DETAILED ACTION
Claim amendments filed on 6 July 2026 have been entered. Amendments overcome the 112(b) rejections of the previous office action. Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5, 7 and 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-11 inconsistently, and interchangeably use the terms “first lubricating oil outlet” and “first outlet.” Use consistent terminology for claim elements.
Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-11 inconsistently, and interchangeably use the terms “second lubricating oil outlet” and “second outlet.” Use consistent terminology for claim elements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner notes that the amendments are towards applicant’s second disclosed embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Annotations on Applicant’s fig 4, embodiment II
Claims 1-5 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2021/0172282) in view of Chang (CN 215111965; publish date 12 May 2021; citations to US 2022/0364453 as a translation) in view of Donovan (US 2013/0168188).
Examiner notes that Chang is published more than one year prior to applicant’s filing date 19 September 2022.
Claim 1, Wang discloses a cementing system comprising a cementing equipment (cementing apparatus, par 0051; applicant discloses that cementing relates to the pumping of pressurized cement at the wall of a well, applicant’s spec par 0003; reasonably the fracking system of Yeung is an analogous system as they both pump sediment or additive into a well system), the cementing equipment comprising a centrifugal pump (centrifugal pumps par 0016, 0036, 0061), a plunger pump (plunger pump 13, par 0050), and a lubrication system (lubrication system, par 0059), wherein the lubrication system comprises:
a lubricating oil pump (lube gear pump / lubricating device, par 0036; Wang discloses that the gear pump forces lubricating oil into the plunger pump; Wang also discloses that the electric lubricating device forces lubricating oil for the packing of the plunger pump and the centrifugal pump, par 0036; it is reasonable to infer that the gear pump and the lubricating device are inconsistent names applied to the same device because they are both used to describe the same lubricating function, par 0036) comprising
communicated with a packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump (lubricating device lubricates the centrifugal pump packing, par 0036)
communicated with a packing lubricating end of the plunger pump (a gear pump applies continuous oil pressure to lubricate plunger pump, par 0036; lubrication device lubricates the plunger pump hydraulic end packing, par 0036)
where the lubricating device runs intermittently to provide the most reasonably amount of lubricating oil for the packing (par 0036).
Wang is silent on the lubricating pump comprising:
a first channel and a second channel, a first lubricating oil outlet communicated with the first channel and a second lubricating oil outlet communicated with the second channel, wherein a first pump head is arranged in the first channel, and a second pump head is arranged in the second channel;
wherein the first pump head provides lubricating oil to packings of at least the centrifugal pump, and the second pump head provides lubricating oil to packings of at least the plunger pump;
a first distribution valve, comprising a first inlet, at least one first outlet, and a third outlet, wherein the first inlet is communicated with the at least one first outlet, the first outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump, and the first lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the first inlet; and a second distribution valve, comprising a second inlet and at least one second outlet, wherein the second inlet is communicated with the at least one second outlet, the second outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the plunger pump, and the second lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the second inlet, or the first lubricating oil outlet and the second lubricating oil outlet are both communicated with the first inlet, and the second inlet is communicated with the third outlet.
Chang teaches the lubricating pump (fig 5, lubricating pumps 1513, 1513’, two channels, par 0067-0073) comprising a first channel (fig 5 first channel of two) and a second channel (fig 5 second channel of two)
a first lubricating oil outlet communicated with the first channel and (outlet of 1513) a second lubricating oil outlet communicated with the second channel (outlet of 1513’), wherein a first pump head is arranged in the first channel (pump 1513), and a second pump head is arranged in the second channel (second pump 1513’).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lubrication system of Wang by adding a second parallel pump taught by Chang, where the parallel pumps intake from the same source and discharge to the same outlet, thereby creating a backup pump to provide pressure when the first pump is not providing pressure, thereby increasing the ability of the fracking system to operate without interruption.
