DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites:
“the first lubricating oil outlet [of the first pump head] is communicated with the first inlet [of the first distribution valve]; and
a second distribution valve, comprising a second inlet and at least one second outlet, wherein the second inlet is communicated with the alt least one second outlet,
the second outlet [of the second distribution valve] is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the plunger pump, and the second lubricating oil outlet [of the second pump head] is communicated with the second inlet [of the second distribution valve], or
the second lubricating oil outlet [of the second pump head] is communicated with the first inlet [of the first distribution valve], and the second inlet [of the second distribution valve] is communicated with the third outlet [of the first distribution valve].”
The scope of the alternative embodiment claimed by applicant is unclear; is applicant switching the connections of the first inlet of the first distribution valve or adding additional connections to the first inlet (ie connections between the first distribution valve and the first and second pump head). The ambiguity exists because the first distribution valve is the transitive object of both alternative limitations; while the consequences of the alternative for the subject of the sentence is clear, the consequences for the object of the sentence are not clear. Specifically, how does the alternative connection “or … and the second lubricating oil outlet [of the second pump head] is communicated with the first inlet [of the first distribution valve],” affect the connection “the first lubricating outlet [of the first pump head] is communicated with the first inlet [of the first distribution valve].” For the limited purpose of examination, it will be interpreted as indicating an additional connection of the “first inlet.” Since the scope of applicant’s intended claim is unclear, claim 1 is rejected for indefiniteness. Dependent claims 2-8 are correspondingly rejected.
Claim 5 dependent on 4 recites “the first distribution valve further comprises at least two third outlets.” It is unclear what applicant is claiming as the minimum number of outlets of the first distribution valve. Does the second “third outlet” increase the number of outlets from “a first outlet” and “a third outlet” of claim 1, to “a first outlet” “a third outlet” and “a [second] third outlet.” Claim 4 also claims a plurality of first outlets, does that change the minimum number of outlets the first distribution valve to “a first outlet,” “a [second] first outlet,” “a third outlet,” and “a [second] third outlet?” A reasonable person would see the likelihood of confusion that results from a first distribution valve comprising “a [first] first outlet” “a [second] first outlet” “a [first] third outlet” and “a [second] third outlet” when the “second outlet” is assigned to a “second distribution valve” and not to the “first distribution valve.” Since it is unclear what applicant intended to claim, claim 5 is rejected for indefiniteness.
Claim 5 dependent on 4, dependent on claim 1 recites “each of the third outlets is communicated with one of the second inlets.” It is unclear how this limitation functions with the claim 1 limitation “the second lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the second inlet.” Is applicant intended to claim that the second inlet connected to the second lubricating oil outlet is switched to the third outlet, or that the second lubricating oil outlet maintains its connection to both the second lubricating oil outlet and the third outlet. For the limited purpose of examination it will be interpreted as switching the connection of the second inlet from the second lubricating oil outlet to the third outlet. Since it is unclear what applicant intended to claim, claim 5 is rejected for indefiniteness.
Claim 5 dependent on 4, dependent on claim 1 recites “the third outlets, the second distribution valves, and the plunger pumps are in one-to-one correspondence.”
Claim 1 recites “the second lubricating oil outlet [of the second pump head] is communicated with the second inlet [of the second distribution valve] , or the second lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the first inlet, and the second inlet [of the second distribution valve] is communicated with the third outlet.” Since claim 1 recites that the second distribution valve can alternately be connected to the second lubricating outlet instead of the third outlet it is unclear how there can also be a one-to-one relationship between the third outlet and the second distribution valve. Therefore claim 5 is rejected for indefiniteness. For the limited purpose of examination, the one-to-one relationship will be considered as replacing the connection between the second distribution valve and the second lubricating outlet.
Claim 9 has an analogous 112 rejection as claim 1. Claim 9 recites:
“the first lubricating oil outlet [of the first pump head] is communicated with the first inlet [of the first distribution valve]; and
a second distribution valve, comprising a second inlet and at least one second outlet, wherein the second inlet is communicated with the alt least one second outlet,
the second outlet [of the second distribution valve] is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the plunger pump, and the second lubricating oil outlet [of the second pump head] is communicated with the second inlet [of the second distribution valve], or
the second lubricating oil outlet [of the second pump head] is communicated with the first inlet [of the first distribution valve], and the second inlet [of the second distribution valve] is communicated with the third outlet [of the first distribution valve].”
