DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Ye et al. (U.S. 2019/0213287 A1) in view of Fialho et al. (U.S. 2014/0063058 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ye discloses a computer-implemented method for generating a structured layer mapping output file (Ye, [0006] “a computer-implemented method, that includes data representing real-world entities for a layer of a digital geographic structure, by a mapping module” Ye teaches a computer-implement method for generating a structured layer mapping output file), the method comprising:
receiving, by a computing system (Ye, [0045] “a computer system”), a CAD model document comprising a set of drawing layers, each drawing layer representing a portion of a geographic structure (Ye, [0004] “DXF files are generated by an example computer-aided design (CAD) program (e.g., commercial CAD programs” and [0006] “a first electronic data file comprising a data section that includes data representing real-world entities for a layer of a digital geographic structure” and [0040] “The file 204 includes multiple respective data sections that can represent layers or other aspects of a DXF drawing file” Ye teaches receive, by a computer system, a CAD program includes a DXF drawing file comprising a set of layers, each layer representing a portion of a digital geographic structure.
analyzing, by a layer mapping module of the computing system (Ye, [0053] “The mapping module 222 can be a data processor to analyze an existing asset database), the set of drawing layers to identify space elements and associated data values (Ye, [0040] “The file204 includes multiple respective data sections that can represent layers of a DXF drawing file. Individual layers of a drawing file correspond to physical features, the file 204 can include various type of data that can represent real-world entities...include a layout of a floor of a building, a campus location, buildings at the campus, rooms of the building” and [0044] “entity records include space profile features such as data values for depicting lines and boundaries that define spaces, dimensions, or physical features of real-world constructs”;
extracting, by the layer mapping module, a subset of the data values associated with space elements determined to be eligible for inclusion in a layer mapping output file (Ye, [0011] “the layer of the digital geographic structure corresponds to a virtual floorplan representing a physical space of a real-world geographic structure, the respective space profile feature includes at least: a dimension of a room, a description of the room that represents the physical space or an asset assigned to the room in the virtual floorplan” Ye teaches extracting, by the layer mapping module, a subset of the data values associated with space elements (a dimension, a description of the room, an asset assigned to the room) determined to be eligible for inclusion in a layer mapping output file (the virtual floor plan);
the generated layer mapping output file in a storage repository for use in space management applications Ye [0022] “The application parses the extracted information to obtain space profiles for features of a floorplan and matches or associates the space profile data with new features and locations of floorplans stored in an asset management system) Ye teaches the generated (parsed) layer mapping output file (the application parses…to obtain the space profile data with new features and locations of floorplans) in a storage for use in space management applications (stored in an asset management system).
Ye discloses [0053] “The mapping module 222 can be a data processor (e.g., a software module that processes data) and [0005] the application parses the extracted information to obtain space profiles for features of a floorplan and matches or associates the space profile data with new features and locations of floorplans stored in an asset management system” Ye teaches the layer mapping module parses the extracted the predefine mapping (floorplan) associated with new drawing layers (new features and locations) of original data (space profile for features) of the floorplan (the CAD model document).
However, Ye does not explicitly teach generating, by the layer mapping module, new drawing layers by structuring the extracted data values according to predefined mapping protocols, wherein the new drawing layers contain a portion of the data originally contained in the drawing layers of the CAD model document;
Fialho teaches generating, by the layer mapping module, new drawing layers by structuring the extracted data values according to predefined mapping protocols, wherein the new drawing layers contain a portion of the data originally contained in the drawing layers of the CAD model document (Fialho, [0014] “the invention are illustrated by way of example, in the figures of the accompanying drawings” and Fig. 2, [0056] “The control logic 201 oversees tasks, including tasks performed by the mapping module 205, the rendering module 211” and [0053] “The protocols are effective at different layers of operation within each node, from generating and receiving physical signals of various types, to selecting a link for transferring those signals, to the format of information” and [0060] “the rendering module 211 can also cause, at least in part, the one or more representations of the POIs to lift up from the partial map view and to move into the augmented reality view (e.g., a panoramic scene), gradually scaling and expanding accordingly” and [0078] “FIG. 6 include one or more user interface elements and/or functionalities created based, at least in part, on information, data and/or signals resulting from the processes,…the system 100 can cause, at least in part, the one or more category squares (e.g., category squares 527, 529, and 531) to appear parallel to the map of interface 601. Then, when the system 100 determines that the interface 603 is being titled (e.g., a 45.degree.) as depicted by key diagram 563, the system 100 can cause, at least in part, the one or more representations (e.g., category squares 527, 529, and 531) to appear as though they are standing perpendicular to the virtual floor surface of interface 603 (i.e., they are gravity aware)” Fialho teaches generating, by the layer mapping module 205, new drawing layers (the interface 603 is being titled 45 degree, Fig 6) by structuring the extracted data values according to predefined mapping protocols (the category squares 527, 529, and 531 in the interface 601), wherein the new drawing layers contain a portion of the data originally contained in the drawing layers of the CAD model document (the new drawing layers (interface 603, 605) contain a portion of the data originally (the category squares 527, 529, and 531) in the drawing document, Fig. 6.