Furthermore, the combination makes obvious the limitation wherein the first pump head provides lubricating oil to packings of at least the centrifugal pump, and the second pump head provides lubricating oil to packings of at least the plunger pump. This is because in the combination both pumps discharge to the same lubricating oil system of Wang, thereby providing lubricating oil to the packing of both the centrifugal pumps and the plunger pumps. This is the predictable result of the combination because the elements of both Wang and Chang are used in the combination in the same way they are used in the references individually; wherein Wang’s lubricating oil system is provided lubricating oil from the single named source (Wang, par 0036) and Chang’s parallel pumps are both discharging fuel to a single lubrication system (Chang, fig 5, 110/112). Furthermore, this interpretation is in alignment with applicant’s claimed embodiment (Applicant’s fig 3, 4, embodiment II, See Remarks, par 06 July 2026, pg 9), where both pumps discharge merge to a single channel and enter the single inlet of distribution valve (5).
Annotations on Donovan fig 19B
Donovan teaches a lubrication pump providing lubrication to a plurality of lubrication points via divider valves;
a first distribution valve (fig 19B, manifold 1408, par 0124-0125), comprising a first inlet (inlet from conduit 1404), at least one first [lubricating oil] outlet (fig 19A for labels of 1408, first outlet 1416 to valve 1452), and a third outlet (second outlet 816 to master divider valve 930, par 0116), wherein the first inlet is communicated with the at least one first outlet (oil flow through 1408 to valve 1452 via first inlet to first outlet, par 0124-0125), the first outlet is communicated with [a first destination] (valve 1452)…, and the first lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the first inlet (oil travels through manifold 1408); and a second distribution valve (master divider valve 930), comprising a second inlet (inlet to master divider valve 930 from 1408, par 0116) and at least one second outlet (outlet of master divider valve 930 to slave valves 930), wherein the second [lubricating oil] inlet is communicated with the at least one second [lubricating oil] outlet (oil flows through master divider valve 930 from inlet to outlet), the second outlet is communicated with [a second destination] (outlet of master 930 goes to slave 930 and lubrication points 1934, par 0116)…, and the second lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the second [lubricating oil] inlet (oil flows through master divider valve 930 from inlet to outlet), or the first lubricating oil outlet and the second lubricating oil outlet are both communicated with the first inlet (oil flows through manifold 1408 from inlet to both its outlets 1416, par 0124-0125), and the second inlet is communicated with the third outlet (fig 19B, oil flows from manifold 1408 second outlet 1416 to the inlet of the master divider valve 930).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generic oil distribution system of Wang in view of Chang by adding the details of the oil distribution system of Donovan in order to deliver lubrication oil to the multiple lubrication points of the piston and centrifugal pumps of Wang from a single lubrication supply line.
The combination has a reasonable expectation of success because both Wang and Donovan elements are used in the combination the same way that they are used in their references individually, namely that the lubrication system, namely that both have a single flow channel delivering lubricant from a pump which is distributed to several lubrication points.
Furthermore, during the combination, it is within the general skill of an ordinary worker in the art to adapt the lubrication system providing lubrication to several lubrication points, to supply appropriate lubrication to the lubrication points of the Wang. Where the lubrication points of Wang are the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump and the packing lubrication end of the plunger pump. Thereby the combination of Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan meets the limitations: “the first outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump,” and “the second outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the plunger pump.”
Claim 2, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan teaches the cementing system according to claim 1, wherein: the lubricating oil pump further comprises an oil tank (Wang, lubricating oil tank, par 0036) comprising a first oil return port (Wang, oil returns to the lubricating oil tank, par 0036, since the oil leaves the tank, when the oil returns to the tank it must return through a port; under a BRI a port is the passage one uses to enter an enclosure ).
Wang does not disclose the cementing equipment further comprises a first three-way valve comprising a first port, a second port, and a third port, the first port being communicated with the first outlet, the second port being communicated with the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump, and the third port being communicated with the first oil return port; the first three-way valve has a first state and a second state; when the first three-way valve is in the first state, the first port is communicated with the second port; and when the first three-way valve is in the second state, the first port is communicated with the third port.