The scope of the alternative embodiment claimed by applicant is unclear; is applicant switching the connections of the first inlet of the first distribution valve or adding additional connections to the first inlet (ie connections between the first distribution valve and the first and second pump head). The ambiguity exists because the first distribution valve is the transitive object of both alternative limitations; while the consequences of the alternative for the subject of the sentence is clear, the consequences for the object of the sentence are not clear. Specifically, how does the alternative connection “or … and the second lubricating oil outlet [of the second pump head] is communicated with the first inlet [of the first distribution valve],” affect the connection “the first lubricating outlet [of the first pump head] is communicated with the first inlet [of the first distribution valve].” For the limited purpose of examination, it will be interpreted as indicating an additional connection of the “first inlet.” Since the scope of applicant’s intended claim is unclear, claim 9 is rejected for indefiniteness. Dependent claims 10-11 are correspondingly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2021/0172282) in view of Chang (CN 215111965; publish date 12 May 2021; citations to US 2022/0364453 as a translation) in view of Oklejas (US 20200197883).
Examiner notes that Chang is published more than one year prior to applicant’s filing date 19 September 2022.
Claim 1, Wang discloses a cementing system comprising a cementing equipment (cementing apparatus, par 0051; applicant discloses that cementing relates to the pumping of pressurized cement at the wall of a well, applicant’s spec par 0003; reasonably the fracking system of Yeung is an analogous system as they both pump sediment or additive into a well system), the cementing equipment comprising a centrifugal pump (centrifugal pumps par 0016, 0036, 0061), a plunger pump (plunger pump 13, par 0050), and a lubrication system (lubrication system, par 0059), wherein the lubrication system comprises:
a lubricating oil pump (lube gear pump / lubricating device, par 0036; Wang discloses that the gear pump forces lubricating oil into the plunger pump; Wang also discloses that the electric lubricating device forces lubrication of lubricating oil for the packing of the plunger pump and the centrifugal pump, par 0036 last three sentences; it is reasonable to infer that the gear pump and the lubricating device are inconsistent names applied to the same device because they are both used to describe the same lubricating function in the same paragraph, 0036) comprising
communicated with a packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump (lubricating device lubricates the centrifugal pump packing, par 0036)
communicated with a packing lubricating end of the plunger pump (a gear pump applies continuous oil pressure to lubricate plunger pump, par 0036; lubrication device lubricates the plunger pump hydraulic end packing, par 0036)
where the lubricating device runs intermittently to provide the most reasonably amount of lubricating oil for the packing (par 0036).
Wang is silent on the lubricating pump comprising:
a first channel and a second channel, a first lubricating oil outlet communicated with the first channel and a second lubricating oil outlet communicated with the second channel, wherein a first pump head is arranged in the first channel, and a second pump head is arranged in the second channel; a first distribution valve, comprising a first inlet, at least one first outlet, and a third outlet, wherein the first inlet is communicated with the at least one first outlet, the first outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump, and the first lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the first inlet; and a second distribution valve, comprising a second inlet and at least one second outlet, wherein the second inlet is communicated with the at least one second outlet, the second outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the plunger pump, and the second lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the second inlet, or the second lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the first inlet, and the second inlet is communicated with the third outlet.
Chang teaches the lubricating pump (fig 5, lubricating pumps 1513, 1513’, two channels, par 0067-0073) comprising a first channel (fig 5 first channel of two) and a second channel (fig 5 second channel of two)
a first lubricating oil outlet communicated with the first channel and (outlet of 1513) a second lubricating oil outlet communicated with the second channel (outlet of 1513’), wherein a first pump head is arranged in the first channel (pump 1513), and a second pump head is arranged in the second channel (second pump 1513’).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lubrication system of Wang by adding a second pump parallel pump taught by Chang, thereby creating a standby lubrication source and ensuring a backup pump to provide pressure when the first pump is not providing pressure, thereby increasing the ability of the fracing system to operate without interruption.
