DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "heating portion capable of circulating the refrigerant… and heating," in claim 1.
The “heating portion” is sufficiently described in the specification as a cylinder and coil wiring (see paragraph 12, specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada (EP 2381740 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Okada discloses an air conditioning system (air conditioner 1, fig. 1) comprising a heat pump cycle (refrigerant circuit 10 with compressor 21, outdoor heat exchanger 23, expansion valve 24 and indoor heat exchanger 41, see fig. 1 and paragraph 36) having a refrigerant pipe (refrigerant pipes A, B, C, D…K, see paragraph 38 and fig. 1) capable of circulating a refrigerant therethrough (refrigerant passing through the circuit, see fig. 1 and paragraph 38), and a compressor (compressor 21) capable of compressing the refrigerant (see paragraph 44), wherein a heating portion (electromagnetic induction heating unit 6, see paragraph 36, wherein the heating unit 6 includes metal covers 75 and coil wiring 68, see figs. 9-13 and paragraph 63) capable of circulating the refrigerant therethrough (see fig. 5, and paragraphs 57-58) and capable of heating the refrigerant (by heating unit 6) by electromagnetic induction is connected in the middle of the refrigerant pipe (see electromagnetic induction heating unit 6 connected in the middle of refrigerant pipe, wherein the heating unit 6 is mounted on accumulator pipe F, see figs. 9, 5 and paragraph 60).
In regards to claim 9, Okada teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the air conditioning system further comprises a control unit (control units 11, 12 with timer 95) for controlling the heat pump cycle (see paragraphs 52-53) and the heating portion (see control unit 11 controlling heating unit 6, paragraph 63), and wherein the control unit comprises controlling so as to heat the refrigerant in the heating portion by electromagnetic induction upon start of a heating operation mode of the heat pump cycle (by performing electromagnetic induction heating by heating unit 6 during start up, see paragraph 44).
In regards to claim 10, Okada teaches the limitations of claim 9 and further discloses that the heat pump cycle further comprises a condenser (outdoor heat exchanger 23) for exchanging heat between air flowing through an air conditioning duct (by operation of fans 26, see fig. 1) and the refrigerant (refrigerant flowing between pipe E and pipe D, see fig. 1), and wherein the heating operation mode comprises compressing the refrigerant with the compressor (compressor 21 compresses refrigerant, see paragraph 44) and introducing the refrigerant discharged from the compressor into the condenser to heat the air (see compressed refrigerant introduced into condenser 23 for heating air, fig. 1 and paragraph 44).
In regards to claim 11, Okada teaches the limitations of claim 10 and further discloses that the heat pump cycle further comprises: an evaporator (indoor heat exchanger 41) for exchanging heat between the air flowing through the air conditioning duct and the refrigerant (air within the indoor unit 4 and the refrigerant flowing through indoor heat exchanger 41 by operation of fan 42, see fig. 1 and paragraph 49); and an outdoor heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchanger 23) for exchanging heat between outside air and the refrigerant (outdoor heat exchanger exchanging heat with outside air, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 50, 44, 47-48).
In regards to claim 12, Okada teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses that the heating portion is connected in the middle of the refrigerant pipe at a position between the compressor and the condenser (alternative limitation), or at a position between the compressor and the evaporator (electromagnetic induction heating unit 6 is disposed between compressor 21 and evaporator 41 on refrigerant pipe F, see fig. 1) or the outdoor heat exchanger, or the heat portions are connected in the middle of the refrigerant pipe at both of the positions (alternative limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (EP 2381740 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Wakamatsu (US 2005/0178761 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Okada teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the heating portion (electromagnetic induction heating unit 6, see paragraph 36 and figs. 9-13) comprises: a main heating unit structure (pipes F1, F2, cover 75, ferrite parts 98, 99, ferrite case 73, 74, main body 65, coil 68) having an outer peripheral wall (ferrite case 71, 72 and 73, see fig. 9 and paragraph 62) and partition walls disposed on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall (pipes F1, F2 within ferrite case 71, see fig. 11), at least one of the inner partition walls (pipe F1) being provided with a magnetic material (pipe F1 made with magnetic material, see paragraph 44); and a coil wiring (coil wiring 68) spirally wound around an outer periphery of the main structure (see coil 68 helically wound around main body 65, paragraph 63 and figs. 9-13, 19).
However, Okada does not explicitly teach a honeycomb structure of the heating portion, where the partition walls define plurality of cells, each of the cells extending from a first end face to a second end face and the coil wound around honeycomb structure.
Wakamatsu discloses a heating portion (heating element 8, figs. 1-4) comprising: a honeycomb structure (honeycomb structure, see fig. 3d and paragraph 40) having an outer peripheral wall (outer wall of the cylindrical heating element 8, see figs. 3) and partition walls (partition walls 8b, see figs. 3 and paragraph 40) disposed on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall (see figs. 3-4), the partition walls defining a plurality of cells (plurality of cells/passages 8a defined by partition walls 8b, see figs. 3-4), each of the cells extending from a first end face to a second end face (each passage 8a extending from the top face to the bottom face of the heating element 8, see figs. 3-4), at least one of the cells being provided with a magnetic material (heating elements 8 made of magnetic material, see paragraph 41); and a coil wiring (coil 7) spirally wound around an outer periphery of the honeycomb structure (see coil 7 wrapped around heating element 8, figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 41, 45-47).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating portion of the air conditioning system of Okada by providing a heating portion having a honeycomb structure having an outer peripheral wall and partition walls disposed on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall, the partition walls defining a plurality of cells, each of the cells extending from a first end face to a second end face, at least one of the cells being provided with a magnetic material; and a coil wiring spirally wound around an outer periphery of the honeycomb structure based on the teachings of Wakamatsu in order to increase the specific surface area of the heating portion and heating medium to improve heating efficiency of the medium (see paragraph 22, Wakamatsu).