Donovan further teaches a first three-way valve (fig 19B, valve 1452; valve is a four-way valve, under a comprising claim the extra degree of control to a fourth-way is not excluded by claiming three-ways; fig 19A includes the element numbers for valve 1452) comprising a first port (inlet 1450 of valve 1452 from manifold valve 1408), a second port (outlet ports 1472A/B of valve 1452 to slave valves 1480), and a third port (port 1454 of valve 1452 to return line 1456), the first port (1450) being communicated with the first outlet (oil flows from manifold outlet 1416 to inlet 1450 of valve 1452), the second port being communicated with [an oil destination] (port 1472A delivers oil to lubrication points 1482), and the third port (relief port 1454 of valve 1452 connected to return line 1456) being communicated with [an analogous] first oil return port (return line 1456 returns oil to an analogous oil return port on reservoir 304, par 0125, analogous because reservoir 304 of Donovan is analogous to applicant’s reservoir 15); the first three-way valve has a first state and a second state (first position and second position, par 0125); when the first three-way valve is in the first state, the first port is communicated with the second port (first position, inlet pressure travels from 1450 to 1472A, par 0125); and when the first three-way valve is in the second state (in the second position, oil is released to return line 1456 and back to reservoir, par 0125), the first port is communicated with the third port (oil flowing through inlet 1450 communicates to third port 1454 via return flow through the 1472A/B loop, par 0125).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generic oil distribution system of Wang in view of Chang by adding the details of the oil distribution system of Donovan in order to deliver lubrication oil to the multiple lubrication points of the piston and centrifugal pumps of Wang from a single lubrication supply line, and to return lubrication oil to the lubrication oil reservoir tank.
The combination has a reasonable expectation of success because both Wang and Donovan elements are used in the combination the same way that they are used in their references individually, namely that the lubrication system, namely that both have a single flow channel delivering lubricant from a pump which is distributed to several lubrication points, and an oil return line.
Furthermore, during the combination, it is within the general skill of an ordinary worker in the art to adapt the lubrication system providing lubrication to several lubrication points, to supply appropriate lubrication to the lubrication points of the Wang. Where the lubrication points of Wang are the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump and the packing lubrication end of the plunger pump. Thereby the combination of Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan meets the limitations:
“the second port being communicated with the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump.”
Claim 3, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan teaches the cementing system according to claim 2, wherein:
Wang is silent on the oil tank further comprises a second oil return port; the cementing equipment further comprises a second three-way valve comprising a fourth port, a fifth port, and a sixth port, the fourth port being communicated with the second lubricating oil outlet or the third outlet, the fifth port being communicated with the second inlet, and the sixth port being communicated with the second oil return port; the second three-way valve has a third state and a fourth state; when the second three-way valve is in the third state, the fourth port is communicated with the fifth port; and when the second three-way valve is in the fourth state, the fourth port is communicated with the sixth port.
Nevertheless, the second oil return port and the second three-way valve are obvious duplication of parts. The rule is that a duplication of parts is not patentable unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) , See MPEP 2144.04).
In the case of the second oil return port, the second oil return port predictably also allows the return of oil to oil tank of Wang; applicant has neither claimed nor disclosed any unexpected result of the second oil return port different than the first oil return port. Therefore, it is obvious under Wang to add the claimed second oil return port.
In the case of the second three-way valve, the second three-way valve also returns lubrication oil to the oil tank in the same manner as the first three-way valve; applicant has neither claimed nor disclosed any unexpected result of the second oil return port different than the first three-way valve. Therefore, it is obvious under Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan to add the claimed second three-way valve to return oil from a second lubrication point.
It would be further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that when combining Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan, to configure the master/slave distribution valves 930 of Donovan as the three-way/four-way valve 1452 and metering valves 1480 of Donovan in order meter a precise amount of lubricant to a location, to vent to the reservoir and reset for operation (par 0105-0106) to add a ventmeter test which tests yield of the lubricant and alarms if too low (par 0182-0183).
As a result of the combination, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan makes obvious
a second oil return port (Wang, obvious duplication, See above); the cementing equipment further comprises a second three-way valve (Donovan, valve 1452, replacing master valve 930) comprising a fourth port (Donovan, equivalent to inlet port 1450), a fifth port (Donovan, equivalent to supply ports 1472a/b), and a sixth port (Donovan, equivalent to return ports 1454), the fourth port being communicated with the second lubricating oil outlet or the third outlet (inlet 1450 of second three-way connects to third outlet of first distribution valve and outlet of second three-way), the fifth port being communicated with the second inlet (supply ports 1472a/b of three-way connect to the inlet of the three-way valve), and the sixth port being communicated with the second oil return port (return port 1454 of the three-way connect to the return port of the tank); the second three-way valve has a third state (analogous first position of 1450, par 0125) and a fourth state (analogous second position of 1450, par 0125); when the second three-way valve is in the third state, the fourth port is communicated with the fifth port (in the analogous first position inlet pressure traves from 1450 to 1472A, par 0125); and when the second three-way valve is in the fourth state, the fourth port is communicated with the sixth port (in the analogous second position, oil flow from inlet 1450 to the return port 1454 via 1472A/B loop, par 0125).
