19-20, pg. 11 line 2-4, pg. 20 line 23-25).
The combination does not explicitly teach:
“wherein information regarding dimensions of the cargo space is captured by the sensor before a beginning of the cleaning process”;
“wherein the information regarding the dimensions of the cargo space is transmitted to the data processing device and processed by the data processing device”; and
“wherein the cleaning robot is controlled as a function of the captured information regarding the dimensions of the cargo space.”
But these features are already known in the prior art. INGRAM teaches using a cleaning robot (cannon assembly 110) to clean a cargo space of a transport device (see abstract, Figs. 1-2, ¶ 0019, cleaning a tank). INGRAM teaches wherein information regarding dimensions of the cargo space is captured by a sensor (images captured by a camera, see ¶¶ 0043, 0050, claims 10 & 20) before a beginning of the cleaning process (see Fig. 9, ¶¶ 0043, 0050, the tank’s interior contours are mapped before a cleaning profile/recipe is determined and performed); wherein the information regarding the dimensions of the cargo space is transmitted to a data processing device (controller, see ¶ 0022) and processed by the data processing device (see ¶¶ 0043, 0050, claims 10 & 20, the controller uses the mapping data to determine the cleaning profile/recipe); wherein the cleaning robot (cannon assembly 110) is controlled as a function of the captured information regarding the dimensions of the cargo space (see ¶¶ 0006, 0022, 0043, 0050-51, the cannon assembly cleans the tank according to the cleaning profile/recipe; as explained above, the cleaning profile/recipe is determined based on the mapping data from the camera images).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would’ve been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN to incorporate steps of capturing (by the sensor) information regarding dimensions of the cargo space before a beginning of the cleaning process, transmitting said information to the data processing device to be processed, and controlling the cleaning robot as a function of the captured information, with reasonable expectation of cleaning the cargo space. First, by using the sensor (e.g., camera) to map the interior contours of the cargo space, it’s possible to determine a cleaning profile/recipe that’s tailored for that particular cargo space. Given this benefit, a person of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated to incorporate the steps (e.g., capturing, transmitting, processing, controlling) mentioned above. Second, it’s already known in the prior art to use a cleaning robot to clean a cargo space of a transport device (see SCHOLTENS; see INGRAM), wherein information regarding dimensions of the cargo space is captured by the sensor (e.g., camera) before a beginning of the cleaning process (see INGRAM), wherein the information is transmitted to the data processing device to be processed (see id.) and the cleaning robot is controlled as a function of the captured information regarding the dimensions of the cargo space (see id.). All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could've combined the elements by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421 (2007); MPEP § 2143, A.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN (as applied to Claim 1), in view of ZHANG et al. (Chinese Publication CN106140751A, as translated by Espacenet).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN teaches the method of claim 1. As explained above, the combination teaches that the cleaning includes dispensing a cleaning fluid into the cargo space.
The combination does not explicitly teach that the cleaning includes “a drying step wherein heated air is conducted onto surfaces to be dried by a fan.”
But these features are already known in the prior art. ZHANG teaches using a cleaning fluid to clean a cargo space of a transport device (see Fig. 1, ¶¶ 0002, 0087). ZHANG teaches that the cleaning includes dispensing a cleaning fluid into the cargo space (see ¶¶ 0121-25). ZHANG teaches that the cleaning also includes a drying step (see ¶ 0128) wherein heated air is conducted onto surfaces to be dried by a fan (see Fig. 1, ¶ 0128).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would’ve been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN to incorporate a drying step wherein heated air is conducted onto surfaces to be dried by a fan, with reasonable expectation of drying the cargo space. It’s well understood, routine, and conventional to dry a surface after wet cleaning, and it’s already known in the prior art to dry surfaces of the cargo space by using a fan to conduct heated air onto said surfaces (see ZHANG). All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could’ve combined the elements by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421; MPEP § 2143, A.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN (as applied to Claim 1), in view of GREGORY (US Patent 7159598).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN teaches the method of claim 1. The combination teaches using a cleaning fluid to perform the cleaning (see SCHOLTENS at Figs. 1-3, claim 20, pg. 12 line 9-11, pg. 2 line 5-6, pg. 3 line 32-33, pg. 20 line 1-2), wherein the cleaning fluid is dispensed into the cargo space (see id.).
