DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a lack of antecedent basis for the recitation of “the fragrance pad in line 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flego et al. (US 20210001214 A1), further in view of Gammon et al. (US 20120018529 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Flego teaches a device for augmenting a virtual reality experience, comprising: a fragrant media; (Fig. 4. Para 4-5, 30, 120. HMD with element 402 providing scent through scent media. )
a housing comprising a first housing section and a second housing section and said housing is configured to hold the fragrant media within said housing; (Fig. 4, Para 30, 120. Housing 402 with first and second housing sections holding cartridge 405 with media. First and second housing sections can be top and bottom housing)
and a coupling mechanism for detachably coupling the housing to an exterior surface of a virtual reality headset. (Fig. 4, Para 120. Housing 402 is coupled to the HMD with bracket 409)
However Flego does not teach an absorbent pad configured to absorb a fragrant liquid; a housing comprising a first housing section and a second housing section and said housing is configured to hold the absorbent pad within said housing and said pad is capable of absorbing a liquid fragrance and said pad allowing said fragrance absorbed into the pad to permeate through or escape out of the housing through at least one hole in said second housing section and said at least one hole is in communication with said pad so that said liquid fragrance can be applied to said pad using said at least on hole by a user of said device.
However Gammon teaches an absorbent pad configured to absorb a fragrant liquid; a housing comprising a first housing section and a second housing section and said housing is configured to hold the absorbent pad within said housing and said pad is capable of absorbing a liquid fragrance (Para 19-22. Absorbent pad 46 holding liquid fragrance, vent holes 48. Housing 24 with upper and lower portions 42 and 44)
and said pad allowing said fragrance absorbed into the pad to permeate through or escape out of the housing through at least one hole in said second housing section. (Para 27. Liquid can filled through the vent hole)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Flego with Gammon to teach an absorbent pad configured to absorb a fragrant liquid; a housing comprising a first housing section and a second housing section and said housing is configured to hold the absorbent pad within said housing and said pad is capable of absorbing a liquid fragrance and said pad allowing said fragrance absorbed into the pad to permeate through or escape out of the housing through at least one hole in said second housing section and said at least one hole is in communication with said pad so that said liquid fragrance can be applied to said pad using said at least on hole by a user of said device in order to produce the predictable result of enhancing the experience of using the AR/VR headset by using the fragrance holding method as taught by Gammon.
Regarding claim 5, Flego and Gammon already teach the device of claim 1, and Gammon further teaches wherein an exterior surface of the housing is provided with an aesthetic design, shape, or engraving. (Fig. 1 shows the housing 24 with a shape)
Regarding claim 8, Flego teaches a method for augmenting a virtual reality experience, comprising: placing scent media into a housing, (Fig. 4. Para 4-5, 30, 120. HMD with element 402 providing scent through scent media. )
the housing configured to hold the scent media while allowing fragrance to permeate through or escape out of the housing through at least one hole. (Fig. 4, Para 30, 120. Housing 402 with first and second housing sections holding cartridge 405 with media. First and second housing sections can be top and bottom housing. Outlet 407)
and detachably coupling the housing to an exterior surface of a virtual reality headset using a coupling mechanism. (Fig. 4, Para 120. Housing 402 is coupled to the HMD with bracket 409)
However Flego does not teach placing an absorbent pad configured to absorb a liquid fragrance into a housing, the housing configured to hold the absorbent pad while allowing fragrance of the pad to permeate through or escape out of the housing through at least one hole; applying a fragrant liquid to the absorbent pad though said at least one hole.