Claim 4, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan teaches the cementing system comprising a plurality of cementing equipment of claim 1.
Wang is silent on comprising a plurality of centrifugal pumps and a plurality of first outlets (of the first distribution valve), the plurality of centrifugal pumps being in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of first outlets (of the first distribution valve), and each of the plurality of first outlets being communicated with the packing lubricating end of each of the plurality of centrifugal pumps.
Nevertheless, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan makes obvious the first centrifugal pump, first outlet (first outlet of the first distribution valve for the first lube pump, claim 1), the centrifugal pump being in one-to-one correspondence to the first outlet (claim 1, the first distribution valve provides lubricating oil to the centrifugal pump packing) and the first outlet being communicated with the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump (id).
Since Wang teaches the first centrifugal pump, the plurality of pumps which replicate the same functions and arrangement are obvious as a duplication of parts. The rule is that a duplication of parts is not patentable unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) , See MPEP 2144.04). In this case, every centrifugal pump and three-way valve beyond the first has the same claimed functions as the first pump; applicant has neither claimed nor disclosed any unexpected result of the second oil return port different than the first oil return port.
Claim 5, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan teaches the cementing system according to claim 4, wherein: the first distribution valve further comprises at least two third outlets (Donovan, fig 19B, outlets of 1408 to master divider valve 930) …there are at least two plunger pumps (Wang, three plunger pumps, par 0011)
Wang does not disclose …; there are at least two second distribution valves;…; the third outlets (of the first distribution valve), the second distribution valves, and the plunger pumps are in one-to-one correspondence; and each of the third outlets (of the first distribution valve) is communicated with one of the second inlets (of the second distribution valve).
Nevertheless, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan makes obvious the first plunger pump, third outlet (third outlet of the first distribution valve, claim 1), the plunger pump being in one-to-one correspondence to the third outlet (claim 1, the distribution valve provides lubricating oil to the plunger pump packing) and the third outlet being communicated with the packing lubricating end of the plunger pump (id).
Since Wang teaches the first plunger pump, the plurality of pumps which replicate the same functions and arrangement are obvious as a duplication of parts. The rule is that a duplication of parts is not patentable unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) , See MPEP 2144.04). In this case, every plunger pump and three-way valve beyond the first has the same claimed functions as the first pump; applicant has neither claimed nor disclosed any unexpected result of the second oil return port different than the first oil return port.
Claim 8, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan teaches the cementing system according to claim 1, wherein the packing lubricating end of the plunger pump comprises a plurality of lubricating points (Wang, the plurality of plunger pumps has a lubrication connection for packing, par 0036).
Wang is silent on and there are a plurality of third outlets, the plurality of lubricating points being in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of third outlets, and the plurality of lubricating points being communicated with the plurality of third outlets.
Nevertheless, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan makes obvious the first plunger pump, third outlet (third outlet of the first distribution valve, claim 1), the plunger pump being in one-to-one correspondence to the first outlet (claim 1, the distribution valve provides lubricating oil to the plunger pump packing) and the first outlet being communicated with the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump (id).
Since Wang teaches the first plunger pump, the plurality of pumps which replicate the same functions and arrangement are obvious as a duplication of parts. The rule is that a duplication of parts is not patentable unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) , See MPEP 2144.04). In this case, every plunger pump and three-way valve beyond the first has the same claimed functions as the first pump; applicant has neither claimed nor disclosed any unexpected result of the second oil return port different than the first oil return port.
It is within the general skill of an ordinary worker in the art to select the appropriate number of three-way valves to match the total number of downstream targets for a system. In this case, Wang clearly provides downstream targets of the plunger pump packing, therefore supplying sufficient three-way valves and arranging them to selectively distribute oil to those outlets via the three-way valves is an obvious duplication of parts.
