DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 comprises the acronyms “PZT”; “KNN”; “BT”; “Bi” and “AIN”. An acronym must be provided with a definition of the term within each claim set. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al (US 20110064250 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Jeong discloses a sound apparatus configured for use with at least one of a vibration member (fig.1,2 #120) and an interior material of a vehicular apparatus and configured to output sound, wherein the sound apparatus comprises:
a first electrode layer (fig.1,2 #132);
a first vibration layer (fig.1,2 #134) on the first electrode layer;
a second electrode layer (fig.1,2 #136) on the first vibration layer;
a first line (fig.1,2 #132a) connected to the first electrode layer and in contact with the vibration member; and
a second line (fig.1,2 #136a) connected to the second electrode layer and in contact with the vibration member (Par.[0035-0039] As shown in figure 2, each line #132a and #136a are in contact with vibration member #120).
With respect to claim 2, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first vibration layer includes at least one of a PZT-based material, a KNN-based material, a BT-based material, a Bi-based material, and AIN (Par.[0038]).
With respect to claim 3, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an insulating layer around the first electrode layer, the first vibration layer and the second electrode layer (Par.[0037] “The first vibrating membranes 121 may include an insulating material such as silicon nitride”).
With respect to claim 4, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein a size of the second electrode layer is smaller than a size of the first vibration layer (Par.[0040] As shown in figure 3 “a size” of segments of electrode layer #136 is smaller than segments of electrode layer #132).
With respect to claim 5, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein a size of the first electrode layer is larger than a size of the second electrode layer (Par.[0040] As shown in figure 3 “a size” of segments of electrode layer #132 is larger than segments of electrode layer #136)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-14 and 20-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (US 20110064250 A1) in view of Liu et al (US 20250072292 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, however does not disclose expressly further comprising a second vibration layer between the first electrode layer and the first vibration layer.
Liu discloses a sound apparatus comprising a first electrode layer (fig.3 #208); a first vibration layer (fig.3 #210b) on the first electrode layer; a second electrode layer (fig.3 #212 ”seed layer”) on the first vibration layer; and a second vibration layer (fig.3 #210a) between the first electrode layer and the first vibration layer (Par.[0038-0040]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the second vibration layer or “seed layer” of Liu between the first electrode layer of first vibration layer of Jeong. The motivation for doing so would have been to facilitate adhesion between the first electrode layer and first vibration layer, as taught by Liu (Par.[0040]).
With respect to claim 9, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second vibration layer contains a piezoelectric material (See: Jeong (Par.[0038]); Liu (Par.[0039-0040])).
With respect to claim 10, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 8, further comprising an insulating layer around the first electrode layer, the first vibration layer, the second electrode layer, and the second vibration layer (Par.[0037] “The first vibrating membranes 121 may include an insulating material such as silicon nitride”).
With respect to claim 11, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 8, however does not disclose expressly further comprising an auxiliary layer on the second electrode layer.
Liu discloses a sound apparatus comprising a first electrode layer (fig.3 #208); a first vibration layer (fig.3 #210b) on the first electrode layer; a second electrode layer (fig.3 #212 ”seed layer”) on the first vibration layer; and a second vibration layer (fig.3 #210a) between the first electrode layer and the first vibration layer (Par.[0038-0040]); and an auxiliary layer (fig.3 #214,212b) on the second electrode layer (Par.[0036][0040]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the auxiliary layer of Liu on the second electrode layer of Jeong. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase a sound pressure level output of the sound apparatus, as taught by Liu (Par.[0036]).
With respect to claim 12, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 11, wherein the auxiliary layer is made of a material having a same reflectance as the second electrode layer (See Liu: Par.[0032] each electrode layer may be made of “electrically conductive material such as platinum (Pt), titanium (Ti), ruthenium (Ru), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), copper (Cu), molybdenum (Mo), an electrically conductive metallic material, an electrically conductive ceramic material, a metal alloy material, another electrically conductive material, or a combination thereof”; thereby containing the same reflectance characteristics).