Oklejas teaches an analogous fracking system (par 0004) with plunger pump system (fig 1a, reciprocating distribution plates 64a 64b, para 0084, pistons par 110) a three way distribution valve (fig 1A – 1K, 110, 120, par 0092 -0123) distributing oil from a fluid pump (90, par 0091) where the fluid goes to either of two targets.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the discharge of lubrication pump of Wang to include the three-way valve of Oklejas to be able to switch the output of the lubrication pump between the plunger packing or the centrifugal pump packing as suggested by Wang in order to direct lubricating oil to either the packing of the plunger pump or the centrifugal pump as appropriate in order to meet either’s lubrication requirement (Wang, par 0036) while also to allow a smooth transition between outlets (Chang, par 0164-0167), and electing valves which reduce the mechanical stress on the pump during switching (Chang, par 0007, 0165, 0175).
The resulting combination of Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas makes obvious the lubricating pumps of Wang increased to two lubricating pumps in view of Chang each with three way discharge valves in view of Oklegas,
Which makes obvious the following claim limitations:
a first distribution valve (three-way valve of Oklejas on Wang’s first lube pump), comprising a first inlet (inlet to the three way valve for the first lube pump), at least one first outlet (a first outlet of the three way valve for the first lube pump), and a third outlet (a second outlet of the three way valve for the first lube pump), wherein the first inlet is communicated with the at least one first outlet (fluid flows from inlet to outlet of the three way valve), the first outlet is communicated with [the] packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump (Wang discloses the pump discharges to the centrifugal packing; obvious to install the three way valve to direct output to the centrifugal pump and alternately to the plunger packing because they are the alternatives taught by Wang par 0036), and the first lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the first inlet (lube oil outlet of the first lube oil pump communicates with the inlet of the three-way valve for the first lube oil pump); and a second distribution valve (a second three-way valve of Oklejas for the second lube pump Chang), comprising a second inlet (inlet of second three-way valve) and at least one second outlet (first outlet of second three-way valve), wherein the second inlet is communicated with the at least one second outlet (the inlet and outlet of the second three-way valve are connected), the second outlet is communicated with the packing lubricating end of the plunger pump (install the three way valve to direct output to the centrifugal pump and alternately to the plunger packing because they are the alternatives taught by Wang par 0036), and the second lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the second inlet (outlet of the second lube oil pump discharges to the second three-way valve).
Claim 2, Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas teaches the cementing system according to claim 1, wherein: the lubricating oil pump further comprises an oil tank (Wang, lubricating oil tank, par 0036) comprising a first oil return port (Wang, oil returns to the lubricating oil tank, par 0036, since the oil leaves the tank, when the oil returns to the tank it must return through a port; under a BRI a port is the passage one uses to enter an enclosure ).
Wang does not disclose the cementing equipment further comprises a first three-way valve comprising a first port, a second port, and a third port, the first port being communicated with the first outlet, the second port being communicated with the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump, and the third port being communicated with the first oil return port; the first three-way valve has a first state and a second state; when the first three-way valve is in the first state, the first port is communicated with the second port; and when the first three-way valve is in the second state, the first port is communicated with the third port.
Oklejas further teaches a second three way valve (120) downstream of a first three way valve (fig 1A, 110), a first three-way valve (110) comprising a first port (110A), a second port (120b), and a third port (120c), the first port being communicated with the first outlet (valve’s 110 inlet and outlet can be fluidly connected), …the first three-way valve has a first state and a second state; when the first three-way valve is in the first state, the first port is communicated with the second port (a three way valve switches between connecting the inlet port to one of the two discharge ports); and when the first three-way valve is in the second state (id.), the first port is communicated with the third port (id.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number of three-ways valves of Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas by adding a sufficient number of downstream three-way valve of Oklejas in order to control the distribution of fluid to several downstream destinations for the oil pump.
It is within the general skill of an ordinary worker in the art to select the appropriate number of three-way valves to match the total number of downstream targets for a system. In this case, Wang clearly provides downstream targets of the plunger pump packing, the centrifugal pump packing, and the return to the lube oil tank; therefore supplying sufficient three-way valves and arranging them to selectively distribute oil to those outlets via the three-way valves is an obvious arrangement of parts.
As a result, the combination meets the limitation “the second port (120b) being communicated with the packing lubricating end (120b goes toward a pump) of the centrifugal pump, and the third port (120c) being communicated with the first oil return port (Wang, oil return to the tank).”
