DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Pursuant to communications filed on 06 March 2025, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits. Claims 1-23 are currently pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06 March 2025 and 16 October 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizoguchi et al (US 2021/0053230 A1, hereinafter Mizoguchi).
Regarding claim 1, Mizoguchi teaches a gripping device (Figures 1 & 3, robotic arm system 132) for handling piece goods for use in a sorting process, comprising:
a gripping element (Figures 1, 3 & 6, end effector 140) which is configured to handle a piece good (Figures 1, 3 & 6; at least as in paragraphs 0031 & 0049-0051, specifically as in at least as in paragraph 0031 wherein “The transfer assembly 104 can include a robotic end effector 140 (“end effector 140”) with vacuum grippers (or vacuum regions) each individually operated to pick up and carry object(s) 112”);
an actuator (Figure 2, actuation device 212) which is configured to move and/or align the gripping element (Figures 2 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0042 & 0101-0103, specifically as in at least paragraph 0103, wherein “The robotic system 100 can operate the actuation devices 212 and vacuum source 221 (FIG. 7) to have the end-effector 140 engage and grip the target package 112”);
at least one sensor (Figure 2, contact sensors 216; Figure 6, sensor(s) 205) configured to determine the force acting on the gripping element by the piece good and to output it as force information (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraphs 0047, 0057 & 0074, at least as in paragraph 0047, wherein “the contact sensors 226 can output a contact measurement that represents a quantified measurement (e.g., a measured force, torque, position, etc.) corresponding to physical contact, a degree of contact or attachment between the gripper and the target package 112, or other contact characteristics. For example, the contact measurement can include one or more force, pressure, or torque readings associated with forces associated with gripping the target package 112 by the end-effector”); and
a control unit (Figures 1 & 6, controller 109; Figure 2, processor(s) 202) configured to control the actuator in such a way that the piece good is aligned and/or moved in space based on the force information (Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0041, 0045-0047 & 0103, specifically at least as in paragraph 0103, wherein “the robotic system 100 can analyze the position of objects using sensor information (e.g., information from the vision sensor device 143, sensors 216, force detector assembly 205) obtained before and/or during the gripping operation, such as the weight of the target package 112, the center of mass of the target package 112, the relative position of the target package 112 with respect to vacuum regions, or a combination thereof. The robotic system 100 can operate the actuation devices 212 and vacuum source 221 (FIG. 7) to have the end-effector 140 engage and grip the target package 112. The image data from the vision sensor device 143 and/or data from the force sensor assembly 205 can be used to analyze the position and number of the target packages 112”).
Regarding claim 2, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to control the actuator in such a way that the force acting on the gripping element is minimized (Figures 1-7 & 16-17; at least as in paragraphs 0038, 0055-0057, 0072, 0077, 0088-0089 & 0103).
Regarding claim 3, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to control the actuator based on the force information in such a way that the piece good is balanced on the gripping element (Figures 1-7 & 16-17; at least as in paragraphs 0038, 0055-0057, 0074, 0077, 0088-0089 & 0103).
Regarding claim 4, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to determine and/or obtain a center of gravity of the piece good based on the force information and to control the actuator based on the center of gravity of the piece good (Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0038, 0066, 0074, 0103 & 0112).
Regarding claim 5, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to control the actuator based on the force information in such a way that a center of gravity of the piece good lies on a line with the gripping element, wherein the line is parallel to the direction of gravity (Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0038, 0066, 0074, 0103 & 0112).
Regarding claim 6, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to control the actuator based on an inertial force of the piece good (Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0038, 0066, 0074, 0103 & 0112).
Regarding claim 7, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to control the actuator in such a way that, by iterative displacement of the piece good, the position is determined at which a force acting on the gripping element through the piece good is minimal (Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0038, 0066, 0074, 0103 & 0112).
Regarding claim 8, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to control a handling speed of the actuator based on the force information (Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0038, 0048, 0066, 0074, 0103 & 0112).
Regarding claim 9, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to determine an optimum gripping point of a piece good, so that when the piece good is handled with the gripping device, the force acting on the gripping element is minimized (Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0038, 0066, 0074, 0103 & 0112).
Regarding claim 10, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to determine a mass of a piece good based on the force information (Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0038, 0066, 0074, 0103 & 0112).
Regarding claim 11, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to control the actuator in such a way that, by iterative displacement and/or reorientation of the piece good, the position is determined at which a force acting on the gripping element by the piece good is minimized (Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0038, 0066, 0074, 0103 & 0112, specifically as shown in the flow chart of Figure 17 and related text).
Regarding claim 12, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to determine an optimum gripping point of a piece good, so that when the piece good is handled with the gripping device, the force acting on the gripping element is minimized (Figure 2, storage devices 204; Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraph 0038, 0086 0093, 0095, 0107 & 0110).
Regarding claim 13, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to store the optimum gripping point in a storage unit (Figure 2, storage devices 204; Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraph 0038, 0086 0093, 0095, 0107 & 0110).