As a result, the combination meets the limitation “the plurality of third outlets, the plurality of lubricating points being in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of third outlets, and the plurality of lubricating points being communicated with the plurality of third outlets.”
Claim 9, Wang discloses a method for controlling a cementing equipment (par 0051), the cementing equipment comprising a centrifugal pump (centrifugal pump, par 0036), a plunger pump (plunger pump, par 0036), and a lubrication system (lubrication for pumps, par 0036), wherein: the lubrication system comprises: a lubricating oil pump (lube gear pump / lubricating device, par 0036),
…
the first outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump (lubricating device lubricates the centrifugal pump packing, par 0036),
the second outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the plunger pump (a gear pump applies continuous oil pressure to lubricate plunger pump, par 0036; lubrication device lubricates the plunger pump hydraulic end packing, par 0036),
Wang is silent on the lubricating pump comprising:
comprising a first channel, a first lubricating oil outlet communicated with the first channel, a second channel, and a second lubricating oil outlet communicated with the second channel, wherein a first pump head is arranged in the first channel, and a second pump head is arranged in the second channel;
wherein the first pump head provides lubricating oil to packings of at least the centrifugal pump, and the second pump head provides lubricating oil to packings of at least the plunger pump;
a first distribution valve, comprising a first inlet, at least one first outlet, and a third outlet, wherein the first inlet is respectively communicated with the at least one first outlet, the first outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump, and the first lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the first inlet; and a second distribution valve, comprising a second inlet and at least one second outlet, wherein the second inlet is respectively communicated with the at least one second outlet, the second outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the plunger pump, and the second lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the second inlet, or the first lubricating oil outlet and the second lubricating oil outlet are both communicated with the first inlet, and the second inlet is communicated with the third outlet; and the method comprises: detecting whether the centrifugal pump operates; controlling the first lubricating oil outlet of the lubricating oil pump to be open to provide the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump with lubricating oil when the centrifugal pump is in an operating state; detecting whether the plunger pump operates; and controlling the second lubricating oil outlet of the lubricating oil pump to be open to provide the packing lubricating end of the plunger pump with lubricating oil when the plunger pump is in an operating state.
Chang teaches the lubricating pump (fig 5, lubricating pumps 1513, 1513’, two channels, par 0067-0073) comprising a first channel (fig 5 first channel of two) and a second channel (fig 5 second channel of two)
a first lubricating oil outlet communicated with the first channel and (outlet of 1513) a second lubricating oil outlet communicated with the second channel (outlet of 1513’), wherein a first pump head is arranged in the first channel (pump 1513), and a second pump head is arranged in the second channel (second pump 1513’).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lubrication system of Wang by adding a second pump parallel pump taught by Chang, where the parallel pumps intake from the same source and discharge to the same outlet, thereby creating a backup pump to provide pressure when the first pump is not providing pressure, thereby increasing the ability of the fracking system to operate without interruption.
Furthermore, the combination makes obvious the limitation wherein the first pump head provides lubricating oil to packings of at least the centrifugal pump, and the second pump head provides lubricating oil to packings of at least the plunger pump. This is because in the combination both pumps discharge to the same lubricating oil system of Wang, thereby providing lubricating oil to the packing of both the centrifugal pumps and the plunger pumps. This is the predictable result of the combination because the elements of both Wang and Chang are used in the combination in the same way they are used in the references individually; wherein Wang’s lubricating oil system is provided lubricating oil from the single named source (Wang, par 0036) and Chang’s parallel pumps are both discharging fuel to a single lubrication system (Chang, fig 5, 110/112). Furthermore, this interpretation is in alignment with applicant’s claimed embodiment (Applicant’s fig 3, 4, embodiment II, See Remarks, par 06 July 2026, pg 9), where both pumps discharge merge to a single channel and enter the single inlet of distribution valve (5).