With respect to claim 13, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 11, wherein the auxiliary layer is made of a material having a same impedance as one of the second vibration layer and the second electrode layer (See Liu: Par.[0031-0033] each piezoelectric layer #201,214 and electrode layer #208,212,216 may be comprised of the same materials as one another respectively, thereby providing similar impedance characteristics).
With respect to claim 14, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 8, wherein a thickness of the first vibration layer is equal to or thicker than a thickness of the second vibration layer (See Liu: figure 3 #210,214).
With respect to claim 20, Jeong discloses a sound apparatus configured for use with at least one of a vibration member (fig.1,2 #120) and an interior material of a vehicular apparatus and configured to output sound, wherein the sound apparatus includes:
a first electrode layer (fig.1,2 #132);
a first vibration layer (fig.1,2 #134) on the first electrode layer;
a second electrode layer (fig.1,2 #136) on the first vibration layer.
Jeong does not disclose expressly a second vibration layer between the first electrode layer and the first vibration layer.
Liu discloses a sound apparatus comprising a first electrode layer (fig.3 #208); a first vibration layer (fig.3 #210b) on the first electrode layer; a second electrode layer (fig.3 #212 ”seed layer”) on the first vibration layer; and a second vibration layer (fig.3 #210a) between the first electrode layer and the first vibration layer (Par.[0038-0040]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the second vibration layer or “seed layer” of Liu between the first electrode layer of first vibration layer of Jeong. The motivation for doing so would have been to facilitate adhesion between the first electrode layer and first vibration layer, as taught by Liu (Par.[0040]).
With respect to claim 21, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 20, wherein the first vibration layer and the second vibration layer contain a piezoelectric material (See: Jeong (Par.[0038]); Liu (Par.[0039-0040])).
With respect to claim 22, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 20, further comprising an insulating layer around the first electrode layer, the first vibration layer, the second electrode layer, and the second vibration layer (Par.[0037] “The first vibrating membranes 121 may include an insulating material such as silicon nitride”).
With respect to claim 23, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 20, however does not disclose expressly further comprising an auxiliary layer on the second electrode layer.
Liu discloses a sound apparatus comprising a first electrode layer (fig.3 #208); a first vibration layer (fig.3 #210b) on the first electrode layer; a second electrode layer (fig.3 #212 ”seed layer”) on the first vibration layer; and a second vibration layer (fig.3 #210a) between the first electrode layer and the first vibration layer (Par.[0038-0040]); and an auxiliary layer (fig.3 #214,212b) on the second electrode layer (Par.[0036][0040]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the auxiliary layer of Liu on the second electrode layer of Jeong. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase a sound pressure level output of the sound apparatus, as taught by Liu (Par.[0036]).
With respect to claim 24, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 23, wherein the auxiliary layer is made of a material having a same reflectance as the second electrode layer (See Liu: Par.[0032] each electrode layer may be made of “electrically conductive material such as platinum (Pt), titanium (Ti), ruthenium (Ru), cobalt (Co), tungsten (W), copper (Cu), molybdenum (Mo), an electrically conductive metallic material, an electrically conductive ceramic material, a metal alloy material, another electrically conductive material, or a combination thereof”; thereby containing the same reflectance characteristics).
With respect to claim 25, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 23, wherein the auxiliary layer is made of a material having a same impedance as one of the second vibration layer and the second electrode layer (See Liu: Par.[0031-0033] each piezoelectric layer #201,214 and electrode layer #208,212,216 may be comprised of the same materials as one another respectively, thereby providing similar impedance characteristics).
With respect to claim 26, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 20, wherein a thickness of the first vibration layer is equal to or thicker than a thickness of the second vibration layer (See Liu: figure 3 #210,214).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (US 20110064250 A1) in view of Lee et al (US 20210352390 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, however does not disclose expressly wherein the sound apparatus includes two vibration devices, and the first electrode layer in each of the two vibration devices is connected in common to the first line.
Lee discloses a sound apparatus including two vibration devices (fig.14-15 #350A,350C), wherein a first electrode layer (fig.15 “E1”) in each of the two vibration devices is connected in common to a first line (fig.15 “PL1”)(Par.[0221-0223][0252]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality of vibration devices of Jeong within the sound apparatus, as performed by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase vibrational output may increase the number of vibration devices.
