DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al (US 2014/0352414 hereinafter “Ito”).
In regards to claim 1:
Ito teaches an engine misfire diagnosis system comprising: an engine (3) configured to output power based on supplied fuel; a crank rotation angle sensor (36) provided on the engine to measure a crank rotation angle of the engine (3); a motor (4) configured to generate electrical energy by receiving the power; and a controller (30) configured to perform control of the engine and the motor, wherein the controller is configured to diagnose a misfire for each cylinder of the engine based on the crank rotation angle and a motor control torque output to the motor when entering an engine power generation mode (Paragraph [0035] recites “The ECU 30 calculates the angular acceleration dωe of the engine 3, based on the output signal of the crank angle sensor 36, and calculates the angular acceleration dωg of the first motor-generator 4, based on the output signal of the first resolver 31. The torque reaction force Tg is always grasped by the ECU 30 as a control parameter of the first motor-generator 4; therefore, the torque reaction force Tg grasped by the ECU 30 is used. The ECU 30 calculates the each-cylinder torque Tex in the misfire determination period A by obtaining the average value of the plurality of samples of the combustion-time engine torque Te calculated according to the above equation”).
In regards to claim 2:
Ito teaches the controller (30) is configured to: temporally synchronize the crank rotation angle and the motor control torque; determine an engine torque correlation variable value based on the motor control torque; and diagnose the misfire for each cylinder based on the engine torque correlation variable value (Paragraph [0035]), wherein Ito teaches a “determination period A” that synchronizes a crank rotation angle (Paragraph [0028] recites “the starting points a of the misfire determination periods A provided for the respective cylinders 2 are set to 0.degree. CA, 120.degree. CA, 240.degree. CA, 360.degree. CA, 480.degree. CA, and 600.degree. CA, most of the engine torque of each cylinder 2 is covered by the corresponding misfire determination period A”), the torque correlation value is the angular acceleration in Paragraph [0035] “the angular acceleration dωg of the first motor-generator 4, based on the output signal of the first resolver 31” which is used to diagnose and determine a misfire “The ECU 30 calculates the each-cylinder torque Tex in the misfire determination period A by obtaining the average value of the plurality of samples of the combustion-time engine torque Te calculated”).
In regards to claim 3:
Ito teaches the controller (30) includes: an engine controller configured to receive the crank rotation angle from the crank rotation angle sensor; and a motor controller configured to receive the crank rotation angle provided from the engine controller, temporally synchronize the crank rotation angle and the motor control torque, and determine the engine torque correlation variable value based on the motor control torque (Paragraph [0028] recites “the starting points a of the misfire determination periods A provided for the respective cylinders 2 are set to 0.degree. CA, 120.degree. CA, 240.degree. CA, 360.degree. CA, 480.degree. CA, and 600.degree. CA, most of the engine torque of each cylinder 2 is covered by the corresponding misfire determination period A”), the torque correlation value is the angular acceleration in Paragraph [0035] “the angular acceleration dωg of the first motor-generator 4, based on the output signal of the first resolver 31” which is used to diagnose and determine a misfire “The ECU 30 calculates the each-cylinder torque Tex in the misfire determination period A by obtaining the average value of the plurality of samples of the combustion-time engine torque Te calculated”).
In regards to claim 4:
Ito teaches the motor controller is configured to: determine an engine cycle and a cycle of each cylinder based on change of the crank rotation angle; and determine the engine torque correlation variable value for each cylinder cycle (Paragraph [0028] recites “the starting points a of the misfire determination periods A provided for the respective cylinders 2 are set to 0.degree. CA, 120.degree. CA, 240.degree. CA, 360.degree. CA, 480.degree. CA, and 600.degree. CA, most of the engine torque of each cylinder 2 is covered by the corresponding misfire determination period A” and Paragraph [0035] recites “The ECU 30 calculates the angular acceleration dωe of the engine 3, based on the output signal of the crank angle sensor 36, and calculates the angular acceleration dωg of the first motor-generator 4, based on the output signal of the first resolver 31.”).
In regards to claim 5:
Ito teaches the motor controller is configured to determine the engine torque correlation variable value by integrating an amount of change of the motor control torque matching one cycle for each cylinder (Paragraph [0028] recites “the starting points a of the misfire determination periods A provided for the respective cylinders 2 are set to 0.degree. CA, 120.degree. CA, 240.degree. CA, 360.degree. CA, 480.degree. CA, and 600.degree. CA, most of the engine torque of each cylinder 2 is covered by the corresponding misfire determination period A”).
In regards to claim 6:
Ito teaches the motor controller (30) is configured to diagnose the misfire of the cylinder by comparing the engine torque correlation variable value with a preset misfire threshold (Paragraph [0051] recites “In each of the above-described embodiments, misfire is determined by calculating each-cylinder torque as the average value of combustion-time engine torque within the misfire determination period, and comparing the each-cylinder torque with the misfire determination torque.”).