Donovan teaches a lubrication pump providing lubrication to a plurality of lubrication points via divider valves;
a first distribution valve (fig 19B, manifold 1408, par 0124-0125), comprising a first inlet (inlet from conduit 1404), at least one first [lubricating oil] outlet (fig 19A for labels of 1408, first outlet 1416 to valve 1452), and a third outlet (second outlet 816 to master divider valve 930, par 0116), wherein the first inlet is communicated with the at least one first outlet (oil flow through 1408 to valve 1452 via first inlet to first outlet, par 0124-0125), the first outlet is communicated with [a first destination] (valve 1452)…, and the first lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the first inlet (oil travels through manifold 1408); and a second distribution valve (master divider valve 930), comprising a second inlet (inlet to master divider valve 930 from 1408, par 0116) and at least one second outlet (outlet of master divider valve 930 to slave valves 930), wherein the second [lubricating oil] inlet is communicated with the at least one second [lubricating oil] outlet (oil flows through master divider valve 930 from inlet to outlet), the second outlet is communicated with [a second destination] (outlet of master 930 goes to slave 930 and lubrication points 1934, par 0116)…, and the second lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the second [lubricating oil] inlet (oil flows through master divider valve 930 from inlet to outlet), or the first lubricating oil outlet and the second lubricating oil outlet are both communicated with the first inlet (oil flows through manifold 1408 from inlet to both its outlets 1416, par 0124-0125), and the second inlet is communicated with the third outlet (fig 19B, oil flows from manifold 1408 second outlet 1416 to the inlet of the master divider valve 930).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generic oil distribution system of Wang in view of Chang by adding the details of the oil distribution system of Donovan in order to deliver lubrication oil to the multiple lubrication points of the piston and centrifugal pumps of Wang from a single lubrication supply line.
The combination has a reasonable expectation of success because both Wang and Donovan elements are used in the combination the same way that they are used in their references individually, namely that the lubrication system, namely that both have a single flow channel delivering lubricant from a pump which is distributed to several lubrication points.
Furthermore, during the combination, it is within the general skill of an ordinary worker in the art to adapt the lubrication system providing lubrication to several lubrication points, to supply appropriate lubrication to the lubrication points of the Wang. Where the lubrication points of Wang are the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump and the packing lubrication end of the plunger pump. Thereby the combination of Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan meets the limitations: “the first outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump,” and “the second outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the plunger pump.”
Furthermore, Wang teaches that the electric lubricating device is set to provide a reasonable amount of lubricating oil for packing (Wang par 0036). A person of ordinary skill would recognize that in order for the lubricating pump to deliver adequate oil the pump must have an open discharge port; and also that a pump that is receiving lubricating oil is in an operating state under a BRI. Under this interpretation, the combination makes obvious the limitation
“controlling the first lubricating oil outlet of the lubricating oil pump to be open to provide the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump with lubricating oil when the centrifugal pump (Wang, par 0036 pump provides lubricating oil to packing via its discharge)is in an operating state (receiving oil is an operating state under a BRI); detecting whether the plunger pump operates (pressure system is checked to whether hydraulic system is operating normally, para 0035); and controlling the second lubricating oil outlet of the lubricating oil pump to be open to provide the packing lubricating end of the plunger pump with lubricating oil when the plunger pump (Wang, par 0036, pump provides lubricating oil to packing via its discharge) is in an operating state (receiving oil is an operating state under a BRI).”
Claim 10, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein: the lubricating oil pump further comprises an oil tank (Wang, lubricating oil tank, par 0036) comprising a first oil return port (Wang, oil returns to the lubricating oil tank, par 0036, since the oil leaves the tank, when the oil returns to the tank it must return through a port; under a BRI a port is the passage one uses to enter an enclosure).
Wang does not disclose the cementing equipment further comprises a first three-way valve comprising a first port, a second port, and a third port, the first port being communicated with the first outlet, the second port being communicated with the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump, and the third port being communicated with the first oil return port; the first three-way valve has a first state and a second state; when the first three-way valve is in the first state, the first port is communicated with the second port; when the first three-way valve is in the second state, the first port is communicated with the third port; and the method further comprises: controlling the first three-way valve to be in the second state when the centrifugal pump is in an operation suspending state.
