DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Since claim(s) 21 does not use a standard transitional phrase (e.g. comprising, consisting of, consisting essentially of), according to MPEP 2111.03 IV, whether the transitional phrase is inclusive (like "comprising") or exclusive (like "consisting of") is determined on a case-by-case basis based on the disclosure. Since there is no clear statement in the disclosure, the Office is interpreting the claim to be inclusive as the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)/6th ¶
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim(s) 1: an imaging unit configured to ...,
Claim(s) 1: a measurement unit configured to ...,
Claim(s) 20: an imaging unit ... configured to ...,
Claim(s) 20: a measurement unit ... configured to ....
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 12 and 21 is/are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, line , "the specified object" should be replaced by --a specified object-- because "a specified object" has not been previously recited in the claim.
With regard to claim 21, where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should begin on a new line and be preceded with a line indentation. Plural indentations may be necessary to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75(i) and MPEP §608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 13, 16, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu (EP 4102823 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Yu discloses a system comprising:
a radar configured to irradiate electromagnetic waves on a target and receive reflected electromagnetic waves from the target (Antenna 1, Antenna 2, Fig. 1; Fig. 3; S404, Fig. 4; ¶9; ¶54(1); ¶139) [where in the active electromagnetic imaging embodiment (¶54(1)), when the antenna used for communication is reused (¶139), and when the antenna used for communication is a radio antenna (2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, BT, WLAN, GNSS, or FM, Antenna 1, Antenna 2, Fig. 1), the second component/electromagnetic sensor is a radar];
an imaging unit configured to image the target and output target image information (193, Fig. 1; S402, Fig. 4; ¶10);
a measurement unit configured to measure a position of the radar (¶84; ¶92; ¶154-155); and
a processor (110, Fig. 1) configured to output first image information representing a first area within the target where the electromagnetic waves are not irradiated based on the position of the radar (Fig. 10; Fig. 15; ¶151-152; ¶155) [where in Fig. 10 and 15, the big arrows shows where the user is in the scan process, such that behind the arrow is the part of the scan that has already occurred/the area that has already been irradiated, and in front of the area is the part of the scan that still must occur/the area that has not yet been irradiated].
It is noted that a radar is not required to performing distance/range finding. For example, Morris (US 3,281,838 A) teaches a radar tracking system using automatic angle tracking without the use of range tracking (claim 5). Angelo (radar imaging) teaches radar imaging based on the energy of reflection, with no use of distance/range measurements (p. 1-3). Similarly, applicant's disclosure does not teach applicant's imaging is based on distance/range measurements.
In regard to claim 21, Yu discloses:
a processing device (110, Fig. 1) connected to a radar (Antenna 1, Antenna 2, Fig. 1), an imaging unit (193, Fig. 1), and a measurement unit (160, Fig. 1; ¶84; ¶92; ¶154-155);
the radar configured to irradiate electromagnetic waves on a target and receive reflected electromagnetic waves from the target (Antenna 1, Antenna 2, Fig. 1; Fig. 3; S404, Fig. 4; ¶9; ¶54(1); ¶139) [where in the active electromagnetic imaging embodiment (¶54(1)), when the antenna used for communication is reused (¶139), and when the antenna used for communication is a radio antenna (2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, BT, WLAN, GNSS, or FM, Antenna 1, Antenna 2, Fig. 1), the second component/electromagnetic sensor is a radar];
the imaging unit configured to image the target and output target image information (193, Fig. 1; S402, Fig. 4; ¶10); and
the measurement unit configured to measure a position of the radar (¶84; ¶92; ¶154-155),
the processing device is configured to output first image information representing a first area within the target where the electromagnetic waves are not irradiated based on the position of the radar (Fig. 10; Fig. 15; ¶151-152; ¶154-155) [where in Fig. 10 and 15, the big arrows shows where the user is in the scan process, such that behind the arrow is the part of the scan that has already occurred/the area that has already been irradiated, and in front of the area is the part of the scan that still must occur/the area that has not yet been irradiated].
It is noted that a radar is not required to performing distance/range finding. For example, Morris (US 3,281,838 A) teaches a radar tracking system using automatic angle tracking without the use of range tracking (claim 5). Angelo (radar imaging) teaches radar imaging based on the energy of reflection, with no use of distance/range measurements (p. 1-3). Similarly, applicant's disclosure does not teach applicant's imaging is based on distance/range measurements.