In regards to claim 7:
Ito teaches the motor controller (30) is configured to provide the engine torque correlation variable value to the engine controller; and the engine controller is configured to diagnose the misfire of the cylinder by comparing the engine torque correlation variable value with a preset misfire threshold (Paragraph [0051] recites “In each of the above-described embodiments, misfire is determined by calculating each-cylinder torque as the average value of combustion-time engine torque within the misfire determination period, and comparing the each-cylinder torque with the misfire determination torque.”).
In regards to claim 8:
Ito teaches the engine controller is configured to: determine crank angular acceleration based on the crank rotation angle; and diagnose a misfire of the engine by comparing the crank angular acceleration with a preset misfire threshold (Paragraph [0035] recites “The ECU 30 calculates the angular acceleration dωe of the engine 3, based on the output signal of the crank angle sensor 36” and Paragraph [0051] recites “In each of the above-described embodiments, misfire is determined by calculating each-cylinder torque as the average value of combustion-time engine torque within the misfire determination period, and comparing the each-cylinder torque with the misfire determination torque.”).
In regards to claim 9:
Ito teaches the engine controller is configured to provide the crank rotation angle to the motor controller when the crank angular acceleration is greater than or equal to the preset misfire threshold (Paragraph [0035] recites “The ECU 30 calculates the angular acceleration dωe of the engine 3, based on the output signal of the crank angle sensor 36” and Paragraph [0051] recites “In each of the above-described embodiments, misfire is determined by calculating each-cylinder torque as the average value of combustion-time engine torque within the misfire determination period, and comparing the each-cylinder torque with the misfire determination torque.”).
In regards to claim 10:
Ito teaches an engine misfire diagnosis method comprising: entering an engine power generation mode; controlling an engine and a motor configured to generate electrical energy based on power transmitted from the engine; and diagnosing a misfire for each cylinder of the engine based on a crank rotation angle measured by a crank rotation angle sensor provided on the engine and a motor control torque output to the motor (Paragraph [0035] recites “The ECU 30 calculates the angular acceleration dωe of the engine 3, based on the output signal of the crank angle sensor 36, and calculates the angular acceleration dωg of the first motor-generator 4, based on the output signal of the first resolver 31. The torque reaction force Tg is always grasped by the ECU 30 as a control parameter of the first motor-generator 4; therefore, the torque reaction force Tg grasped by the ECU 30 is used. The ECU 30 calculates the each-cylinder torque Tex in the misfire determination period A by obtaining the average value of the plurality of samples of the combustion-time engine torque Te calculated according to the above equation”).
In regards to claim 11:
Ito teaches diagnosing the misfire includes: synchronizing the crank rotation angle and the motor control torque temporally; determining an engine torque correlation variable value based on the motor control torque; and diagnosing the misfire for each cylinder based on the engine torque correlation variable value (Paragraph [0035]), wherein Ito teaches a “determination period A” that synchronizes a crank rotation angle (Paragraph [0028] recites “the starting points a of the misfire determination periods A provided for the respective cylinders 2 are set to 0.degree. CA, 120.degree. CA, 240.degree. CA, 360.degree. CA, 480.degree. CA, and 600.degree. CA, most of the engine torque of each cylinder 2 is covered by the corresponding misfire determination period A”), the torque correlation value is the angular acceleration in Paragraph [0035] “the angular acceleration dωg of the first motor-generator 4, based on the output signal of the first resolver 31” which is used to diagnose and determine a misfire “The ECU 30 calculates the each-cylinder torque Tex in the misfire determination period A by obtaining the average value of the plurality of samples of the combustion-time engine torque Te calculated”).
In regards to claim 12:
Ito teaches diagnosing the misfire includes: receiving, by an engine controller (30), the crank rotation angle from the crank rotation angle sensor (36); receiving, by a motor controller (30), the crank rotation angle provided from the engine controller (30); temporally synchronizing, by the motor controller, the crank rotation angle and the motor control torque; and determining, by the motor controller, the engine torque correlation variable value based on the motor control torque (Paragraph [0028] recites “the starting points a of the misfire determination periods A provided for the respective cylinders 2 are set to 0.degree. CA, 120.degree. CA, 240.degree. CA, 360.degree. CA, 480.degree. CA, and 600.degree. CA, most of the engine torque of each cylinder 2 is covered by the corresponding misfire determination period A”), the torque correlation value is the angular acceleration in Paragraph [0035] “the angular acceleration dωg of the first motor-generator 4, based on the output signal of the first resolver 31” which is used to diagnose and determine a misfire “The ECU 30 calculates the each-cylinder torque Tex in the misfire determination period A by obtaining the average value of the plurality of samples of the combustion-time engine torque Te calculated”)``.
In regards to claim 13:
Ito teaches diagnosing the misfire includes: determining, by the motor controller (30), an engine cycle and a cycle for each cylinder based on change of the crank rotation angle; and determining, by the motor controller, the engine torque correlation variable value for each cylinder cycle (Paragraph [0028] recites “the starting points a of the misfire determination periods A provided for the respective cylinders 2 are set to 0.degree. CA, 120.degree. CA, 240.degree. CA, 360.degree. CA, 480.degree. CA, and 600.degree. CA, most of the engine torque of each cylinder 2 is covered by the corresponding misfire determination period A” and Paragraph [0035] recites “The ECU 30 calculates the angular acceleration dωe of the engine 3, based on the output signal of the crank angle sensor 36, and calculates the angular acceleration dωg of the first motor-generator 4, based on the output signal of the first resolver 31.”.
