DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A (claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-10 and 39-49) in the reply filed on 3/13/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keisling (US 3623649).
Regarding claim 1, Keisling discloses a sonotrode 10 configured for use in an ultrasonic welding system (fig. 1) comprising: a body portion terminating at a tip portion 14, the tip portion including a working surface (fig. 2- bottom surface), the working surface defining an aperture (center- connected to channel 24- fig. 4, configured to hold a conductive pin (holds lead/pin 34- fig. 5) during an ultrasonic welding process (figs. 6-8), the working surface defining a plurality of linear depressions/grooves 30-32 having varied dimensions (col. 2, lines 67-75), each of the linear depressions following a path (path extends away toward a peripheral edge- figs. 2, 4) that does not intersect the aperture. Examiner notes that “a conductive pin” is material worked upon that does not structurally limit the sonotrode and said pin is open to any shape or dimension.
As to claim 2, Keisling shows that each of the plurality of linear depressions 30-32 extending across the working surface of the tip portion (fig. 2). It is noted that extending any length across the working surface meets the claim.
Regarding claim 41, Keisling discloses an ultrasonic welding system (fig. 1) comprising a support structure 40 for supporting a workpiece 36 (fig. 4); and a weld head assembly including an ultrasonic converter (not shown) carrying a sonotrode 10 configured for use in the ultrasonic welding system, the sonotrode including a body portion terminating at a tip portion 14, the tip portion including a working surface (fig. 2- bottom surface), the working surface defining an aperture (center- connected to channel 24- fig. 4, configured to hold a conductive pin (holds lead/pin 34- fig. 5) during an ultrasonic welding process (figs. 6-8), the working surface defining a plurality of linear depressions/grooves 30-32 having varied dimensions (col. 2, lines 67-75), each of the linear depressions following a path (path extends away toward a peripheral edge- figs. 2, 4) that does not intersect the aperture. Examiner notes that “a conductive pin” is material worked upon that does not structurally limit the sonotrode and said pin is open to any shape or dimension.
As to claim 42, Keisling shows that each of the plurality of linear depressions 30-32 extending across the working surface of the tip portion (fig. 2).
Claims 1-2, 5, 41-42 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Interrante et al. (US 5193732, hereafter “Interrante”).
Regarding claim 1, Interrante discloses a sonotrode 50 (fig. 2) configured for use in an ultrasonic welding system (col. 10, lines 3-20) comprising: a body portion terminating at a tip portion, the tip portion including a working surface (fig. 2B shows bottom surface), the working surface defining an aperture 52 (in center) configured to hold a conductive pin (e.g. staple or wire 40- fig. 5) during an ultrasonic welding process (figs. 6-8), the working surface defining a plurality of linear depressions/grooves 54, each of the linear depressions following a path (path extends away toward a peripheral edge- fig. 2B) that does not intersect the aperture. It is noted that “a conductive pin” is material worked upon that does not structurally limit the sonotrode and said pin is open to any shape or dimension.
As to claim 2, Interrante shows that each of the plurality of linear depressions extending across the working surface of the tip portion. Any length extending across the working surface meets the claim.
As to claim 5, Interrante shows that the working surface includes a smooth portion and the plurality of linear depressions are disposed around a peripheral portion of the working surface (fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 41, Interrante discloses an ultrasonic welding system (figs. 2-5) comprising a support structure for supporting a workpiece (fig. 5); and a weld head assembly including an ultrasonic converter (not shown) carrying a sonotrode 50 (fig. 2) configured for use in the ultrasonic welding system (col. 10, lines 3-20), the sonotrode including: a body portion terminating at a tip portion, the tip portion including a working surface (fig. 2B shows bottom surface), the working surface defining an aperture 52 (in center) configured to hold a conductive pin (e.g. staple or wire 40- fig. 5) during an ultrasonic welding process (figs. 6-8), the working surface defining a plurality of linear depressions/grooves 54, each of the linear depressions following a path (path extends away toward a peripheral edge- fig. 2B) that does not intersect the aperture. It is noted that “a conductive pin” is material worked upon that does not structurally limit the sonotrode and said pin is open to any shape or dimension.