Claim 3, Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas teaches the cementing system according to claim 2, wherein:
Wang is silent on the oil tank further comprises a second oil return port; the cementing equipment further comprises a second three-way valve comprising a fourth port, a fifth port, and a sixth port, the fourth port being communicated with the second lubricating oil outlet or the third outlet, the fifth port being communicated with the second inlet, and the sixth port being communicated with the second oil return port; the second three-way valve has a third state and a fourth state; when the second three-way valve is in the third state, the fourth port is communicated with the fifth port; and when the second three-way valve is in the fourth state, the fourth port is communicated with the sixth port.
Nevertheless, the second oil return port is an obvious duplication of parts. The rule is that a duplication of parts is not patentable unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) , See MPEP 2144.04). In this case, the second oil return port predictably also allows the return of oil to first claimed lube oil port; applicant has neither claimed nor disclosed any unexpected result of the second oil return port different than the first oil return port.
Oklejas further teaches a second three way valve (120) downstream of a first three way valve (fig 1A, 110), a [second] three-way valve (110) comprising a [fourth] port (110A), a [fifth] port (120b), and a [sixth] port (120c), … the fifth port (120b) being communicated with the second inlet (120a, f low through the valve is normal operation) …the [second] three-way valve has a [third] state and a [fourth] state; when the [second] three-way valve is in the [third] state, the [fourth] port is communicated with the [fifth] port (a three way valve switches between connecting the inlet port to one of the two discharge ports); and when the [second] three-way valve is in the second state (id.), the [second] port is communicated with the [sixth] port (id.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number of three-ways valves of Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas by adding a sufficient number of downstream three-way valve of Oklejas in order to control the distribution of fluid to several downstream destinations for the oil pump.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the downstream distribution of the second oil lubrication pump of Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas so that the second oil distribution pump duplicates and provides redundancy for the first oil lubrication pump; therefore it would be obvious to provide a second connection for the second cooling lubrication cooling pump as claimed.
It is within the general skill of an ordinary worker in the art to select the appropriate number of three-way valves to match the total number of downstream targets for a system. In this case, Wang clearly provides downstream targets of the plunger pump packing, the centrifugal pump packing, and the return to the lube oil tank; therefore supplying sufficient three-way valves and arranging them to selectively distribute oil to those outlets via the three-way valves is an obvious arrangement of parts.
As a result, the combination meets the limitation the fourth port (120a) being communicated with the second lubricating oil outlet (outlet of the second pump), …, and the sixth port (120c) being communicated with the second oil return port (Wang, obvious duplicate oil return port to the tank).
Claim 4, Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas teaches the cementing system comprising a plurality of cementing equipment of claim 1.
Wang is silent on comprising a plurality of centrifugal pumps and a plurality of first outlets (of the first distribution valve), the plurality of centrifugal pumps being in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of first outlets (of the first distribution valve), and each of the plurality of first outlets being communicated with the packing lubricating end of each of the plurality of centrifugal pumps.
Nevertheless, Wang teaches the first centrifugal pump, first outlet (first outlet of the three way valve for the first lube pump, claim 1), the centrifugal pump being in one-to-one correspondence to the first outlet (claim 1, the three way valve provides lubricating oil to the centrifugal pump packing) and the first outlet being communicated with the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump (id).
Since Wang teaches the first centrifugal pump, the plurality of pumps which replicate the same functions and arrangement are obvious as a duplication of parts. The rule is that a duplication of parts is not patentable unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) , See MPEP 2144.04). In this case, every centrifugal pump and three-way valve beyond the first has the same claimed functions as the first pump; applicant has neither claimed nor disclosed any unexpected result of the second oil return port different than the first oil return port.
Claim 5, Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas teaches the cementing system according to claim 4, wherein: the first distribution valve further comprises at least two third outlets (Oklejas, a first three-way valve 110 has two outlets) …there are at least two plunger pumps (Wang, three plunger pumps, par 0011)
Wang does not disclose …; there are at least two second distribution valves;…; the third outlets (of the first distribution valve), the second distribution valves, and the plunger pumps are in one-to-one correspondence; and each of the third outlets (of the first distribution valve) is communicated with one of the second inlets (of the second distribution valve).