However Gammon teaches placing an absorbent pad configured to absorb a liquid fragrance into a housing, the housing configured to hold the absorbent pad while allowing fragrance of the pad to permeate through or escape out of the housing through at least one hole; (Para 19-23. Absorbent pad 46 holding liquid fragrance, vent holes 48. Housing 24 with upper and lower portions 42 and 44.)
applying a fragrant liquid to the absorbent pad though said at least one hole. (Para 27. Liquid can filled through the vent hole)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Flego with Gammon to teach placing an absorbent pad configured to absorb a liquid fragrance into a housing, the housing configured to hold the absorbent pad while allowing fragrance of the pad to permeate through or escape out of the housing through at least one hole; applying a fragrant liquid to the absorbent pad though said at least one hole in order to produce the predictable result of enhancing the experience of using the AR/VR headset by using the fragrance holding method as taught by Gammon.
Regarding claim 11, Flego and Gammon already teach the method of claim 8, and Gammon further teaches wherein applying the fragrant liquid to the absorbent pad comprises dropping the fragrant liquid through at least one hole in the housing configured to allow the fragrant liquid to pass through to the absorbent pad. (Para 27. Liquid can filled through the vent hole)
Claims 2-3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flego et al. (US 20210001214 A1), in view of Gammon et al. (US 20120018529 A1), further in view of Schmid (US 5586452 A).
Regarding claim 2, Flego and Gammon already teach the device of claim 1,
However Flego and Gammon do not teach wherein the housing is in the form of a locket having first and second sections coupled by a hinge, the housing further comprising a latch mechanism for holding the locket closed.
However Schmid teach wherein the housing is in the form of a locket having first and second sections coupled by a hinge, the housing further comprising a latch mechanism for holding the locket closed. (Col 1, Lines 5-15; Col 4, Lines 17-30. Fig. 4 shows a locket, and Fig. 7 shows a locking clasp.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Flego and Gammon with Schmid to teach wherein the housing is in the form of a locket having first and second sections coupled by a hinge, the housing further comprising a latch mechanism for holding the locket closed in order to produce the predictable result of fragrance pad storage by configuring the housing of Gammon in the form of a locket as taught by Schmid.
Regarding claim 3, Flego, Gammon and Schmid already teach the device of claim 2,
And Gammon further teaches wherein the housing comprises one or more of wood, plastic, metal, metal alloy, cork and leather. (Para 20. thermoplastic material or any other suitable alternative materials.)
Regarding claim 9, Flego and Gammon already teach the method of claim 8,
And Gammon already teaches the method further comprising closing the housing after placing the absorbent pad within the housing.(Para 20. Housing 24 with upper and lower portions 42 and 44 are releasably coupled)
However Flego and Gammon do not teach wherein the housing is in the form of a locket having first and second sections coupled by a hinge, the method further comprising closing the locket after placing the absorbent pad within the housing.
However Schmid teach wherein the housing is in the form of a locket having first and second sections coupled by a hinge, the method further comprising closing the locket after placing the absorbent pad within the housing. (Col 1, Lines 5-15; Col 4, Lines 17-30. Fig. 4 shows a locket, and Fig. 7 shows a locking clasp. So locket can be closed after placing the absorbent pad. The locket is analagous to the housing 24 of Gammon)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Flego and Gammon with Schmid to teach wherein the housing is in the form of a locket having first and second sections coupled by a hinge, the method further comprising closing the locket after placing the absorbent pad within the housing in order to produce the predictable result of fragrance pad storage by configuring the housing of Gammon in the form of a locket as taught by Schmid.
Regarding claim 10, Flego, Gammon and Schmid already teach the method of claim 9,
And Schmid further teaches wherein the housing further comprises a latch mechanism, the method further comprising engaging the latch mechanism to hold the locket closed. (Col 1, Lines 5-15; Col 4, Lines 17-30. Fig. 4 shows a locket, and Fig. 7 shows a locking clasp.)
Claims 4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flego et al. (US 20210001214 A1), in view of Gammon et al. (US 20120018529 A1), further in view of Pincheon (US 20200172012 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Flego and Gammon already teach the of claim 1,
However Flego and Gammon do not teach wherein the coupling mechanism comprises an adhesive for mounting it to the exterior surface of the virtual reality headset.