In regard to claim 2, Yu further discloses the processor is configured to generate the first image information based on the position of the radar when the radar irradiates the electromagnetic wave (¶154-155).
In regard to claim 3, Yu further discloses the radar comprises a transmit antenna (¶54(1)), the transmit antenna comprising an equally spaced array antenna (¶55), an unequally spaced array antenna, or a minimum redundancy array antenna.
In regard to claim 4, Yu further discloses the radar comprises a receive antenna (¶54(1)), the receive antenna comprising an equally spaced array antenna (¶55), an unequally spaced array antenna, or a minimum redundancy array antenna.
In regard to claim 5, Yu further discloses the measurement unit is configured to measure the position of the radar using an output signal of a gyro sensor (180B, Fig. 1; ¶92; ¶128; ¶154-155) [where the motion sensor is the gyro] or the target image information (¶128; ¶154-155) [where the motion sensor is the optical camera].
In regard to claim 6, Yu further discloses a display configured to display a target image and a first image, the target image being based on the target image information (Fig. 5; ¶109; ¶133; ¶137; ¶140), and the first image being based on the first image information (S406, Fig. 4; Fig. 13; ¶171; ¶175).
In regard to claim 7, Yu further discloses an operation period of the system includes: a primary scan period in which the radar irradiates the electromagnetic waves on an arbitrary area of the target; and a secondary scan period in which the radar irradiates the electromagnetic waves on the first area after the first image information is output (Fig. 10; Fig. 15; ¶151-152) [where in Fig. 10 and 15, the big arrows shows where the user is in the scan process, such that the primary scan period was the period in which the area of the target behind the area was irradiated, and the second scan period is period in which the area in front of the arrow will be irradiated, which occurs after the first image information is output (i.e. the image in Fig. 10 or 15 has been displayed, showing the big arrow)].
In regard to claim 8, Yu further discloses a display mode of the display includes: a first display mode in which the first image is not displayed (Fig. 5; ¶133); and a second display mode in which the first image is displayed (S406, Fig. 4; Fig. 13; ¶171).
In regard to claim 9, Yu further discloses the display mode of the display is the first display mode during the primary scan period (S404, Fig. 4; Fig. 10; ¶151-152); and after the primary scan period, the display mode of the display is changed from the first display mode to the second display mode (S406, Fig. 4; Fig. 13; ¶171) [where the movement of the device during the primary scan period occurs prior to the final image being displayed].
In regard to claim 10, Yu further discloses the processor is configured to generate object image information representing a specified object in the target using reflected electromagnetic waves from at least one area (¶54(1); ¶175).
In regard to claim 13, Yu further discloses the display comprises a flat display (Fig. 10; ¶161) [where the mobile phone display is illustrated as a flat display], an eyeglass-type display, or a goggle-type display.
In regard to claim 16, Yu further discloses
the processor is configured to determine a planned irradiation area within the target based on the position of the radar and generate a second image representing the planned irradiation area (Fig. 10 and 15) [where in Fig. 10 and 15, the big arrows shows where the user is in the scan process, such that behind the arrow is the part of the scan that has already occurred/the area that has already been irradiated, and in front of the area is the area that is planned to be irradiated to complete the scan]; and
the display is configured to display the target image (Fig. 5; ¶109; ¶133; ¶137; ¶140), the first image (S406, Fig. 4; Fig. 13; ¶171; ¶175), and the second image (Fig. 10; Fig. 15; ¶151-152; ¶155).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu.
In regard to claim 17, Yu further discloses the display is configured to display the first image (Fig. 13; ¶171).
The Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to display an first image continuously. Since the option before the "or" has been addressed, the option after the "or" need not be addressed.
In regard to claim 19, Yu further discloses the processor is configured to output second image information representing a second area within the target where electromagnetic waves are irradiated (Fig. 10; Fig. 15; ¶151-152; ¶155).
The Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to indicate different features of an image with different graphical qualities, such as different hues, brightnesses, or saturations.
Claim(s) 11-12, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, as applied to claims 6 and 10, above, and further in view of Ender (DE 102010051207 A1).