Donovan further teaches a first three-way valve (fig 19B, valve 1452; valve is a four-way valve, under a comprising claim the extra degree of control to a fourth-way is not excluded by claiming three-ways; fig 19A includes the element numbers for valve 1452) comprising a first port (inlet 1450 of valve 1452 from manifold valve 1408), a second port (outlet ports 1472A/B of valve 1452 to slave valves 1480), and a third port (port 1454 of valve 1452 to return line 1456), the first port (1450) being communicated with the first outlet (oil flows from manifold outlet 1416 to inlet 1450 of valve 1452), the second port being communicated with [an oil destination] (port 1472A delivers oil to lubrication points 1482), and the third port (relief port 1454 of valve 1452 connected to return line 1456) being communicated with [an analogous] first oil return port (return line 1456 returns oil to an analogous oil return port on reservoir 304, par 0125, analogous because reservoir 304 of Donovan is analogous to applicant’s reservoir 15); the first three-way valve has a first state and a second state (first position and second position, par 0125); when the first three-way valve is in the first state, the first port is communicated with the second port (first position, inlet pressure travels from 1450 to 1472A, par 0125); and when the first three-way valve is in the second state (in the second position, oil is released to return line 1456 and back to reservoir, par 0125), the first port is communicated with the third port (oil flowing through inlet 1450 communicates to third port 1454 via return flow through the 1472A/B loop, par 0125).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generic oil distribution system of Wang in view of Chang by adding the details of the oil distribution system of Donovan in order to deliver lubrication oil to the multiple lubrication points of the piston and centrifugal pumps of Wang from a single lubrication supply line, and to return lubrication oil to the lubrication oil reservoir tank.
The combination has a reasonable expectation of success because both Wang and Donovan elements are used in the combination the same way that they are used in their references individually, namely that the lubrication system, namely that both have a single flow channel delivering lubricant from a pump which is distributed to several lubrication points, and an oil return line.
Furthermore, during the combination, it is within the general skill of an ordinary worker in the art to adapt the lubrication system providing lubrication to several lubrication points, to supply appropriate lubrication to the lubrication points of the Wang. Where the lubrication points of Wang are the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump and the packing lubrication end of the plunger pump. Thereby the combination of Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan meets the limitations:
“the second port being communicated with the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump.”
Chang further teaches that the lubrication pumps continue to operate when the plunger pump stops operating in order to dissipate heat and insure sufficient lubrication thereby protecting the pump from failure due to insufficient lubrication (Chang, par 0077-0078-0080).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of operating Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan by adding the feature of lubrication while the plunger piston is stopped taught by Chang in order to dissipate head and insure sufficient lubrication to protect the pump from failure due to insufficient lubrication.
As a result, the combination meets the limitation “and the method further comprises: controlling the first three-way valve to be in the second state (in the combination, the second state allow oil communication between the oil pump and the area downstream of the valve) when the centrifugal pump is in an operation suspending state (Chang, lubrication pump continues to operate while the apparatus is stopping, par 0054, 0055). “
Claim 11, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan teaches the method according to claim 10.
Wang does not disclose wherein: the oil tank further comprises a second oil return port; the cementing equipment further comprises a second three-way valve comprising a fourth port, a fifth port, and a sixth port, the fourth port being communicated with the second lubricating oil outlet or the third outlet, the fifth port being communicated with the second inlet, and the sixth port being communicated with the second oil return port; the second three-way valve has a third state and a fourth state; when the second three-way valve is in the third state, the fourth port is communicated with the fifth port; and when the second three-way valve is in the fourth state, the fourth port is communicated with the sixth port; and the method further comprises: controlling the second three-way valve to be in the fourth state when the plunger pump is in an operation suspending state.
Nevertheless, the second oil return port and the second three-way valve are obvious duplication of parts. The rule is that a duplication of parts is not patentable unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) , See MPEP 2144.04).
In the case of the second oil return port, the second oil return port predictably also allows the return of oil to oil tank of Wang; applicant has neither claimed nor disclosed any unexpected result of the second oil return port different than the first oil return port. Therefore, it is obvious under Wang to add the claimed second oil return port.
In the case of the second three-way valve, the second three-way valve also returns lubrication oil to the oil tank in the same manner as the first three-way valve; applicant has neither claimed nor disclosed any unexpected result of the second oil return port different than the first three-way valve. Therefore, it is obvious under Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan to add the claimed second three-way valve to return oil from a second lubrication point.