As to claim 42, Interrante shows that each of the plurality of linear depressions extending across the working surface of the tip portion (fig. 2B).
As to claim 45, Interrante shows that the working surface includes a smooth portion and the plurality of linear depressions are disposed around a peripheral portion of the working surface (fig. 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9-10. 39-45 and 47-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Distefano et al. (US 5868301, “Distefano”) in view of Pitts et al. (US 4776509, “Pitts”).
Regarding claim 1, Distefano discloses a sonotrode configured for use in an ultrasonic welding system comprising: a body portion terminating at a tip portion 110, the tip portion including a working surface 120 (fig. 2A), the working surface defining an aperture 150 configured to hold a conductive pin during an ultrasonic welding process (figs. 2A-2C). Examiner again notes that “a conductive pin” is material worked upon that does not structurally limit the sonotrode and said pin is open to any shape or dimension.
Concerning linear depressions, Distefano discloses that the working surface also includes a plurality of grooves 210 (depressions) extending on the working surface, the grooves adapted to receive and engage the elongated leads being bonded to respective chip contacts for accurate alignment (fig. 3; col. 7, lines 35- 50); exemplary figure 3C-3D shows 4 such guides/grooves which appears to be linear depressions that do not intersect the aperture 150 (col. 7, lines 45-55). Nonetheless, providing such depressions is known in the ultrasonic bonding tools. Pitts discloses an ultrasonic bonding tool 30 comprising a body portion and a tip portion 32 (fig. 7), wherein the tip portion working surface includes a plurality of linear depressions or grooves 34/44/54 (see figs. 8-15). Pitts further teaches that the cross-pattern grooves configuration maximizes the coupling of ultrasonic energy and improves lead bonding (col. 4, lines 7-20, 60-62). By more efficiently coupling the ultrasonic energy to the interface, the parameters of pressure force and ultrasonic powder could be reduced, avoiding cratering and poor bonding (col. 4, lines 46-52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide linear depressions on the working surface in the tip of Distefano because they would assist in accurate alignment of the leads being bonded (as desired by Distefano) and result in efficient coupling of ultrasonic energy to the interface, reducing the parameters of pressure force & ultrasonic powder and thereby avoiding cratering and poor bonding, as suggested by Pitts. Thus, Distefano as modified by Pitts discloses the working surface including a plurality of linear depressions, each of the linear depressions following a path that does not intersect the aperture.
As to claim 2, Distefano and Pitts discloses each of the plurality of linear depressions extending across the working surface of the tip portion. Examiner notes that extending any length across the working surface meets the claim.
As to claim 3, in one embodiment, Pitts shows that the plurality of linear depressions collectively define a star-shaped pattern (fig. 11). It is noted that “star-shaped” pattern is generally subjective and not limited by specific geometry. Distefano teaches that any suitable orientation of grooves/depressions can be selected that facilitate the alignment of the leads to the chip contacts with capturing the lead withing the grooves, depending on the chip-package assembly (col. 9, lines 22-50). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a star-shaped depressions pattern on the working surface in the combination of Distefano & Pitts with a motivation to align the leads for a desired chip-package assembly.
As to claim 5, Distefano shows that the working surface includes a smooth portion (fig. 2A). Distefano as modified by Pitts above includes the plurality of linear depressions disposed around a peripheral portion of the working surface.
As to claims 9-10, Distefano shows that the tip portion 110 includes a chamfered portion 140 (see fig. 2A- transition radius) between the working surface and a terminal end of the sonotrode, wherein the chamfered portion is configured to align the conductive pin with respect to the aperture in connection with the ultrasonic welding process.
As to claim 39, in one embodiment, Pitts shows that the plurality of linear depressions collectively define a plurality of V-shaped patterns around a peripheral portion of the working surface a star-shaped pattern (fig. 11). Distefano teaches that any suitable orientation of grooves/depressions can be selected that facilitate the alignment of the leads to the chip contacts with capturing the lead withing the grooves, depending on the chip-package assembly (col. 9, lines 22-50). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize V-shaped depressions pattern on the working surface in the combination of Distefano & Pitts in order to align the leads for a desired chip-package assembly.