Ye and Fialho are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, system and method for image processing and try to solve similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made for modifying the method of Ye to combine with generating the new drawing layers by the layer mapping module (as taught by Fialho) in order to because Fialho can provide generating, by the layer mapping module 205, new drawing layers (the interface 603 is being titled 45 degree, Fig 6) by structuring the extracted data values according to predefined mapping protocols (the category squares 527, 529, and 531 in the interface 601), wherein the new drawing layers contain a portion of the data originally contained in the drawing layers of the CAD model document (the new drawing layers (interface 603, 605) contain a portion of the data originally (the category squares 527, 529, and 531) in the drawing document, Fig. 6 (Fialho, [0014], Fig. 2, [0056], Fig. 6,[0078]). Doing so, it may provide the drawings and description are to be regarded as illustrative in nature, and not as restrictive (Fialho, [0013]).
Regarding Claim 2, the method of claim 1, Ye does not explicitly teach wherein the predefined mapping protocols include filtering criteria that exclude data values associated with non-structural elements from the new drawing layers.
However, Fialho teaches the predefined mapping protocols include filtering criteria that exclude data values associated with non-structural elements from the new drawing layers (Fialho, [0078] “FIG. 6, depicting one or more representations of one or more POIs associated with an augmented reality view (e.g., category squares 527, 529, and 531). Then, when the system 100 determines that the interface 603 is being titled (e.g., a 45.degree.) as depicted by key diagram 563, the system 100 can cause, at least in part, the one or more representations (e.g., category squares 527, 529, and 531) to appear as though they are standing perpendicular to the virtual floor surface of interface 603 (i.e., they are gravity aware) Fialho teaches the predefined mapping protocols (e.g., category squares 527, 529, and 531) includes the filtering criteria e.g., they are standing perpendicular to the virtual floor surface of interface 603 cause they are gravity aware as the non-structural elements from the new drawing layers (603, 605).
Ye and Fialho are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, a combination of Ye and Fialho discloses the method of claim 1, wherein analyzing the set of drawing layers comprises detecting spatial relationships between elements of the geographic structure based on coordinate data stored in the CAD model document (Ye, [0049] “data extractor 122 is configured to execute a parsing function to identify location information included in the multiple respective entity records 208 (e.g., by analyzing the data of the entity records). The identified location information can describe each of the respective space profile features. Each space profile feature can include data values that define a geometry, dimensional coordinates, or other physical attributes of an entity” Ye teaches detecting (identifying) spatial relationship between element of the geographic structure (geometry, physical attributes) based on coordinate data (dimensional coordinates) in the CAD document.
Regarding Claim 4, a combination of Ye and Fialho discloses the method of claim 1, wherein extracting data values from the drawing layers comprises identifying metadata associated with each space element (Ye, [0049] “The identified location information can describe each of the respective space profile features. Each space profile feature can include data values that define a geometry, dimensional coordinates, or other physical attributes of an entity” and [0050] “the query statement can be constructed to read data values of the entity records to identify a particular type of "polyline" that may be included in the entity records” Ye teaches identifying metadata associated with each space element (each space profile feature) includes a geometry, dimensional coordinates, physical attributes, polyline.
Regarding Claim 5, a combination of Ye and Fialho discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising storing the layer mapping output file in a database associated with a space management system Ye [0022] “The application parses the extracted information to obtain space profiles for features of a floorplan and matches or associates the space profile data with new features and locations of floorplans stored in an asset management system” and [0025] “a location hierarchy for a building can include a database of entity information for multiple different assets included in the building, such as rooms, equipment, or floorplans” Ye teaches storing the layer mapping output file include different assets such as rooms, equipment, floorplans in a database associated with an asset management system.