In regard to claim 11, Yu fails to disclose the display is configured to display an object image based on the object image information by superimposing the object image on the target image.
Ender teaches a display configured to display an object image based on the object image information by superimposing the object image on the target image ["in order to provide the observer with a realistic view of the person in which these possibly hidden objects and their position on the person are recognizable"] (p. 2; ¶2; p. 6, ¶3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow security personnel to readily identify the position on the person or object that needs to be further examined.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the person or object that needs to be further examined is able to be examined more quickly.
In regard to claim 12, Ender further teaches determining whether or not the target contains a specified object using reflected electromagnetic waves from at least one area; and the display is configured to display a determination result as to whether or not the target contains the specified object (p. 2; ¶2; p. 5, ¶2; p. 6, ¶3) [where undesirable items are automatically detected and displayed (p. 6, ¶3), the undesirable items being weapons and explosives (p. 2; ¶2; p. 5, ¶2), where failure to detect any undesirable items is a determination that the specified object has not been detected].
In regard to claim 18, Yu further discloses the processor is configured to output second image information representing a second area within the target where electromagnetic waves are irradiated (Fig. 10 and 15) [where in Fig. 10 and 15, the big arrows shows where the user is in the scan process illustrating a track, such that behind the arrow is the part of the scan that has already occurred/the area that has already been irradiated, and in front of the area is the area that is planned to be irradiated to complete the scan; and in general teaches three types of images, a target image, and first image, and a second image, as detailed above].
Ender teaches a display configured to display two of the images superposed (p. 2; ¶2; p. 6, ¶3).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized from this that all three of the images could likewise be superimposed if there were a benefit of doing so.
Here, superimposing all three images the first image and a second image would help a user identify a situation when they inadvertently miss an area to be scanned (e.g. a situation like the lower left of Fig. 10 of Yu, one in which the user overshoots the pattern too much and fails to scan a port of the target) and thus are able to correct their error and scan the area of the target, where also superimposing the target image would help the user identify what area of the person or object being scanned to point the scanner at.
The Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to indicate areas to of interest using rectangles as an alternative to a track covering those areas.
In regard to claim 20, Yu further discloses the processor is configured to output second image information representing a second area within the target where electromagnetic waves are irradiated (Fig. 10; Fig. 15; ¶151-152; ¶155); and displaying a first image (S406, Fig. 4; Fig. 13; ¶171; ¶175) [and in general teaches three types of images, a target image, and first image, and a second image, as detailed above].
Ender teaches a display configured to display two of the images superposed (p. 2; ¶2; p. 6, ¶3).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized from this that any other two of the images could likewise be superimposed if there were a benefit of doing so.
Here, superimposing the first image and a second image would help a user identify a situation when they inadvertently miss an area to be scanned (e.g. a situation like the lower left of Fig. 10 of Yu, one in which the user overshoots the pattern too much and fails to scan a port of the target) and thus are able to correct their error and scan the area of the target.
The Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to indicate different features of an image with different graphical qualities, such as by continuous display vs. blinking.
The following reference(s) is/are also found relevant:
Morris (US 3,281,838 A), which teaches a radar tracking system using automatic angle tracking without the use of range tracking (claim 5).
Angelo (radar imaging), which teaches radar imaging based on the energy of reflection, with no use of distance/range measurements (p. 1-3).
Zeng (US 2023/0194701 A1), which teaches an antenna array imaging system for identifying a target using electromagnetic echo signals (Fig. 1; abstract).
Yanik (Near-Field MIMO-SAR Millimeter-Wave Imaging With Sparsely Sampled Aperture Data), which teaches a MIMO radar using a sparse array antenna (abstract, Fig. 1, p. 31803, section B).
Applicant is encouraged to consider these documents in formulating their response (if one is required) to this Office Action, in order to expedite prosecution of this application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 14-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office Action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance/Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance/allowable subject matter:
The references cited, alone or in combination, do not teach or make obvious the following limitation(s):
quoted from claim 14, in combination with the claim as a whole:
"the first area includes ... an area in a second surface perpendicular to the first surface within the target where the electromagnetic waves are not irradiated".
Fred H. Mull
Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/F. H. M./
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648