Okeljas further teaches a second three way valve (120) downstream of a first three way valve (fig 1a, 110), such that the third outlets [of the first distribution valve], the second distribution valve (the second downstream three-way valve) are in a one-to-one correspondence (the inlet of the second three-way valve 120 connects to an outlet of the first three-way valve 110); and each of the third outlet is communicated with one of the second inlets (id. The inlet of the second three-way valve 120 connects to the outlet of the first three-way valve 110).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number of three-ways valves of Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas by adding a sufficient number of downstream three-way valve of Oklejas in order to control the distribution of fluid to several downstream destinations for the oil pump.
It is within the general skill of an ordinary worker in the art to select the appropriate number of three-way valves to match the total number of downstream targets for a system. In this case, Wang clearly provides downstream targets of the plunger pump packing, the centrifugal pump packing, and the return to the lube oil tank; therefore supplying sufficient three-way valves and arranging them to selectively distribute oil to those outlets via the three-way valves is an obvious arrangement of parts.
As a result, the combination meets the limitation “the third outlets, the second distribution valve, the plunger pumps are in one-to-one correspondence.”
Claim 8, Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas teaches the cementing system according to claim 1, wherein the packing lubricating end of the plunger pump comprises a plurality of lubricating points (Wang, the plurality of plunger pumps has a lubrication connection for packing, par 0036).
Wang is silent on and there are a plurality of third outlets, the plurality of lubricating points being in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of third outlets, and the plurality of lubricating points being communicated with the plurality of third outlets.
Okeljas further teaches a plunger pump at the outlets of a three-way valve (120).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the outlets of three-ways valves of Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas to the plunger pumps as shown by Oklejas in order to control the distribution of fluid to several downstream destinations for the oil pump.
It is within the general skill of an ordinary worker in the art to select the appropriate number of three-way valves to match the total number of downstream targets for a system. In this case, Wang clearly provides downstream targets of the plunger pump packing, therefore supplying sufficient three-way valves and arranging them to selectively distribute oil to those outlets via the three-way valves is an obvious arrangement of parts.
As a result, the combination meets the limitation “the plurality of third outlets, the plurality of lubricating points being in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of third outlets, and the plurality of lubricating points being communicated with the plurality of third outlets.”
Claim 9, Wang discloses a method for controlling a cementing equipment (par 0051), the cementing equipment comprising a centrifugal pump (centrifugal pump, par 0036), a plunger pump (plunger pump, par 0036), and a lubrication system (lubrication for pumps, par 0036), wherein: the lubrication system comprises: a lubricating oil pump (lube gear pump / lubricating device, par 0036),
…
the first outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump (lubricating device lubricates the centrifugal pump packing, par 0036),
the second outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the plunger pump (a gear pump applies continuous oil pressure to lubricate plunger pump, par 0036; lubrication device lubricates the plunger pump hydraulic end packing, par 0036),
Wang is silent on the lubricating pump comprising:
comprising a first channel, a first lubricating oil outlet communicated with the first channel, a second channel, and a second lubricating oil outlet communicated with the second channel, wherein a first pump head is arranged in the first channel, and a second pump head is arranged in the second channel; a first distribution valve, comprising a first inlet, at least one first outlet, and a third outlet, wherein the first inlet is respectively communicated with the at least one first outlet, the first outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump, and the first lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the first inlet; and a second distribution valve, comprising a second inlet and at least one second outlet, wherein the second inlet is respectively communicated with the at least one second outlet, the second outlet is communicated with a packing lubricating end of the plunger pump, and the second lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the second inlet, or the second lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the first inlet, and the second inlet is communicated with the third outlet; and the method comprises: detecting whether the centrifugal pump operates; controlling the first lubricating oil outlet of the lubricating oil pump to be open to provide the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump with lubricating oil when the centrifugal pump is in an operating state; detecting whether the plunger pump operates; and controlling the second lubricating oil outlet of the lubricating oil pump to be open to provide the packing lubricating end of the plunger pump with lubricating oil when the plunger pump is in an operating state.
