DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
“17” in Figure 1;
The drawings are objected to because:
the applicants specification identifies the inlet as “20” in paragraphs 22 and 26. However, it appears that “17” is actually the inlet. Additionally, paragraph 28 identifies the heatsink as “20”. Accordingly, it would seem that paragraph 22 and 26 (and any other instance found in the specification) should be amended to recite the inlet as 17.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Currently, no claim limitations invoke 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (US2022/0107136A1).
Re Claim 1. Takahashi teaches a vapor chamber (1), comprising (Figures 1, 2, 6; Paragraph 110):
a first plate (10) (Figures 1, 2, 6; Paragraph 110);
a second plate (20) that is connected to the first plate to form a chamber between the first and second plates (Figures 1, 2, 6; Paragraph 110); and
a plurality of first support structures (left and right 41a, middle 42a in Figure 6; A plurality of first support structures are disclosed by Figure 6 but not fully illustrated since Figure 6 is a sectional view of a repeating pattern) disposed within the chamber, opposite ends of each of the first support structures are connected to the first plate and the second plate respectively, the first support structures are disposed with at least two rows and at least two columns, wherein any two adjacent rows of the first support structures are staggered (Figure 6; Paragraphs 126-154; Figure 6 illustrates a plurality of support structures that are staggered).
Re Claim 12. Takahashi teaches a heat dissipation device (E), comprising (Figures 1-3, 6):
a vapor chamber (1), comprising (Figures 1, 2, 6; Paragraph 110):
a first plate (10) (Figures 1, 2, 6; Paragraph 110);
a second plate (20) that is connected to the first plate to form a chamber between the first and second plates (Figures 1, 2, 6; Paragraph 110); and
a plurality of first support structures (left and right 41a, middle 42a in Figure 6; A plurality of first support structures are disclosed by Figure 6 but not fully illustrated since Figure 6 is a sectional view of a repeating pattern) disposed within the chamber, opposite ends of each of the first support structures are connected to the first plate and the second plate respectively, the first support structures are disposed with at least two rows and at least two columns, wherein any two adjacent rows of the first support structures are staggered (Figure 6; Paragraphs 126-154; Figure 6 illustrates a plurality of support structures that are staggered).
a heatsink (top surface of Ha exposed to ambient air as the heatsink) (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 106-116, 120); and
a heat dissipation plate (Ha) disposed in between the heatsink and the vapor chamber so that the heatsink and the vapor chamber are connected to each other via the heat dissipation plate (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 106-116, 120).
Re Claim 2 & 14. Takahashi teaches each of the first support structures has a strip shape (Figures 2, 6; Paragraphs 126-154).
Re Claim 3 & 15. Takahashi teaches each of the first support structures is disposed in a diagonal direction that each of the first support structures is substantially parallel to a diagonal of the vapor chamber (Figures 2, 6; Paragraphs 126-154).
Re Claim 4 & 16. Takahashi teaches the adjacent rows of the first support structures are disposed in opposite directions (Figures 2, 6; Paragraphs 126-154).
Re Claim 5 & 17. Takahashi teaches the adjacent columns of the first support structures are disposed in opposite directions (Figures 2, 6; Paragraphs 126-154).
Re Claim 6 & 18. Takahashi teaches the first support structures are disposed parallel to a side of the vapor chamber (Figures 2, 6; Paragraphs 126-154).
Re Claim 7 & 19. Takahashi teaches a plurality of second support structures (left and right 42a, middle 43a in Figure 6; A plurality of second support structures are disclosed by Figure 6 but not fully illustrated since Figure 6 is a sectional view of a repeating pattern) disposed within the chamber, opposite ends of each of the second support structures are connect to the first plate and the second plate respectively, the second support structures are disposed with at least two rows and at least two columns, any two adjacent rows of the second support structures are staggered, wherein the rows of the first support structures and the rows of the second support structures are deposed alternately (Figures 2, 6; Paragraphs 126-154).
Re Claim 8 & 20. Takahashi teaches a plurality of third support structures (44a) disposed within the chamber, opposite ends of each of the third support structures are connect to the first plate and the second plate respectively, wherein the third support structures are disposed on outer perimeter of the first support structures (Figures 2, 6; Paragraphs 126-154).
Re Claim 9 & 21. Takahashi teaches the first plate further includes a first notch (one corner at 4) on an edge, a plurality of fourth support structures (left most supports of 41a, 42a, 43a that are adjacent to 4) are disposed adjacent to the notch, opposite ends of each of the fourth support structures are connect to the first plate and the second plate respectively (Figures 2, 6; Paragraphs 126-154).
Re Claim 10 & 22. Takahashi teaches the first plate further includes a second notch (other corner at 4) that is on the same edge of the first notch (Figures 2, 6; Paragraphs 126-154).
Re Claim 11 & 23. Takahashi teaches the second plate further includes a concave portion at a center, the concave portion faces the first plate and forms the chamber when the first plate connects the second plate (Figures 2, 6; Paragraphs 126-154; Upper plate comprises peripheral wall 23, which forms a concave portion).
Re Claim 13. Takahashi teaches the heatsink includes a groove where the heat dissipation plate is at least partially disposed in (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 106-116, 120; The housing Ha surrounds the vapor chamber, and thus forms a grooved chamber for accommodating the vapor chamber. Therefore, since the housing Ha has a groove, so to would the heatsink).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763