The combination does not explicitly teach the cleaning fluid is “at least partially captured after being dispensed into the cargo space and at least partially processed, wherein at least a portion of the processed cleaning fluid is at least partially used for performing another cleaning.”
But the above features are already taught by the prior art. GREGORY teaches using a cleaning fluid (cleaning solution 11) to clean a cargo space (tank 14, see Figs. 1A-1E & 6) of a transport device (e.g., a truck, see col. 8 line 6-9), wherein the cleaning fluid is dispensed into the cargo space (see Figs. 1A-1E & 6, col. 3 line 7-8, col. 7 line 63-66). GREGORY teaches that the cleaning fluid is at least partially captured after being dispensed into the cargo space and at least partially processed (see Figs. 1C & 6, col. 6 line 6-13, claim 3, cleaning fluid is removed from the tank for filtering), wherein at least a portion of the processed cleaning fluid is at least partially used for performing another cleaning (see id., the filtered cleaning fluid is recirculated back to the tank). Such processing (e.g., filtering) helps remove sediment from the cleaning fluid (see col. 6 line 9-12).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would’ve been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN such that the cleaning fluid is “at least partially captured after being dispensed into the cargo space and at least partially processed, wherein at least a portion of the processed cleaning fluid is at least partially used for performing another cleaning,” with reasonable expectation of reusing the cleaning fluid. First, the filtration helps remove sediment from the cleaning fluid and the recirculation helps reduce the amount of cleaning fluid needed to achieve cleaning; given these benefits, a person of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated to capture the cleaning fluid for processing (e.g., filtering) and recirculate the fluid for another cleaning. Second, it’s already known in the prior art to clean a cargo space by dispensing a cleaning fluid into the cargo space (see SCHOLTENS; see GREGORY), wherein the cleaning fluid is at least partially captured after being dispensed into the cargo space and at least partially processed (see GREGORY), wherein at least a portion of the processed cleaning fluid is at least partially used for performing another cleaning (see id.). All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could’ve combined the elements by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421; MPEP § 2143, A.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN (as applied to Claim 1), in view of DEROUEN (US PGPUB 20210081908).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN teaches the method of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach:
“wherein telemetry data of the transport device or location data, is captured and processed when the cleaning of the cargo space of the transport device is booked”;
“wherein a time window for performing the cleaning is automatically reserved as a function of the processed telemetry data or location data.”
But these features are already known in the prior art. DEROUEN teaches performing maintenance—which includes cleaning (see ¶¶ 0040, 0042, 0084)—on a transport device at a maintenance facility (see id.). DEROUEN teaches that location data of the transport device is captured and processed (see ¶¶ 0015, 0043, 0049, Figs. 1-3, claim 11) when the maintenance of the transport device is booked (see abstract, ¶¶ 0007-08, 0046-47, 0060, Fig. 3), wherein a time window for performing the maintenance is automatically reserved as a function of the processed location data (see ¶¶ 0007-08, 0014, 0051, 0054, 0064, 0095).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would’ve been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of SCHOLTENS and VAN BREEN to incorporate capturing and processing a location data of the transport device when the cleaning of the cargo space of the transport device is booked, wherein a time window for performing the cleaning is automatically reserved as a function of the processed location data, with reasonably expectation of cleaning the cargo space. First, by capturing and processing a location data of the transport device, it’s possible to automatically reserve a time window for cleaning the cargo space. Given this benefit, a person of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated to adopt the abovementioned steps. Second, it’s already known in the prior art to capture and process a location data of the transport device when maintenance (which includes cleaning) of the cargo space of the transport device is booked, wherein a time window for performing the maintenance (which includes cleaning) is automatically reserved as a function of the processed location data (see DEROUEN). All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could’ve combined the elements by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421; MPEP § 2143, A.
Conclusion
/RICHARD Z. ZHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1714