Regarding Claim 6, a combination of Ye and Fialho discloses the method of claim 1, wherein generating the new drawing layers comprises classifying extracted space elements into hierarchical groups (Ye, [0025] “The EAM system can include one or more location hierarchies, a location hierarchy for a building can include a database of entity information for multiple different assets included in the building, such as rooms, equipment, or floorplans” Ye teaches classifying extracted space elements e.g., rooms, equipment, floorplans into hierarchical groups (the location hierarchies).
Regarding Claim 8, a combination of Ye and Fialho discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the generated layer mapping output file is in a standardized file format comprising at least one of: STEP, IGES, parasolid, STL, VRML, X3D, COLLADA, or DXF (Ye, [0004] “DXF files are generated by an example computer-aided design (CAD) program (e.g., commercial CAD programs” Ye teaches the generated layer mapping output file is formatted of a DXF file.
Regarding Claim 9, a combination of Ye and Fialho discloses the method of claim 1, comprising performing an audit process on the new drawing layers to identify and correct deficiencies comprising at least one of: unclosed polylines (Ye, [0050] “the query statement can be constructed to read data values of the entity records to identify a particular type of "polyline" that may be included in the entity records, the identified location information relates to a particular graphical object, e.g., a room outline defined by multiple polylines” Ye teaches identify and correct deficiencies includes unclosed polylines e.g., a room outline defined by multiple polylines, missing space codes, missing space names, or invalid space types.
Regarding Claim 10, a combination of Ye and Fialho discloses the method of claim 1, wherein structuring the new drawing layers further comprises aligning extracted space elements with a predefined spatial coordinate system for visualization in a space management program (Ye, [0005] “The application parses the extracted information to obtain space profiles for features of a floorplan associates the space profile data…of floorplans stored in an asset management system” and [0051] Using the entity records 208, the data extractor 122 extracts geometric and dimensional coordinates and other descriptive information 210 for a real-world entity, each entity record may include data for a shape or space profile feature of the real-world entity, where the data includes dimensional coordinates defining an outline of the real-world entity” Ye teaches aligning extracted space elements (the space profile features of the real-world entity) with predefined dimensional coordinates defining an outline of a floorplan (visualization) in an asset management system.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Ye et al. (U.S. 2019/0213287 A1) in view of Fialho et al. (U.S. 2014/0063058 A1) and further in view of Hartfiel et al. (U.S.2020/0082029 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, the method of claim 1, a combination of Ye and Fialho does not explicitly teach wherein structuring the new drawing layers further comprises merging multiple layers into a single merged graphics layer.
However, Hartfield teaches structuring the new drawing layers further comprises merging multiple layers into a single merged graphics layer (Hartfield, [0141] At 412, the unpacked geometry is obtained by merging converted geometry elements. The merge can be conducted on a hierarchical basis. That is, a layer name basis, followed by element classes. For example, an element of the class ‘SOLID’ on layer ‘0’ would appear in a list with all other such elements in the unpacked geometry” and [0142] “FIG. 5, an image canvas bounds is also extracted from the CAD contents 406 and used to initialize the drawing context 416 of the electronic map 422” [0145] “By default, geometry objects are drawn based on the colors in the CAD source file. The unpacked geometry stores objects containing functions so that elements on the layers classified as being visible are drawn onto the drawing context 416” Hartfield teaches structuring the new drawing layers including merging multiple layers (the layers of geometry elements) into a single merged graphics layer (the drawing context 416 of the electronic map 422, Fig.5)
Ye, Fialho and Hartfield are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, system and method for image processing and try to solve similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made for modifying the method of Ye to combine with merging multiple layers into a single merged graphics layer (as taught by Hartfield) in order to because Hartfield can provide structuring the new drawing layers including merging multiple layers (the layers of geometry elements) into a single merged graphics layer (the drawing context 416 of the electronic map 422, Fig.5) (Hartfield, [0141], Fig. 5, [0142], [0145]). Doing so, it may allow for alignment with every other CAD file of the set; and use the modified first CAD file as the site plan (Hartfield, [0013]).
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Chen et al. (U.S. 2017/0147717A1) and Kshetramade et al. (U.S. 2019/0102395 A1).
/KHOA VU/Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KEE M TUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611