Chang teaches the lubricating pump (fig 5, lubricating pumps 1513, 1513’, two channels, par 0067-0073) comprising a first channel (fig 5 first channel of two) and a second channel (fig 5 second channel of two)
a first lubricating oil outlet communicated with the first channel and (outlet of 1513) a second lubricating oil outlet communicated with the second channel (outlet of 1513’), wherein a first pump head is arranged in the first channel (pump 1513), and a second pump head is arranged in the second channel (second pump 1513’).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior ot eth effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lubrication system of Wang by adding a second pump parallel pump taught by Chang, thereby creating a standnby lubrication source and ensuring a backup pump to provide pressure when the first pump is not providing pressure, thereby increasing the ability of the fracing system to operate without interruption.
Oklejas teaches an analogous fracking system (par 0004) with plunger pump system (fig 1a, reciprocating distribution plates 64a 64b, pra 0084, pistons par 110) a three way distribution valve (fig 1A – 1K, 110, 120, par 0092 -0123) distributing oil from a fluid pump (90, par 0091) where the fluid goes to either of two targets.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the discharge of lubrication pump of Wang to include the three-way valve of Oklejas to be able to switch the output of the lubrication pump between the plunger packing or the centrifugal pump packing as suggested by Wang in order to direct lubricating oil to either the packing of the plunger pump or the centrifugal pump as appropriate in order to meet either’s lubrication requirement (Wang, par 0036) while also to allow a smooth transition between outlets (Chang, par 0164-0167), and electing valves which reduce the mechanical stress on the pump during switching (Chang, par 0007, 0165, 0175).
The resulting combination of Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas makes obvious the lubricating pumps of Wang increased to two lubricating pumps in view of Chang each with three way discharge valves in view of Oklegas,
Which makes obvious the following claim limitations:
a first distribution valve (three-way valve of Oklejas on Wang’s first lube pump), comprising a first inlet (inlet to the three way valve for the first lube pump), at least one first outlet (a first outlet of the three way valve for the first lube pump), and a third outlet (a second outlet of the three way valve for the first lube pump), wherein the first inlet is communicated with the at least one first outlet (fluid flows from inlet to outlet of the three way valve), the first outlet is communicated with [the] packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump (Wang discloses the pump discharges to the centrifugal packing; obvious to install the three way valve to direct output to the centrifugal pump and alternately to the plunger packing because they are the alternatives taught by Wang par 0036), and the first lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the first inlet (lube oil outlet of the first lube oil pump communicates with the inlet of the three-way valve for the first lube oil pump); and a second distribution valve (a second three-way valve of Oklejas for the second lube pump Chang), comprising a second inlet (inlet of second three-way valve) and at least one second outlet (first outlet of second three-way valve), wherein the second inlet is communicated with the at least one second outlet (the inlet and outlet of the second three-way valve are connected), the second outlet is communicated with the packing lubricating end of the plunger pump (install the three way valve to direct output to the centrifugal pump and alternately to the plunger packing because they are the alternatives taught by Wang par 0036), and the second lubricating oil outlet is communicated with the second inlet (outlet of the second lube oil pump discharges to the second three-way valve).
Furthermore, Wang teaches that the electric lubricating device is set to provide a reasonable amount of lubricating oil for packing (Wang par 0036). A person of ordinary skill would recognize that in order for the lubricating pump to deliver adequate oil the pump must have an open discharge port; and also that a pump that is receiving lubricating oil is in an operating state under a BRI. Under this interpretation, the combination makes obvious the limitation
“controlling the first lubricating oil outlet of the lubricating oil pump to be open to provide the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump with lubricating oil when the centrifugal pump (Wang, par 0036 pump provides lubricating oil to packing via its discharge)is in an operating state (receiving oil is an operating state under a BRI); detecting whether the plunger pump operates (pressure system is checked to whether hydraulic system is operating normally, para 0035); and controlling the second lubricating oil outlet of the lubricating oil pump to be open to provide the packing lubricating end of the plunger pump with lubricating oil when the plunger pump (Wang, par 0036, pump provides lubricating oil to packing via its discharge) is in an operating state (receiving oil is an operating state under a BRI).”
Claim 10, Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejan teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein: the lubricating oil pump further comprises an oil tank (Wang, lubricating oil tank, par 0036) comprising a first oil return port (Wang, oil returns to the lubricating oil tank, par 0036, since the oil leaves the tank, when the oil returns to the tank it must return through a port; under a BRI a port is the passage one uses to enter an enclosure).