In regards to claim 14:
Ito teaches diagnosing the misfire includes determining, by the motor controller, the engine torque correlation variable value by integrating an amount of change of the motor control torque matching one cycle for each cylinder (Paragraph [0028] recites “the starting points a of the misfire determination periods A provided for the respective cylinders 2 are set to 0.degree. CA, 120.degree. CA, 240.degree. CA, 360.degree. CA, 480.degree. CA, and 600.degree. CA, most of the engine torque of each cylinder 2 is covered by the corresponding misfire determination period A”).
In regards to claim 15:
Ito teaches diagnosing the misfire includes diagnosing, by the motor controller, the misfire of the cylinder by comparing the engine torque correlation variable value with a preset misfire threshold (Paragraph [0051] recites “In each of the above-described embodiments, misfire is determined by calculating each-cylinder torque as the average value of combustion-time engine torque within the misfire determination period, and comparing the each-cylinder torque with the misfire determination torque.”).
In regards to claim 16:
Ito teaches diagnosing the misfire includes: providing, by the motor controller (30), the engine torque correlation variable value to the engine controller, and diagnosing, by the engine controller, the misfire of the cylinder by comparing the engine torque correlation variable value with a preset misfire threshold (Paragraph [0051] recites “In each of the above-described embodiments, misfire is determined by calculating each-cylinder torque as the average value of combustion-time engine torque within the misfire determination period, and comparing the each-cylinder torque with the misfire determination torque.”).
In regards to claim 17:
Ito teaches diagnosing the misfire includes: determining, by the engine controller, crank angular acceleration based on the crank rotation angle; and diagnosing, by the engine controller, a misfire of the engine by comparing the crank angular acceleration with a preset misfire threshold (Paragraph [0035] recites “The ECU 30 calculates the angular acceleration dωe of the engine 3, based on the output signal of the crank angle sensor 36” and Paragraph [0051] recites “In each of the above-described embodiments, misfire is determined by calculating each-cylinder torque as the average value of combustion-time engine torque within the misfire determination period, and comparing the each-cylinder torque with the misfire determination torque.”).
In regards to claim 18:
Ito teaches diagnosing the misfire includes providing, by the engine controller, the crank rotation angle to the motor controller when the crank angular acceleration is greater than or equal to the preset misfire threshold (Paragraph [0035] recites “The ECU 30 calculates the angular acceleration dωe of the engine 3, based on the output signal of the crank angle sensor 36” and Paragraph [0051] recites “In each of the above-described embodiments, misfire is determined by calculating each-cylinder torque as the average value of combustion-time engine torque within the misfire determination period, and comparing the each-cylinder torque with the misfire determination torque.”).
In regards to claim 19:
Ito teaches a vehicle comprising: a power generation device including an engine (3), a motor (4) configured to generate electrical energy based on power transmitted from the engine, and a crank rotation angle sensor (36) provided on the engine to measure a crank rotation angle of the engine; and a controller (30) configured to perform control of the engine and the motor, wherein the controller is configured to diagnose a misfire for each cylinder of the engine based on the crank rotation angle and a motor control torque output to the motor when entering an engine power generation mode (Paragraph [0035] recites “The ECU 30 calculates the angular acceleration dωe of the engine 3, based on the output signal of the crank angle sensor 36, and calculates the angular acceleration dωg of the first motor-generator 4, based on the output signal of the first resolver 31. The torque reaction force Tg is always grasped by the ECU 30 as a control parameter of the first motor-generator 4; therefore, the torque reaction force Tg grasped by the ECU 30 is used. The ECU 30 calculates the each-cylinder torque Tex in the misfire determination period A by obtaining the average value of the plurality of samples of the combustion-time engine torque Te calculated according to the above equation”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Ota et al (US 2019/0293519 hereinafter “Ota”).
In regards to claim 20:
Ito teaches the vehicle further comprising: other electrical equipment configured to provide information to the controller, wherein the controller is configured to use the information provided from the other electrical equipment to determine whether to enter the engine power generation mode (The ECU 30 calculates required driving force requested by the driver, referring to the output signal of the accelerator pedal position sensor 33 and the output signal of the vehicle speed sensor 35, and controls the vehicle 1 while selecting one of various operating modes so as to provide the optimum system efficiency for the required driving force. For example, in a low-load region in which the thermal efficiency of the engine 3 is reduced, combustion is stopped in the engine 3, and the vehicle 1 is operated in an EV mode in which the second motor-generator 5 is driven. When torque generated solely by the engine 3 is insufficient, the vehicle 1 is operated in a hybrid mode in which the second motor-generator 5 as well as the engine 3 is used as a driving source for running the vehicle 1.).
Ito does not teach a battery charged by receiving the electrical energy generated by the power generation device.
Ota teaches a battery charged by receiving electrical energy generated by a power generation device (Paragraph [0035] of Ota).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application to have the vehicle of Ito have a battery as taught by Ota in order to store electrical energy.
Conclusion
/JAMES J KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747