However Pincheon teaches use of adhesive attachment method. (Para 98-99)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Flego and Gammon with Pincheon to teach wherein the coupling mechanism comprises an adhesive for mounting it to the exterior surface of the virtual reality headset in order to produce the predictable result of coupling the housing to the VR system using the method as taught by Pincheon.
Regarding claim 13, Flego and Gammon already teach the method of claim 8, However Flego and Gammon do not teach wherein detachably coupling the housing to the exterior surface of the virtual reality headset comprises attaching an adhesive patch to the exterior surface of the virtual reality headset.
However Pincheon teaches use of adhesive attachment method. (Para 98-99)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Flego and Gammon with Pincheon to teach wherein detachably coupling the housing to the exterior surface of the virtual reality headset comprises attaching an adhesive patch to the exterior surface of the virtual reality headset in order to produce the predictable result of coupling the housing to the VR system using the method as taught by Pincheon.
Regarding claim 14, Flego, Gammon and Pincheon already teach the method of claim 13,
And Pincheon already teaches that the housing can be removably attached. (Para 99-99)
However Flego, Gammon and Pincheon do not teach further comprising removing the housing from the virtual reality headset and attaching a second housing containing a different fragrant liquid to provide a different scent during the virtual reality experience.
However Flego teaches switch out scent module to provide a different scent during the virtual reality experience. (Para 30, 38)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Flego, Gammon and Pincheon with the additional teaching of Flego to teach removing the housing from the virtual reality headset and attaching a second housing containing a different fragrant liquid to provide a different scent during the virtual reality experience in order to tailor different scent for different VR scenarios to enhance user experience.
Claims 6-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flego et al. (US 20210001214 A1), in view of Gammon et al. (US 20120018529 A1), further in view of Robbins-Sullivan (US 20070158455 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Flego and Gammon already teach the device of claim 1, However Flego and Gammon do not teach wherein the absorbent pad comprises a piece of cotton felt.
However Robbins-Sullivan teaches wherein the absorbent pad comprises a piece of cotton felt. (Para 55-56. Cotton felt 30)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Flego and Gammon with Robbins-Sullivan to teach wherein the absorbent pad comprises a piece of cotton felt in order to produce the predictable result of holding the fragrance liquid using the cotton felt as taught by Robbins-Sullivan.
Regarding claim 7, Flego, Gammon and Robbins-Sullivan already teach the device of claim 6,
and Gammon further teaches wherein the housing includes at least one hole configured to allow drops of fragrant liquid to pass through to the absorbent pad within the housing. (Para 27. Liquid can be filled through the vent hole)
Regarding claim 12, refer to rejection for claim 6.
Claims 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flego et al. (US 20210001214 A1), in view of Gammon et al. (US 20120018529 A1), in view of Fiebel et al. (US 20120144556 A1), in view of Gonzalez Franco et al. (US 20220221928 A1), further in view of Katsuki (US 6798447 B1).
Regarding claim 15, Flego teaches a virtual reality system, comprising: a virtual reality headset; (Fig. 4. Para 4-5, 30, 120. HMD with element 402 providing scent through scent media.)
and a fragrance device detachably coupled to an exterior surface of the virtual reality headset, (Fig. 4, Para 120. Housing 402 is coupled to the HMD with bracket 409)
the fragrance device comprising: a housing comprising a first housing section and a second housing section and said housing is configured to hold the a fragrant media within said housing, (Fig. 4, Para 30, 120. Housing 402 with first and second housing sections holding cartridge 405 with media. First and second housing sections can be top and bottom housing)
a coupling mechanism for detachably coupling the housing to the exterior surface of the virtual reality headset.
However Flego does not teach (i) said housing is configured to hold the absorbent pad within said housing and said pad is capable of absorbing a liquid fragrance and said pad allowing said fragrance absorbed into the pad to permeate through or escape out of the housing through at least one hole in said second housing section and said at least one hole is in communication with said pad so that said liquid fragrance can be applied to said pad using said at least on hole by a user of said device;
(ii) the at least one hole in said second housing section having an iris and said iris is controlled by at least one pullers;
(iii) puller is Nitinol metal pullers.