As to claim 40, Distefano discloses that the body portion and the tip portion are separate pieces coupled together (fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 41, Distefano discloses an ultrasonic welding system comprising: a weld head assembly carrying a sonotrode (fig. 2), the sonotrode including a body portion terminating at a tip portion 110, the tip portion including a working surface 120 defining an aperture 150 configured to hold a conductive pin during an ultrasonic welding process (fig. 2A). Examiner takes official notice with respect to a support structure for supporting a workpiece; and a weld head assembly including an ultrasonic converter, which is a conventional feature known in the ultrasonic welding system. Examiner notes that “a conductive pin” is material worked upon that does not structurally limit the sonotrode and said pin is open to any shape or dimension.
Concerning linear depressions, Distefano discloses that the working surface also includes a plurality of grooves 210 (depressions) extending on the working surface, the grooves adapted to receive and engage the elongated leads being bonded to respective chip contacts for accurate alignment (fig. 3; col. 7, lines 35- 50); exemplary figure 3C-3D shows 4 such guides/grooves which appears to be linear depressions that do not intersect the aperture 150 (col. 7, lines 45-55). Nonetheless, providing such depressions is known in the ultrasonic bonding tools. Pitts discloses an ultrasonic bonding tool 30 comprising a body portion and a tip portion 32 (fig. 7), wherein the tip portion working surface includes a plurality of linear depressions or grooves 34/44/54 (see figs. 8-15). Pitts further teaches that the cross-pattern grooves configuration maximizes the coupling of ultrasonic energy and improves lead bonding (col. 4, lines 7-20, 60-62). By more efficiently coupling the ultrasonic energy to the interface, the parameters of pressure force and ultrasonic powder could be reduced, avoiding cratering and poor bonding (col. 4, lines 46-52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide linear depressions on the working surface in the tip of Distefano because they would assist in accurate alignment of the leads being bonded (as desired by Distefano) and results in efficient coupling of ultrasonic energy to the interface, reducing the parameters of pressure force and ultrasonic powder and thereby avoiding cratering and poor bonding, as suggested by Pitts. Thus, Distefano as modified by Pitts discloses the working surface including a plurality of linear depressions, each of the linear depressions following a path that does not intersect the aperture.
As to claim 42, Distefano and Pitts discloses each of the plurality of linear depressions extending across the working surface of the tip portion. Examiner notes that extending any length across the working surface meets the claim.
As to claims 43-44, in one embodiment, Pitts shows that the plurality of linear depressions collectively define a star-shaped pattern, which encompasses V-shape (fig. 11). It is noted that “star-shaped” pattern is generally subjective and not limited by specific geometry. Distefano teaches that any suitable orientation of grooves/depressions can be selected that facilitate the alignment of the leads to the chip contacts with capturing the lead withing the grooves, depending on the chip-package assembly (col. 9, lines 22-50). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a star-shaped or V-shaped depressions pattern on the working surface in the combination of Distefano & Pitts with a motivation to align the leads for a desired chip-package assembly.
As to claim 45, Distefano shows that the working surface includes a smooth portion (fig. 2A). Distefano as modified by Pitts above includes the plurality of linear depressions disposed around a peripheral portion of the working surface.
As to claim 47, Distefano discloses that the body portion and the tip portion are separate pieces coupled together (fig. 2A).
As to claims 48-49, Distefano shows that the tip portion 110 includes a chamfered portion 140 (see fig. 2A- transition radius) between the working surface and a terminal end of the sonotrode, wherein the chamfered portion is configured to align the conductive pin with respect to the aperture in connection with the ultrasonic welding process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including ALL of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/6/25, 6/19/25 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Inquiry
To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/interview-practice. Communications via Internet email are at the discretion of Applicant. If Applicant wishes to communicate via email, a written authorization form must be filed by Applicant: Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The form may be filed via the Patent Center and can be found using the document description Internet Communications, see https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/forms. In limited circumstances, the Applicant may make an oral authorization for Internet communication. See MPEP § 502.03.
/DEVANG R PATEL/
Primary Examiner, AU 1735