Wang does not disclose the cementing equipment further comprises a first three-way valve comprising a first port, a second port, and a third port, the first port being communicated with the first outlet, the second port being communicated with the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump, and the third port being communicated with the first oil return port; the first three-way valve has a first state and a second state; when the first three-way valve is in the first state, the first port is communicated with the second port; when the first three-way valve is in the second state, the first port is communicated with the third port; and the method further comprises: controlling the first three-way valve to be in the second state when the centrifugal pump is in an operation suspending state.
Oklejas further teaches a second three way valve (120) downstream of a first three way valve (fig 1A, 110), a first three-way valve (110) comprising a first port (110A), a second port (120b), and a third port (120c), the first port being communicated with the first outlet (valve’s 110 inlet and outlet can be fluidly connected), …the first three-way valve has a first state and a second state; when the first three-way valve is in the first state, the first port is communicated with the second port (a three way valve switches between connecting the inlet port to one of the two discharge ports); and when the first three-way valve is in the second state (id.), the first port is communicated with the third port (id.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number of three-ways valves of Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas by adding a sufficient number of downstream three-way valve of Oklejas in order to control the distribution of fluid to several downstream destinations for the oil pump.
It is within the general skill of an ordinary worker in the art to select the appropriate number of three-way valves to match the total number of downstream targets for a system. In this case, Wang clearly provides downstream targets of the plunger pump packing, the centrifugal pump packing, and the return to the lube oil tank; therefore supplying sufficient three-way valves and arranging them to selectively distribute oil to those outlets via the three-way valves is an obvious arrangement of parts.
As a result, the combination meets the limitation “the second port (120b) being communicated with the packing lubricating end (120b goes toward a pump) of the centrifugal pump, and the third port (120c) being communicated with the first oil return port (Wang, oil return to the tank).”
Chang further teaches that the lubrication pumps continue to operate when the plunger pump stops operating in order to dissipate heat and insure sufficient lubrication thereby protecting the pump from failure due to insufficient lubrication (Chang, par 0077-0078-0080).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of operating Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas by adding the feature of lubrication while the plunger piston is stopped taught by Chang in order to dissipate head and insure sufficient lubrication to protect the pump from failure due to insufficient lubrication.
As a result, the combination meets the limitation “and the method further comprises: controlling the first three-way valve to be in the second state (in the combination, the second state allow oil communication between the oil pump and the area downstream of the valve) when the centrifugal pump is in an operation suspending state (Chang, lubrication pump continues to operate while the apparatus is stopping, par 0054, 0055). “
Claim 11, Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas teaches the method according to claim 10.
Wang does not disclose wherein: the oil tank further comprises a second oil return port; the cementing equipment further comprises a second three-way valve comprising a fourth port, a fifth port, and a sixth port, the fourth port being communicated with the second lubricating oil outlet or the third outlet, the fifth port being communicated with the second inlet, and the sixth port being communicated with the second oil return port; the second three-way valve has a third state and a fourth state; when the second three-way valve is in the third state, the fourth port is communicated with the fifth port; and when the second three-way valve is in the fourth state, the fourth port is communicated with the sixth port; and the method further comprises: controlling the second three-way valve to be in the fourth state when the plunger pump is in an operation suspending state.
Nevertheless, the second oil return port is an obvious duplication of parts. The rule is that a duplication of parts is not patentable unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) , See MPEP 2144.04). In this case, the second oil return port predictably also allows the return of oil to first claimed lube oil port; applicant has neither claimed nor disclosed any unexpected result of the second oil return port different than the first oil return port.
Oklejas further teaches a second three way valve (120) downstream of a first three way valve (fig 1A, 110), a [second] three-way valve (110) comprising a [fourth] port (110A), a [fifth] port (120b), and a [sixth] port (120c), … the fifth port (120b) being communicated with the second inlet (120a, f low through the valve is normal operation) …the [second] three-way valve has a [third] state and a [fourth] state; when the [second] three-way valve is in the [third] state, the [fourth] port is communicated with the [fifth] port (a three way valve switches between connecting the inlet port to one of the two discharge ports); and when the [second] three-way valve is in the second state (id.), the [second] port is communicated with the [sixth] port (id.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number of three-ways valves of Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas by adding a sufficient number of downstream three-way valve of Oklejas in order to control the distribution of fluid to several downstream destinations for the oil pump.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the downstream distribution of the second oil lubrication pump of Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas so that the second oil distribution pump duplicates and provides redundancy for the first oil lubrication pump; therefore it would be obvious to provide a second connection for the second cooling lubrication cooling pump as claimed.