(iv) and said Nitinol metal pullers controlled by a microcontroller.
However with regarding to the aforementioned (i),
Gammon teaches said housing is configured to hold the absorbent pad within said housing and said pad is capable of absorbing a liquid fragrance and said pad allowing said fragrance absorbed into the pad to permeate through or escape out of the housing through at least one hole in said second housing section and (Para 19-22. Absorbent pad 46 holding liquid fragrance, vent holes 48. Housing 24 with upper and lower portions 42 and 44)
said at least one hole is in communication with said pad so that said liquid fragrance can be applied to said pad using said at least on hole by a user of said device; (Para 27. Liquid can filled through the vent hole)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Flego with Gammon to teach said housing is configured to hold the absorbent pad within said housing and said pad is capable of absorbing a liquid fragrance and said pad allowing said fragrance absorbed into the pad to permeate through or escape out of the housing through at least one hole in said second housing section and said at least one hole is in communication with said pad so that said liquid fragrance can be applied to said pad using said at least on hole by a user of said device in order to produce the predictable result of enhancing the experience of using the AR/VR headset by using the fragrance holding method as taught by Gammon.
with regarding to the aforementioned (ii),
Fiebel teaches the at least one hole in said second housing section having an iris and said iris is controlled by at least one pullers; (Para 38. Sling portion 210 is the puller.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Flego and Gammon with Fiebel to teach the at least one hole in said second housing section having an iris and said iris is controlled by at least one pullers in order to adjust the amount of released fragrance according to user’s preference.
with regarding to the aforementioned (iii),
Gonzalez Franco teaches Nitinol metal. (Para 26)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Flego, Gammon and Fiebel with Gonzalez Franco to teach puller is Nitinol metal pullers in order to offer an exemplary material for adjusting the iris to adjust the amount of released fragrance according to user’s preference.
with regarding to the aforementioned (iv),
Katsuki teaches the iris is controlled by microcontroller. (Col 9, Lines 27-35)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Flego, Gammon, Fiebel and Gonzalez Franco with Katsuki to teach said Nitinol metal pullers controlled by a microcontroller in order to produce the predictable result of electronic control of the puller instead of manual control which would further improve the user experience.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flego et al. (US 20210001214 A1), in view of Gammon et al. (US 20120018529 A1), in view of Fiebel et al. (US 20120144556 A1), in view of Gonzalez Franco et al. (US 20220221928 A1), in view of Katsuki (US 6798447 B1), further in view of Schmid (US 5586452 A).
Regarding claim 16, refer to rejection for claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, refer to rejection for claim 3.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flego et al. (US 20210001214 A1), in view of Gammon et al. (US 20120018529 A1), in view of Fiebel et al. (US 20120144556 A1), in view of Gonzalez Franco et al. (US 20220221928 A1), in view of Katsuki (US 6798447 B1), further in view of Pincheon (US 20200172012 A1).
Regarding claim 18, refer to rejection for claim 13.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flego et al. (US 20210001214 A1), in view of Gammon et al. (US 20120018529 A1), in view of Fiebel et al. (US 20120144556 A1), in view of Gonzalez Franco et al. (US 20220221928 A1), in view of Katsuki (US 6798447 B1), further in view of Robbins-Sullivan (US 20070158455 A1).
Regarding claim 19, refer to rejection for claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, Flego, Gammon, Fiebel, Gonzalez Franco, Katsuki and Robbins-Sullivan already teach the virtual reality system of claim 19,
And Gammon further teaches wherein the housing includes at least one hole configured to allow drops of fragrant liquid to pass through to the absorbent pad within the housing. (Para 27. Liquid can be filled through the vent hole)
Conclusion
/HANG LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626