It would be further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that when combining Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan, to configure the master/slave distribution valves 930 of Donovan as the three-way/four-way valve 1452 and metering valves 1480 of Donovan in order meter a precise amount of lubricant to a location, to vent to the reservoir and reset for operation (par 0105-0106) to add a ventmeter test which tests yield of the lubricant and alarms if too low (par 0182-0183).
As a result of the combination, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan makes obvious
a second oil return port (Wang, obvious duplication, See above); the cementing equipment further comprises a second three-way valve (Donovan, valve 1452, replacing master valve 930) comprising a fourth port (Donovan, equivalent to inlet port 1450), a fifth port (Donovan, equivalent to supply ports 1472a/b), and a sixth port (Donovan, equivalent to return ports 1454), the fourth port being communicated with the second lubricating oil outlet or the third outlet (inlet 1450 of second three-way connects to third outlet of first distribution valve and outlet of second three-way), the fifth port being communicated with the second inlet (supply ports 1472a/b of three-way connect to the inlet of the three-way valve), and the sixth port being communicated with the second oil return port (return port 1454 of the three-way connect to the return port of the tank); the second three-way valve has a third state (analogous first position of 1450, par 0125) and a fourth state (analogous second position of 1450, par 0125); when the second three-way valve is in the third state, the fourth port is communicated with the fifth port (in the analogous first position inlet pressure traves from 1450 to 1472A, par 0125); and when the second three-way valve is in the fourth state, the fourth port is communicated with the sixth port (in the analogous second position, oil flow from inlet 1450 to the return port 1454 via 1472A/B loop, par 0125).
Chang further teaches that the lubrication pumps continue to operate when the plunger pump stops operating in order to dissipate heat and insure sufficient lubrication thereby protecting the pump from failure due to insufficient lubrication (Chang, par 0077-0078-0080).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of operating Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan by adding the feature of lubrication while the plunger piston is stopped taught by Chang in order to dissipate head and insure sufficient lubrication to protect the pump from failure due to insufficient lubrication.
As a result, the combination meets the limitation “and the method further comprises: controlling the second three-way valve to be in the fourth state (in the combination, the fourth state allow oil communication between the oil pump and the area downstream of the valve) when the centrifugal pump is in an operation suspending state (Chang, lubrication pump continues to operate while the apparatus is stopping, par 0054, 0055). “
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan in view of Orban (US 2016/0288368) in view of Baird (US 2021/0222691).
Claim 6, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan teaches the cementing system according to claim 1.
Wang is silent on further comprising a first sensor arranged on the centrifugal pump; a second sensor arranged on the plunger pump; and an electronic control unit, wherein the first sensor and the second sensor both being electrically connected to the electronic control unit.
Orban teaches an analogous wellbore cementing system (par 0004, 0022) with a first sensor (sensor 320, 358, par 0076) arranged on the centrifugal pump (centrifugal pump 316, par 0076) connected to an electronic control unit (connected to control system, par 0076, which may be an electronic computing system, par 0039, 0078, 0080). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control of the centrifugal pump of Wang to include sensor data from the centrifugal pump in order to monitor flow rate of the centrifugal pump and thereby adjust the system to minimize energy loss by the centrifugal pump (Orban, par 0076).
Baird teaches an analogous fluid pump in a fracking system (par 0002-0006) with a second sensor (sensors 140 or 142, par 0069-0070) arranged on a plunger pump (plunger pump 122, par 0069-0070) connected to an electronic control unit (controller processor 168, par 0069, 0070) which controls the movement of the pump plunger. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control of Wang to include the position sensors of the plunger of Baird in order to detect where the pumping plunger was at the end of a piston stroke and thereby switch the stroke direction at a more accurate position.
Claim 7, Wang in view of Chang in view of Donovan in view of Orban in view of Baird teaches the cementing system according to claim 1, further comprising an overflow valve and a pressure switch arranged at each of the first lubricating oil outlet and the second lubricating oil outlet (the first of two claimed alternatives; Wang is silent on the overflow valve and pressure switch), and/or a one-way valve arranged on a pipeline where the first outlet is communicated with the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump (second of two claimed alternatives; Wang, a one way valve prevents backflow of lubricating grease on the plunger pump and centrifugal pump packing, par 0036; Donovan meets this suggestion by including a ball check valve at the outlet of the valves to prevent backflow, par 0108, 0119).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746