It is within the general skill of an ordinary worker in the art to select the appropriate number of three-way valves to match the total number of downstream targets for a system. In this case, Wang clearly provides downstream targets of the plunger pump packing, the centrifugal pump packing, and the return to the lube oil tank; therefore supplying sufficient three-way valves and arranging them to selectively distribute oil to those outlets via the three-way valves is an obvious arrangement of parts.
As a result, the combination meets the limitation the fourth port (120a) being communicated with the second lubricating oil outlet (outlet of the second pump), …, and the sixth port (120c) being communicated with the second oil return port (Wang, obvious duplicate oil return port to the tank).
Chang further teaches that the lubrication pumps continue to operate when the plunger pump stops operating in order to dissipate heat and insure sufficient lubrication thereby protecting the pump from failure due to insufficient lubrication (Chang, par 0077-0078-0080).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of operating Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas by adding the feature of lubrication while the plunger piston is stopped taught by Chang in order to dissipate head and insure sufficient lubrication to protect the pump from failure due to insufficient lubrication.
As a result, the combination meets the limitation “and the method further comprises: controlling the second three-way valve to be in the fourth state (in the combination, the fourth state allow oil communication between the oil pump and the area downstream of the valve) when the centrifugal pump is in an operation suspending state (Chang, lubrication pump continues to operate while the apparatus is stopping, par 0054, 0055). “
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejas in view of Orban (US 2016/0288368) in view of Baird (US 2021/0222691).
Claim 6, Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejan teaches the cementing system according to claim 1.
Wang is silent on further comprising a first sensor arranged on the centrifugal pump; a second sensor arranged on the plunger pump; and an electronic control unit, wherein the first sensor and the second sensor both being electrically connected to the electronic control unit.
Orban teaches an analogous wellbore cementing system (par 0004, 0022) with a first sensor (sensor 320, 358, par 0076) arranged on the centrifugal pump (centrifugal pump 316, par 0076) connected to an electronic control unit (connected to control system, par 0076, which may be an electronic computing system, par 0039, 0078, 0080). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control of the centrifugal pump of Wang to include sensor data fro the centrifugal pump in order to monitor flow rate of the centrifugal pump and thereby adjust the system to minimize energy loss by the centrifugal pump (Orban, par 0076).
Baird teaches an analogous fluid pump in a fracking system (par 0002-0006) with a second sensor (sensors 140 or 142, par 0069-0070) arranged on a plunger pump (plunger pump 122, par 0069-0070) connected to an electronic control unit (controller processor 168, par 0069, 0070) which controls the movement of the pump plunger. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control of Wang to include the position sensors of the plunger of Baird in order to detect where the pumping plunger was at the end of a piston stroke and thereby switch the stroke direction at a more accurate position.
Claim 7, Wang in view of Chang in view of Oklejan in view of Orban in view of Baird teaches the cementing system according to claim 1, further comprising an overflow valve and a pressure switch arranged at each of the first lubricating oil outlet and the second lubricating oil outlet (the first of two claimed alternatives; Wang is silent on the overflow valve and pressure switch), and/or a one-way valve arranged on a pipeline where the first outlet is communicated with the packing lubricating end of the centrifugal pump (second of two claimed alternatives; Wang, a one way valve prevents backflow of lubricating grease on the plunger pump and centrifugal pump packing, par 0036; implicitly a one-way valve is installed on a pipeline of the lubricating grease because by definition a one-way valve is installed on conduit for fluid flow; said conduit can reasonably be called a pipeline because the conduit is delivering fluid).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Crawford (CA-2684598) teaches a fracking system with a cement module with piston pumps, centrifugal pumps, lubricating oil system.
Dynkstra (US 7,620,481) teaches a fracking system with cement, plunger pumps, centrifugal pumps.
Shampine (US 2007/0277982) teache a fracking system with a cement module, plunger pumps, centrifugal pumps, packing for the pumps.
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746