Regarding claim 14, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to load the optimum gripping point from the storage unit (Figure 2, storage devices 204; Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraph 0038, 0086 0093, 0095, 0107 & 0110).
Regarding claim 15, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the at least one sensor is provided directly on the gripping element (Figures 1-3, 7 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0045-0047, 0072-0074 & 0103-0104).
Regarding claim 16, Mizoguchi teaches the gripping device of claim 1, further comprising: a control sensor for monitoring the function of the at least one sensor (Figures 1-3, 7 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0045-0047, 0072-0074 & 0103-0104).
Regarding claim 17, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the gripping element comprises a plurality of grippers (Figure 5, suction elements 151; Figures 1-5 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0056-0057, 0074, 0077-0080 & 0103-0104).
Regarding claim 18, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to determine, for each gripper individually, force information which is indicative of a force acting between the piece good and the respective gripper (Figures 1-5 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0056-0057, 0074, 0077-0080 & 0103-0104).
Regarding claim 19, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the at least one sensor is provided directly on the respective gripper (Figures 1-3, 7 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0045-0047, 0072-0074 & 0103-0104).
Regarding claim 20, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to activate or deactivate one or more grippers based on the force information (Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0038, 0066, 0074, 0103 & 0112).
Regarding claim 21, Mizoguchi further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to deactivate at least one gripper in order to determine the force information (Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0038, 0066, 0074, 0103 & 0112).
Regarding claim 22, Mizoguchi teaches a handling system (Figures 1 & 3, transfer assembly 104) for handling piece goods, comprising:
at least one gripping device (Figures 1 & 3, robotic arm system 132) according to claim 1 (as provided in the above rejection of claim 1); and
a conveying device (Figure 3, conveyor belt 120) which is configured to convey at least one mail item to the at least one gripping device (Figures 1 & 3; at least as in paragraphs 0051 & 0054, specifically as in at least paragraph 0054 wherein “the receiving conveyor 120 can include any platform, surface, and/or structure designated to receive the packages 112 for further tasks/operations. In some embodiments, the receiving conveyor 120 can include a conveyor system for transporting the package 112 from one location (e.g., a release point) to another location for further operations (e.g., sorting and/or storage)”).
Regarding claim 23, Mizoguchi teaches a method of handling piece goods, comprising:
handling of a piece good with a gripping device (Figures 1 & 3, robotic arm system 132) with at least one gripping element (Figures 1, 3 & 6, end effector 140; Figures 1, 3 & 6; at least as in paragraphs 0031 & 0049-0051, specifically as in at least as in paragraph 0031 wherein “The transfer assembly 104 can include a robotic end effector 140 (“end effector 140”) with vacuum grippers (or vacuum regions) each individually operated to pick up and carry object(s) 112”);
determining force information which is indicative of a force acting between the piece good and the gripping element (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraphs 0047, 0057 & 0074, at least as in paragraph 0047, wherein “the contact sensors 226 can output a contact measurement that represents a quantified measurement (e.g., a measured force, torque, position, etc.) corresponding to physical contact, a degree of contact or attachment between the gripper and the target package 112, or other contact characteristics. For example, the contact measurement can include one or more force, pressure, or torque readings associated with forces associated with gripping the target package 112 by the end-effector”); and
adjusting the handling of the piece good based on the force information (Figures 1-3 & 17; at least as in paragraphs 0041, 0045-0047, 0057, 0103 & 0112, specifically at least as in paragraph 0103, wherein “the robotic system 100 can analyze the position of objects using sensor information (e.g., information from the vision sensor device 143, sensors 216, force detector assembly 205) obtained before and/or during the gripping operation, such as the weight of the target package 112, the center of mass of the target package 112, the relative position of the target package 112 with respect to vacuum regions, or a combination thereof. The robotic system 100 can operate the actuation devices 212 and vacuum source 221 (FIG. 7) to have the end-effector 140 engage and grip the target package 112. The image data from the vision sensor device 143 and/or data from the force sensor assembly 205 can be used to analyze the position and number of the target packages 112” and further as in at least paragraph 0112, wherein “the robotic system 100 can determine the orientation of the gripper and/or the target package 112 and adjust the contact measure accordingly. The robotic system 100 can adjust the contact measure based on the orientation to account for a directional relationship between a sensing direction for the contact sensor and gravitational force applied to the target object according to the orientation.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 – Notice of References Cited form. Examiner additionally notes the following prior art references, in the same field of endeavor as the instant invention, and also read on several of the currently provided claim limitations above;
US 2021/0053216 A1, issued to Diankov et al, which is directed towards robotic multi-gripper assemblies and methods for gripping and holding objects.
US 2023/0321825 A1, issued to Kulkarni et al, which is directed towards a robotic kitting system that picks one or more items from a conveyor and distributes/transfers said one or more items to a desired location.
/JONATHAN L SAMPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657