With respect to claim 7, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, however does not disclose expressly wherein the sound apparatus includes four vibration devices, and the first electrode layer in each of the four vibration devices is connected in common to the first line, and the second electrode layer in each of the four vibration devices is connected in common to the second line.
Lee discloses a sound apparatus including four vibration devices (fig.14-15 #350A-D), wherein a first electrode layer (fig.15 “E1”) in each of the two vibration devices is connected in common to a first line (fig.15 “PL11-PL12”); and a second electrode layer (fig.15 “E2”) in each of the four vibration devices is connected in common to a second line (fig.15 “PL21-PL22”)(Par.[0221-0223][0252]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality of vibration devices of Jeong within the sound apparatus, as performed by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase vibrational output may increase the number of vibration devices.
With respect to claim 17, Jeong does not disclose a vehicular apparatus.
Lee discloses a vehicular apparatus, comprising: at least one sound apparatus (fig.21N); the vibration member; and the interior material (Par.[0334] Lee discloses wherein the sound apparatus includes the vibration member as an interior material such as a glass window of a vehicle).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to mount the sound apparatus of Jeong on a vehicle window as performed by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to direct sound towards a passenger of the vehicle.
With respect to claim 18, Jeong discloses the vehicular apparatus of claim 17 in view of Lee, wherein the vibration member includes glass (Lee: Par.[0334]).
With respect to claim 19, Jeong discloses the vehicular apparatus of claim 17 in view of Lee, wherein the vibration member is at least one of a side window, a rear window and a roof window (Lee: Par.[0334]).
Claim(s) 15-16 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (US 20110064250 A1) in view of Liu et al (US 20250072292 A1) and in further view of Lee et al (US 20210352390 A1).
With respect to claim 15, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 8, however does not disclose expressly wherein the sound apparatus includes two vibration devices, and the first electrode layer in each of the two vibration devices is connected in common to the first line.
Lee discloses a sound apparatus including two vibration devices (fig.14-15 #350A,350C), wherein a first electrode layer (fig.15 “E1”) in each of the two vibration devices is connected in common to a first line (fig.15 “PL1”)(Par.[0221-0223][0252]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality of vibration devices of Jeong and Liu within the sound apparatus, as performed by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase vibrational output may increase the number of vibration devices.
With respect to claim 16, Jeong discloses the sound apparatus of claim 8, however does not disclose expressly wherein the sound apparatus includes four vibration devices, and the first electrode layer in each of the four vibration devices is connected in common to the first line, and the second electrode layer in each of the four vibration devices is connected in common to the second line.
Lee discloses a sound apparatus including four vibration devices (fig.14-15 #350A-D), wherein a first electrode layer (fig.15 “E1”) in each of the two vibration devices is connected in common to a first line (fig.15 “PL11-PL12”); and a second electrode layer (fig.15 “E2”) in each of the four vibration devices is connected in common to a second line (fig.15 “PL21-PL22”)(Par.[0221-0223][0252]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality of vibration devices of Jeong and Liu within the sound apparatus, as performed by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase vibrational output may increase the number of vibration devices.
With respect to claim 27, Jeong does not disclose a vehicular apparatus.
Lee discloses a vehicular apparatus, comprising: at least one sound apparatus (fig.21N); the vibration member; and the interior material (Par.[0334] Lee discloses wherein the sound apparatus includes the vibration member as an interior material such as a glass window of a vehicle).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to mount the sound apparatus of Jeong and Liu on a vehicle window as performed by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to direct sound towards a passenger of the vehicle.
With respect to claim 28, Jeong discloses the vehicular apparatus of claim 27 in view of Liu and Lee, wherein the vibration member includes glass (Lee: Par.[0334]).
With respect to claim 29, Jeong discloses the vehicular apparatus of claim 27 in view of Liu and Lee, wherein the vibration member is at least one of a side window, a rear window and a roof window (Lee: Par.[0334]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eaton (US 20090196442 A1) discloses a low-profile piezoelectric speaker assembly.
JASON R. KURR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2695
/JASON R KURR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695