In regards to claim 3, Okada teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the heating portion (electromagnetic induction heating unit 6, see paragraph 36 and figs. 9-13) comprises: a main heating unit structure (pipes F1, F2, cover 75, ferrite parts 98, 99, ferrite case 73, 74, main body 65, coil 68) having an outer peripheral wall (ferrite case 71, 72 and 73, see fig. 9 and paragraph 62) and partition walls disposed on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall (pipes F1, F2 within ferrite case 71, see fig. 11), at least one of the inner partition walls (pipe F1) being provided with a magnetic material (pipe F1 made with magnetic material, see paragraph 44); and a coil wiring (coil wiring 68) spirally wound around an outer periphery of the main structure (see coil 68 helically wound around main body 65, paragraph 63 and figs. 9-13, 19).
However, Okada does not explicitly teach a honeycomb structure of the heating portion, where the partition walls define plurality of cells, each of the cells extending from a first end face to a second end face and the coil wound around honeycomb structure.
Wakamatsu discloses a heating portion (heating element 8, figs. 1-4) comprising: a honeycomb structure (honeycomb structure, see fig. 3d and paragraph 40) having an outer peripheral wall (outer wall of the cylindrical heating element 8, see figs. 3) and partition walls (partition walls 8b, see figs. 3 and paragraph 40) disposed on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall (see figs. 3-4), the partition walls defining a plurality of cells (plurality of cells/passages 8a defined by partition walls 8b, see figs. 3-4), each of the cells extending from a first end face to a second end face (each passage 8a extending from the top face to the bottom face of the heating element 8, see figs. 3-4), at least one of the partition walls comprising a magnetic material (heating elements 8 made of magnetic material, see paragraph 41); and a coil wiring (coil 7) spirally wound around an outer periphery of the honeycomb structure (see coil 7 wrapped around heating element 8, figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 41, 45-47).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating portion of the air conditioning system of Okada by providing a heating portion having a honeycomb structure having an outer peripheral wall and partition walls disposed on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall, the partition walls defining a plurality of cells, each of the cells extending from a first end face to a second end face, at least one of the cells being provided with a magnetic material; and a coil wiring spirally wound around an outer periphery of the honeycomb structure based on the teachings of Wakamatsu in order to increase the specific surface area of the heating portion and heating medium to improve heating efficiency of the medium (see paragraph 22, Wakamatsu).
In regards to claim 4, Okada as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses that the heating portion further comprises a metallic outer cylindrical member (ferrite case 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 98 and 99, see fig. 9 and paragraph 62) for housing the main pipe structure (for pipe structure F1) and the coil wiring (for housing coil wiring 68, see paragraph 63 and figs. 9-13, 19).
In regards to claim 5, Okada as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4 and further discloses that the heating portion further comprises an inner cylindrical member (pipes F2 and main body 65, see fig. 11) between the main pipe structure (F1) and the coil wiring (see pipe F2 and body 65 between pipe structure F1 and coil 68, fig. 11).
In regards to claim 6, Okada as modified teaches the limitations of claim 5 and further discloses that the heating portion further comprises a holding member (F2) between the main structure (F1) and the inner cylindrical member (F2 between main body 65 and F1, see figs. 9-13).
In regards to claim 7, Okada as modified teaches the limitations of claim 5 and further discloses that the heating portion is connected in the middle of the refrigerant pipe on an upstream side, a downstream side, or both of the upstream and the downstream sides of the compressor (induction heating unit 6 is connected to the compressor via accumulator pipe F, see fig. 6 and paragraph 44), based on a flow direction of the refrigerant (based on flow of refrigerant through four-way switching valve 22).
In regards to claim 8, Okada as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses that the magnetic material comprises at least one element selected from the group of Fe, Cr, Ni, Mn, Zn, Co, Cu and Si (see iron, copper, chrome, nickel as magnetic materials, paragraph 44).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (EP 2381740 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Takahashi (US 2019/0297684 A1).
In regards to claim 13, Okada teaches the limitations of claim 1 except using the claimed air conditioning system for a vehicle.
However, Takahashi teaches a fluid heating component (1, see fig. 1) with a honeycomb structure (2, see fig. 1 and paragraph 71), where the heating component is used in an automobile vehicle (see paragraphs 71, 74, 89 and 121).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating portion of the air conditioning system of Okada by using the air conditioning system with honeycomb structured heating portion of a vehicle based on the teachings of Takahashi in order to improve refrigerant heating/cooling capacity or fuel efficiency of the vehicle and the air conditioning system (see paragraph 138, Takahashi).
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763